LYN Christian Fellowship V8 (Group)

unknown warrior
post Nov 3 2014, 11:16 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 3 2014, 11:07 PM)

If you read UW last reply to me, you will know what I mean. It's a waste of time, effort, energy to point out the mistake. When UW cannot defend a point, he just conveniently skip it. It's a waste of my research and effort to be honest. He just do not have the decency to answer the critical points, twist verses and misrepresent other people and after a while, he and his gang will then start name calling you and say that you are hostile, etc. He keeps on assuming things. He keeps on assuming that I am preaching a kind of works based "after-salvation" when if you read what I posted, it's not at all.

Okay

Explain away, what it means, I want to hear your version of it's context.

Acts 10:15 (NIV) - The voice spoke to him a second time, "Do not call anything impure that God has made clean."

Hebrews 6:1 (NIV) - Therefore let us move beyond the elementary teachings about Christ and be taken forward to maturity, not laying again the foundation of repentance from acts that lead to death, and of faith in God,

Romans 5:17 (NIV) - For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God's abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ!

unknown warrior
post Nov 3 2014, 11:25 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Nov 3 2014, 11:23 PM)
2 Peter 2:2 And many will follow their destructive ways, because of whom the way of truth will be blasphemed.

i think this verse fit you the most, sylar
Common Luffy, don't resort to that.

unknown warrior
post Nov 3 2014, 11:48 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 3 2014, 11:25 PM)
My problem is your ego.
for the 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000th time, I have no problem with God giving his children good gifts AKA HE DIED FOR OUR SINS/ GIFT OF ETERNAL LIFE.

But this keeps happening: I say "Prince says this this and this, so how can we not conclude that he teaches that God promises you wealth?"
You say "nonono you misunderstand him, he actually means that God will provide our needs, he didn't say that God will promise you richness"
To which I say "Your argument is based off reading your own meaning into what he meant to say, he is clearly saying that by being a Christian, you gain alot of wealth (in other words, being rich)"
Then you say "He means that God will provide our needs means he means that God will provide our needs, but you don't believe that God will make anyone rich and you believe that all christians should be poor"
To which I say "I didn't say that! I was only against Prince teaching that by believing in God, you will DEFINITELY gain alot of wealth"
Then you say "No he didn't mean that, you just don't believe that God will bless Christians"
To which I say "No! I said it before and I'll say it again, I believe that God blesses whom he blesses, but he didnt promise us all!"
Then you say "See Prince meant that by saying that by believing in God you will prosper, he meant something completely other than what the word prosper means"
To which I say "No, the selection of words that Prince used doesn't allow you to interpret it that way, the fact that he chose the English word prosper had to mean what it meant"
Then you say "You trust in man not the bible, come let me show you some prooftexts that God provides, but oh, you don't even believe that God provides"
To which I say "3rd time saying this, that is not what I'm talking about!"
Then you say "So just admit you lost the argument"
To which I say "Wait, we're talking about whether or not Prince is preaching the prosperity gospel"
Then you say "Here let me show you what the Bible says about God's provisions, but oh, you don't even believe that God provides"

^ - that is my problem.
Let me quote more from Prince from his book "unmerited favor":

"When the little boy brought his five loaves and two fishes to Jesus, did He gobble them up and say, ‘I am giving you a lesson in poverty?’ Of course not!… Jesus did not feed the multitudes with just enough food. He blessed them with more than enough food. He is the God of more than enough and that is His style. Likewise, Jesus wants to bless you with more than enough, so that you can be a blessing to others.” (p.238)"

"“Religion is blinding. Religion will tell you that ‘God’ wants you sick to teaching you character and patience. Religion will tell you that ‘God’ wants you poor, so that you will learn humility. It sounds noble, doesn’t it? But these are LIES from the pit of hell! Let me tell you this: It is the devil who wants you sick and poor, but the God I know paid a heavy price to redeem you from the curse of sickness and poverty!” (p.30)

^ this quote alone justifies him being called a false teacher! Christ died for the redemption of SIN, not poverty and sickness!
The more occupied you are with Jesus, the more money follows after you! Now why is that? It is simply because when you seek first the kingdom of God, and put Jesus, His righteousness (not your righteousness), His joy and His peace as your first priority, God’s Word promises you that ALL the material things that you need will be added to you.” (pp.233-4)"
So when I throw all my welath away to become a missionary in a third world country, I'm not occupied enough with Jesus?

