illegear z5 discussion thread, anything and everything about the beast
Nov 7 2014, 12:42 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hmmm..super interested with this laptop but very worried with the QC..how's the z5 build? the quality and especially screen? bought a ge60 apache pro recently, exchanged 3 times and decided to refund cuz the all unit received has screen defects (yellow tint/terrible mura effect)
Nov 7 2014, 09:21 AM
208 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Nov 6 2014, 05:25 PM) thk for your reply, but my question is how can i know which type of graphic card it is used by that laptop before i buy it, i dun think the reseller will allow me to install the thing and test it lo! in my area even dun have ready stock,have to order planning to get maxwell card, any suggestion, so sorry to say that z5 is over my budget,my budget is below 3.5k. This post has been edited by evum seu: Nov 7 2014, 09:22 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 09:35 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(purlezz @ Nov 7 2014, 12:42 AM) hmmm..super interested with this laptop but very worried with the QC..how's the z5 build? the quality and especially screen? bought a ge60 apache pro recently, exchanged 3 times and decided to refund cuz the all unit received has screen defects (yellow tint/terrible mura effect) Quality and build is very solid..its better u go see the beast at illegear's office and fell it yourself and also check the displayThis post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Nov 7 2014, 09:39 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 09:21 AM) thk for your reply, but my question is how can i know which type of graphic card it is used by that laptop before i buy it, i dun think the reseller will allow me to install the thing and test it lo! in my area even dun have ready stock,have to order As far as i know..since both maxwell and kepler has 4gb cards..no way to check, unless u check through system information..planning to get maxwell card, any suggestion, so sorry to say that z5 is over my budget,my budget is below 3.5k. And if any sifus here this there is another way to check before ordering, do correct my statement above.. |
Nov 7 2014, 09:45 AM
Nov 7 2014, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Nov 7 2014, 09:38 AM) As far as i know..since both maxwell and kepler has 4gb cards..no way to check, unless u check through system information.. if like this, only way is ask who had buy the model that you interest and test it lo!And if any sifus here this there is another way to check before ordering, do correct my statement above.. |
Nov 7 2014, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 09:45 AM) no need, depend on your review here can know this is really beast for this price range, i prefer its design than aw lo QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 09:47 AM) Haha..yea..thats the only way to confirm the gpu..Aw is nice too but for that price and for that gpu, its not worth it and not very futureproof..the cooling is not that good too not to mention its thick for a 14 inch laptop.. Example my friends aw 14 with gt 550m now cant even play crysis at low setting..because overheat and lag One more thing..if u want to get a laptop at 3.5k, i suggest to save little bit more and get the beast...however, if u dont game and prefer a more classic look laptop like asus and macbook, then this laptop is not your cup of tea as it will gain attention because of the looks and the brand is rare, trust me |
Nov 7 2014, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Nov 7 2014, 09:52 AM) Haha..yea..thats the only way to confirm the gpu.. i just dun want mainstream laptop which using u series processor because i know their performance sure suck!Aw is nice too but for that price and for that gpu, its not worth it and not very futureproof..the cooling is not that good too not to mention its thick for a 14 inch laptop.. Example my friends aw 14 with gt 550m now cant even play crysis at low setting..because overheat and lag One more thing..if u want to get a laptop at 3.5k, i suggest to save little bit more and get the beast...however, if u dont game and prefer a more classic look laptop like asus and macbook, then this laptop is not your cup of tea as it will gain attention because of the looks and the brand is rare, trust me actually i have the budget to go to this beast but beast look of this laptop will be banned by all my family member, they will just say it is too attractive and easy get stolen when i get into hostel in u! haiz..... what a sad story! This post has been edited by evum seu: Nov 7 2014, 10:04 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 10:06 AM
