Photography SONY LENSTYLE QX1, Takes 4 Frontiers Land, Sea, Sky & Space

SUSchokia
post Oct 27 2014, 09:13 AM, updated 11y ago

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Sony Lenstyle QX1 has been released to the market for a while now and yet it has been underrated for its true potential in shaping the world of photography and videography. Due to its size, light weight and unbeatable low price this camera could revolutionize the way we look at all conventional photography techniques in the whole new level. Here’s how:-

THE LAND

Image stabilization is the utmost importance in getting non shaky shot and useable footage. Companies spent tons of money for ridiculous looking mechanical bodysuit stabilizer for that purpose alone which could be a real bane for the cameraman and as a deterrent to get the creative idea flowing. That said a small 3 Axis gimbal for Phantom and Go Pro is powerful enough to hold QX1 158g+67g Sony SEL16f/2.8 Prime Wide Angle Pancake and positioned it roll, tilt & yaw. With Sony Pistol Grip GP-VPT1 which has buttons to snap photo, start/stop video or even zoom in/out (works with zoom lens) you are ready to go. With minimal effort and cost we could be creative in any situation or location and everyone can be a film maker.

THE SEA

QX1 could be treated with Liquipel or similar waterproof nano coating treatment but Sony has SportsPack 5M waterproof housing for handycam that could fit QX1, lens and Xperia phone. Put all in this housing and view the display via the side reflector. Like the pistol grip, the housing can be connected via QX1 multiport to control Shoot Photo/Start/Record Video with easy access buttons. Now we are ready to get nice underwater shot in low light.

THE SKY

DJI Phantom has long known capturing aerial photographs and videos with Go Pro camera but the camera has limitation due to small sensor. While they do made bigger multirotor craft and gimbal to carry GH4 but logistically and cost wise are not viable to most. The affordable Vision 2/+ san the camera are more practical as they operates in 2 bands 2.4Ghz & 5.8Ghz. Since QX1 uses 2.4Ghz, any dualband wifi extender (i.e TPlink usb powered) could be used to add extra range and prevent interference (if any). For First Person View (FPV) any Xperia phones or the best is Google Glass could be used as it's very important that we have visual of the drone position to anticipate the video it records or picture it takes. After all, the whole idea of using bigger sensor camera is emphasizing on getting a useable quality shot in any light condition. In addition to that, a retractable landing skid could prevent skids or props interframing in the footage. Detach the gimbal from the pistol grip and fix it to the phantom and we are ready to conquer the sky.

THE SPACE

QX1 can be used without any lens attached, this has made mounting any telescope for astrophotography possible with e-mount adapter. We can trick QX1 to have aperture wide open, 30″ and up to ISO1600 in S Mode and lock it with lens cap closed. Only thing it focuses the cap instead of ∞. Capturing faint object like Milkyway Galaxy could be possible with just S mode else we could just preoccupy ourselves shooting other celestial objects like Nebulae, Planets & Galaxies with the attached telescope while waiting for Playmemories upgrade the true Manual mode. This is definitely astronomy on the cheap since most hybrid or reflector telescope like Celestron Nexstar 4Se (pic) could be used daytime for birdwatching too.

The Logistic

Other than preventing skid and props in the shot, the retractable landing skid has also revolutionized the carrying bag/case for the phantom. Since now the skid is collapsible, it’s possible to put phantom with other cameraman essential devices in one slim stylish bag. This is how we could carry all those camera essential equipment without ruin our vacation when the idea is to travel light and get the quality job done and most importantly without looking like a camera crew.

This post has been edited by chokia: Dec 31 2014, 02:29 PM
leinnz
post Oct 27 2014, 09:25 AM

oldfags
755 posts

the lens are ok. but using a QX1 to snap fast moving object? do you need a phone for a viewfinder? it will be slow as it uses wifi transfer when connecting to a phone
Everdying
post Oct 27 2014, 11:09 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

AFAIK, QX1 does have aperture priority, just no full manual mode.

SEL50, obviously depends what ur needs are...pick the lens to suit what u want to shoot...not buy a lens just cos its faster AF / sharper etc.
so even if the SEL35 are all those, if it doesnt suit what u want to shoot...whats the point.

i seriously doubt it can keep up with sports.

Everdying
post Oct 27 2014, 11:12 AM

30,735 posts

anyway, couple weeks ago i went sony store...they were taking pre-orders for QX1 with 1650, RM1699.
if QX1 only its RM1399.
stringfellow
post Oct 27 2014, 11:28 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Currently using my QX1 with the SELP1650. I was eyeing the Sigma 19mm F2.8, cheap and wide enough for my usage. Another one in my consideration is the Sony 10-18mm F4 OSS. This one covers full frame as well at 14mm to 18mm, so it can do double duty together with my A7R and A7S. Other lenses I would consider is Sony CZ 24mm F1.8 ZA. Sold this off with my previous NEX7, it's the best lens period for the APS-C E mount.

So as per current, I got my needs covered, SELP1650, 24-70mm F4, 55mm F1.8, and 35mm F1.4 Summilux M mount with adapter. The lens other than that SELP1650 comes from the A7R I was using before I got my QX1.

