[WTA] migrate to ireland, i'm in dilemma. please advise me.

TSkakicipan
post Oct 30 2014, 10:49 AM, updated 12y ago

105 posts

guys,

i have quite a situation here. i am 26 years old and already married. right now, i'm working as an engineer in oil & gas industry for about 4 years already. Currently, my wife is still studying in ireland taking medicine. she will finish her study on June 2015.

the situation is like this..

my wife got an offer to pursue her study in ireland. she was recommended by her surgeon to undergo this one special training in ireland which not everyone get this golden opportunity.

the problem is, this so called "how to become a great surgeon" training require her to stay and works in ireland for 10 years. oh and fyi, she is a soooooo career minded woman and i really mean it. she said to me last night, if she's not married, definitely she will accept the offer.

lets say if she accepts the offer, we have to migrate to ireland for 10 years which i guess quite long period of time and i have to quit my job as no company will give 10 years unpaid leave. hahaha. i did some research on job opportunity in engineering company in ireland, but unfortunately there is none. to put in a simple words, if we migrate to ireland, i have to sacrifice my job as an engineer, forever. i am 26 and at this age, this is the peak of my career. yes, i do love my job but i love her more. blush.gif

if accept, what can i do in ireland to earn a living? if business, what business do you guys recommend?
if reject, i am afraid that i will regret this for my entire life. but, at least, we can have a normal life like other couples in 'malaysia tanah air tercinta where price hikes all the time' where i do my job, she does hers.

so, what do you guys think? accept or reject? hmm.gif
TSkakicipan
post Oct 30 2014, 01:03 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(barista @ Oct 30 2014, 10:53 AM)
In the 10 years your wife is practising in Ireland, I'm sure she gets a salary. Maybe you can explore furthering your studies over there while she works. It may not be engineering but you may find something else which interests you.
that's one option, further my studies there. worst case is i can be a lecturer when we are back for good. hmmm, i never thought of being a lecturer in my life. hahaha.

but i still need to do something other that study to earn a living. takkan nak pakai duit waifu for 10 years, kan? looking at your nickname, barista sounds like a good job as there are a lot of cafe there. teach me how to make coffee, mastaa! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 30 2014, 11:08 AM)
Wah, you enjoy good life lah wei. You become see lai at home to raise the kids, when your wife work as successful surgeon.

I don't think Ireland got oil & gas haha. But i think you got mechanical engineer background?

26 still young, you can look into other kind of jobs in ireland. If you still wanna do Oil & Gas, worst case scenario is go and find job in UK. North sea there a lot of oil drilling platform. Then you commute back to Ireland every weekend? I think there's a direct ferry from Cork to Liverpool? Or go and take Ryan Air.

No choice bro. Your wife dead set on career, you have to follow. Unless you want a divorce. I know this type of woman, once they decide, die die nuclear warfare also, they will go one. Its not end of the world la, if ireland job market not diverse enough, go to UK to work la.
duduk rumah goyang kaki la. i will be mr. mama for 10 years. hahaha.

yup, mechanical background. i'm thinking of that too. work in UK and be a weekend husband as transportation from ireland to UK is quite easy. but i wonder, is it possible to work in UK as i only have ireland visa?

you are right bro. last night she keeps stressed out to me that the offer is once in a lifetime. but in the end, she did say that she still need to ask for my opinion. i feel like a king already. hahaha.
TSkakicipan
post Oct 30 2014, 01:08 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 30 2014, 12:28 PM)
Ask your wife to try get PR and you get a dependent-visa, which is easier to find work in eurozone. O&G can find work ... north sea, norwegian sea, etc. Just few hours flight away.
oh really? that's sound like a good plan. i never thought they have a dependent-visa. i guess i only can apply jobs after i move there. thanks bro for your input!
TSkakicipan
post Oct 30 2014, 05:31 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 30 2014, 02:33 PM)
The steps may take months. First, ask your wife uni/lecturer to endorse her for PR for her whatever professional/work/etc. Easier for approval than submit own. This itself may take weeks/months.
Once she gets, if I recall correctly, you can straight apply (or automatic entitle) for the dependent-visa. Remember bring all your marriage certs, etc. docs, translation into English? that you may need there. With dependent-visa, very much easier to find work.
icon_rolleyes.gif

FYI, a lot of companies are moving/starting up in Dublin recently, due to cheaper cost than other eurozone countries. So you may venture there locally and look for opportunities also, but maybe not O&G.
It was in doldrum for the past few years though, PIGS country if you follow economics.

