All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

Ramjade
post Feb 8 2019, 09:44 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Feb 8 2019, 09:18 AM)
Haha if USD belum sampai that level. Need to work harder  bangwall.gif
As suggested by people here. Captrader
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2019, 12:02 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Feb 13 2019, 07:55 PM)
Sorry for OT, how to invest US Vanguard etf?
Here's your answer.
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2019, 07:41 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Feb 14 2019, 05:38 PM)
Through you you mean?
Kindly read through this thread. The answer to your question is found in this thread. Not through me. doh.gif doh.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 18 2019, 10:45 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 18 2019, 02:39 PM)
Hey dude,

Can you provide summary of what you use in the end? I also interested in investing in Vanguard's SP500 ETF. Since we plan to do to same thing, what I understand is that:

Instarem > captrade > Vanguard S&P 500 (Hong Kong)?

Appreciate if you can provide a summary of your research on the account opening.

You have to go via UK buy Irish demonised ETF. Not HK. Buying HL is as good as buying from US. Kena tax 30% tax. Going via UK only tax 15%.

Of course if you are trading then different.
Ramjade
post Feb 19 2019, 03:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 19 2019, 02:50 PM)
nonono, HK ur dividend gg....

instarem -> captrader -> SXR8 (SP500 EUR accumulating, amsterdam)
Captrader accepts money from instarem?
Ramjade
post Feb 19 2019, 05:25 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Feb 19 2019, 03:52 PM)
wt_vinci has experience with Instarem -> Captrader.

Another way is to open a SG bank account (Maybank/CIMB is the easiest way):

Instarem (SGD)-> SG bank -> Captrader (free transfer via FAST).

However, Captrader only support SWIFT for SGD withdrawal which will incur S$10 charges by the bank.
The SWIFT transfer is free once a month.
Wait, we can pay Captrader using SG bank account? How? They have office/bank account in SG? Or pay via IB SG bank account?

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 19 2019, 04:21 PM)
yes boss, i just wired and succeed.
Nice. How about withdrawal part?

Ramjade
post Feb 19 2019, 05:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Feb 19 2019, 05:45 PM)
Captrader is just a white label, it has no accounts of its own.
All deposits are handled through IB's accounts with Citibank in various jurisdictions, i.e. US, UK, EU, HK, SG, etc.
Nice.

Any idea how does IB and Captrader deals with next of kin? Will a will be enough?
Ramjade
post Feb 28 2019, 06:09 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Charizard @ Feb 28 2019, 04:18 PM)
Sorry people... the more I read, the more confusing I got.
These questions pop out in my mind:
1.Why many of you buy oversea ETF? Don't buy Malaysia ETF?
2. I thought buying ETF would be easy. EG, opening an investing account in one of the banks in Malaysia. then do a RSP. (At least this is what I did in Singapore, I buy Singapore ETF and would recommend my family to buy ETF, too. But then after reading this thread, it seems different ) rclxub.gif
1. Malaysia got no good ETF and Malaysia market not ready for ETF yet.
2. Yes can be done from Malaysia but when you are doing from malaysia, you get charged left right center (dividend fees, platform fees, higher exchange rate). So why pay the extra when you don't need too? The same goes if you go via Sam broker.
SG etf is not a good buy. 50% is taken up by the banks and singtel.
Compare that to s&p500. Is basically 500 companies.

ETF is only good for western country with large market. Both Malaysia and Sg market too small.
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2019, 12:10 AM

24,333 posts

rjb123, hyperzz Any idea if Trade Station a white label of Interactive Broker?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 21 2019, 12:11 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2019, 12:24 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Mar 21 2019, 12:23 AM)
Looks like it :

TradeStation International Ltd acts as an introducing broker to TradeStation Group's affiliates and non-affiliates, such as Interactive Brokers (U.K) Limited.
Cause if they are a whitelabel of IB, is fantastic. A UK based website. Fees also kinda of cheaper than Captrader.
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2019, 09:34 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Mar 21 2019, 12:23 AM)
Looks like it :

TradeStation International Ltd acts as an introducing broker to TradeStation Group's affiliates and non-affiliates, such as Interactive Brokers (U.K) Limited.
QUOTE(hyperzz @ Mar 21 2019, 05:46 AM)
Looking at the product offerings of TradeStation which exactly match IB's, very likely it is a white label of IB. I doubt they can offer this price if their backend is not IB.

According to Wikipedia, IB has 200 white labels or introducing brokers worldwide. The competition among them is heating up which is good for investors.
Trade Station customer service sure reply fast.
1. They accept Malaysians as customer.
2. Yes, they are whitelabel.
3. Minimal opening account is USD5000
4. No monthly fees if account fall below certain limit.

Ramjade
post Mar 21 2019, 09:54 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Mar 21 2019, 09:45 AM)
but it seem like only can trade US ETF?

not sure like Ireland domiciled ETF can be traded.

