Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold, Another Fantastic 5% Cash Back Card

szaku89
post Nov 20 2014, 09:41 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 20 2014, 08:42 PM)
still not worth it.
need to pump how many petrol to get rebate rm50 to pay for gst
You can use it to pay for other bills too sis, or do some weekend shopping. 1 year u can get back >rm600 cash back. gov tax is only rm50. better than paying all that by cash.
szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 03:43 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Jun 29 2015, 09:29 AM)
Wah so serious.... lucky I want this card for petrol + Touch n Go + Prepaid reload nia.

Others, I will find alternatives.
Where u topup TOuch n Go with mastercard? and prepaid.

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Jun 29 2015, 01:59 PM)
I've called the number given and it mention not available  sweat.gif
LOL, just called the number 10 mins ago, no problem also. Maybe line too busy.
szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 10:03 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

Any mbb ikhwan users here had topped up TouchnGo via groceries or petrol category?

How do one know there is cashback or not for that TnG topup transaction?
szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 10:13 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:06 PM)
Definitely you need to track according to the MCC from where you swiped it.

Reload T&G at T&G centre at KL Sentral ---> NO
Reload T&G at Sam Groceria, KL Sentral ---> YES (MCC code falls under groceries)
Reload T&G at TESCO ---> YES (MCC code falls under groceries)
Reload T&C at Petronas ---> YES (MCC code falls under petrol)
Reload T&C at Watson ---> NO ((MCC code falls under pharmacy)
Thx for the examples.
Is it possible to track their mcc codes? Its written on the credit card receipt?

And is it possible to know whether that single TnG reload transaction has cashback? or need to manually calculate on our own?

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Jun 29 2015, 10:06 PM)
Thx a lot. Its stated quite obvious, Groceries and Petrol Stations.
szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 10:23 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:18 PM)
The best thing about this card on Groceries is that it tracks using MCC instead of specific grocers like UOB ONE or Citibank Cash Back.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Bro mind to compile a comprehensive list on the MCC code for groceries?

Are these confirm under groceries? (summarized the list from the thread on TnG via CC)
-aeon supermarket
-aeon big
-mydin, MyMydin
-Jaya Grocer
-Sam's Groceria
-Giant
-Tesco, tesco extra

szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 10:32 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:24 PM)
It is too wide.

MCC code under 5411, 5422 and 5451 should be considered as Groceries.
Just now you mention we wont know the MCC code, so how do you know about the 5411, 5422 and 5451? sweat.gif
szaku89
post Jun 29 2015, 10:39 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:34 PM)
We won't and we don't know but just based experiences. We have so many threads on various credit cards from various bank. You can read their 1st page to know more.

I recommend you to read HLB WISE and OCBC thread. I think they should keep the MCC tracking for groceries.
ok thx a lot for sharing. Heading to those 2 CC threads for further research lol. Preparing myself for mbb ikhwan, although havent got approved yet lol.
szaku89
post Aug 19 2015, 09:28 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(cipher3344 @ Aug 19 2015, 09:16 PM)
Have bad feeling mbb gonna cut the 5%benefit...
Touchwood...

If is happen...those busy convert and apply..sure f*** mbb up to sky....

Friendly reminder, keep the m2c...just incase...really..just incase...
Better apply a backup cc so that after ikhwan f up, you still have alternative lol. touch wood.
szaku89
post Aug 27 2015, 10:26 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

I just tried to email maybank customer service, requesting for splitting of credit limit from my mbb2c to re-apply for maybank ikhwan mastercard. Previously applied being rejected, so sad T__T. Hopefully can go thru this time.
szaku89
post Sep 4 2015, 10:13 AM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

Re-applied Maybank ikhwan with request of splitting credit limit from my main mbb2cards last week. Today get to know it's already approved. Thank god.
szaku89
post Sep 4 2015, 06:18 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Sep 4 2015, 05:52 PM)
Did you specify how much credit to split?

I as well email MBB and now awaiting for response on the credit splitting matter.
I did not mention how much I wanna split. But then it's preferable you mention it. When I call them up to ask about the progress, they asked me how much I would like to split. Try calling them and see.
szaku89
post Sep 4 2015, 06:26 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2015, 06:20 PM)
Care to share how much you split, % from your existing CL?
30% of my mbb2cards CL. You applied already?
szaku89
post Sep 5 2015, 09:30 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 5 2015, 08:43 PM)
Just signed up Ikhwan at MATTA Fair. That fellow initially was promoting Maybank then kept on pushing Public Bank and BSN to me and asked me to keep without activating them. I said no way and I will not.

I made sure my application is for Maybank and not other cards. I even made sure my IC has been crossed for MBB only before I left. shakehead.gif
No split CL? Risky lol.

I just realized, previously I requested to split CL right, after approval, I look into maybank2u, my mbb2c CL remained the same. Strange.
szaku89
post Sep 5 2015, 09:37 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 5 2015, 09:35 PM)
Just trying my luck. If decline, I will walk in to KLCC or Gardens. Just happened I was there today, so just applied lo.
Mana tau, he has so many forms with him. doh.gif
Anyway, if rejected, can just give them a call request to split CL on phone. No need wait another 6 months.
szaku89
post Sep 6 2015, 09:18 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

wow so happy Sam grocery have such good service. Bad thing is I am working nowhere near Sams grocery. Must tumpang people to help be swipe at Sams already.
szaku89
post Sep 6 2015, 09:41 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

Split CL no more allowed? LOL. Luckily I got mine approved already.
szaku89
post Sep 6 2015, 09:57 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(jensen87 @ Sep 6 2015, 09:53 PM)
since physically went also cannot liao.. the last hope is via email lo.. wait until they reply lo.. for me cb helps me a lot..
You can try via email or phone call also. The customer service is quite responsive and helpful.
CB helps you a lot? I think better to reduce spending because CB is only 5% lol.
szaku89
post Sep 6 2015, 10:08 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(jensen87 @ Sep 6 2015, 10:01 PM)
phone call tried liao.. but they ask me try again 6 months.. lolz...
email.. doing now.. see what they advise lo..
Oh I see, you even tried calling them right? You Requested for split CL also on the phone?

I applied ikhwan via phone call and was rejected, that was 2 months back.

Until 1 week + ago I got the urge to email them to re-apply with splitting CL from my main mbb2c.

After few days I called ask ask about the status, and she checked the case and its in progress, asking me how much I would like to split from the main card CL.

Last friday I called to ask again on the progress, I just got approved.
szaku89
post Sep 8 2015, 09:27 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Sep 8 2015, 08:34 PM)
Just collected my Ikhwan card from the bank. No free gift though.

Now i have to do the following:
1. Call CS to activate the card
2. Set the SMS alert to RM1
3. Set the statement date

Is there any other important thing to do before using the card? Can I ask for totally new statement date for my Ikhwan (new) and MBB2Cards (existing)?
How to you set the statement date?
szaku89
post Sep 9 2015, 11:39 AM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

ok,called and requested to change statement date, have to wait for 2nd billing cycle for the change. Requested to also change the SMS alert to rm1.

I did all even though I Haven't received my ikhwan yet lol. Thx fellow forumers for the tips lol.

0.0486sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:28 PM