Asus G-Series Notebook Thread V10, Intel 8th Gen Strikes

xyz_cityhunter
post Jan 9 2015, 10:32 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 9 2015, 09:32 AM)
correct. the problem is that most users today expect it to work right away, and forgot that they might have something else in the way.

edit:

for electronics, i really don't like obscurity. when i read the specs, i go as deep as i can. generic terms make me feel uncomfortable these days.

for instance, now m.2 slot is becoming common. it's a set of form factors for small-sized ssd's, and with proper technology, they come with damn great speeds. to get the most out of it, you should know about nvme ssd (pcie-based, not sata) that can run as fast as over 2GB/s read, 1.5GB/s write. this is one m.2 card. you need 4x of sata ssd's to do that.

now, there are quite a number of implementations of m.2 slot in the market. there are sata-based, and there are pcie-based. for pcie-based slots, there are 2-lane and 4-lane implementations (there are more complications like pcie versions but i skip that). to reach that speed your machine should have pcie 3.0 x4 m.2 slot.

now the ssd part should be relatively simpler. there is a sata-based or pcie-based. for pcie-based, it's pcie 2.0 x2, pcie 2.0 x4, and the new one from samsung is pcie 3.0 x4. notably there are a few types of physical connector shape. (for now it's either m-key or b-key afaik) just make sure you get the right one for your machine.

i am not trying to complicate things. for a normal user, it's likely that it will be  a 'get and forget' experience and no harm done. however i really don't like the idea that big boys put something damn old in new products. (it's their flag-ship some more)
Yeah, all laptop manufacturers is heading down this trend and it's a sad thing for advance/intermediate user who loves to customize something... cry.gif But then the laptop price now is cheaper compare to old days, I remember like Asus ROG laptop top model will cost like 7~8K while 2nd in line will be like 6.5K... Guess they want real PC users to go back to desktops or custom laptop like Illegear to get full performance of everything... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jan 9 2015, 02:11 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(rinaidil @ Jan 9 2015, 01:49 PM)
Hey, did you manage to get the wifi issue thing settle? Mine is acting up now. Can see the network but unable to connect, keep on trying so many times, reset, reboot, disabled and enabled, change power setting, restart router. All not working. crap. Any other ideas?
Tried update the driver? I updated as I notice the one install is not the latest available online. Didn't observe anything for now since last time but I'm not playing much game lately so might happened without noticing...
xyz_cityhunter
post Jan 14 2015, 10:20 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(rinaidil @ Jan 9 2015, 01:49 PM)
Hey, did you manage to get the wifi issue thing settle? Mine is acting up now. Can see the network but unable to connect, keep on trying so many times, reset, reboot, disabled and enabled, change power setting, restart router. All not working. crap. Any other ideas?
Any update for this? I still have some Wifi drop issue after installing the new driver but last time i forgot to change the power plan to max performance and disable the "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" option so will again see if this helps... hmm.gif

Worst come to worst the might go get some replacement card to get rid of this issue... yawn.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Feb 6 2015, 04:19 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Feb 4 2015, 07:31 PM)
Behold the Asus G501 which is identical to GX500.
http://rog.asus.com/399392015/g-series-gam...th-4k-pcie-ssd/

Metal Gear Solid Performance on 4GB Maxwell GTX 860M.
http://rog.asus.com/398492015/g-series-gam...gaming-laptops/
Nice, didn't expect it to come with 2 cooler fans...

And some updates on my Wifi adapter, seems like yesterday night having major breakdown where I always DC from my online game where the period ranging from few seconds to few minutes. The first few reboot seems like no effect until the 5th time then only the issue dies down... Maybe this place is heavily populated by 2.4Ghz Wifi, whereas back in my hometown with much less Wifi around my house, I didn't encounter this issue before... cry.gif
Might consider to upgrade my Wifi adapter and router with 5Ghz capability if this issue gets worst... cry.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Feb 16 2015, 09:07 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Loqque @ Feb 15 2015, 04:06 PM)
According to the source. The next Asus G551JW with GTX 960M will be released in April, maybe after GST.

Better get G551JM coz the G551JW prices may more higher later with the same performance of GTX 860M.

And the all new G501JW with GTX 960M will be released soon.  brows.gif

The G501JW is the upgraded from unrelesed GX500.

http://laptopmedia.com/news/list-of-all-as...-gtx-960m-965m/
G751 also having the GTX965?! Would really like to see the pricing on this...
xyz_cityhunter
post Mar 18 2015, 07:58 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Mar 4 2015, 06:28 PM)
Only G751JT is official sold by Asus MY. That must be imported unless they updated the product guide.
My friend's shop said that the disty also listing this, seems legit... but still dat price... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Mar 23 2015, 02:31 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 22 2015, 09:01 PM)
I don't get what you mean ? hmm.gif
He sarcastically hint that the ForeverAlone guy will quicky fill his new HDD with *** content... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Mar 23 2015, 02:31 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Mar 23 2015, 06:59 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 23 2015, 06:38 PM)
Oh I see. Lol.. Maybe that is just him. hahaha
The HDD should be filled with games, if not why get a gaming laptop at first XD

