Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold, Another Fantastic 5% Cash Back Card

TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 12:18 PM, updated 11y ago

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold and Platinum Card

Thanks to Grand Master Sifu MilesAndMore who taught me about the benefits of the Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold Card.

Benefits:

1. FREE FOR LIFE thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

2. 5% Cash Back for Petrol and Groceries on Fridays and Saturdays. Capped at RM50/month for Principal only.

3. TreatsPoints. Every RM1 spend locally and overseas earn 1 Treatspoints

4.Umrah Trip. One weekly Umrah winner (package for 2pax) will be selected to win an Umrah package (for Muslims) or holiday package (for non-Musilms) - non exchangeable / transferable. Every RM200 retail spending in one single receipt entitle for 1x entry. Campaign starts 1st August 2014 and ongoing. Winner selection will be done every six (6) months.

The Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold and Platinum Card is great to compliment the Maybankard 2 Cards. And with these two fantastic Maybank cards, we can now earn up to RM100 per month in Cash Back for Petrol, Groceries plus other type of transactions.

Click here to read my short review of the Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Card.

Click here to my article titled The Best Cash Back Credit Cards Combination and see how other credit cards can earn you more cash back to compliment the Maybankard 2 Card and Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2014, 05:45 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 12:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 30 2014, 12:24 PM)
If I may add, credits to original poster rayz112 who notified us about this new card back in June 2014  thumbup.gif
These fantastic cards have been around for months and no one open a thread? The Maybank Islamic MC Ikwan is the replacement card we have been waiting for after OCBC Titanium MasterCard revoked the 5% cash back. Coupled with the Maybankard 2 AMEX, we now have Friday, Saturday and Sundays to earn 5% cash back for petrol.

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 30 2014, 12:29 PM)
reporting in... tongue.gif
This is a new topic, your above post is called spamming. When we get to V2 or 3 or 4 then you may go get one post count for posting reporting in, hahaha

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 30 2014, 12:32 PM)
yes, as i know, rayz112 was the first to post about that cc.  notworthy.gif
Please do not spam but edit your earlier post to include above.

If you had combined the two comments in a single post, then it would not be called spamming, hahahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 30 2014, 12:48 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 01:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Oct 30 2014, 12:54 PM)
how about Maybank Islamic PETRONAS Ikhwan Visa Gold Card-i ?

Benefits
-No Annual Fee
-No annual fee when you sign up for PETRONAS Ikhwan Visa and no conditions attached
-Non Compounding Charges
-Save on non compounding charges every month
-Extra TreatsPoints (with no expiry date)
-8x TreatsPoints on weekend and 5x TreatsPoints on weekdays whenever you spend at PETRONAS Service Stations
-8x TreatsPoints for purchase at groceries every weekend
-Free Petrol with TreatsPoints
-Collect TreatsPoints and use them to redeem Petronas petrol vouchers
-Enjoy Exclusive Treats!
-Free Maybankard Touch ‘n Go Zing Card
-Get this automatic reload card that is link to your PETRONAS Ikhwan Visa
5% Cash is better than 8X Treat Points tongue.gif

And with the Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikwan, you get 5% cash back at ALL petrol stations PLUS another 1 TP.

QUOTE(pisanq @ Oct 30 2014, 01:07 PM)
after getting this card, our credit limit must be split to two: conventional and islamic credit card
Now, for Maybank non-Islamic credit card, the credit limit is not split but shared. However if not mistaken, previously it was reported that the CL both both Maybank and Maybank Islamic cards are separate. Call Maybank Customer Service to reconfirm.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 30 2014, 12:48 PM)
Public Bank VS and Maybank VS took the limelight
The members here mostly must be all going after Premier cards, hahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 30 2014, 01:17 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 02:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 30 2014, 02:08 PM)
lol sorry for "spamming". tongue.gif

i must explain when i saw this thread, i just thought that finally someone posted about this cc. so, i came reporting in. i really didn't think about this is a new topic about a new cc because we have been talking and promoting this cc for months here. hmm.gif

