All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 06:52 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 11:41 AM)
SPY (100% tied to S&P500) is the largest ETF in the world, listed in many other stock exchanges besides NYSE.

what u see in SGX now is the price traded in singapore and other open exchanges.

it is what is commonly called "futures":
http://www.investing.com/indices/indices-futures

currently, the futures are all up, but who knows what happens when NYSE opens tonight?

u can buy/sell in any exchange but u cannot buy in one exchange and sell in the other.
noted boss.

currenly I m still browsing which brokerage acc to sign up.

IB is good but I don't trade US stocks / etf so regular due to lack of bullets. most of time I buy Sg reits.

Ramjade has suggested a website with comments.

I prefer a reliable one, an easy to cash out.

any suggestion ? OptionXpress ?
AVFAN
post Nov 14 2016, 06:55 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 14 2016, 06:52 PM)
noted boss.

IB is good but I don't trade US stocks / etf so regular due to lack of bullets. most of time I buy Sg reits.

sorry, but i have no experience with any foreign broker except IB.

larger, more reputable brokers tend to pose less problems with funds in/out, i would think.

Ramjade
post Nov 14 2016, 06:55 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 14 2016, 06:52 PM)
noted boss.

Sifu wongmunkeong said no good. Don't know why. He didn't go into details.

Care to share again why OptionXpress is bad?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 14 2016, 06:58 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 07:01 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 06:55 PM)
sorry, but i have no experience with any foreign broker except IB.

larger, more reputable brokers tend to pose less problems with funds in/out, i would think.
for IB, min initial amount is usd10k. after that, can I cash out then ? or must maintain average daily balance of usd10k at all time ?
AVFAN
post Nov 14 2016, 07:05 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 14 2016, 07:01 PM)
for IB, min initial amount is usd10k. after that, can I cash out then ? or must maintain average daily balance of usd10k at all time ?
min 10k at all times.

if below, u will be asked to top up, failing which account will be closed.
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 07:06 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 07:05 PM)
min 10k at all times.

if below, u will be asked to top up, failing which account will be closed.
oic.

then IB is out from my list.

will consider others like OptionXpress or TD Ameritrade Asia for a start.
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 05:49 PM

2,679 posts

Just checked with TD Ameritrade Asia, inital amt is usd3500 but no need maintain this amt at all time.
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2016, 06:07 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 05:49 PM)
Just checked with TD Ameritrade Asia, inital amt is usd3500 but no need maintain this amt at all time.
They don't have ireland based ETF which means you will kena the 30% tax.
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:14 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 06:07 PM)
They don't have ireland based ETF which means you will kena the 30% tax.
its okay. I keep them as growth stocks.

what other option do I have ?
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2016, 09:22 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 09:14 PM)
its okay. I keep them as growth stocks.

what other option do I have ?
Look for one which give you access to London Stock Exchange
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:24 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 09:22 PM)
Look for one which give you access to London Stock Exchange
Ramjade,

TD Ameritrade Asia doesn't not have access to LSE ?
TSrjb123
post Nov 15 2016, 09:31 PM

1,820 posts

TDAM only has access to US exchanges I believe.
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:39 PM

2,679 posts

anyone have idea how much roughly if I wire money from Sg to US ?
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2016, 09:41 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 09:24 PM)
Ramjade,

TD Ameritrade Asia doesn't not have access to LSE ?
See this
https://the-international-investor.com/comp...ne-stockbrokers
https://the-international-investor.com/inte...ock-broker-list

From that list, the only choice you have are TD Direct Investing (Luxembourg), IB, Saxo, Not sure if the US stock based broker accept foreign customer or not. Also not sure if this TD Direct Investing (Luxembourg) will let you open or they will force you to open a Asia account.

Those with international account = no need to convert SGD is IB and TD Direct Investing (Luxembourg)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 15 2016, 09:42 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:56 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 15 2016, 09:31 PM)
TDAM only has access to US exchanges I believe.
boss,

what brokerage are u using ?
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2016, 10:00 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 09:56 PM)
boss,

He already mentioned few pages back, TD Ameritrade for the tools, IB for the funds.
TSrjb123
post Nov 15 2016, 10:36 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 09:56 PM)
boss,

Currently I only trade on IB.

I used TDAM before (US) for the commission free ETFs then had those holdings moved to TDAM Asia when they were migrating accounts.

prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 10:42 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 15 2016, 10:36 PM)
Currently I only trade on IB.

I used TDAM before (US) for the commission free ETFs then had those holdings moved to TDAM Asia when they were migrating accounts.
Any recommendation for commission free ETFs platform ?

My initial investment amount preferably is less than usd4k.

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 15 2016, 10:50 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2016, 10:45 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 15 2016, 10:42 PM)
Any recommendation for commission free ETFs platform ?
The asian version apparently was stripped down compare to the US version. Not sure about the Luxembourg version.
TSrjb123
post Nov 16 2016, 12:24 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 10:45 PM)
The asian version apparently was stripped down compare to the US version. Not sure about the Luxembourg version.
I did open a TD Luxembourg account before without researching properly and the fees are high, no real benefits I can think of at all.

I don't think they have any commission free ETFs - that was only in US and as posted before, this was removed when the platform changed to TDAM Asia.

Can't really recommend any others - aside from TD the only other platform I use and have signed up for is IB.

114 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:32 AM