259 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 09:21 AM) thk for your reply, but my question is how can i know which type of graphic card it is used by that laptop before i buy it, i dun think the reseller will allow me to install the thing and test it lo! in my area even dun have ready stock,have to order From my understanding, only GTX 860m give the confusion as nvidia released it both in maxwell and kepler architecture.planning to get maxwell card, any suggestion, so sorry to say that z5 is over my budget,my budget is below 3.5k. ![]() Source The rest of its 8xx series siblings and all 7xx series are all in kepler's architecture (correct me if i'm wrong). As for the 900m series gpu, the one that are about to be released (or already released in some area) the GTX 970m and GTX 980m is confirm in maxwell architecture. |
Nov 7 2014, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2014, 10:06 AM) From my understanding, only GTX 860m give the confusion as nvidia released it both in maxwell and kepler architecture. maxwell performance is 10% better than kepler processor, even though it cant be upgrade, but it doesn't matter for me, cause i am not a hardcore gamer. i just seek for a laptop with high performance(not extreme) and it can be last longer until 3 or 4 year which mean it last until i finish my study.![]() Source The rest of its 8xx series siblings and all 7xx series are all in kepler's architecture (correct me if i'm wrong). As for the 900m series gpu, the one that are about to be released (or already released in some area) the GTX 970m and GTX 980m is confirm in maxwell architecture. This post has been edited by evum seu: Nov 7 2014, 10:21 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 10:01 AM) i just dun want mainstream laptop which using u series processor because i know their performance sure suck! Haha ok bro..i understand..typical family reaction but after a few weeks they will just let go.. actually i have the budget to go to this beast but beast look of this laptop will be banned by all my family member, they will just say it is too attractive and easy get stolen when i get into hostel in u! haiz..... what a sad story! Yea i also noticed most normal laptops using u series proc..except gaming laptop like asus g551jm, msi ge60, lenovo y50, aw 14 and this beast If this laptop looks too much of a beast, maybe u can try asus g551jm..kinda good too...dont go for lenovo y50 because the display sucks, inless u have a separate monitor |
Nov 7 2014, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 10:21 AM) maxwell performance is 10% better than kepler processor, even though it cant be upgrade, but it doesn't matter for me, cause i am not a hardcore gamer. i just seek for a laptop with high performance(not extreme) and it can be last longer until 3 or 4 year which mean it last until i finish my study. If i were in your shoes, and looking for a future proof lappy (last at least 3~4 years) I'll get at least a quad core lappy and any GTX series gpu.my best recommendation for you is 1) Illegear RK-15, i7-4710MQ + Nvidia GTX850M(2GB DDR3) [Dynaudio], 4GB, which starting RM 3,099 located well within your budget range. Customize Spec 2) MSI GE60-2PL, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M(DDR3) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)[Dynaudio], 4GB, HDD, W8.1 starting from RM 3,499.00. less sringgit from your budget. xD As for both build quality and durability, I cant comment much on it as I never have the chance to test it myself. But I think if you prefer to go for MSI GE60, i think should do a deeper research and read reviews of it. Some that I read gave me such a bad impression on MSI GE series. FYI, GTX 850m is a good gpu as well, it can run recent games (pre 2014) at medium settings refer here P/S: sorry arvinaa for spamming your thread. This post has been edited by erszebeth: Nov 7 2014, 10:42 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2014, 10:40 AM) If i were in your shoes, and looking for a future proof lappy (last at least 3~4 years) I'll get at least a quad core lappy and any GTX series gpu. No prob bro..btw why is the illegear z5 not in the list when it has the gtx 860m? Is it because of the price??my best recommendation for you is 1) Illegear RK-15, i7-4710MQ + Nvidia GTX850M(2GB DDR3) [Dynaudio], 4GB, which starting RM 3,099 located well within your budget range. Customize Spec 2) MSI GE60-2PL, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX850M(DDR3) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)[Dynaudio], 4GB, HDD, W8.1 starting from RM 3,499.00. less sringgit from your budget. xD As for both build quality and durability, I cant comment much on it as I never have the chance to test it myself. But I think if you prefer to go for MSI GE60, i think should do a deeper research and read reviews of it. Some that I read gave me such a bad impression on MSI GE series. FYI, GTX 