Asus G-Series Notebook Thread V10, Intel 8th Gen Strikes

xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 20 2014, 07:24 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(gin347 @ Dec 20 2014, 05:43 PM)
Goodluck on your purchase bro. Where did you order? Any idea when it comes in? Want to see your personal hands on review before deciding what to get.. lol smile.gif
I'm in Kedah so request my favorite PC shop to help me order. It's already available in Malaysia but funny didn't hear any official announcement from Asus MY... hmm.gif
The PC shop owner told me that he will try to get this before Xmas, and I can trade in my Y580 for this... thumbup.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 10:27 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(wemglucas3 @ Dec 22 2014, 10:18 AM)
Ya, still stock HDD. Performance is significant faster after i added a 8gb ram on overall from start up, open folder, launch software and games & shut down.

i got adobe master suite cs6 running on the G551jm, so far each of them works perfectly. maybe my workload hvnt reach very heavy.

Gaming i tried advanced warfare which i found spike lag, so i give up on it. So far playing shadow of mordor high setting very smooth, zero lag & farcry 4 too.
Any blue screen due to the graphic drivers? I read on ROG forum that most model (G750JM, G751Jm and G551) which uses the GTX860M will have some BSOD on certain Nvidia driver versions... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Dec 22 2014, 10:27 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 10:45 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(wemglucas3 @ Dec 22 2014, 10:33 AM)
Nope. so far hvnt got any blue screen. So far so good  smile.gif
Great then, was held back on the G750JM due to this GTX860M... Hope the G751JT that I will get won't have any issue or else really sad... cry.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 03:26 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 22 2014, 01:50 PM)
for today's computing needs, 4gb of ram is actually a very bare minimum. unless you know how to optimize system, and constrain yourself from abusing convenience in common software like web browsers, 4gb is a sub-optimal size that can results in a system to trigger use of hdd swap more frequently.

imo the minimal ram size for better computing nowadays starts from 8gb of ram. for gaming, i will go for 16gb at least.
Wow 16GB of RAM? What software you use anyway... sweat.gif
I only manage to push up until 7.5GB of RAM used at one time so 8GB for my normal use if pretty much enough, unless you're going video/photo/layout/blueprint editing... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 03:41 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 22 2014, 03:32 PM)
for general use 8gb should be fine.

for work purposes, i am using 32gb in most of my desktops/laptops (running multiple vm's). when the excessive ram are not in use, i convert it to ramdisk and hdd caching.

my systems don't run page file biggrin.gif
Hm, interesting... hmm.gif
Will go read on RAMDISK and HDD cache... nod.gif
Most of my work need server so no need for me to prepare own hardware... tongue.gif

xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 04:01 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 22 2014, 03:48 PM)
haha yes if you have servers to do almost all the heavy stuff, you actually do not need a lot of system resources.

i use ramdisk and hdd/ssd caching as part of my ssd optimization steps. it's fast smile.gif you can try setting up a small 1-gb ramdisk, point your web cache folders to it, then do web browsing and stuff. the difference is significant biggrin.gif
Any software that you recommend for this? hmm.gif
Hm, does it improves video play? Like sometime we fast forward or jump to certain scene which will have some lag time before the player can resume playing smoothly (File stored in HDD), or maybe it's the player problem (ZOOM Player)... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 04:21 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 22 2014, 04:09 PM)
my favorites are softperfect ramdisk and primocache.

er i don't have this problem. i use mpc-hc nightly. yeah i always jump here and there using the progress bar when i watch movies. for the video play thing, set up the user-level temporary folder to ramdisk also. it might help. if it's not, try copy the videos into ramdisk and play it from there.
OK, will try and see if it helps... rclxms.gif
I did use MPC but didn't use it much as I'm more familiar with ZOOM Player (Shortcut and quick keys), maybe i should try research on MPC and edit it into my preference player... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 22 2014, 05:00 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(gin347 @ Dec 22 2014, 04:49 PM)
Any update on your g751jt bro when it will be coming in?
I just placed the order with shop, still no news on if the order is placed with disty successfully or not... So for now just wait, I rather be slow than fast and get lemon unit... doh.gif

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 22 2014, 04:52 PM)
haha i use mpc because it's easy to set it up/update, and it plays most common formats. just use the multimedia keys on the keyboard to play musics. (yet to have anything unplayable with it in my daily work)
Yeah, codec i use CCCP which came with MPC while i use the ZOOM player as it works well with my Logitech G700 sidekeys which I'm having trouble setting it on MPC... Maybe need to spend sometime on the settings of MPC but as of current I still can't get it to work properly... cry.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Dec 22 2014, 05:02 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 23 2014, 02:28 PM

238 posts

Oh, one question to ask to all ROG laptop owner here. Does the keyboard layout have an option where you can blackout your screen without shutting down or sleeping the laptop? hmm.gif
Oh, maybe the F7 button below?