IMO, don't bother with sports, the refresh rate and pan and zoom between the QX1 and the phone isnt fast enough to capture adequate sports photos. As for wide angle lenses, that SEL16F28 is dicey, lots of users reports saying the lens isn't uniformly sharp across. It sure is nice to have something that small with the QX1, but I'd go for the Sigma 19mm F2.8 or Sony's 10-18mm F4 OSS, even though they're larger. No comment on the zoom, I don't do a lot of zoomwork, plus they're slow for my taste.
DarkEmotion88
post Oct 27 2014, 11:59 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 27 2014, 11:28 AM)
Currently using my QX1 with the SELP1650. I was eyeing the Sigma 19mm F2.8, cheap and wide enough for my usage. Another one in my consideration is the Sony 10-18mm F4 OSS. This one covers full frame as well at 14mm to 18mm, so it can do double duty together with my A7R and A7S. Other lenses I would consider is Sony CZ 24mm F1.8 ZA. Sold this off with my previous NEX7, it's the best lens period for the APS-C E mount.

So as per current, I got my needs covered, SELP1650,  24-70mm F4, 55mm F1.8, and 35mm F1.4 Summilux M mount with adapter. The lens other than that SELP1650 comes from the A7R I was using before I got my QX1.

IMO, don't bother with sports, the refresh rate and pan and zoom between the QX1 and the phone isnt fast enough to capture adequate sports photos. As for wide angle lenses, that SEL16F28 is dicey, lots of users reports saying the lens isn't uniformly sharp across. It sure is nice to have something that small with the QX1, but I'd go for the Sigma 19mm F2.8 or Sony's 10-18mm F4 OSS, even though they're larger. No comment on the zoom, I don't do a lot of zoomwork, plus they're slow for my taste.
was eyeing on it. too bad both the curve and klcc ran out of stock d. good buy or nay?
stringfellow
post Oct 27 2014, 12:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

For what I'm using for, it's great. For anything more serious, I'll take my A7S.
SUSchokia
post Oct 27 2014, 01:13 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 27 2014, 12:20 PM)
For what I'm using for, it's great. For anything more serious, I'll take my A7S.
i was eyeing on A7s too. Considering the price, i thought no medium / cropped sensor mirrorless camera can superceed A7s, but no. Other than ISO performance GH4 wins hands down in overall performance in most youtube review, and that made me sick especially for 4/3 cam. Sony even reduced the MP and couldn't put proper 4K recorder in the camera.
SUSchokia
post Oct 27 2014, 01:31 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 27 2014, 11:12 AM)
anyway, couple weeks ago i went sony store...they were taking pre-orders for QX1 with 1650, RM1699.
if QX1 only its RM1399.
It's no longer preorder in sony website. Can order already.

http://www.sony.com.my/productcategory/lens-style-camera

Lens : http://www.sony.com.my/series/ilc-lens

Sony is giving good discount until Nov 2 on some lens

https://store.sony.com.my/productlisting.aspx?catid=217
lwliam
post Oct 27 2014, 03:40 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Is 4k THAT important for your usage?

12MP has got more than enough MP for video anyway, if that's what you're looking for.
Everdying
post Oct 27 2014, 05:44 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Oct 27 2014, 01:31 PM)
It's no longer preorder in sony website. Can order already.

http://www.sony.com.my/productcategory/lens-style-camera
Lens : http://www.sony.com.my/series/ilc-lens
Sony is giving good discount until Nov 2 on some lens

https://store.sony.com.my/productlisting.aspx?catid=217
interesting.
but for me, i dont want to maintain a 3rd lens system...so qx1 is not for me.
i would consider still qx100, since its rm1049 now after 30% rebate.
stringfellow
post Oct 27 2014, 06:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Oct 27 2014, 01:13 PM)
i was eyeing on A7s too. Considering the price, i thought no medium / cropped sensor mirrorless camera can superceed A7s, but no. Other than ISO performance GH4 wins hands down in overall performance in most youtube review, and that made me sick especially for 4/3 cam. Sony even reduced the MP and couldn't put proper 4K recorder in the camera.
Video is secondary to me. Still shots first.

To me, the low light capability opens up possibilities not previously available because of the lack of lighting available. With the GH4, sure it has the best looking internal 4K recording out there, but if it's only usable up to 3200 ISO (from what I read), you're restricted to situations where it's well-lit. With the A7S I don't have to worry about lighting (not as much as the GH4 anyway), and I can now explore photography which was once forbidden and not available to me before due to the low light condition.

To each his own, I guess. I like the freedom of shooting at any kinds of lighting, and I don't do studio shoots or in situation with controlled lighting. Your situation may well differ from mine. wink.gif
SUSchokia
post Oct 28 2014, 08:04 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

After reading these reviews

For Prime Lens

For Wide Angle

For Zoom

The verdicts are

SEL50F18 (prime) | SEL16F28+VCL-ECU1(wide) | SEL18200 (zoom)

They are all silver and don't cost arm & leg. What do you think?
lwliam
post Oct 28 2014, 09:05 PM

6,075 posts

Good combination
riku2replica
post Oct 29 2014, 09:01 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

Nice combination, but i'm waiting to see how Kodak SL10 price to fare up against QX10.
SUSchokia
post Oct 30 2014, 10:22 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

LCS-QXA

user posted imageuser posted image
DarkEmotion88
post Oct 30 2014, 10:53 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

stringfellow
post Oct 31 2014, 03:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, just got my LCS-QXA. Gonna test and see if it fits the 24-70mm F4 FE or not.