also, if you use phone to post, you will probably understand better why posting is faster than edit. after i posted my comment and saw another person's comment that i agree upon, i can just click "reply" and post again. but if to edit, i can't quote that person's comment to edit into my previous post. which means i need to click reply to that person's comment, copy the quoted content, click edit on my previous post, and paste in before start commenting. biggrin.gif

finally, i still don't understand why so many people mentioned about post counting? is it really so important in lyn? can get any rewards with high post counts? perhaps you may teach me what can i do with a high post count (because from my phone i can't see the post count from anybody including myself)? nod.gif
say all you want, but the fact is you did spammed!
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 02:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 30 2014, 02:45 PM)
i already apologised in my previous post for "spamming" and i never deny it.
i just further explained the reason behind.

if you still feel offended, sorry my bad.  sweat.gif
perhaps we must not suggest you to give credits to rayz112 in the first place.
I guess you really want me to be on attack mode against you by you insinuating that I was offended with cybpsych's post giving credit to rayz112. Credit has been given to rayz112 in Post#2.

I suggest you delete your unnecessary post above to offend me (because I pointed out you were spamming earlier which you did not deny and actually spamming again with your above post for another post count) and I will do the same here. Else be ready for me proofing that you have been spamming in this section and I can tell you that you wont like it.

And at the rate we going (both spamming with post that has nothing to do with credit cards), MOD going to close this thread, hahahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 30 2014, 03:23 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 03:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 30 2014, 03:05 PM)
Oh yea!!! i can finally found a suitable additional combo card for my MBB2 amex

EDIT :

Gen-X , are you going to do a review for this card? cant wait to read ur blog!
Bro, yes of course I will publish a review of the Maybank Islamic MC Ikhwan soon. However I doubt you will learn anything new because basically I'll just show how one can earn more cash back by having both MBB 2 Cards and MBB MC Ikhwan card. Like you said, the Maybank Islamic MC Ikhwan is an additional card to MBB 2 Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 30 2014, 03:20 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 31 2014, 08:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 31 2014, 08:23 PM)
review is up by maestro Gen-X  thumbup.gif
Bro, thank you for reading the article. And you faster than me announcing it here, haha

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 31 2014, 08:33 PM)
Bro Gen-X, paying TNB bills using M2U will be processed on weekends and eligible for the cashback  biggrin.gif
Thanks for reading it too. And Bro, really appreciate you confirming above and I have updated the article to let the entire world know about it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2014, 08:55 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 2 2014, 10:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 2 2014, 10:26 AM)
Just treat it as a backup CC.

That is what I'm planning to do.
Yes, you are right Bro, only get the card if one needs another card for Petrol and Groceries.

To ALL:

I just posted a FREE Tutorial at my Facebook Page comparing the Maybankard 2 Cards and Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan for those who can't decide which card to get and worried about the RM100 GST for the Maybankard 2 Cards.

Click here to my Facebook Page to see why one should get the Maybankard 2 Cards instead of the Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan if he /she only spends up to RM1K per month.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 2 2014, 10:43 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 3 2014, 02:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 2 2014, 10:52 PM)
I think it will be easier if you just put it here rather than ask people going to your personal page.
Bro, my Facebook Page is classified under Community and anyone can view as it is not classified under Personal where you need to friend me laugh.gif Just click on the link one can easily read my comparison of MBB 2 Cards vs MBB Islamic MC Ikhwan Card.

You expert on credit cards so no need go read my Facebook or Blog, but for those who have doubt as to which card to get, i.e, Maybankard 2 Cards versus Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan, my post at my Facebook Page can assist them in choosing the right card for them. And each of you have the prerogative to visit my Facebook or not.

QUOTE(cdspins @ Nov 3 2014, 09:35 AM)
Want to generate visit mah...  brows.gif
haha, you very smart... yes, I have lots of info or Credit Cards and Fixed Deposit at my Facebook Page for those who are willing to visit it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 3 2014, 02:30 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 5 2014, 10:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Nov 5 2014, 09:56 PM)
Tumpang Tanya saat... blink.gif
Whether We Need to Submit Any Income Doc for this Applied through Calling & get the Card approval Straight away...??? hmm.gif
Sis, just call the number David83 gave, it's MBB marketing department and they sure be more than happy to assist you.
TSGen-X
post Nov 6 2014, 11:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 6 2014, 07:29 AM)
The CL for this new card is merely RM 12k.