Good luck, cheers  icon_rolleyes.gif
it's okay to wait for months to get the dependent-visa. can enjoy my time kaw-kaw there first before start working.

i have totally no idea about economics. haha. what i've heard is euro currency is getting better now and i believe there will be a perfect job is waiting for me there. but for sure not O&G industries. i have to give up on that if i plan to work in dublin. sad.gif

thank you bro. really appreciate your feedback. now, i feel excited already. tongue.gif
TSkakicipan
post Oct 30 2014, 05:41 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Sizty @ Oct 30 2014, 01:43 PM)
Wow ts, you got oppurtunity why dont you take it. I would if I were you. Malaysia is great, but..you knowlah..
Do they need a lot of doctors there? If yes, need to plan from now to migrate there.o
yeah i know. but after all, no place feels like home.

are you already a doctor? my wife said it is almost impossible for foreigners to work there unless you have specific skills. there is one malaysian surgeon who live there for almost 20 years. he cannot work in malaysia as the field/disease he specialised is not available here. he wants to go back but he can't. feel sorry for him.

TSkakicipan
post Oct 31 2014, 03:18 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Oct 31 2014, 08:14 AM)
Bro try open fnb outlets, cook asian cuisine, then you jamin me to.work there tongue.gif
you give modal, i proceed. confirm i hire you. tongue.gif
TSkakicipan
post Nov 3 2014, 10:35 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Nov 2 2014, 12:49 AM)
tbh is rather be mr mama if my wife can earn that much. someone has to stay at home to raise the kids
cannot be mr mama for a long time. for me, 1 years is the max. lama-lama bosan liao.

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 2 2014, 12:39 PM)
She work in Ireland and you work at Aberdeen lah
ada lubang kerja Aberdeen ka kawan? drool.gif

TSkakicipan
post Nov 3 2014, 11:08 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Nov 2 2014, 01:27 PM)
Ireland got no Oil and Gas jobs? 

Seems they have gas fields.  Oil fields still to be developed. 

But there is mining. 

If not oil and gas, there should also be mechanical engineering jobs...
yeah that's true my friend. but if possible, i would like to further my career in O&G fields as i already have 4 years of experience. at least i have some value added to apply for the job, right? or else i will start looking for a job in UK and be a weekend husband.

but if i don't have any option, i'm thinking of doing business there. any idea? supply barang2 branded from oversea to malaysia? hmm.gif

QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 2 2014, 02:01 PM)
Well, I don't much about Engineering School in Ireland, but why don't you try to do some research and consider to further your study in OnG related courses while at the same time try to applying jobs in Ireland. Since Ireland in in Europe, why don't you try to expand the job search within Europe too though. Good luck bro  smile.gif
already did my research. no O&G related courses available in dublin. general mechanical engineering courses perhaps they have there. that one i need to extend my research. lol. thanks bro! you too, good luck in whatever you do. smile.gif

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Nov 3 2014, 07:20 AM)
Get an equal time off overseas oil field job. So 1 year you hv 6 months time off. Set your resident as the Ireland and once a while you can come back to Malaysia, without need to lose the Malaysian citizenship. After your wife finished then decide which is the port you wanna settle down and then just go ahead.

Peoples always claim that foreign moon is better than own country. I believe living in a place for 10 years you will know if it suits you.

I flied and worked around many countries for these 14 years (mostly Russia) and I still think that Malaysia is still the best for me (before I got married, Shen Zhen and Hamburg used to be the best).
that is one of a good idea indeed. but still it is quite difficult to find that kind of jobs nowadays, or you have any jobs opportunity to offer me? lol. yeah, i can try that. thanks bro!

i second that. live in oversea may looks exciting but only people who live there know better. after all, malaysia is still the best place to settle down.

wowww. i'm impressed with your profession. what did you do? so now, you came back to malaysia for good after you got married?

TSkakicipan
post Nov 4 2014, 09:03 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Nov 4 2014, 05:22 AM)
try to check rigzone.com
nice. thats helps a lot. thanks brother!

0.0168sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:15 AM