DarkEmotion88
post Nov 1 2014, 10:52 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 31 2014, 03:11 PM)
Yup, just got my LCS-QXA. Gonna test and see if it fits the 24-70mm F4 FE or not.

where'd u get this?
mingyuyu
post Nov 1 2014, 02:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Oct 27 2014, 01:13 PM)
What do you mean by sick especially for 4/3 cam?

If you want MP, you have A7 and A7R?

Why take the 18200 when you have a 1650 already? Something like 55200 would be better? Cheaper too I guess

SUSchokia
post Nov 1 2014, 05:02 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Nov 1 2014, 02:38 PM)
1.) What do you mean by sick especially for 4/3 cam?

2.) If you want MP, you have A7 and A7R?

3.) Why take the 18200 when you have a 1650 already? Something like 55200 would be better? Cheaper too I guess
1.) I mean i was hoping A7s to be the ultimate mirrorless camera considering its price and FF sensor that no other smaller sensor cam could beat its ass. GH4 not FF not even APSC and only 4/3 but outperforms in every angle except for ISO.

2.) A7s should be great for Astrophotography due to its super low light performances, but only 12MP i must use the whole frame if i were to create 4K Time lapse MilkyWay video conventional way. A7s could be perfect if it has >16MP even without 4K recorder. Cropping unnecessary shot in the frame will be possible.

3.) 18200 is for longer focal length i.e For zooming, 55200 is not as good as 18200 according to reviews.
Im not buying QX1 with 1650 kitlens, but QX1 + SEL50f1.8 (coz offer now for this prime until tomorrow 2Nov)

I just hope i dont regret with that choice.

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 1 2014, 09:29 PM
DarkEmotion88
post Nov 4 2014, 10:07 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

i'm liking the qx1 so far. attaching it to a pistol grip makes it fun to snap even without a screen.
SUSchokia
post Nov 4 2014, 01:18 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 4 2014, 10:07 AM)
i'm liking the qx1 so far. attaching it to a pistol grip makes it fun to snap even without a screen.
have you tried using this cheap ring adapter on your QX1 to reverse your lens to become macro lens?

http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...ng&LH_PrefLoc=2

Which lens can give the best macro effect?
SUSchokia
post Nov 5 2014, 12:14 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

More accessories to get before GST

DarkEmotion88
post Nov 5 2014, 11:58 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 5 2014, 12:14 AM)
More accessories to get before GST

that looks like a DJI Phantom Quadcopter 2
SUSchokia
post Nov 5 2014, 12:56 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 5 2014, 11:58 AM)
that looks like a DJI Phantom Quadcopter 2
It is, people have been talking about using the new motorized gimbal mount for QX1 and expecting nicer IQ since APSC sensor and better lens than Go Pro .

I think shouldn't be a problem for the drone to lift QX1 + SEL1620 (maybe UWA adapter too) for aerial short. No point mounting prime SEL 50f/18 or even Zoom 18200mm

Click to play

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 5 2014, 12:57 PM
ieR
post Nov 6 2014, 11:02 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

chokia

1. Prime lens - for Potrait, food, video
Question : I read review that this lens is slow in autofocus or less sharper compare to SEL35F18. Which one you recommend? Is this lens good for video, is there an option to manual focus in video?

dont be misguided, all 50mm has longer focus drive then 35mm in general, no matter which brand/manufacturer. it is not slower as in a whole sec, but splits of a second which can be only felt when comparing directly with the two lens. even website review said 35 is sharper, it doesnt put a huge gap in ranking of sharpness, its just a sly sharper, nothing more. it doesnt mean the 50 is not sharp at all, if you ask me to rank it with the lens i played with in my life, i rank it within top20 of the 100's(or maybe 80's) lens i played with, even sharper then my (brother's)canon 50F1.4 and 2470L(ver1).

as for video uses, i would recommend the 35mm, due to the basic rules of videography(and photography), the longer the lens, the higher the shake multiplier. a 50mm will have 50% more noticable handheld shake then a 35mm

2. Wide Angle lens - for Astro-photography & landscape
Question : Since QX1 does not have proper manual control, people said i need manual aperture lens and setup up to aperture priority. Thing is can manually i bump the ISO and Shutter Speed to 30" or longer with this camera while maintaning its wide 16mm angle at f/2.8 with this lens? or should i just use the kit lens (SEL1650)

this is due to previous Sony Play Memories App limitation, recent updates allows more controls, do expect more manual control in upcoming App update.
the 16mm F2.8 will largely benefits astronomy photography, as for landscape, a smaller aperture (eg.F8) is more preferable which can be set via setting.

3. Zoom lens - longer focal length, birds & sports
Question : Is this lens fast enough for fast moving object like sports?
Is these lens adequate to cover those activities for hobbyist or you have other recommendation from other brands? please recommend converter too. Thanks.

General answer: Activities by Hobbyist, i would rate YES. Sports(motorsports, badminton)? maybe a NO.
Professional Answer: Yes Yes Yes. as long as there is enough light to bump my iso to archive a minimun 1/200ss to avoid shake/motion blur, and for focus, either i do a pre-focusing and lock or manual focus.

as stringfellow mention, im still doubting the feed speed of the camera to the display unit(cellphone)... it might lag... although i see some (little)speed improvement over the new APP update.