850m is a good gpu as well, it can run recent games (pre 2014) at medium settings refer here P/S: sorry arvinaa for spamming your thread. Edit: and the asus g551jm too..its cheaper than the z5 and has better soecs than the ge60 and rs15..btw have u heard of the term MSI(MONKEY SELLING IT)?? there is a reason why people dont trust msi..its not that reliable..if i got a bidget of 3.5k i would definitely go for asus g551jm or save a little bit more and get the beast z5 This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Nov 7 2014, 10:52 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Nov 7 2014, 10:49 AM) No prob bro..btw why is the illegear z5 not in the list when it has the gtx 860m? Is it because of the price?? Yea, its because of his budget and i need to respect that. Anyway, I intentionally left out asus g series because the one that was within his budget only equipped with i5 dual core processor. he's gonna have a hard time playing open world games that utilize more core cpus like skyrim, gta, guild wars 2 etc with only dual core cpu. EDITED: I read wrongly. Yea evam, u can consider asus G551JM as well, with similar spec of based model of z5 starting from RM 3200 (got this price from our fellow trader in gs) thanks arvinaa for the heads up. This post has been edited by erszebeth: Nov 7 2014, 11:01 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2014, 10:54 AM) Yea, its because of his budget and i need to respect that. Bro..u got wrong info. Asus g551jm has i7 processor at rm 3230..check properly at this link firstAnyway, I intentionally left out asus g series because the one that was within his budget only equipped with i5 dual core processor. he's gonna have a hard time playing open world games that utilize more core cpus like skyrim, gta, guild wars 2 etc with only dual core cpu. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2357582 Only downside is it has gtx860m 2gb graphics..thats why i went for illegear z5 This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Nov 7 2014, 11:02 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Nov 7 2014, 11:01 AM) Bro..u got wrong info. Asus g551jm has i7 processor at rm 3230..check properly at this link first Yeap, just edited my previous post. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2357582 |
Nov 7 2014, 11:16 AM
Nov 7 2014, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Nov 7 2014, 11:16 AM) Haha ok bro My Illegear RE-15 still working well. Used it for over a year now. Just normal wear and tear. A little problem with my space bar key though, but that to be expected as I used it a lot to jump during my gaming time. >.<Also, hows ur illegear laptop so far? I plan to grab Re-13 once i've let go my rMBP 13". |
Nov 7 2014, 11:45 AM
2,222 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Hi Arvinaaaaa, since you did a full review of the Z5, I was wondering if you could provide me with some suggestions.
I was looking at the ASUS G551 all along until I stumbled onto this beast here. With the Z5, I would obviously need to top up with Windows OS and some minor improvements, bringing the total costs to around RM4300. My question is, is it worth it compared to paying around RM3200 for the G551, bearing in mind I'm not a heavy gamer (just want a good specs laptop that can last me awhile). I really like the looks of the Z5 but is that justifiable for paying that extra RM1100? This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Nov 7 2014, 11:46 AM |
Nov 7 2014, 11:55 AM
1,272 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Team ILLEGEAR |
QUOTE(purlezz @ Nov 7 2014, 12:42 AM) hmmm..super interested with this laptop but very worried with the QC..how's the z5 build? the quality and especially screen? bought a ge60 apache pro recently, exchanged 3 times and decided to refund cuz the all unit received has screen defects (yellow tint/terrible mura effect) Hey purlezz,I completely understand your concern. Every ILLEGEAR laptop is tested for at least 48 hours and we will never ever ship bad screen to our customers. If you encounter such problem you can demand for 1-to-1 exchange from ILLEGEAR within 7 days, although such circumstance is very rare to us. QUOTE(evum seu @ Nov 7 2014, 09:21 AM) thk for your reply, but my question is how can i know which type of graphic card it is used by that laptop before i buy it, i dun think the reseller will allow me to install the thing and test it lo! in my area even dun have ready stock,have to order Hi evum,planning to get maxwell card, any suggestion, so sorry to say that z5 is over my budget,my budget is below 3.5k. You can check review from established site like notebookcheck.com, they will mention whether it's maxwell or kepler. Hope this helps |
| Change to: | 0.0330sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:51 AM |