" “Don’t be afraid to use the word ‘prosperous.’ It’s God’s promise in the Bible.” (p.207)"

From his ministry website "God's promises on health and healing"

"This means that if you are sick, God’s heart is and will always be to heal and restore health and life to you. He so desires for you to walk in health and life that He gave you His beloved Son, Jesus, so that you might have life and have it more abundantly (John 10:10). God is for you to walk in abundant health and life. He does not want your body and life sapped, incapacitated or debilitated by pain, sickness and disease, and He will never withhold healing from you."

Mind you, the prosperity gospel doesn't have to only be about money, it can be the lie that "Believe in Jesus and he will cure your cancer".

I do think Prince is "on" to something by focusing on Christ in his ministry, but the way interprets what our salvation is is just baffling!
Deck,

I want to ask you 2 questions.

So you don't believe that God is the one who gives you this ability?

Deuteronomy 8:18 (KJV) - But thou shalt remember the LORD thy God: for it is he that giveth thee power to get wealth, that he may establish his covenant which he sware unto thy fathers, as it is this day.

And that Jesus paid the price so that we can be healed?

Isaiah 53:5 (KJV) - But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.
unknown warrior
post Nov 3 2014, 11:54 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Nov 3 2014, 11:29 PM)
i cannot bear it anymore when he said Jesus did not save all sinners on certain chosen sinners?
this is clearly hypocrite!
Yes I agree with you on this one, God loves the world, that He gave his only begotten son.....
That alone is good enough as self explained that indeed God does love everyone and wants everyone to be saved.

But I think He don't understand the difference between people who reject God equating that as it is not God's will that they are saved.

The problem is understanding what is pre-determination and free will.

I understand where he is coming from.
unknown warrior
post Nov 3 2014, 11:58 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 3 2014, 11:55 PM)
Okay end this (people complain liao): Just answer this question so that I know where you and Calvary stands on the issue: Why did Jesus die on the Cross?
To save you? Because you can't save yourself? Because Sin must be punish? But because He loves you, He died on your behalf?

Why are you asking me such basic question?

People complaining you took me as a bad guy just because I reply everything.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 3 2014, 11:59 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:00 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 4 2014, 12:00 AM)
Ok.

I already told you why I had to ask: just to be clear on the position of you and your church smile.gif

It ends here.
lol, what is that suppose to mean? Oi come back n answer my 2 simple questions.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 12:03 AM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:02 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Nov 3 2014, 11:59 PM)
I'm not the TS of the thread. I just help open a new thread. Got no mod power or anything like that.
Exactly why I am not passing and judgements. Because I just told everyone to calm down

A debate is NOT insulting each other
A debate is NOT a grudge match
A debate is NOT telling each other off/wrong/ect same as first point but nevermind.
I've been in such debates before. And flung my own fair share of church abuse hate stories around.

And it's not helping anyone. I feel bad, the other person feel bad, and then everyone feels bad.
Even a reply to me is already getting personal. Apa lagi a debate.
Yes you are;

As the Thread Starter, you get one honorary right.

Whatever you say, I will have to submit. pls dun ask me to 14th floor la. cry.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 12:04 AM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:09 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 4 2014, 12:07 AM)
@TS

This is what I mean. This is the 4th time I'm telling him to just drop it, but this happens. I have no problem answering his questions, but it's gonna go in circles again. What say you, TS?

In this case, I also give you the power: You want us to proceed in our discussion that *might* be perceived as hostile, or not?
TS says tomorrow I will meet you!

bwahahahahaha.