P/S: those *** content can stream though.
*** = Insert according to your imagination... tongue.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 12:33 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Apr 5 2015, 09:51 PM)
At last,i got my G751JY-T7169H today!. rclxm9.gif
Price? blink.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 01:21 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Apr 7 2015, 12:59 PM)
RM7780 including GST.
Ouch... the RAM and SSD+HDD spec? I remember the RAm higher while the SSD+HDD same with JT... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 01:58 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 7 2015, 01:49 PM)
I think the different also is the GPU ? JT is gtx970m while JY is 980m right ?
Yeah but other than that seems like pretty much same... and the price differs a lot, i got the JT for 5499 before GST. A bit too steep of a price to pay for an upgrade to 980m and some RAM... not sure if the CPU also upgraded? Maybe the SSD is the m.2 PCIE type instead of the normal 2.5inch type... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 02:21 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Apr 7 2015, 02:16 PM)
Yup..the cpu also upgraded to i7 4870HQ with iris Pro HD5200..

Btw, i already posted the spec for mine above.
Damn, i'm blind... sweat.gif
Hm, guess the difference is the CPU, GPU, RAM, ODD and Wifi... I think the JT only came with N instead of AC, what model of Wifi module you get on your unit? Intel?
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 02:43 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 7 2015, 02:28 PM)
Maybe. But gtx980m price is different with gtx970m is quite huge. For desktop version, gtx970m cost about RM1299 while gtx980m cost about RM2k++. Well of course EXCLUDE GST
Yeah, now the 70 and 80 model alrdy priced so far apart, old days only different like 20%... Now is like 65%... cry.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 9 2015, 08:44 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Apr 7 2015, 10:07 PM)
Yup,its intel dual band AC..its really a steal if can get killer wireless... laugh.gif
So use till now without any issue? I got the Atheros AR956x and it's intermittenly giving me problem... wait the warranty gone then I'm getting a Killer card for upgrade... vmad.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 9 2015, 10:16 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Apr 9 2015, 09:34 AM)
I see..so far mine is working superbly fine..very fast in downloading thru wifi compare to my brother notebook..
Good to hear, it's irritating when paying so much for a machine which end up disappointing you at certain area... shakehead.gif

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Apr 9 2015, 09:37 AM)
Sometimes the wireless factor is not the adapter but the router itself.
It's both way, i got a Lenovo T400 with old Intel 5300 and it work without any issue in the same room. The issue is not persisting but it comes and goes at times, maybe once a month but when it happens then rebooting might or might not solve the issue... rclxub.gif
By the way, the router is Asus N12E and it's just less than 10 feet away with a wall in between... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Apr 9 2015, 10:20 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 9 2015, 10:40 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Apr 9 2015, 10:32 AM)
then it would be still bearable since it comes and goes.
The annoying part was that when it hits, even pinging your router will fail... 100% packet loss... cry.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Apr 9 2015, 10:41 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Apr 9 2015, 12:45 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2015, 11:50 AM)
just swap the wifi card with a more compatible one :/

it's silly that asus put a not-so-decent wifi card in g-series. don't they know everything counts when it comes to gaming? before i swapped mine, a low-end, older acer laptop could get faster speed than my g55. acer 150mbps, asus g55 54mbps. why? the stock atheros card in my g55 is a single-band.

wow.
I think you mean 1x1 or 2x2... Single band = 2.4Ghz, Dual band = 2.4GHz + 5GHz...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single-input_...e-output_system
For sure will change the card, just that now still got warranty so don't want to do anything to spoil that... tongue.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post May 5 2015, 01:54 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(vincent829 @ Apr 27 2015, 09:01 AM)
I got my JT for 4925 inclusive GST, through lazada and the supplier is TMT online. (Lazada publish price 5175 + 250 firework voucher)
Actually can be get even lower at 4657.50 if I book a day later (with 10% storewide discount)
Nice... what's the firework voucher?
And another question about your laptop is what make and model is your wireless module? Any issue observed?

EDIT: http://www.lazada.com.my/shop-laptops/?q=g751
WTF, the pricing now... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: May 5 2015, 01:56 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post May 11 2015, 08:37 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(evum seu @ May 10 2015, 05:48 PM)
guys and sifu, my g551jm keep suffering blue screen issue that stated my power battery status failed(normally this happen when i take out battery when the laptop is still on). this happen after i install two program, one is RWeveything and HMW monitor, is it this two program related to my problem or my laptop is a lemon? anyway this problem solved(so far no happen la) after i refresh my computer. did you all suggest me to send my laptop to service center for checking?
If after refresh no issue then why bother to send for checking? Monitor it for now and if the issue reoccurs then you can consider to send it in for checking, if the service center cannot observe the problem at their end also they can't do much... rclxub.gif
And one advice, don't take out the battery when the laptop is still on. The battery is not designed for hot-plugging... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post May 13 2015, 09:51 AM

238 posts

Damn, my Wifi card acting up again... Reboot router or laptop repeatedly doesn't fix the situation... I'm getting a Killer N for replacement to end this misery for such a powerful laptop... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: May 13 2015, 09:51 AM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:54 AM