Understand that the 5% rebate is applicable for petrol and groceries on Friday and Saturday, but what are the categories for "groceries" in general?
Can any sifu explain?
Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold, Another Fantastic 5% Cash Back Card
Jul 25 2015, 09:11 PM
210 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
Newbie here, considering to get this MC to replace/combine with existing M2C (AMEX)
Understand that the 5% rebate is applicable for petrol and groceries on Friday and Saturday, but what are the categories for "groceries" in general? Can any sifu explain? |
Jul 25 2015, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 25 2015, 09:14 PM) They're track using MCC. It's hard to define. ah ok, thank you for your reply... Groceries are everything from grocer to hypermarkets. Departmental stores are not classified. Basically your daily supplies and consumables. Based on current usage of existing M2C (AMEX), I would say mainly used on petrol and departmental store... Groceries, zero record... Wonder if worth getting this, any advise? |
Jul 26 2015, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 25 2015, 09:51 PM) QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 25 2015, 11:55 PM) Provided that you reload at Sam Groceria or Jaya Grocer. I'm aware of that discussion @ TnG thread. Any idea this MC will bundle with any freebies if applied successfully? Or MBB always no freebies...? And certain petrol stations, Giant or Tesco. Details: refer to TnG thread. |
Jul 26 2015, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 26 2015, 05:02 PM) No free gift one la, unless you can find a booth. You better pray that your application will be approved. I think shouldn't be an issue on the approval since already own M2C (also recently terminated my backup SCB MC)... Looks like this is the only ideal CC for 5% CB, will head to The Gardens and apply this MC over the weekend, thanks |
Aug 8 2015, 08:44 PM
Applied the MC Ikhwan on Friday morning @ KLCC, I thought will be able to collect in the evening if got approved... but evening i headed back, was told that the system somehow down...
Aug 29 2015, 11:47 PM
QUOTE 5% rebate on petrol and groceries on Friday and Saturday, capped at maximum of RM50.00 per customer per month (Principal Cardmember only) The terms & conditions seems to be very contradict...? Supplementary Cardmember got no cap? The MasterCard Ikhwan “5% Cash Back” (“Cash Back”) is open to all eligible Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Card-i (“Card”) Cardmember both Principal and Supplementary (“Cardmembers”) which are valid, subsisting and in good credit standing as may be determined by Malayan Banking Berhad/Maybank Islamic Berhad (“Maybank”) at its sole and absolute discretion. |
Sep 6 2015, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 6 2015, 08:56 AM) been chatting with Sam's Groceria rep over FB about utility bill payment there... Good summarised info! Will there be any extra charges imposed?1) Sam's accepts payment for Celcom, U Mobile, RedTone, Astro, and TM only. 2) About TM, Sam's have been accepting all TM bills, as long as the server is linked. 3) About TNB, right now Sam's have facing technical glitch with TNB billing system and as such, cannot accept this bill for payment. Only when TNB sort it, then they are good to go. 4) Sam's accepts payment using Credit Cards and Touch 'n Go cards. 5) About bringing hardcopy bill statement, NOT required. You can show the eBill and do ensure the account number is correct before you make the payment. QUOTE(fish_pg @ Sep 6 2015, 10:41 AM) Thanks for sharing. Now let hope that maybank won't revise this cb so soon. Hope for better revision, like 5% cb for everything |
Sep 7 2015, 12:21 PM
This is weird, it seems different branch is doing different practise? When I apply my Ikhwan at KLCC branch, they only asked me to print latest EPF statement over the counter and fill in new form, I'm still holding my M2C and salary goes to PBB, yet they told me need no provide any payslips, I did brought along with me though.
Sep 8 2015, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 8 2015, 08:49 AM) Just realized that I swiped Citibank Cash Back at Sam Groceria which is not entitled for Groceries rebate. The 2% is not applicable? |
Sep 9 2015, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 9 2015, 08:20 AM) O...can request like that ar...just know that...TQ You don't have to wait for the 1st statement, in fact you may call now. Just that CS will tell you to monitor your statement date after the 1st statement been issued as the date will not be updated immediately. CS will ask you to choose dates like 24, 26, 28, end of the month etc based on their system. will request after my 1st ikhwan statement come and will put all 3 cards to same statement date. |
Sep 9 2015, 05:46 PM
May I know what's with the "set SMS alert to RM1" for? Notify every transactions via SMS with RM1 surcharge?
Sep 9 2015, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 9 2015, 06:04 PM) Any transaction above rm1 will receive a sms to our registered phone number. Best way to know fraud happen. QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 9 2015, 06:05 PM) NOT rm1 surcharge lah. Ahhh ok... I no set, so that's why I no receive any SMS alerts, only the beginning 1st few transactions then no more whenever you transacted amount RM1 and above, you receive an SMS telling you the activities occurred to your card. |
Sep 9 2015, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 9 2015, 06:51 PM) better set. Will do that, thanks call CS to set it to RM1. it's good to be notified for every single transactions went thru your card.\ like eddievh said, good to catch fraud transactions, especially those low amount. |
Sep 18 2015, 11:17 PM
Another reminder from MBB, which is good... But they aren't aware that I can't Umrah...
QUOTE RM0.00 MBB: Spend RM200 & above with your Ikhwan MasterCard and stand a chance to win an Umrah trip. Dwnld Treat Apps @ Play Store & App Store for great offers. |
Sep 19 2015, 06:46 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 18 2015, 11:22 PM) For non-Muslim is vacation trip. It's mentioned in their website. Yupe I know, read that before signing up. What I'm trying to point out is that MBB should have registered the user's name properly and SMS accordingly |
Sep 19 2015, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 19 2015, 09:14 AM) the card is islamic card and their promo to win umrah trip is what it supposed to be. if they blast separately for non-muslim with vacation trip, it already terpesong already. Hmm got a point there it's more simple to adjust yourself. when you read umrah trip, it's a vacation trip for you. |
Sep 21 2015, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Sep 21 2015, 03:44 AM) mana got booth to apply this card with freebies? Not too sure on tha availability, but you may try checking a booth right at the entrance of TGV @ KLCC... I passed by last month and I saw the booth has a luggage too (I didn't stop by) |
Sep 21 2015, 11:49 PM
I think someone has asked this before but I just couldn't find the Q&A...
1. Just to confirm, is Maybank Islamic considered as another institution compared to the conventional Maybank? 2. Take my case as an example, I own M2Cards and Ikhwan, does that mean I got these CC from 2 different issuers? Or it considered as from one issuer? |
Sep 22 2015, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 22 2015, 12:01 AM) 1) yes Ah noted, thanks for your reply 2) 2 issuers |
Sep 22 2015, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(lipfung @ Sep 22 2015, 09:14 PM) My First statement for this card. Din know that the cash back will only be credited on the following month and not on the same month. Transaction on 04 Sept, no cash back receive. Call CS, they say will only be credited on Oct statement. You skipped the T&C before applying? Another thing I'm not aware, no treats points for those Friday and Saturday transactions. Not so good of a credit card after all. |
| Change to: | 0.0461sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:50 AM |