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Dec 23 2014, 02:31 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 23 2014, 02:39 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 23 2014, 02:36 PM)
yes, it's the fn+f7 key combo. it's kind of like a unique and pretty useful feature, which i couldn't find it in other laptops.

.. and this key combo works in linux mint too (running rebecca now)
My current Lenovo Y580 have this... always off the screen when i went out or go to sleep as I never off my laptop unless need to unplug and take it on the move...
It's Fn+F2 on Y580...

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Dec 23 2014, 02:41 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 24 2014, 08:30 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(xxxcriminal @ Dec 23 2014, 11:12 PM)
bro, im from kedah too, may i know which shop u buy from?
I buy from Minicomp, a shop in Center Square in SP... thumbup.gif
I always get my PC stuff from them so alrdy familiar with the owner there... brows.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 24 2014, 05:56 PM

238 posts

Hm, just got word from the shop owner says that the new G751JT that i ordered came with Atheros AR956x, donno it's good or not... hmm.gif Hopefully no problem with normal use... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 25 2014, 02:32 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 25 2014, 12:39 AM)
the compatibility actually depends on router/ap. it should be an dual-band .ac card.
Guess will have to use it to find out. I'm using Asus N12HP so only need the 2.4Ghz N, if all the browsing and gaming works smoothly then I have no complains on this... Can only get to collect my baby when I'm traveling back tomoro... rclxm9.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 26 2014, 10:28 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Etolen @ Dec 26 2014, 09:26 AM)
Thanks smile.gif
I got the one with 4gb ram and 2gb graphic card version. I haven't upgraded anything but plan to upgrade the ram in the near future. Haven't started to play any games only tried dota 2 and I'm newbie but so far its good. tongue.gif
Bro, can you run GPUZ and confirm the GTX860M architecture is Maxwell instead of Kepler? Heard my cousin wanna buy buy the seller told him that the 2GB version is Kepler while the 4GB version is Maxwell... hmm.gif

Source:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...M.107794.0.html

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Dec 26 2014, 10:31 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 27 2014, 08:39 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 27 2014, 06:20 PM)
when time comes you can just switch to .ac router. it's faster i tell you smile.gif
looks good smile.gif
Don't really need it as I only use it for gaming and browsing... No FTP server or share drives... tongue.gif

And officially now I can yell out:"G751JT Reporting IN~!" cool2.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 29 2014, 10:35 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(rinaidil @ Dec 29 2014, 04:13 PM)
G751JT Reporting IN~!
Can you tell what are the wireless network adapter that you have on your G751JT? Seems like I'm having the Wifi drop issue from my AR956x and this issue seems like a norm for this model... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 30 2014, 08:20 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(rinaidil @ Dec 30 2014, 12:48 AM)
Qualcomm Atheros AR956x Wireless Network Adapter

Same device, but mine is working good. connected to 2 different wifi so far no problem, downloading updates, steam apps and dropbox files, all stable. did yours happened immediately after purchase or after few days?
Hm, tried to check the router setting and the transmit power is setup at 10%... hmm.gif
I put it up to 25% and reset the router kind of fixes the issue at the moment, will continue to monitor the situation. And this happened (only the time when I'm using the laptop) yesterday which was like after a few days of using... blink.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 30 2014, 08:55 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 30 2014, 08:49 AM)
maybe also check the advanced properties of the wifi adapter in device manager in windows.

the broadcom .ac adapter by default had issues with my .ac router. a simple tweak solved the problems and run at full speed since then.
Will try that when I get home, and my adapter is only 2.4GHz N, dun have the 5GHz on that card. Cheap card to keep the unit cost down i think... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 30 2014, 09:09 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 30 2014, 09:04 AM)
previously my g55 had a single-band atheros .n also. swapped it with intel 6235 and everything becomes steady.
Yeah, have the urge to swap it with something better but this G751 is a bit hard to get to the Wifi adapter, it's underneath the keyboard... and afraid might spoil something when changing it... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 30 2014, 09:49 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Dec 30 2014, 09:18 AM)
its up to the user to take the risk.
Kinda having the trauma of spoiling the wifi cable when changing the wifi adapter on my previous Y580... sweat.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:39 PM