[attachmentid=10208196]
(source: https://brokerchooser.com/broker-reviews/tradestation-review)
Look again
https://www.tradestation-international.com/...ng-commissions/
Ramjade
post Mar 23 2019, 05:54 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 23 2019, 04:57 PM)
hi, wanna ask.. Where in IB platform to find the conversion rate between currency?

i hv not funded my newly open ac yet.

where to find the exchange rate for SG TO USD.. or sg to HK?

at the point of purchase shares? or wht?
IB don't published it openly. You need to login and try to convert then only will show. Correct me if I am wrong.

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 23 2019, 05:02 PM)
hehe homework done but no believe. captrader cheapest for sp500 ireland
Cheaper than Tradestation?

Ramjade
post Mar 24 2019, 08:39 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 24 2019, 04:17 PM)
Has anyone done or come across with comprehensive comparison between Etoro and other more established international brokers like Captrader, Ameritrade or Interactive Brokers.
Comparison like user friendliness, fee, commission, charges, maintenance charges, annual fee, requirement to trade like once a month, CS support, other pros and cons?

Generally i understand Etoro spread or charges is on the high side. But for retail investor with not much Capital, it might be one of the best option.
Avoid etoro as is not a stock broker. You don't buy stocks. You buy CFDs and to buy CFDs, you use leverage.

Fees nothing can beat interactive broker that's provided you have USD 100k. If you don't, then use any of the white labels which don't charge you any monthly fees.

User interface depends on individual. If one used to stock broker page, should not have issue to navigate.

So far some of the white labels of IB have replied to me in less than 24h.
Ramjade
post Mar 25 2019, 07:24 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 25 2019, 12:10 AM)
Hi Ramjade,

Interactive broker that need USD100k and the monthly charges is the reason that it is not an option for me.

Any example white labels which don't charge monthly fee? for me to look into.

What is the main difference between CFD and getting the real stock itself?
https://youtu.be/8Am2q7Kb5BU?t=588
what does it mean in the video that "you are buying the underlying asset"?

As long correct trade is made, i believe still can profit from it?
I don't intend to use leverage in Etoro.
https://www.cmcmarkets.com/en-au/platform/c...s-share-trading

Read this
https://money.stackexchange.com/questions/4...ithout-leverage

Read the last 5 pages of this thread and you will know what labels IB are there. Then you simply compare price and see which is cheaper.

Again as mentioned in the Q&A, if you don't intend to use leverage, then don't go for CFDs. You will be charged interest if you are going for CFDs

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 25 2019, 07:25 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2019, 05:31 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 27 2019, 05:20 PM)
the commission 2 USD is for any amount of forex exchange?

also.. you guys would choose TIER pricing or FIXED pricing?

Fixed rate plan typically charges a fixed rate per contract or share which covers all commissions and exchange fees.

Tiered price plan charges the fees based on the monthly trading volume. Plus additionally exchange, regulatory and clearing fees. The more you trade, the lower commission you pay.
TIER. According to one blog post. TIER can save more.
https://thepoorswiss.com/comparison-brokers...brokers-tiered/

Is your IB pure IB or white label of IB?
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2019, 07:09 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Mar 27 2019, 06:36 PM)
If you trade forex for more than US$ 1 M in a month, the commission is less than $2/transaction for the rest of that month.

IB offers the option FIXED or TIER. The white labels only offer FIXED plan as they want to earn the difference in pricing.

I would suggest TIER plan regardless of your trading volume.
According to Tradestation FAQ, one can use IB with the username and password when sign up via Tradestation. Which means theoretically I can use the TIER pricing also right?
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2019, 07:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Mar 27 2019, 07:34 PM)
I have not been through this process but this is what I think will happen.
When you sign up with Tradestation with an IB account, you are basically transferring the whole account from IB to tradestation. The old account with IB will be closed. You will get a new account number with Tradestation. This account is subject to Tradstation's FIXED pricing plan.
Actually what I meant is sign up via tradestation without a IB account prior to signing up.
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2019, 08:14 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Mar 27 2019, 08:06 PM)
Yes, you can use your tradestation username and password to log in to IB's account management, webtrader, TWS or mobile app.
However, your account still follows the white label's FIXED pricing plan. The only way to get the TIER pricing is to sign up with IB directly.
Damn I don't have USD100k. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2019, 09:04 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 27 2019, 08:53 PM)
dunno. i register with INTERACTIVE BROKERS.

white label means what?
White label means another company using IB platform but under their own brand name. Pay a small sum to IB (recurring income to IB).

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 27 2019, 08:55 PM)
why need USD100K for?

Minimum deposit
Interactive Brokers minimum deposit is not the same for the different account types.

In 2018 the minimum deposit was lowered from $10,000 to $0.

$2,000 is still needed if you open a margin account. Margin account means that you trade with borrowed money, also known as leverage.
USD100k so that won't kena charge USD10/month. No USD100k, kena charge USD10/month. USD10/month - commssion from buyiing/selling = how much need to pay in a month.
The USD100k condition and monthly USD10/month is what keeping me from opening an account with them. That's why looking for white labels which don't need to have USD100k.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 27 2019, 09:05 PM

22 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:20 AM