Best Value/Performance Hardwares, Come share

TSkucingfight
post Sep 12 2006, 05:51 PM, updated 20y ago

5,784 posts

Being a cheap-As$ , i love getting the cheapest range of hardwares and pushing them to the max with the stuffs i have.

Below are my schweettt memories:

1. XP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C [1.5v]
- Easily hit 2.4ghz

2. Ti4200.
- best bang 4buck ratio, OCed to 310/300

3. Venice 3000+
- 2.7ghz anyone?

4. P4 2.4C
- i've tested 4 of these, and all hit 3.2ghz no sweat with stock HSF

5. P4 1.6A/1.8A
- the 1.6A hit 2.4ghz and 1.8A hit 2.6ghz

6. Galaxy 7300GT 128mb DDR3 Zalman
- arriving in few days time. Cant wait to max it.

7. ATi 9500 NP 128mb Moddable 9700
- additional 4 pipes, performance enhancer.

8. 2x 512mb Corsair XMS DDR 400 Rev 5.1
- eventhough it's powered by relatively unknown Promos chips, it hit 272fsb @ 3-
4-4-8 1T @ 2.7v . I believe it would have hit higher but i didn't have the correct
rig to max it.

9. Biostar Tforce 6100 939
- Low cost, overclockable with built in decent graphics. What else, 400HTT?

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Sep 13 2006, 02:18 PM
wtm0325
post Sep 12 2006, 06:14 PM

1,796 posts

kucing, sometimes i'll agree tht cheap these proc or ram can be max very far, but it does required good mobo or psu.. izzit the same if we buy lets say 3.2ghz p4 ht w a cheapo mobo n psu, arent they the same?

yeah me do hv the same habit as urs, but sometimes ai doubt it'll only good for those who hv the time n knowledge to tune it with, but ah beng ah kao, i think LPPL lor laugh.gif

edited:

my history value/performance hardware

1. amd xp 1800+ jiuhb dlt3c
- 2.4ghz@1.5v (12x200)

2. amd sempron 2800+ s754 0528upmw
- 2.68ghz@1.45v (8x335)

3. amd sempron 2500+ s754 0530epfw
- 2.4ghz@1.45v (7x345)

4. kvr 512mb ddr400 dt-d43
- 3-4-4-8 @260fsb 2.8v

This post has been edited by wtm0325: Sep 14 2006, 06:55 PM
lolhalol
post Sep 12 2006, 06:44 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

hmmm best bang for buck thing i ever bought was the AMD64 e6 3k...rm 315...so cheap man... and 1.8 oced to 2.75.... almost close to 60%oc....adn rock solid stable..been runnign non stop for bout 2 weeks now... nuthing happen yet.... number two on the list would be my old 6600XX(cant remmeber wat it was)...oc great and very powerfull that time.....and third on my list would be artic silencer 6 for the 6600..so cheap so quiet and so good....
gengstapo
post Sep 12 2006, 07:10 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

my nice cheap item currently were my KVR DDR2 1GB x2
even it only rated at DDR533(266Mhz) but it able to run at DDR900(450Mhz) 24/7, no error etc.. lol
error
post Sep 12 2006, 10:42 PM

869 posts

here's my list smile.gif

1) AMD 2400+ Mobile Barton 1.35v
- OCed to 2.4GHz @ 1.75v running for almost 2 years and still going strong

2) Powercolor 9800SE
- Running at 9800 Pro (unlocking pipeline) - RIP

3) Inno3D 6600 OC version
- Running at above 6600GT speed
x800
post Sep 13 2006, 08:42 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

My list: biggrin.gif

1) P4 2.4B..oced to 3.2gig wif stock hsf..3.4gig wif a TR hsf rclxms.gif (long time ago..forgot where i put it now sweat.gif )

2)KVR BT-D43..had two configurations of these..2x512 and also 4x256..bought at KVR price and performs 24/7 at ddr500 3-4-4-8 1T for the 2x512 and ddr500 2.5-4-3-5 1T for the 4x256..