But seriously, tell me tomorrow.
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:10 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Nov 4 2014, 12:07 AM)
If I need to give verdict it will be this:

Everyone retire for the night and rest.
Clear heart, clear mind.
It's midnight now. Emotions run high at this hour.
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Nov 4 2014, 12:08 AM)
I will repeat this.

Everyone. Calm. Down.
Do you respect me as TS?
Yes Yes submit submit. notworthy.gif

Good Night and tomorrow another day.
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 09:58 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Morning Guy,

How's everyone today? I was praying and there's a lot I want to share but I don't want to stumble anyone.

I told God, how am I to share the portion of much more that Jesus came to give, all of us when there are believers who don't understand what I'm trying to say. I pray that whenever I do, the HS will open your heart to receive.

Throughout the years in this Christian thread, I think I've participated quite a lot, for many have come recognized what I do. Whenever there's a Christian related issue outside of this thread, many people who are not Christian and even Christians, they will tag me.

No doubt, the Gospel has always been Christ Jesus, this is my ministry even but there are always people who may not understand and will just oppose out of religious zeal when the fact of the matter it's really for our spiritual growth and understanding.

Because of what Christ did at the cross, there's is restoration, reconciliation, blessings, grace, all that was lost and was never at hand but now is made available back to the Father and that is everything. I really mean everything. Why. Because of what Christ did. The greatest gift is of course Salvation but the word Salvation in the Greek is an encompassing wholeness in ALL areas of Life, it is not just eternal life.

There is now hope for life. It used to be before knowing God, we don't have much hope in this life and the next. Yes Christ Salvation is complete for this life and the next.
It is not only the next. By hope I mean to bring us out of circumstances. Even poverty is included though not exclusive. Healing is included because Jesus heal wherever he went.
I don't think for a minute that it is God's will for anyone to get cancer. If you say that it is, I say you don't know God. The one who wants you to have cancer and even death is the devil, not God.
If you say that it is God's will for you to have cancer, you have a wrong idea of who God is.

Jesus died on the cross and by his stripes we are healed. That verse alone is more than enough for us to know that God paid the price so that He are restored and have access to wholesome health.
When we seek Jesus all these are given, we don't have to seek all these thing that the Bible speaks of. Jesus himself gave it to us.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 10:11 AM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 10:09 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 3 2014, 08:23 PM)
we won't fall into sin after we become a disciple?
We can fall into sin but that doesn't change what Christ Jesus has done at the cross.2* Because of the cross, your identity is now hid in Christ. 1*

God never say there is no sin, but because Christ died a once and for all atonement, his judicial eyes is now at the cross, bearing the meaning:
Hebrews 8:12 (NIV) - For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more."

That is why in the book of Romans, it expounded in great pain and detail why Christ only died once, if Sin is still valid, he will have to die at the cross over and over again just like the priest under the old covenant who have to perform sin offering every year. But Christ did it only once and sat down at the right side of God. Try and think Why Christ can sit down and why the Priest of the OT had to stand up. It is very symbolic in meaning. The Priest had to stand because their work can never atone permanently but Christ' work, can.

Romans 5:20 basically means that where there is Sin, God's Grace is there to bring you out and it's measurement (of grace) abounds much more than Sin. Read it below.

1*Colossians 3:3 (NIV) - For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.
2* Romans 5:20 (NIV) - The law was brought in so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more,

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 11:17 AM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 11:49 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 4 2014, 11:19 AM)
Good morning! Hope you've been having a great morning.
welf
Anyway, a note about the "greek" for Salvation: Yes according to a  concordance (I used this one http://www.biblestudytools.com/lexicons/gr...as/soteria.html ), salvation *could* mean welfare or prosperity, but it's an error in hermeunetics to say that just because the greek word can mean a range of definitions, therefore the verse is talking about all those things.

Now, according to my textbook on hermeneutics:

"Both the original language word (Hebrew or Greek) and the English word used to translate it will have a semantic range. There will be some overlap, between the semantic ranges of the two words: That's what makes translation possible. But the ranges will not be identical. We must remember that they are different words and will almost always have different (but overlapping) ranges of meaning"

-Duvall and Daniel Hays, Grasping God's word p 140
The example given was this: in Matt 25:14 Jesus in his parable says "Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them" (NIV)

"Entrusted" here is translated from the Greek word paradidomi and the greek word has a broad range of meaning:
(a)to hand over something to someone
(b)To betray
©to commend or commit)
(d)to pass on traditional instruction
(e)to grant someone the opportunity to do something;to allow or permit.

Now here's the tricky part; Just because the greek word "paradidomi" is used, can we then interpret the parable to say that to "entrust" in the NIV also means to "betray"? No we can't. So how then should we conclude what the real meaning of the word "paradidomi" means in this context? Well, context! In this case, the context of the passage doesn't allow "to betray" as a definition of the greek word.

Hope that helped.
Let me then talk about your theology of healing: you say that disease and sickness are not a part of God's will, but will you agree that God has control over it so it's more appropriate to say that God "allowed" someone to be have cancer?

Then let's bring it to the practical aspect of things: So you believe that every Christian has the holy spirit, so what if a Christian has cancer (any many Christians do die of cancer)? If you say that Jesus died so that they may be healed from their cancer, why do so many Christians die of cancer?
Ha, now you're getting it why we shouldn't use secular dictionary. Ok.

No I don't agree that it's an error in Bible hermeunetics. We can agree to disagree after this.

But The Bible has more than enough reason to support that Soteria as encompassing wholeness as welfare, prosperity, deliverance, preservation, salvation, safety.

All these are included because When Jesus came, he did all there is. Healing, providing, protecting, Delivering, etc. That is Salvation manifested here on Earth unto Eternal Life in Heaven.
In the Old Testament, God demonstrated He have no problem blessing Abraham, Joseph, Job, David with abundance. So we can safely say, God has no problem with prosperity. If anyone have problem with this, you have problem against God blessing them.

In the John 10:10 - (KJV) The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

It would defeat the purpose of mentioning twice on Life. It is already more than good enough that Jesus came to give us life. This first portion is talking about from being spiritually dead to Spiritually alive in Christ. And Christ continue we will have abundant of it. In Heaven, everything is provided for. There is no more death, no more tears nor sorrow for the former thing has passed away. What abundance be it spiritual or material do you need in Heaven? None. Why I say that? Because the former things is no more. God will remove that. What is the former things? All that Sin corrupted.

Adam had no problem with providence at the beginning. All he had to do is pluck any fruit from any tree. But After the Fall, What did God said to Adam? by the sweat of your brow, you will eat. Meaning you won't have it so easy as in the garden of Eden. There is a curse. The Devil stole that right from Man.

Now that Christ came, he is restoring us to what was lost in Eden.

No Deck, this world is a Fallen world. You cannot say just because God is sovereign that is equal to Him saying he wanted it to happen.

How do you explain all the beheading done by ISIS? God wills it? We know that is not true.

What God is sovereign in right now and we can witness that, The world has not fallen apart in destruction. He holds it in place.
Of course there is more but If we can establish and understand this, what else is there for the explanation of all the problems in this world?

Who is the one who came to kill steal and destroy? We all know it's Satan and his gang, And Again why God allowed it?
Not because He wants it but because this is a fallen world, deck.

The Bible tells us explicitly, God allowed satan to rule this world. Can we do anything about it? Yes, Yes we can. We can stand on God's word and believe.
Let the word of God protects us and restore all that is lost! That is why Our Lord tells us :The Righteous shall live by faith.
In there has very deep meaning and significance. I need to explain this in parts, not now.

So what about Christians who died from cancer? My Answer is this. God has ordain that it is that's person time to go. All the days of our live is written in God's Book. (Psalm 139:16 )
When it's time, it's time. God can use any way to usher us into Eternal Life, even if the devil wanted to do evil, He can turn it to good. Btw you made it sound as if dying is terrible thing for Christians. It's not. You got to have an eternal point of view to see that even death by whatever diseases is victory for Christians. And I know this is kinda sensitive for some Christian because the lost of loves one is not easy to bear but if only we can receive this truth, we have hope beyond measures!

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 02:15 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:05 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 4 2014, 11:45 AM)
Should we trust you ? after all you did to us ?
Should we trust our faith in your guidance ?
Should we open our life so you can correct us ? should we ?
Should we allow you to lead us ?
Should we allow you to enlighted us ?
Bro Dee. icon_rolleyes.gif

Peace Peace, I think Deck is not a really bad guy, He just want to uphold the Truth in our Christian faith.

I'm not against him for doing that, I would have done the same thing, had I not been given the grace to see what most people don't see.

I'm very zealous for God's word, deck, that's why I don't give up. Hope you don't think that make me a bad guy. laugh.gif

unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 12:16 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:08 PM)
a faith as big as mustard seed can move a mountain. Matthew 17:20
a faith not as big as mustard seed, cannot move the mountain.

bible oso say measure of faith Romans 12:3

UW: can i say cuz lack of faith, or perhaps another word: the measure is not fulfilled, therefore cannot move the mountain, therefore cannot rebuke the cancer ?
No Bro, I believe many Christians missed it here.

Faith is not something to be "produced" by will power of our mind. It should come naturally.

How does it come? Answer: When we hear God's word.

What is the message of that word?

It will come naturally when we know that our Abba in Heaven loves us. Demonstrated by all he did.

This is not a simple meaning. God loves us. Different people have different ideas about it.

I'll tell you why many Christians lack faith.

It's because They don't really believe God loves them.
There still this fear, that God has not forgiven them completely.

When that binds them in fear, Faith cannot operate.
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 01:02 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:21 PM)
So you are saying when Peter jumps from the boat, peter do it out of love for Christ, and peter's love produce faith ? is that what u try to say ?

-- correction --

peter jumps from the boat, it's a word that i use to describe event when peter try to walk on the water when Jesus was walking on the water.
The other way round.

I believe Peter trusted Jesus because He knew somehow Jesus love him, that made him dare to come on the water.
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 01:24 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:16 PM)
In the Garden of Eden, basically Adam would not die.
If you say that God is going to restore what was lost in Eden, and I presume you are meaning this to be material and physical, then basically we should not be sick over here.

Also, you seriously think cancer is only about death? You are always looking at things from the surface.

The thing is, the bible talks about the hope to come
Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.
So obviously, we have faith that in Heaven, God will definitely provide for us completely. If God has already done that over here, what is there to hope for?

You are always implying that God is going to provide everything right now. So then what is the point of hoping then since we have already receive everything.

The behading done by ISIS is not by God's direct will but God allowed it.
Just like God allowed Satan to make Job suffer and destroy everything Job has.

Even Jesus says explictly that
57 And as they went on the way, a certain man said unto him, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest.

58 And Jesus said unto him, The foxes have holes, and the birds of the heaven have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head.

Meaning, it is not going to be easy following Him.

You seriously think that God cannot destroy Satan right now if He wants to?

The way you write, it is as if Man do not have any responsibility.
When Eve and Adam got tempted, most of the responsibility lies with them and not Satan.

To be honest, what you wrote in this post is just laughable. Really.
You can only write what you wrote here. If you wrote what you have written in other places, you would have been scrutinized very heavily.

Again you twist what people say. Decky wasn't saying that cancer was bad or good.
His concern was since we now have access to wholesome health, why are Christians still having cancer?
Only here. Only here.
God restored to us to operate his kingdom in this fallen world.
That's Jesus said this word: The kingdom of God is near you.

The New World has yet to come where death is completely no more.
Cancer along with all other decease that can be name is the result of the corruption of sin that has brought upon this world.
The day Man was separated from God, the glory that was upon him is lost.