4k video recording
i) 90% of the people in malaysia doesnt have a 4k TV/Monitor.
ii) 2minute footage will filled up 16gb. or 4min for your 32gb card.
iii) leave 4k for professional people with external 1/2tb recorder. (a7s has 4k output for external recorder)

12MP
i) sadly, 90% of the photographer i know doesnt even print their work. they only share via FB for glamour,fame and praises.
ii) 8R picture only require 6MP. 12MP can give you a 10R or 20inch print (longest side). 2xmp is excessive...

SEL50F18 (prime) | SEL16F28+VCL-ECU1(wide) | SEL18200 (zoom)
the VCL-ECU1, after many (4 unit, + 3 diff unit of 16mm) testing, it is not as good as i expected, its slightly soft overall, with very soft corner even up to F5.6, no idea why, but unlike the fisheye adapter, its so much sharper, really no idea why.

SEL18200 has many version (4 or 5), but basically 2 is widely available in the market, the first generation SEL18200 and the (2nd Gen) SEL18200LE (rebadged from tamron).

first gen is a lot larger, heavier. but the aperture stay open longer in zooming in, and you can do pushpull with the lens easily (quick zoom) (im using this)
the 2nd gen, smaller, lighter, claimed faster focusing and sharper (maybe due to aperture?,...) aperture closes down quicker in zooming in, and u cannot pushpull.

mingyuyu made a good point, the 55-210 is cheaper, smaller and much lighter then the above two lens.

Reverse Ring marco Adapter
a Huge NO NO! yes, u can get very nice strong macro shots, but sacrifice your lens to dust and dirt and moisture and fungus spores, no way. doh.gif

now, my own personal question to you, why QX1? when there is faster(fastest)A6000, A5100, or your personal choice, the GH4, A7s, etc.
SUSchokia
post Nov 7 2014, 10:50 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Thx for the insight, so i guess i ve made the right choice on the lens

I made payment on Sunday and yesterday i received QX1 + SEL50f1.8, after quick setup with my iphone i quickly snapped something even without microSD card installed. These SOOC pictures save directly into my phone.

Classic shot of the cap.

Shallow DOF in low light

Will test more this weekeend

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 6 2014, 11:02 AM)

now, my own personal question to you, why QX1? when there is faster(fastest)A6000, A5100, or your personal choice, the GH4, A7s, etc.
Simple it's unique and goes with my 2015 style LOL

But seriously it's cheap compare to other interchangable lens APSC camera and im thinking of mounting it to the drone with lighter SEL1620

ieR
post Nov 7 2014, 11:14 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Congrats! (and i love your answer for why qx1)

me myself also thinking to grab one qx1 too. just for the sake of being unique~
lwliam
post Nov 7 2014, 12:21 PM

6,075 posts

rich ppl toy... T.T

i no money get all these fancy stuffs..
DarkEmotion88
post Nov 7 2014, 04:36 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Oct 29 2014, 09:01 AM)
Nice combination, but i'm waiting to see how Kodak SL10 price to fare up against QX10.
the other day at klcc sony i saw all qx10 & qx100 got massive 30% discount whn i purchase the qx1. so it's a good deal to get now but i think klcc sony under renovation. probably should check other sony centre.
riku2replica
post Nov 7 2014, 04:46 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 7 2014, 04:36 PM)
the other day at klcc sony i saw all qx10 & qx100 got massive 30% discount whn i purchase the qx1. so it's a good deal to get now but i think klcc sony under renovation. probably should check other sony centre.
Digital Mall Sony did not have 30% discount, only 15% but only applicable with smartphone purchase. There still more T&C which i don't remember.
DarkEmotion88
post Nov 7 2014, 04:51 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 7 2014, 04:46 PM)
Digital Mall Sony did not have 30% discount, only 15% but only applicable with smartphone purchase. There still more T&C which i don't remember.
when i asked the sales guy he said no need purchase with purchase. just wan clear stock since new product out d the qx30 and qx1. said alot ppl sapu.
riku2replica
post Nov 7 2014, 04:52 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 7 2014, 04:51 PM)
when i asked the sales guy he said no need purchase with purchase. just wan clear stock since new product out d the qx30 and qx1. said alot ppl sapu.
damn, 30% discount considered a steal. I believe now no more.
SUSchokia
post Nov 8 2014, 12:31 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 7 2014, 11:14 AM)
Congrats! (and i love your answer for why qx1)

me myself also thinking to grab one qx1 too. just for the sake of being unique~
uniqueness may not stay for long :-

Kodak SL (smart lens camera)

Olympus New Lenstyle Patent

JVC Kenwood

http://egami.blog.so-net.ne.jp/2014-10-21

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 10 2014, 12:09 AM
SUSchokia
post Nov 8 2014, 10:58 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Today Spam. Click to read exif

I like we can touch screen to point and focus. RAW + JPEG can only be used android and in microSD ( i don't have microSD card) The camera only save JPEG in my iPhone.
SUSchokia
post Nov 9 2014, 12:22 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I found a video of QX10 mounted to DJI Phantom

We should be able to use 3 axis gimbal that use to tie GoPro cam. Without the gimbal video will be shaky

http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...PrefLoc=2&rt=nc

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 9 2014, 11:01 PM
DarkEmotion88
post Nov 11 2014, 10:06 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

ordered a sigma 30mm f/2.8 + sony 50mm f/1.8~

can't wait to snap snap with them.
SUSchokia
post Nov 13 2014, 07:45 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I wonder how or what's this?

lwliam
post Nov 14 2014, 11:05 PM

6,075 posts

Nice casing
Dyson Jin
post Nov 15 2014, 01:54 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 4 2014, 10:07 AM)
where u get pistol grip?wanna buy it..price and loc pls..
tq yea
SUSchokia
post Nov 15 2014, 03:51 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Yeah pistol grip is nice

DarkEmotion88
post Nov 16 2014, 12:45 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Nov 15 2014, 01:54 PM)
where u get pistol grip?wanna buy it..price and loc pls..
tq yea
i'm using the sony GP-VPT1

about rm280. last time bought it for my camcorder. it works for the qx100 and qx10 as well so i test it on qx1 and it works splendidly.
Dyson Jin
post Nov 16 2014, 12:59 AM

960 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Nov 16 2014, 12:45 AM)
i'm using the sony GP-VPT1

about rm280. last time bought it for my camcorder. it works for the qx100 and qx10 as well so i test it on qx1 and it works splendidly.
wow..that is 1 expensive pistol grip..haha
guess i get the 1 in the video above your comment..cost below rm70..
gonna use it for my qx10..
SUSchokia
post Nov 16 2014, 06:59 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Nice It can be a mini mono pod tripod too

While browsing camcorder accessories i found this nice case :-

LCS-BBE

Should be able to fit QX1 + SEL5018
or maybe even QX1+ SEL18200

http://www.sony.com.my/product/lcs-bbe

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 16 2014, 07:39 AM
DarkEmotion88
post Nov 17 2014, 02:54 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Nov 16 2014, 12:59 AM)
wow..that is 1 expensive pistol grip..haha
guess i get the 1 in the video above your comment..cost below rm70..
gonna use it for my qx10..
that's because u also can control the zoom, snap picture & video with it directly on the grip that's y expensive.

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 16 2014, 06:59 AM)
Nice It can be a mini mono pod tripod too

While browsing camcorder accessories i found this nice case :-

LCS-BBE

Should be able to fit QX1 + SEL5018
or maybe even QX1+ SEL18200

http://www.sony.com.my/product/lcs-bbe
interesting. might be handy for my 50 f1.8
SUSchokia
post Nov 20 2014, 01:52 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Adobe Lightroom 5.7 supports QX1

https://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/

https://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/20...-available.html

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 20 2014, 01:58 AM
SUSchokia
post Nov 22 2014, 08:33 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Steadymaker Gimbal for DJI Phantom 2 and Handheld Gimbal for QX10/100 (which fit QX1)

I think we can just buy one and modify to be used 2 in 1 for drone and handheld gimbal

Video : http://player.youku.com/player.php/sid/XNzExMTA4NDQw/v.swf

http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...adymaker+gimbal

My 2015 Lifestyle

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 22 2014, 08:36 PM
SUSchokia
post Nov 22 2014, 10:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QX1 + SEL16f2.8 on different drones

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 22 2014, 10:36 PM
SUSchokia
post Nov 29 2014, 06:37 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Attended wedding just now with QX1.

Few shots SOOC (click for original to check exif)

Lowlight pelamin area inside the house.

The house is just normal kampung house very hot today but photos look like in hotel

SUSchokia
post Dec 7 2014, 10:25 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Solar charging QX1
stringfellow
post Dec 8 2014, 06:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thank you to DarkEmotion88 for the GP-VPT1 grip recommendation. Just got mine, and with features available to it, very useful! I may even use it with my other Sony cameras. rclxms.gif

SUSchokia
post Dec 8 2014, 09:55 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Sony just released new driver for Yosemite today

SUSchokia
post Dec 8 2014, 10:22 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 8 2014, 06:42 PM)
Thank you to DarkEmotion88 for the GP-VPT1 grip recommendation. Just got mine, and with features available to it, very useful! I may even use it with my other Sony cameras. rclxms.gif

Is the grip function buttons work with QX1? What function is actually work? Shutter? Zoom?

Another thing, what else can that multi port does? Can it live feed to HDTV? what cable/adapter to use?

stringfellow
post Dec 8 2014, 10:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

All the buttons work.

DarkEmotion88
post Dec 9 2014, 12:09 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 8 2014, 06:42 PM)

Glad i could help. It's definitely useful for single hand operation. I like how I dun require to attach a phone to switch from video recording to capture mode. I got mine via ebay from hong kong. Where'd u get yours? I couldn't find one locally here.
stringfellow
post Dec 9 2014, 12:10 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 9 2014, 12:09 AM)
Glad i could help. It's definitely useful for single hand operation. I like how I dun require to attach a phone to switch from video recording to capture mode. I got mine via ebay from hong kong. Where'd u get yours? I couldn't find one locally here.
eBay as well. All I get are blank stares while searching for this a while back at the Sony Stores locally. A tripod that looks like a pistol with buttons that zoom and snaps photos?
SUSchokia
post Dec 11 2014, 08:00 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 8 2014, 10:45 PM)
All the buttons work.
Can zoom in and out too?
DarkEmotion88
post Dec 12 2014, 11:32 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 11 2014, 08:00 AM)
Can zoom in and out too?
yes but only with power zoom lens.
SUSchokia
post Dec 14 2014, 09:36 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 12 2014, 11:32 AM)
I have this idea

A detachable 3 Axis Gimbal (use in drone) + QX1 + GP-VPT1. This can revolutionize all ridiculous body gimbal stabilizer that look like half human and half robot

Note: GP-AVT1 is more easier to find at Sony Store and they're selling adapter so it can be GP-VPT1 and fit to QX1 multi terminal port

DarkEmotion88
post Dec 14 2014, 10:28 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 14 2014, 09:36 AM)
I have this idea

A detachable 3 Axis Gimbal (use in drone) + QX1 + GP-VPT1. This can revolutionize all ridiculous body gimbal stabilizer that look like half human and half robot
Note: GP-AVT1 is more easier to find at Sony Store and they're selling adapter so it can be GP-VPT1 and fit to QX1 multi terminal port

i didn't know got the adapter. doh.gif i myself already hv the GP-AVT1 then go buy GP-VPT1. here which sony store u saw hv the adapter? if klcc ada i'll head there today.
Cruxs
post Dec 14 2014, 11:13 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 7 2014, 10:25 AM)
Solar charging QX1
Where can get that solar charger?
SUSchokia
post Dec 14 2014, 11:20 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 14 2014, 10:28 AM)
i didn't know got the adapter.  doh.gif  i myself already hv the GP-AVT1 then go buy GP-VPT1. here which sony store u saw hv the adapter? if klcc ada i'll head there today.
You better buy it from ebay. I was wasting my whole saturday searching from one mall to the other in penang ended up buying nothing. Sony Centre really poor.

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Dec 14 2014, 11:13 AM)
Where can get that solar charger?
You can assemble yourself way way cheaper than http://www.voltaicsystems.com/10wattkit.php. (i was frustrated since they dont ship to Malaysia, so i bought the exact powerbank and generic 10W solar panel from ebay)
Cruxs
post Dec 16 2014, 12:06 PM

826 posts

Pricey
SUSchokia
post Dec 16 2014, 05:13 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Dec 16 2014, 12:06 PM)
Pricey
You can get below RM200 for both panel and battery (bank) on ebay

http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...anel%26_arr%3D1

http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_odkw=10...attery&_sacat=0

SUSchokia
post Dec 21 2014, 02:39 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Olympus LensStyle Camera

DarkEmotion88
post Dec 23 2014, 09:37 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 21 2014, 02:39 PM)
Olympus LensStyle Camera

if oly come out this earlier i would've gotten it. i hv so many m43 lenses.
Everdying
post Dec 23 2014, 12:27 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 23 2014, 09:37 AM)
if oly come out this earlier i would've gotten it. i hv so many m43 lenses.
same la.
but since its still prototype, who knows when final release will be...can be end of 2015 for all we know.
i'll still wait for it anyway tongue.gif
SUSchokia
post Dec 23 2014, 03:13 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Another Accessory from Sony Handycam for QX1
http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...xb&LH_PrefLoc=2

This post has been edited by chokia: Dec 31 2014, 02:24 PM
SUSchokia
post Dec 25 2014, 10:45 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Updated page 1

This post has been edited by chokia: Dec 31 2014, 02:24 PM
SUSchokia
post Dec 29 2014, 09:55 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Since RM still low, i bought two smaller drones for my nephew and niece for Xmas at local shop whistling.gif

SOOC from QX1

DarkEmotion88
post Dec 29 2014, 01:09 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

This post has been edited by DarkEmotion88: Dec 29 2014, 10:14 PM
lwliam
post Dec 30 2014, 12:18 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 29 2014, 01:09 PM)

Might as well get a proper e-mount camera? Less bulk and parts. No wireless lag. doh.gif

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 30 2014, 12:21 PM
DarkEmotion88
post Dec 30 2014, 12:24 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 30 2014, 12:18 PM)
Might as well get a proper e-mount camera? Less bulk and parts.  doh.gif
i dun actually really use e-mount cam as i hv lesser lenses for this system. just that i hv alot accesories lying around thought i could make a rig for it.

finally my ADP-FSK1 arrived but haven't unbox yet.

image for reference *not mine*

This post has been edited by DarkEmotion88: Dec 31 2014, 01:50 AM
SUSchokia
post Dec 31 2014, 02:05 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Oh i see some QX accessories including ADP-FSK1 here

http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/4551/4917454/1/
DarkEmotion88
post Jan 1 2015, 02:15 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 31 2014, 02:05 PM)
Oh i see some QX accessories including ADP-FSK1 here

http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/4551/4917454/1/
asked sony centre staff when the tilt adapter gonna be available they say still long way to go before it arrive in msia. so ordered on from HK.
Scourdx
post Jan 2 2015, 03:09 AM

36 posts

Kodak sl10 & sl25 came out not too long ago. I wonder if sony will sue them for copying. I notice this was created by chinese company under oppo but license to kodak in US.

http://www.kodakcamera.jkiltd.com/Americas...rtlens/sl10.php
SUSchokia
post Jan 4 2015, 11:56 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Interface
NFC : Yes (NFC forum Type 3 Tag compatible)
Memory Card Slot : Dual compatibility slot: Memory Stick PRO Duo™/Pro-HG Duo™/PRO-HG HX Duo™ media - SD, SDHC and SDXC memory card
HD Output : HDMI® micro connector (Type-D), BRAVIA Sync (link menu), PhotoTV HD, 4K still image playback
Tripod Mount : Yes
PhotoTV HD : Yes, with BRAVIA® Sync enabled HDTV and HDMI® cable
USB Port(s) : Multi/Micro USB Terminal (USB 2.0)
Wi-Fi : Yes(Wi-Fi Compatible, IEEE 802.11b/g/n(2.4GHz band) )
A/V Remote Terminal : Multi/Micro USB Terminal*8 , Hi-Speed USB (USB2.0)

http://store.sony.com/interchangeable-lens...=pfm%3Dcategory

When sony mentioned HD Output, i really cant find any microUSB/Multi to HDMI cable made by Sony but this cable instead

http://sp.sony-asia.com/media/110/54647

But we need user posted image

The question is all these sony cables are expensive, will it work with QX1?

