Music Metal Thread V3, LYN Headbanger's Lounge

6UE5T
post Sep 24 2018, 06:28 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Nymphetamine666 @ Jun 24 2018, 05:01 AM)
Can anyone list me international metal band concert or gig coming to KL or Singapore for remaining days in this 2018? Or is there any www i can look for? Thanks in advance and appreciate ao much.
If you like over the top guitar playing then Yngwie Malmsteen will be playing this Saturday 29/9 in KL.
Then Judas Priest is coming to Singapore & Jakarta on Dec 4 & 7 respectively.

I'll be going to both Yngwie & JP concerts.
6UE5T
post Sep 25 2018, 09:30 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 21 2018, 12:09 AM)
Anyone going ?? thanks
I am, with my son. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Sep 25 2018, 09:34 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Nymphetamine666 @ Sep 25 2018, 12:24 AM)
Interested on JP in Jkt.
Good, it'll be held in Ancol Theme Park, so should be bigger venue than the one in SG. Just need to be more careful cause the crowd for metal concerts in Indonesia is usually more rambunctious and can have more pick pockets.
6UE5T
post Sep 25 2018, 03:20 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 25 2018, 10:28 AM)
I think I might miss the yngwie malmsteen concert.
Go to JP concert in Singapore then on Dec 4th. I'll be going to the Jkt one coz I bought the ticket already before they announced the SG show time. Anyway I think the Jkt show will be bigger coz the venue should be bigger.
6UE5T
post Sep 25 2018, 03:26 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nazanto @ Sep 25 2018, 11:08 AM)
Hey guys. Just wanna ask you metalheads, where do u guys normally get your band merch here in msia? was thinking to get Eluveitie thsirt, but i need to buy it from nuclear blast and the shipping so fuckin expensive.
There's a record shop in ground floor Sungei Wang Plaza, they sell some metal shirts. For more popular bands, you can get some from Lazada and 11 Street too.
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 12:16 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(buckethead @ Sep 30 2018, 08:56 PM)
Woot...hows the Malmsteen gig last night??
It was great! thumbup.gif He was in great form, playing fast and clean, a true rock showman! I was also pleasantly surprised that his backing band was also playing tight! Special note for the keyboardist who sung his lungs out, able to hit all the high notes cleanly and on point. Then the drummer also played great, even managed to do a solo session. Good that Yngwie still allows other member to show off too! The audio was also very good, all instruments sounded well balanced and loud with only the vocal slightly under but still ok. Yngwie's guitar sounded incredible, the best guitar sound I've ever heard in a live concert (including compared to Eddie VH sound when I saw them during the F.U.C.K world tour in the 90s!), and then special note to the drum sound which was thunderous with earth shaking bass drum!

I'm glad that they played many of his classics like Rising Force, 7th Sign, Far Beyond the Sun, Evil Eye, I''l See the Light, You Don't Remember, Trilogy Suite Op, and of course Black Star. Those really rocked the house down! I think since this is his first visit here, he stick to his signature songs more so the crowd can follow and enjoy better, and they seemed really pumped to impress us.

The hall was not full though, maybe around 70% full on the free standing zone but the seating balcony looked at least 90-95%, so in total a pretty decent crowd showing. Anyway the Nightwish show that I saw in Singapore in 2016 was also about the same size venue and about the same crowd volume and not sold out, so for Yngwie to be able to draw about the same as Nightwish here is not bad at all. Apparently Malaysia still has some taste for crazy metal guitar playing! laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 12:35 AM

1,704 posts

Haven't shared for a long time here, so here's what I would probably consider to be my favorite album of 2018: Michael Romeo's War of the Worlds pt.1

This is one sample:

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 7 2018, 12:38 AM
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 12:54 AM

1,704 posts

Again my candidate for the best album of 2018, from another melodic metal master Kamelot with their latest album in 2018, Shadow Empire. Perfect blend of melody, speed, orchestral arrangements, with some touch of aggressive female growling to boot!

6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 01:00 AM

1,704 posts

Now some more traditional 80s style heavy metal, from Primal Fear's latest 2018 album "Apocalypse"

6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 01:10 AM

1,704 posts

And some awesome shredding from Gus G latest work with special guest Vinnie Moore:

6UE5T
post Oct 7 2018, 02:08 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 7 2018, 01:24 AM)
Frankly, the ticket price was a little out of reach for me. should be easy sold out concert if the price was just a little lower
I got the early bird price for rm180/person. I bought 2 tickets for me and my son. smile.gif Yeah it's still a bit pricey but still cheaper than the Nightwish Singapore show tickets. The Judas Priest tickets in Jakarta is even cheaper though! I also got early bird price and will watch that concert also with my son. biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 22 2018, 12:19 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Oct 13 2018, 07:07 PM)
Just sharing, if anyone interested

Nope, never a fan of Megadeth. I will only watch the Judas Priest concert in Jakarta Ancol this December.

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 13 2018, 10:52 PM)
Seems interesting. How much tickets
Around rm130-200. These girls are hot! drool.gif
Just unfortunately Nita Strauss is not playing there.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 22 2018, 12:57 AM
6UE5T
post Oct 22 2018, 01:28 AM

1,704 posts

drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 22 2018, 01:29 AM
6UE5T
post Oct 23 2018, 10:32 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Burnn @ Oct 23 2018, 01:34 AM)
Awww.. You dont have to be a fan to see Megadeth live. Haha..

Ticket price for Judas Priest in Jakarta is quite cheap. But I dont have the energy to join fellow metalhead in Jakarta.  I'm more into laid back, let the mouth to the action type nowadays. Sudah tua wei.. I opt for Singapore this time.
Definitely a watch. They supposed to come to Malaysia for KL Rockfest 2010 together with Hirax, Wolf and Bullet. That time Nita Strauss was in the band, I could be wrong. Damn Nita...
If I'm not a fan of their music then how to enjoy the concert leh?? It's not like watching some sexy female pop artist that you might not care about the music but at least you get to see some sexy girls dancing! laugh.gif

Yeah easier to go to the SG gig to watch the Priest but the Jkt gig is in a bigger venue so I hope would be more spectacular show! rclxm9.gif

I'm actually still undecided if to watch the Maidens or not. I like Iron Maiden music but I have also watched them live in the early 90s so not sure if I want to watch their tribute band only. If still got Nita probably I'd watch. brows.gif
6UE5T
post Dec 9 2018, 02:35 AM

1,704 posts

So anyone get to watch the Priest live either in Sg or Jkt?? I watched in Jkt with my son, and it was an absolute blast! About 8 thousand metal heads came and they played for 1:45 mins. Most of the band might be old but they still kick ass hard! The sound was excellent, the stage show/screens was amazing, and they played very tight! Very happy to see Glenn also played a few songs at the end to make the band a 3 guitar attack. Truly a top notch act and I can confidently claim that it was so far the best concert I have ever watched! (So far I have watched 7 rock concerts: Europe, Queensryche, Van Halen, Iron Maiden in the early 90s, then Nightwish, Yngwie, and Now the Priest in the last 3 years)

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Dec 9 2018, 02:37 AM
6UE5T
post Dec 9 2018, 08:11 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(zangief @ Dec 9 2018, 06:08 PM)
Saw them in SG. I was there for supporting band BABYMETAL. As you've said, JP was very good, and LOUD. My ears were still ringing next morning. Rob always has nice things to say about BABYMETAL and they collaborated at APMA 2016. When I found out they were coming to SG, I bought the ticket bundle at gig-merch.com, before official ones went on sale.

I got to the venue around 2pm and was 2nd row behind the barrier. Seeing Glenn was very emotional. He even teased us. By pointing at us, smiled and rubbed his eye.

Small vid I took, https://streamable.com/mtqcd  (warning: loud)
For the Jkt show there's no opening act, straight to JP show. We didn't go too much to the front coz usually the front spectators can be too wild (and it was!) and I need to protect my teenage son. We stand about 5-6 meters from the barriers which was still close enough but still safe.

How long did they play? In ours, they played 1:45 mins which was an extra 15 mins over the scheduled. The Jkt promoter said the band was very happy with our reception that they decided to play that extra 15 mins which meant we get more Glenn time! He played several of the classics. Oh and ours was also their closer show for the 2018 tour. Scott mentioned that they want to pick the most kick ass place to close the tour just before they played Painkiller.😂

Yeah it was loud but clean sound! Honestly I feel they got the best sound out of all the concerts I have watched so far.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Dec 9 2018, 08:16 PM
6UE5T
post May 31 2019, 03:54 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ May 14 2019, 12:23 AM)
it's been quiet here lately.
May i know what is everyone listening to ?

Latest albums from Dream Theater, Darkwater, Evergrey, Myrath, Redemption, plus found another band called Raven Age which I quite like.
6UE5T
post Jan 17 2020, 11:21 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth2 @ Jan 13 2020, 02:50 PM)
Hey metalheads. Wassup. Happy new year! Rather quiet here, ey..

So whats everyone been listening to, recommendation for 2019, perhaps your most looking forward punya albums in 2020 or concert plans this year?

Cheers

p/s: RIP Neil Peart =/
Been listening to the latest 2019 albums from Vanden Plas, Teramaze, Darkwater, Dream Theater, and Evergrey. Just watched the latest live video of Nightwish
in Buenos Aires. Highly anticipating the upcoming Nightwish album o be released 10 April which should be epic again as it's going to be a long 2 disc album.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0197sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:07 AM