Yes that's right Faith is the evidence of things not seen. For example. You're believing in Faith for this person to be saved. The guy is not saved yet. The evidence is not seen yet and yet when God answers it, your Faith is the evidence of what has happened. Unless you're implying this part that says: the evidence of things not seen equates to it will never happened, that is not correct understanding.

Yes God will provide even right now. Why do you think Jesus says But your Heavenly father knows that you need them See first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these will be added unto you? He is not promising that in Heaven. In Heaven all is provided for, what else do you need? Nothing.

No. God didn't want Job to go through all that suffering. You forgot, it was Satan who was the one who instigated that! Satan wanted that. If Satan had not instigated against Job, it would not have happened.

No. When Jesus says Foxes have holes, and the birds of the heaven have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head,
it means that: Foxes have homes, So does birds have home. Jesus couldn't find a home with his people. The Word Lay his head is the exact meaning when He gave up his spirit and bow down his head on the cross. What does all this mean? At the Cross, When he died and rose again, now through his atonement, Jesus can make his home in our hearts when we invite him. (Revelation 3:20)

Yes God can destroy Satan if he wants to but He will not at the moment. Why? Because He has already ordained his doom at the end of age. That is the difference.

That's why I say the responsibility lies with Man in this fallen world, If we don't pray....you get the idea.

Sure you can say it's laughable, I'll only be like what you said: It means that you need to resort to insult and according to how you define that.... laugh.gif

Only here? Looks like you still don't get, I thought you did.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 01:33 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 02:06 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 4 2014, 01:40 PM)
Hmmm. Seriously, I really do not know why I am still continuing in this.
Help me please Decky.
I am pretty sure you can do that. It's pretty easy. Actually hard because someone seems to not be living in reality consistently twisting what I have said, misrepresenting me and even misinterpreting scriptures and not having any logic. He will do the same thing to you as well.

As I said only here.
If it was other place, he would have got hammered.

Yes, insulting someone is much better then the other person twisting what others say.

Honestly UW, what were you working as before. I really want to know.
I'm trying to give you the understanding, so that you can apply it in your life and understand God better.

But, Ok, looks like my point wasn't complete enough. Ok sorry about that.

Like for example when you asked:

So then what is the point of hoping then since we have already receive everything.

When Jesus restored us to Father God, we can have access to everything means like this:

John 14:14: (NIV) You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

We have access to God's grace. So start praying for people, pray for healing, pray for Salvation. If a person have difficulty in life, Pray for God to help him.

That's what I mean. Before the Cross, you don't have this access. Why? Because we all lost it when Adam Fell in the garden. Now that Christ has patched us back to Father God, we have this access to his grace. That is part of the meaning of Salvation!

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 02:08 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 03:16 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 4 2014, 03:04 PM)
I have heard many preacher shared (actually both Protestant and Charismatics) about faith and the impression is that GOD always want to create "roller coaster effect" of waiting of GOD's time.

e.g. somebody pray for a boat to cross the river, but GOD sent a crocodile. Halleluyah the person cross the river in 1 piece but... difficult, nervous, afraid, mixed feelings sure got one .

e.g. one preacher has his house contract expired, let's say in 3 months, but the preacher don't have money for new contract. In indonesia, a house contract is a payment 12 months or 24 months in advance. e.g. a PJ house cost RM2000 monthly, in indonesia get ready to pay RM40k upfront for 2 years contract... no joke... malaysia so nice  thumbup.gif

but GOD told him to trust in GOD, nervous..nervous..nervous.. yes suddenly somehow the preacher managed to resolve the problem

--- my question:
why nervous ? my humaninty excuse ? i trust GOD, i love GOD, i have faith and i oso nervous...

can enlight ? tqvm UW
Not about you loving God.

But about you knowing God loves you.

Like knowing how far & how much your Wife or your Dad loves you, to that extend is your trust and faith in that person.

