post May 26 2019, 06:03 PM

2,275 posts

hehe, got new finding...jap alex makan high tea dulu
roarus
post May 26 2019, 06:19 PM

1,042 posts

My account opening started by clicking OPEN AN ACCOUNT button here: https://www.tradestation-international.com/global/. From there on it's all Interactive Brokers. Yes it's confusing and worrying at the same time whether I signed up for IB or TradeStation.

Only after account approval and logging in Client Portal https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/L...tnerID=tsilib23 and navigating to Menu -> Statements -> Trade Confirmation I see black and white confirmation that my account is linked to TradeStation.

Ramjade
post May 26 2019, 06:47 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 26 2019, 06:19 PM)
My account opening started by clicking OPEN AN ACCOUNT button here: https://www.tradestation-international.com/global/. From there on it's all Interactive Brokers. Yes it's confusing and worrying at the same time whether I signed up for IB or TradeStation.

Only after account approval and logging in Client Portal https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/L...tnerID=tsilib23 and navigating to Menu -> Statements -> Trade Confirmation I see black and white confirmation that my account is linked to TradeStation.

Can you install mobile version of IB on your phone and login using the provided username and password?
roarus
post May 26 2019, 08:01 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 06:47 PM)
Can you install mobile version of IB on your phone and login using the provided username and password?
Yes using the same credentials I'm able to access all below. I've also set up IBKR mobile app as 2 factor authentication.
Client Portal: https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/Login
IBKR mobile app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibkr-mobile/id454558592
TWS downloaded here: https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...dex.php?f=16042

Note: I'm on a Mac, I did not perform API setting in TWS nor installed TradeStation's Window's software http://update.tradestation.com/Installs/Tr...r+ENG+Setup.exe
Ramjade
post May 26 2019, 08:18 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 26 2019, 08:01 PM)
Yes using the same credentials I'm able to access all below. I've also set up IBKR mobile app as 2 factor authentication.
Client Portal: https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/Login
IBKR mobile app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibkr-mobile/id454558592
TWS downloaded here: https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...dex.php?f=16042

Note: I'm on a Mac, I did not perform API setting in TWS nor installed TradeStation's Window's software  http://update.tradestation.com/Installs/Tr...r+ENG+Setup.exe
Strange as I am unable to login using mobile. Maybe using android emulator. That's why.
roarus
post May 26 2019, 09:37 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 08:18 PM)
Strange as I am unable to login using mobile. Maybe using android emulator. That's why.
BlueStacks? I can't even do Google 2FA with it - I'm guessing it's missing some device ID crucial to identify it as a unique device
Ramjade
post May 26 2019, 10:08 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 26 2019, 09:37 PM)
BlueStacks? I can't even do Google 2FA with it - I'm guessing it's missing some device ID crucial to identify it as a unique device
Nox.
Bogdanprofun P
post May 30 2019, 05:23 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 08:18 PM)
I've got the same problem sad.gif
Chounz
post Jun 18 2019, 04:47 PM

97 posts

hi all Sifus, would like to know is it only IB and Captrader can link to SG Bank account? wanna save some bank charges when doing TT.

I hav an account with traderstation but cant link to SG Bank account. So the only way to fund is through wire transfer.
Or any cheap way to deposit fund?

This post has been edited by Chounz: Jun 18 2019, 04:48 PM
roarus
post Jun 18 2019, 09:21 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Jun 18 2019, 04:47 PM)
hi all Sifus, would like to know is it only IB and Captrader can link to SG Bank account? wanna save some bank charges when doing TT.

I hav an account with traderstation but cant link to SG Bank account. So the only way to fund is through wire transfer.
IB, CapTrader, TradeStation all the same. For FAST transfer source from a SG bank you can create a Wire type deposit notification.

interactivebrokers.com -> top right Login -> Web Portal -> Transfer & Pay -> Transfer Funds -> Choose a New Deposit Method -> SGD -> Wire

It will display to you the account number unique to you, also make sure in transfer message to recipient you enter your account and/or your name

This post has been edited by roarus: Jun 18 2019, 09:21 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 19 2019, 10:42 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Jun 18 2019, 04:47 PM)

wire transfer = fast transfer. They won't write there FAST transfer. Follow te instruction as below by roarus.

QUOTE(roarus @ Jun 18 2019, 09:21 PM)
IB, CapTrader, TradeStation all the same. For FAST transfer source from a SG bank you can create a Wire type deposit notification.

interactivebrokers.com -> top right Login -> Web Portal -> Transfer & Pay -> Transfer Funds -> Choose a New Deposit Method -> SGD -> Wire

It will display to you the account number unique to you, also make sure in transfer message to recipient you enter your account and/or your name
Chounz
post Jun 19 2019, 11:03 AM

97 posts

Thanks for your reply Ramjade and roarus, transfer in and out using FAST wont kena charge right?