What about cheaper one for transmitting SD video to a display like for base station for drone. will these cable works?

user posted image http://sp.sony-asia.com/media/110/54643

http://www.sony-asia.com/cam-camcorder-acc...sentials/599410

SUSchokia
post Jan 5 2015, 02:41 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Yesterday i was attending another wedding and KPC shooting video with just QX1, no gimbal, no mic nothing and i found few discrepancies that i couldn't fix without proper accessories.

The idea is to do wedding video but became sleepy to edit due to time and shaky videos. In the end due to limited footage i just dumped everything in FCP and shared to youtube.

1. 50mm f/1.8 only nice for photo, for video and taking interview not so much because we have to be far from subject. I think 16mmf2.8 could do better.

2. holding 50mm f/1.8 with QX1 really tiring. I need that pistol grip.

3. It's hard to focus / slow focus for moving subject for video.

4. Some 12MP photo saved in the phone are not sharp and unusable for zoom and pan slide show.

SUSchokia
post Jan 11 2015, 09:59 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

http://www.engadget.com/gallery/dji-inspire-1-gimbal/

Now DJI has the same idea like mine, detach the camera gimbal from the drone and fix it to handheld

SUSchokia
post Jan 12 2015, 06:52 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

On previous age i wonder what's this , now only i found out that it's iPhone casing for QX series

So intrend in Japan now

http://gizmon.com/
SUSchokia
post Jan 15 2015, 07:50 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Scourdx
post Jan 16 2015, 12:07 AM

36 posts

Looks like Casio is introducing the ex-fr10 as in between go pro and lens style camera. I wish sony would implement the wearable smart watch that can remote into qx camera.

http://www.casio-intl.com/asia-mea/en/dc/ex_fr10/
SUSchokia
post Jan 20 2015, 09:41 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/art...ing-mobile.html
Scourdx
post Feb 6 2015, 12:53 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 20 2014, 10:39 PM)
Olympus LensStyle Camera

Olympus just announce they will be releasing this device in Japan only. Name will be Olympus air A1. It feature 16mp and 10fps burst.

http://reframe.gizmodo.com/olympus-air-a01...948845/+megneal
Scourdx
post Feb 17 2015, 01:28 PM

36 posts

Here is an alternative qx1 mount for iPhone 5/5s

http://turtleback.hk/en/176-sony-qx-bracke...phone-5-5s.html

I can't read Japanese. Here is the article reviewing the mount

http://weekly.ascii.jp/elem/000/000/303/303142/

This post has been edited by Scourdx: Feb 17 2015, 01:30 PM
SUSchokia
post Feb 17 2015, 07:50 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Since i cant find this user posted image

and this still bloody expensive like RM356.64 on ebay

Lazada sells this for merely rm35

it fits QX1 with SEL501.8 even the hood

And the small tag shows how to carry it with the strap.

http://www.lazada.com.my/sony-carrying-cas...28-1047186.html Apply the code and you'll get around RM35

Scourdx
post Feb 18 2015, 03:50 PM

36 posts

I recently purchased the AZ1 with live viewer. After reading some of the help on Sony confusing website, it stated you can use the live view remote (RM-LVR1 or 2) for all the QX Series camera. I've tested and it works! Below is the screenshot.

If you read their site, the live remote can sync 5 different QX1 camera.

http://www.sony.net/Products/di/en-gb/prod...l?contentsTop=1

The second link talks about how to sync the live remote to QX camera

https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detai...-error-03-01-is

I don't know why Sony marketing wouldn't bother to mention these feature. It is worth mentioning as alternative to smartphone screen.

This post has been edited by Scourdx: Feb 18 2015, 04:02 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 18 2015, 05:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Scourdx @ Feb 18 2015, 03:50 PM)
I recently purchased the AZ1 with live viewer. After reading some of the help on Sony confusing website, it stated you can use the live view remote (RM-LVR1 or 2) for all the QX Series camera. I've tested and it works! Below is the screenshot.

If you read their site, the live remote can sync 5 different QX1 camera.

http://www.sony.net/Products/di/en-gb/prod...l?contentsTop=1

The second link talks about how to sync the live remote to QX camera

https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detai...-error-03-01-is

I don't know why Sony marketing wouldn't bother to mention these feature. It is worth mentioning as alternative to smartphone screen.