My MBB2 AMEX still stays at RM 10k since its introduction.

How stingy is MBB.
Bro, interesting that you shared above, so we can conclud that MBB Islamic and Maybank CC have separate CL, right? If yes, it means your total exposure to Maybank Group is now RM22K.

And by the way, why need high CL for the MBB Islamic MC Ikhwan? RM3K more than enough to get max benefit from the card. The card is only good as a side kick card to MBB 2 Cards.

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Nov 6 2014, 11:05 AM)
FYI, under Basel 3, there is capital charges for unutilised CL for CC.

Hence, if u are not regularly high roller or potential high roller, banks will start to reduce CL going forward.
Bro, one day you FREE, PM me to meet up and I buy you coffee and you explain to me what the heck is with the proposed changes and how I can object to it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 7 2014, 01:04 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 7 2014, 12:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Nov 7 2014, 09:32 AM)
Hi.. I would like to ask.. I registered this card for celcom auto-pay bills.. But I did not receive any sms alert that they already paid my bills.. Is this normal?
Usually 1st autodebit they will sent and subsequent no.

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Nov 7 2014, 12:33 PM)
Edited - Apologies, got my divided and multiplied terbalik.

A layman simple definition is as follows:

Banks are required to maintain a minimum amount of Capital based on its Risk Weighted Assets that it holds. 

This Risk Weighted Assets are derived from a Capital Charge multiplied by the Assets of a Bank which are mainly its Debtors (Borrowers) in form of Loans given.

A Bank’s capital can be in the form of Share Capital, Share Premium, Retained Earnings and other deductibles which are too complicated to explain. So, for this example, just use the above Share Capital, Share Premium, Retained Earnings as definition of Capital.

The main Capital Charge formulae is as follows:

For Personal / Unsecured Loans = 100% of the said amount
For Residential Mortgages = 35% of Loan Amount if the LTV is <80%
For other Residential Mortgages = 50% of Loan Amount
For unutilized Credit Limit in Credit Cards = 20% of balance Credit Limit

So, say for instance, the Bank has the following Loan portfolio

Housing Loans with LTV below 80% = RM500 mln
Housing Loans with LTV above 80% = RM800 mln
Personal Loans = RM200 mln
Credit Cards

Total CL = say RM60,000 * 10,000 cards = RM600 mln
Average Credit Utilised = RM10,000 * 10,000 cards = RM100 mln
Average unutilized Credit Limit = RM500 mln

Total Risk Weighted Assets

Mortgages with LTV < 80% = RM500 mln * 35% = RM175 mln
Mortgages with LTV > 80% = RM800 mln * 55% = RM400 mln
Personal Loans = RM200 mln * 100% = RM200 mln
CC – utilized Credit Limit = RM100 mln * 100% = RM100 mln
CC – unutilized Credit Limit = RM500 mln * 20% RM100 mln

Total RWA = RM975 mln

The min Capital Adequacy is Capital / RWA = 8%, so min Capital required = RM12,187.5 RM78 mln

Now, if the Credit Limit for the CC was only at RM30,000, the total RWA wouild be reduced to RM915 mln and the minimum capital required by the Bank will be reduced to RM11,437.5 RM73.2 mln or lowered by RM750 RM4.8 mln (RM30,000 * 10,000 cards * 20% / * 8%)

Hence, CC limit places heay burden on a Bank’s total Capital

That’s why smaller Banks like Affin don’t want to issue many CC
Thank you Sir for the comprehensive and detail explanation put in a way I can understand. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 7 2014, 01:03 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2015, 10:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(6@9 @ Mar 22 2015, 08:36 PM)
Where to buy ipad mini with ezypay up to 12 month
Harvey Norman, EpiCentre and most chain electrical outlets at the malls.
TSGen-X
post Nov 3 2015, 09:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Please proceed to new thread V2 below:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3763581

0.0472sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled