Can someone list down what are the steps/procedure for ROM?
Coz i heard ppl says you need to "apply" and submit form, then wait for atleast 30 days whether got objections from any parties or not?
If no objection then only can proceed... is that true?
I find the below site quite useful *just 1 part, don't think you can download the form from the website, they would not accept it...
Getting married in Malaysia is relatively simple once we know whether we would like to:-
1) Be married at the Registrar of Marriage office; or
2) Be married through a religious ceremony at a temple or church where the temple or church has an Appointed Registrar
So what are the steps?
1) Obtain JPN.KC02 form at any of the Marriage and Divorce Department at the NRD office or download the form from their website. The form is located here on the NRD website.
2) One you’ve obtained the form, fill in all the relevant sections and DO NOT sign the form. You will need to sign the form in front of a Commissioner of Oath.
3) You will require a photocopy of Identification Card for the Bride and Groom and the two nominated witnesses. If any of the parties are not Malaysian, photocopy of the passport is required. If the Bride or the Groom is not Malaysian, you will need to photocopy the pages on the passport that shows your personal information and date of arrival in Malaysia.
4) One colour photograph measuring 32mm x 38mm (Malaysian passport size) against a BLUE background for the Bride and Groom.
5) If the applicant is a Divorcee, you will need to submit the Decree Nisi Absolute.
6) If applicant is a Widower/Widow, you will need to submit Certificate of Death of spouse.
7) For non-citizens who intend to marry in Malaysia, you will need to obtain a Letter of Confirmation of Marital Status. This letter needs to be issued from the Malaysian Representative office in your country or your country’s Embassy or High Commission in Malaysia. Upon obtaining the letter, you will need to certify the letter at the Consular Division in Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Wisma Putra) in Putrajaya.
8) All non-citizens who would like to be married in Malaysia is required to stay in Malaysia for seven (7) consecutive days before the signing date.
9) Once all documents are obtained, only then the couple can approach a Commissioner of Oath for the form to be certified. The form needs to be certified before submission at any of the JPN offices. The Letter of Confirmation of Marital Status (for non-citizens), must be submitted together with all supporting documents together with the original Identification Card or Passport to the Marriage and Divorce Divison.
11) The couple needs to be present at the NRD office during the application and registration of marriage. Do note that your witnesses are not required to be present during the submission of form. Your witnesses are only required to be present during your registration day.
12) The place of application is based on address stated on the Identification Card for citizens and residential address in Malaysia for non-citizens.
13) At the NRD office, an officer will check the couple’s marital status. A fee of RM30 (RM20 for the marriage certificate and RM10 for declaration) needs to be paid at the office to the officer.
14) The solemnisation of marriage shall take place after 21 days but not later than 6 months from the date of application.
For those who choose to be married at the Registrar of Marriage office, do book your date at the office when you submit your application. If you decide to have your registration at another location for example at Malacca although your application is in Selangor, do inform the officer when you submit your application form. They will advise you to return to the office after 21 days to collect your form and submit it at the NRD office of the district where you choose to have your registration.
For those who would like to have a Registration of Marriage ceremony at a Hotel or at a garden, do note that you will be required to pay a fee of RM500 for the office to be present at your ceremony. Do inform the officer of your decision when you submit your application form. An officer will be appointed by the NRD office to be present at your registration day.
On your registration day, whether you choose to be married at the Registrar of Marriage office or at a temple or church, do dress decently. No t-shirts,singlets, jeans, shorts or slippers are allowed. My suggestions is for the both of you to dress smartly since you will most probably have some pictures taken on that day.
This blog post is only applicable for applicants who are above 21 years of age. Do note that rules may change over time and it is best to refer to the National Registration Department website or contact them directly for the latest information. The list of NRD offices can be found here. - See more at:
http://milestones.my/getting-married-in-ma...h.aojFBLC5.dpufhttp://milestones.my/getting-married-in-malaysia/No lah ... why need to change address ? only thing is they need to post your registration at the state board to see if your wife at the original state is going to protest or not only.
do not get conned into the international version, its RM300 just to change the malay into english ... totally worthless. lolz
From my research, it does mention need to change address if not from that state, example, if I go to Putrajaya for registration, I need to change my hometown address on my IC to Selangor / KL address. Not sure this is still applicable or not. That's why I went to temple to do it.
then in the temple, then only I realized that the "banana" part of me have to listen and speak some mandarin...