This was advertised as working with the QX1 in one of the commercial videos of QX1. In that video, a skater was seen lining up his shot by looking at the AZ1. Reason why I didn't get this for my setup is because it is just a screen to line up your shot and rudimentary photo /video button to snap/record your footage. No way to change the camera setting on this. Plus I already have the VPT1 pistol grip tht does the same minus the live view.
Scourdx
post Feb 18 2015, 11:29 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 18 2015, 01:19 AM)
This was advertised as working with the QX1 in one of the commercial videos of QX1. In that video, a skater was seen lining up his shot by looking at the AZ1. Reason why I didn't get this for my setup is because it is just a screen to line up your shot and rudimentary photo /video button to snap/record your footage. No way to change the camera setting on this. Plus I already have the VPT1 pistol grip tht does the same minus the live view.
I saw that. Unfortunately Sony didn't bother advertising detail how the QX series can work with other devices. As a consumer we may not even know. Just like your pistol grip by Sony. I get that info from user like yourself. smile.gif
SUSchokia
post Feb 20 2015, 02:57 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

If sony ever make the fullframe version in QX series with 5 axis stabilizer, i dont have to think about any stupid gimbal

SUSchokia
post Feb 25 2015, 03:21 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Crazy japanese

http://photo.yodobashi.com/gear/sony/cameras/qx1/index.html
Scourdx
post Mar 1 2015, 12:29 AM

36 posts

Someone is able to mount QX1 to Borg 90fl telescope. Now it is Sony's job to give us manual control to really give QX1 a true potential.

https://digiborg.wordpress.com/2015/02/24/s...with-borg-90fl/
Scourdx
post Mar 5 2015, 02:10 PM

36 posts

Camerafan post the types of lens you can adapt with QX1

http://camerafan.jp/cc.php?i=299

LEICA Summaron 3.5cm F3.5

Carl-Zeiss G-Biogon 28mmF2.8

Canon FD35-70mmF4 AF

Vivitar Series 1 SOLID CATADIOPTRIC LENS 800mmF11

SUSchokia
post Mar 5 2015, 04:33 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Scourdx @ Mar 5 2015, 02:10 PM)

Vivitar Series 1 SOLID CATADIOPTRIC LENS 800mmF11
Donut bokeh!

Last time when i was looking for cheaper alternative of zoom lens (sel18200mm = RM2280) , i found these mirror lens which are the same concept with telescope (Maksutov-Cassegrain design) and they are not as cheap as what people believe (cheaper than zoom lens yes).

I'll buy telescope instead coz more value for money since you can use it day time and night time for astrophotography.

Celestron Nextstar 4SE is around USD$499 only comes with the whole motorized tripod for autofinding 4000 celestical bodies. I'm thinking of using its motor system to do hyperlapse video.

SUSchokia
post Mar 5 2015, 04:41 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Im more crazy with this f/0.95 Mitakon Speedmaster

Check out the whole collection

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autorenphotog...157648939751107
SUSchokia
post Mar 17 2015, 02:31 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Can anyone tell me if QX1 multi AV out micro USB port carries video signal maybe using this sony handycam cable:-

Another thing to those who use GP-VPT1, could you test if the record button works without QX1 wifi ON. I know the shutter button works for shooting picture without connecting to any smartphone or without wifi on.

This post has been edited by chokia: Mar 17 2015, 02:37 PM
Scourdx
post Mar 24 2015, 10:36 AM

36 posts

Someone manage to post up olympus air with other lens attachment. This should be interesting.

http://m.dc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/revie...319_692265.html
SUSchokia
post Apr 2 2015, 09:00 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Smallest Medium format camera (sensor size (53.7 x 40.4 mm) bigger than fullframe (36 x 24 mm) ) but still weight ~ 1.5kg with lens being "World's Smallest and lightest integrated digital medium format aerial cameras."

http://industrial.phaseone.com/iXU_camera_system.aspx

Added : $60,000 price tag

This post has been edited by chokia: Apr 2 2015, 09:03 AM
Scourdx
post Apr 5 2015, 01:07 PM

36 posts

Bazooka style olympus air a01. I am sure qx1 will also works

http://petapixel.com/2015/04/04/check-out-...and-300mm-lens/
SUSchokia
post Apr 15 2015, 11:01 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Testing reverse ring on

16mm f2.8 lens

50mm f1.8 lens (cannot focus)

BTW its metal not plastic

RM9 on ebay save a lot than buying macro lens

SUSchokia
post Apr 16 2015, 07:26 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QX1 wins TIPA award

http://www.tipa.com/awards-en/sony-ilce-qx1
SUSchokia
post May 31 2015, 06:56 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Dec 12 2014, 11:32 AM)
Dang that answer almost costs me RM519 buying the powerzoom SELP1650 lens as proof of concept. I already avoided this kit lens when i purchased QX1, but since lazada fireworks code discount RM100 for that lens and it has silver color, i say why not

http://www.lazada.com.my/sony-selp1650-e-p...er-1617683.html

but but when i tested my both my fixed focus prime lenses SEL5018 & SEL1628 on video mode, the GP-VPT1 zoom button worked just fine. (digitally)
Scourdx
post Jul 1 2015, 09:19 AM

36 posts

Olympus air A01 is coming to North America for $300USD body only or $500 USD with the kit lens.

http://petapixel.com/2015/06/30/olympus-ai...n-july-for-300/
SUSchokia
post Jul 1 2015, 06:55 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Scourdx @ Jul 1 2015, 09:19 AM)
Olympus air A01 is coming to North America for $300USD body only or $500 USD with the kit lens.

http://petapixel.com/2015/06/30/olympus-ai...n-july-for-300/
MFT but more expensive than APSC. I like the white color though, i wish QX1 got white version

0.0504sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:26 PM