You know that the person who loves you will not harm you but will do things for the best interest of your life.
For example, every dad will try his best to give the best education money can buy for his son/daughter. He will try to send him to the best school possible, why?
Because the father loves his son and want the best for him.

Same thing with God, he will give you the best.

But Like I said, not every Christian can believe this. They don't think God is that good.
That is why Faith cannot operate when you doubt God's love. Faith is not suppose to be conjured like trying to "produce"
It should come naturally. And it will come naturally when you really know God loves you.

That kind of "natural" Faith will cause God to move mountains for you.

Can I share my testimony with you dee? I have experience this so many times.
If there are problems so big, I just come to God in my quiet time and get absorb in his love.
Every morning, when I wake up, I just thank him for loving me. And I sense his love.
And when I'm outside I practice God's presence, knowing He watch over my life with love.

All those fear, day by day slowly fade away. Every fear and nervousness, gone.

Somehow everything in my life works together. Whatever problem, God provided for me and answers me.

You should try it. Practice God's love for you. Don't worry about your love for God. It will come naturally too when you focus on God's love for you first.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 04:07 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 05:30 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 4 2014, 04:11 PM)
Hello biggrin.gif

Well, we *can* agree to disagree on this, but it's an important principle that we need to establish before going on with many scriptural argument. I do understand that it might not be very clear to you because the textbook I'm using takes about 300 pages to establish a very basic understanding of the principles of interpreting the Bible. The best I can do is to point you towards the two books I recommended to you earlier.

"All these are included because When Jesus came, he did all there is. Healing, providing, protecting, Delivering, etc. That is Salvation manifested here on Earth unto Eternal Life in Heaven.
In the Old Testament, God demonstrated He have no problem blessing Abraham, Joseph, Job, David with abundance. So we can safely say, God has no problem with prosperity. If anyone have problem with this, you have problem against God blessing them. "

Yes, no doubt that when Jesus came, he healed the sick and he cast out demons, and my argument is not that healing is impossible today. Remember, what you originally said is that you believe that when Jesus died on the cross, he did it not only for our sins, but for our physical well being on this temporary earth. Also, note the problem in saying that "God blessed Abraham, therefore God can bless me equally too", you can't do that without examining the context of those blessings. Abraham was God's chosen patriach to carry out his great plan of salvation, God promised Abraham countless offsprings, are you going to say that God promises that ALL of us will have countless children as well? God gave Moses the power to perform wonders like splitting the red sea, does it mean that we as Christians can part oceans as well?

But first, I think it's best if I lay out my theology of sickness so that you can understand me with more clarity:
1. Diseases and sicknesses are symptoms of a fallen world. Who's fault is it that we live in a fallen world? Us, humanity. We sinned against God when he created us in his image, we pointed the middle finger at him when He deserved our worship.

Now, I'm training to become a healthcare professional, so I'm gonna use an analogy that I see fitting for this:

When you have a bacterial infection, your immune system sometimes raises the temperature of your body by resetting the hypothalamic thermostat in your brain so that the raised temperature can combat the infection. Now, the fever to you is a bad thing right? So what do you do? You take Panadol (paracetamol) tablets that lower your temperature. It cures the fever, but it doesn't kill the bacteria!
What does that have to do with this? Well, because diseases and sickness are most likely a result of a fallen world, and when Jesus did his ministry here on earth, he healed people and what he was doing was being like "panadol" in the case of a bacterial infection: he was dealing with the effects of sin. It also shows us the compassion of Jesus to the sick and the marginalized. But remember, we're talking about what his death and resurrection accomplished here, not what Jesus did during his time on earth.

The whole Bible has a common theme running from Genesis to Revelations, and a big indicator of what this is in Genesis 3:15, where God lays out the promise to destroy the "snake". And everything that unfolds after that is the build up to how God was going to gloriously defeating evil: By sending His only begotten son to die on the cross so that we may have life.

