Asus G-Series Notebook Thread V10, Intel 8th Gen Strikes

tomastan4134
post Aug 18 2015, 11:11 AM

830 posts

QUOTE(evum seu @ Aug 10 2015, 10:59 AM)
Need help!yesterday i test my asus g551jm on game performance,i test it with dota2 with ultra setting,intel turbo boost on. And the highest temperature hit 91°C for CPU and highest temperature for gpu is 76°C.

Now the question come, why the temperature difference between gpu and cpu so big? Is it normal?

And the cpu reading had increased about 10°C compare to 3 month ago,is it this mean i need to repaste the thermal paste?this beast only about 4 month old only!
dirty air vents bro
evum seu
post Aug 18 2015, 04:44 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Aug 18 2015, 11:11 AM)
dirty air vents bro
i clean it before i start this test cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
tomastan4134
post Aug 18 2015, 05:03 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(evum seu @ Aug 18 2015, 04:44 PM)
i clean it before i start this test cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
how you clean?
evum seu
post Aug 18 2015, 10:36 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Aug 18 2015, 05:03 PM)
how you clean?
by air compressor
tomastan4134
post Aug 21 2015, 04:47 PM

830 posts

anyone here still using g55vw?
horns
post Aug 21 2015, 06:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Aug 21 2015, 04:47 PM)
anyone here still using g55vw?
it's my work backup server now. what's up?
tomastan4134
post Aug 27 2015, 10:00 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 21 2015, 06:01 PM)
it's my work backup server now. what's up?
Ooh how come it became your backup server now ?? what are you using at the moment ?
horns
post Aug 27 2015, 11:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Aug 27 2015, 10:00 PM)
Ooh  how come it became your backup server now ??  what are you using at the moment ?
aw18. g55 is a damn good workhorse when you retire it as your gaming laptop. the cpu is weak for my work (swapped it with a 3820qm previously but the cpu heat sink couldn't handle the heat. it's too bad).
yonghong
post Aug 30 2015, 09:09 AM

551 posts

Hi all sifu. wan to ask here, how to do windows recovery from ASUS BACKTRACKER to SSD? from what i understand, I only know how to do the recovery to the pre-installed hard disc. I plan to buy a m2 SSD and install to my ASUS jl552jx. Hope to install windows in that SSD.
TSriku2replica
post Sep 1 2015, 07:42 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Aug 30 2015, 09:09 AM)
Hi all sifu. wan to ask here, how to do windows recovery from ASUS BACKTRACKER to SSD? from what i understand, I only know how to do the recovery to the pre-installed hard disc. I plan to buy a m2 SSD and install to my ASUS jl552jx. Hope to install windows in that SSD.
Replied in PM. Better do some further research first just to be safe. nod.gif
slingswish
post Sep 1 2015, 01:49 PM

560 posts

hi, my Asus G55VW LCD started to have horizontal line. is it spoiled? its getting more and more. anyway i can fix it ? or i have to change a new LCD?
TSriku2replica
post Sep 1 2015, 01:57 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Sep 1 2015, 01:49 PM)
hi, my Asus G55VW LCD started to have horizontal line. is it spoiled? its getting more and more. anyway i can fix it ? or i have to change a new LCD?
For Self diagnosis:
Connect to an external display. And See if external works fine. Do use close desktop where you see the same desktop screen as on your laptop ( not extended).

For our diagnosis:
A Photo taken by camera and a screen shot please. So that we can conclude if your lcd is damaged or LCD ribbon issue.
slingswish
post Sep 1 2015, 10:54 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 1 2015, 01:57 PM)
For Self diagnosis:
Connect to an external display. And See if external works fine. Do use close desktop where you see the same desktop  screen as on your laptop ( not extended).

For our diagnosis:
A Photo taken by camera and a screen shot please. So that we can conclude if your lcd is damaged or LCD ribbon issue.
Here is the photo. Not sure what happen the line just getting more.
Oh ya...i connect to external display it work fine. only the laptop LCD screen got the lines
Thanks in advance for the help smile.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by slingswish: Sep 1 2015, 11:19 PM
TSriku2replica
post Sep 2 2015, 07:26 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Sep 1 2015, 10:54 PM)
Here is the photo. Not sure what happen the line just getting more.
Oh ya...i connect to external display it work fine. only the laptop LCD screen got the lines
Thanks in advance for the help smile.gif  notworthy.gif
Then its either your LCD(Dead Horizontal Pixels) or Ribbon issue(least possible).
Warranty still valid? If still valid, send for warranty...

Anyhow changing LCD panel won't be cheap at service center.
catfish
post Sep 2 2015, 05:01 PM

143 posts

I would like to check with G501JW users.

I'm interested in getting G501JW-CN139H but are out of stock everywhere.
G501JW-CN117H are lower specs, difference is only 1 item:
- G501JW-CN117H --> 1TB HDD
- G501JW-CN139H --> 1TB HDD + 128GB SSD

My idea is to purchase G501JW-CN117H and upgrade it with an additional 128GB SSD.
1. Anyone know whether G501JW-CN117H model have PCIE x4 M.2 slot for adding 128GB?
2. If yes, can a SATA version of M.2 2280 SSD work on the PCIE x4 M.2 slot instead of PCIE version?

Really hope someone with the knowledge / owning this laptop can tell me.
TSriku2replica
post Sep 2 2015, 05:59 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(catfish @ Sep 2 2015, 05:01 PM)
I would like to check with G501JW users.

I'm interested in getting G501JW-CN139H but are out of stock everywhere.
G501JW-CN117H are lower specs, difference is only 1 item:
- G501JW-CN117H --> 1TB HDD
- G501JW-CN139H --> 1TB HDD + 128GB SSD

My idea is to purchase G501JW-CN117H and upgrade it with an additional 128GB SSD.
1. Anyone know whether G501JW-CN117H model have PCIE x4 M.2 slot for adding 128GB?
2. If yes, can a SATA version of M.2 2280 SSD work on the PCIE x4 M.2 slot instead of PCIE version?

Really hope someone with the knowledge / owning this laptop can tell me.
1. Yes.
2. Yes 2280, fits perfectly.
catfish
post Sep 2 2015, 06:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 2 2015, 05:59 PM)
1. Yes.
2. Yes 2280, fits perfectly.
Thanks for your reply.
It doesn't need to be a 2280 PCIE version of the M.2 SSD right?
TSriku2replica
post Sep 2 2015, 06:02 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(catfish @ Sep 2 2015, 06:01 PM)
Thanks for your reply.
It doesn't need to be a 2280 PCIE version of the M.2 SSD right?
Just for your reference, something like this.

To prevent misunderstanding. nod.gif

And apparently G501JW-CN117H is not locally brought in by Asus Malaysia(in other words Grey Importer), but G501JW-CN139H is officially Asus Malaysia listed on product guide. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Sep 2 2015, 06:04 PM
catfish
post Sep 2 2015, 06:06 PM

143 posts

Will this work? --> SanDisk X300 M.2 2280 128GB SSD SATA 6Gb/s
TSriku2replica
post Sep 2 2015, 06:09 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(catfish @ Sep 2 2015, 06:06 PM)
No. Look at the tip connector with the ones asked you to refered to. That's the M.2 SSD unit is used on G501 highest Spec.

Kindly study up this article

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Sep 2 2015, 06:10 PM

85 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:55 AM