Ramjade
post Jun 19 2019, 12:04 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Jun 19 2019, 11:03 AM)
Thanks for your reply Ramjade and roarus, transfer in and out using FAST wont kena charge right?
You can only transfer in using FAST. Transfer in free. Only get one free transfer out in a month. After that you pay.
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2019, 07:41 PM

24,358 posts

hyperzz, rjb123, roarus you know of any ETFs which track the dividend aristocrats/champions that's on LSE? I only know of one.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 20 2019, 07:42 PM
roarus
post Jun 21 2019, 10:43 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 20 2019, 07:41 PM)
hyperzz, rjb123roarus you know of any ETFs which track the dividend aristocrats/champions that's on LSE?  I only know of one.
I'm assuming specifically you're referring to S&P Dividend Aristocrats?

Not that I know of, quick search returned one that tracks the exact index by SSGA/SPDRS - which is likely the one you know.

Any reason you're looking for something that holds high yield USA stocks? Even at 15% rate, it's still a huge chunk of return withheld by Uncle Sam.

This post has been edited by roarus: Jun 21 2019, 10:43 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 21 2019, 10:50 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jun 21 2019, 10:43 PM)
I'm assuming specifically you're referring to S&P Dividend Aristocrats?

Not that I know of, quick search returned one that tracks the exact index by SSGA/SPDRS - which is likely the one you know.

Any reason you're looking for something that holds high yield USA stocks? Even at 15% rate, it's still a huge chunk of return withheld by Uncle Sam.
Actually what I know of is only UDVD. Was thinking if there are alternatives. I am open to ideas than UDVD
I like dividend investing and if I can get dividends aristocrat of US at 15% tax vs 30% tax why not?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 21 2019, 10:50 PM
roarus
post Jun 21 2019, 11:57 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 21 2019, 10:50 PM)
Actually what I know of is only UDVD. Was thinking if there are alternatives.  I am open to ideas than UDVD
I like dividend investing and if I can get dividends aristocrat of US at 15% tax vs 30% tax why not?
That's the SSGA one. Very briefly the list is described as high yield counters that has increasing dividend payouts for the past 25 years.

For one you'll be missing out on:
i. counters that might not give returns in dividend but in capital gains
ii. or counters with relatively good yield but not consistently increasing
ii. young companies

Perhaps consider the fact that there are some regions e.g. Malaysia, Singapore, HK that you should be chasing dividends while for others it's better to go for cap gains? After all, we aren't subject to US cap gains

Looking up UDVD on Yahoo! Finance also suggests VHYD by Vanguard, it's a wider net All World High Yield instead of just US focused. Both UDVD and VHYD have volume, though the spread is subjective to one's acceptance.
Ramjade
post Jun 22 2019, 07:17 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jun 21 2019, 11:57 PM)
That's the SSGA one. Very briefly the list is described as high yield counters that has increasing dividend payouts for the past 25 years.

For one you'll be missing out on:
i. counters that might not give returns in dividend but in capital gains
ii. or counters with relatively good yield but not consistently increasing
ii. young companies

Perhaps consider the fact that there are some regions e.g. Malaysia, Singapore, HK that you should be chasing dividends while for others it's better to go for cap gains? After all, we aren't subject to US cap gains

Looking up UDVD on Yahoo! Finance also suggests VHYD by Vanguard, it's a wider net All World High Yield instead of just US focused. Both UDVD and VHYD have volume, though the spread is subjective to one's acceptance.
Money is not yours until is in your bank account.
With dividend stocks/ETF definitely there's a pay.
So far the dividend aristocrats have outperform the s&p500.

roarus
post Jun 22 2019, 09:43 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 22 2019, 07:17 AM)
Money is not yours until is in your bank account.
With dividend stocks/ETF definitely there's a pay.
So far the dividend aristocrats have outperform the s&p500.
Depends on what you do with that dividend money. If in accumulating phase you're pouring it back to the same fund, you'll be equally exposed to drawdowns as a non distributing fund. But if you would like the flexibility to take the money as annual vacation or put it in other investment baskets, you're not wrong too.

My personal preference is having an accumulating fund where available, rebalance semi-annually during my accumulating phase. Once retired I'll just drawdown the same time I've been rebalancing semi-annually.

You may play around with SPY vs SDY at portfoliovisualizer.com. You can compare as far back as 2006 to cover the 2008 crash. However to get actual total returns for us Malaysian tax payer you'll have to manually factor in the WHT from the income returns.
SUSMNet
post Jun 23 2019, 11:09 AM

11,954 posts

Any irish ETF that I can buy so that can save on the tax?

114 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:04 AM