See, sin is the "infection", and God is his great love for us "Healed" us by taking away our sin on the cross! THAT is the point of the cross, to deal with the underlying problem in our humanity. And that also eventually means that diseases and sickness will pass away, but an essential part of this plan of God is that it's not over. Christ will come back in the last days and he will utterly crush satan and restore creation to it's original state (that's when there is no more sickness and no more suffering). But when Christ died, he died so that dead sinners (Eph 2) can be made alive in Christ!

Therefore, to say that Christ died so that we can have problem free lives is akin to saying that Christ died so that we will be in heaven RIGHT NOW (which we're not).

"Now that Christ came, he is restoring us to what was lost in Eden"

Yes! you yourself said it! He is "restoring" 'and  "restored" are two different things. We are not living on Eden YET. And because we aren't living in the "new jerusalem" (cf Revelations), we cannot expect to be without sickness or death.
Now for the bolded part of your quote:

I think we are in agreement in some parts here but here' what you need to see:

God is sovereign means that he is in control. Was he in control when ISIS was beheading people? Yes he was. Was he in control when Peter, his own disciple, was hung upside down on a cross? Yes he was. Was he in control when the romans beheaded Paul? Yes he was. Is he in control when you get diagnosed with diabetes? Yes he is. Is he in control when your whole family dies in a tragic aircraft crash? Yes he is.

To say that God isn't in control is to imply that God is NOT omnipotent. Even the open theists, who believe that it is impossible for God to know everything believe that he is in control because of his omnipotence.

But you agree with this because you say " God has ordain that it is that's person time to go. All the days of our live is written in God's Book. (Psalm 139:16 )
When it's time, it's time. God can use any way to usher us into Eternal Life, even if the devil wanted to do evil, He can turn it to good. "

EXACTLY! That is just how powerful God is and how the devil can't do anything to "surprise" him. We are told in the Bible that it was the doing of evil men to crucify the Messiah, yet God was so much more in control over the situation that he used this to gloriously demonstrate his great love for us. There are countless examples in the Bible whereby evil acts of men or the devil is used by God and allowed to happen so that God will reveal his glory even more!

That is what is meant when I say that we can trust God in our cancer! If we get cured, praise God! If we die, praise God! Because He knows best!

Think of Nick Vujicic: If you told him that true christianity = Christians who are physically healthy people, he would laugh at you: He prayed for God to give him limbs, but to no avail! And yet God uses him with his condition (we call it a curse because it's a disease) and blesses others with it! God uses Nick's impairment for the furtherance of his kingdom to places that no ordinary missionary would be allowed to go to. I might not agree with everything Nick has to say, but his whole life is an evidence as to why God's priorities isn't physical healing NOW for EVERYONE.

And he's not the only example. There are plenty of people who are diseased and sick, yet God uses them to accomplish his purpose.

So no, Jesus didn't die so that we may have "our best life now" or so that we will recover from any diseases that we are facing. He died because he wants to deal with the most serious problem with the human race: our sinful hearts. Yes, all these bad things will come to past, but not now. Yes, Jesus healed during his ministry on earth, but he didn't DIE so that the whole world may be physically healed.

Also, look at 1 Timothy 5:23 It's just a short statement Paul is saying to his beloved Timothy (Paul's spiritual son): Don't just drink water, drink some wine for your frequent stomach ailments. Notice how Paul, the "super apostle", doesn't say "In the name of Jesus I command your stomach problems to vanish". Why is that?
Okay.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 4 2014, 09:22 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 4 2014, 05:53 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 4 2014, 04:11 PM)
How to know GOD loves me ?

Of course you should know... the Cross ?

ok fair enough to start, how to increase my knowledge, so my faith can increase as well ?
e.g. faith that malaysia is in the hand of the LORD
e.g. faith of mustard seed size can move then mountain

There is a hidden agenda that i want to use my faith to move the mountain for my own purpose, therefore i asked this question.
Romans 8:32 (NIV) - He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all--how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

29 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0865sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:59 PM