3) Venice 3000+...oced to 2.5ghz wif stock hsf n voltage..200mhz below kucing sweat.gif
e-jump
post Sep 13 2006, 08:52 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

my best value definately
1.my bfg6800ultra OC agp brows.gif
got it 'new' for rm650 , where it was rm2k some time ago

*i know 7600gt agp outperform this, but u never go wrong with 6800u if u wanna a fierce looking card for the price tongue.gif
**3dmarks? who give a shit when u can already play at max settings on 1024 n above
user posted image user posted image

2. my 2x256 ddr400 kvr dt-d43 that can do 265 2.5-4-4-x 1T 2.8v
*now it got its new owner, i believe its moderno's bro wave.gif

---
btw no doubt the barton xp-m would be all time best value/perf. with unlock multi's ala FX style rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Sep 13 2006, 09:28 AM
tsg
post Sep 13 2006, 08:57 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

certainly agreed with no ti 4200 & venice 3k,the MSI 4200 hit 305/300 with 3rd party cooler
raymond5105
post Sep 13 2006, 09:20 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Sep 13 2006, 08:42 AM)
My list: biggrin.gif

1) P4 2.4B..oced to 3.2gig wif stock hsf..3.4gig wif a TR hsf rclxms.gif (long time ago..forgot where i put it now sweat.gif )

2)KVR BT-D43..had two configurations of these..2x512 and also 4x256..bought at KVR price and performs 24/7 at ddr500 3-4-4-8 1T for the 2x512 and ddr500 2.5-4-3-5 1T for the 4x256..

3) Venice 3000+...oced to 2.5ghz wif stock hsf n voltage..200mhz below kucing sweat.gif
KVR BT-D43 can does 250MHz on your system?You pump in 2.8V for the KVR ?
x800
post Sep 13 2006, 09:46 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

yerp,i pumped 2.8V for both setup.the 2x512 was used in my old p4 rig,and the 4x256 in my 'recently old' venice rig.currently on lappy though tongue.gif
raymond5105
post Sep 13 2006, 10:14 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Sep 13 2006, 09:46 AM)
yerp,i pumped 2.8V for both setup.the 2x512 was used in my old p4 rig,and the 4x256 in my 'recently old' venice rig.currently on lappy though tongue.gif
I c.Then i will try to go higher than 230MHz on the KVR there. sweat.gif After that see how far can it goes. tongue.gif
Crazyboyrs
post Sep 14 2006, 06:33 PM

1,112 posts

1. Barton 2500+ @ 3200+
- Changing 166 FSB to 200 FSB

2. 2800+ 754 @ 2.4 Ghz
- clawhammer core

3. Venice 3000 + @ 2.7Ghz
- venice is insane

4. Kingston DT-D43
-260 Mhz 2.5/4/3/8 1T @ 3v

This post has been edited by Crazyboyrs: Sep 15 2006, 02:06 PM
BurgerRI
post Sep 14 2006, 10:02 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 13 2006, 08:52 AM)
my best value definately
1.my bfg6800ultra OC agp brows.gif
got it 'new' for rm650 , where it was rm2k some time ago

*i know 7600gt agp outperform this, but u never go wrong with 6800u if u wanna a fierce looking card for the price tongue.gif
**3dmarks? who give a shit when u can already play at max settings on 1024 n above
user posted image user posted image

2. my 2x256 ddr400 kvr dt-d43 that can do 265 2.5-4-4-x 1T 2.8v
*now it got its new owner, i believe its moderno's bro wave.gif

---
btw no doubt the barton xp-m would be all time best value/perf. with unlock multi's ala FX style rolleyes.gif
EJump,

Are those chopsticks I see in your casing pic? what are those chopstickies for? biggrin.gif

Irishcoffee
post Sep 14 2006, 10:08 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

Barton 2500+ 1.8 @ 2.2 Barton 3200+
damn easy!!
y waste money hah!!
blaxez
post Sep 14 2006, 10:50 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Sep 14 2006, 10:02 PM)
EJump,

Are those chopsticks I see in your casing pic? what are those chopstickies for? biggrin.gif
maybe he uses the chopsticks to support the fan blowing into the gpu
BurgerRI
post Sep 14 2006, 11:00 PM

905 posts

that is the most ingenious use I've seen for a chopstick yet...good stuff thumbup.gif

0.0212sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:39 AM