4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebook Thread V10, Intel 8th Gen Strikes

evum seu
post Jan 26 2015, 08:45 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 26 2015, 08:20 AM)
That's motherboard is wasting the CPU processing power. Should've opt for Z97 chipset.
Not really top spec, its lacking on the motherboard side and HDD.
ya not ssd but wd black on can stand for longer time....
evum seu
post Feb 20 2015, 02:10 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Feb 14 2015, 10:47 PM)
usually when will Asus bring in new line of laptop? I am planning to get a G551 soon (next week), but its not urgently needed, so if let say there will be new product coming within next month then i will wait for it
new gtx 960m had no advantage if compare to gtx 860m...
gtx960m vs gtx860m
but newer sure high a bit since gst and built in ssd
evum seu
post Feb 21 2015, 03:29 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Feb 21 2015, 02:36 PM)
Anyone doing thermal repasting and hdd upgrade for g551? Im willing to pay...
hdd that one can change by owner but repaste thermal paste should go find service centre or authorized reseller to do for you, scare void your warranty...
evum seu
post Feb 22 2015, 09:24 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 21 2015, 10:18 PM)
for those who look for upgrading, i suggest upgrade to ssd first (at least as boot drive), do a fresh windows install, then ram.

replacement of thermal paste is a good idea if your cpu/gpu temperature are higher than 85c under loads. note that this might void the warranty if you do it yourself. it's better to ask the service center if they can help you out. mx-4 is fine, but you can try gc-extreme for better effects (get this from apes.my).

if you're not that picky, you can go for mainstream ssds like liteon ssd s900 or transcend ssd370. they are not the greatest but they are affordable, and they are much better than hdd in terms of speed. (go for at least 256gb, or more if you can afford it) if possible, keep the hdd for downloads and storage (using a hdd caddy to replace the odd slot)

for ram, just stick to stock ram settings. don't bother to go for performance laptop ram. (higher clock speeds or tighter timings do not help anything in a laptop tbh)
But 4gb ram really no enough... better ram first lo

evum seu
post Feb 22 2015, 09:28 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Feb 22 2015, 09:16 AM)
Question:

If I buy the 4gig ram version, will the shop be willing to upgrade it to 8gig ram? I won't haggle or anything but can they do this incentive for me especially if I'm gonna pay by cash?
Erm, add ram to g551 is no that hard and it take only few minutes, just ask reseller to do it for you,they should do it for you without any extra charge
evum seu
post Feb 22 2015, 11:40 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Feb 22 2015, 09:41 AM)
I know. I'm not gonna do the haggling game. I will buy it as is BUT they gotta give me some incentive like a free 4 gig ram & installation...or am i asking too much. Because i have a mind of going for the acer out of principle if they wont. Lol! Thanks.
Be frankly la,4gb cost about 150, you can want for free but sure they can't give you the best price lo,they run buisness for earn money, not Charity,but you can try your luck at lowyat la,maybe can find a best deal

So far acer v nitro got a bit heating issue(even dual fan system),need to disable intel boost to bring down temperature,.

This post has been edited by evum seu: Feb 22 2015, 11:42 AM
evum seu
post Feb 22 2015, 01:11 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Feb 22 2015, 11:45 AM)
Yeah. I'm not gonna haggle. I'll just ask for that incentive if they'll indulge me. nitro at 3200rm is damn tempting but im worried about the temps. Asus single fan enough? All night gaming? Or rendering?
Asus also have similar temp refer to some review,haven't try it personally. Asus have aluminum chasis so I think cooling will be better?
evum seu
post Feb 23 2015, 08:12 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 23 2015, 04:32 PM)
Hi smile.gif did you clean the contacts for both battery and laptop?
shocking.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
evum seu
post Feb 23 2015, 08:14 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 22 2015, 10:11 PM)
that's kind of high cpu temperature.

yeah ram and ssd upgrades do not void warranty. the area under the back cover in g-series is considered user serviceable area (usually there is no warranty stickers that prevent you to open up this back cover). this means we users can do something with stock parts without voiding warranty. normally this means replacement of hdd, ram and odd drives. (there might be other parts also)
this is called hdd caching. we can use a small sized ssd (max 64gb) to serve as a temporary area (cache) to boost hdd performance. this method has a performance between running a hdd (slow) and ssd (fast). for general use it's usually good enough.

ideally, you can remove caching, and then set up your laptop to have 1x ssd (boot drive, apps, games), and 1x hdd (downloads, data storage). however take note of the actual form factor of the caching ssd, the ones in the current market might not be suitable for use in the laptop. you might need to do a significant amount of laptop assembly to access the m.2 slot.

a simpler method is to replace the hdd with ssd.
well, it's an addon. you need to haggle to have this so-called incentive usually. (maybe MYR 150.00 is nothing to us, to them it might be something)
first if you wanna do all-night gaming or long hours of rendering, you should bump your budget to get something like g751 (high-end models). practically, always get the ones with better cooling because the machine needs it to dissipate heat properly.

if you're tempted by other options because of their lower price, well, don't expect too much of their cooling if you wanna run it at full performance mode. you can still run them with performance options turned off.

edit: oh my bad. i meant laptop disassembling, not assembly.
that mean g511jm got m.2 slot? i saw some spec in other countries show got 24 GB SSD, is it the m.2 ssd?
thk for your input, really help a lot...
evum seu
post Feb 27 2015, 07:33 PM

208 posts

officially join ROG family today rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif , get my g551jm but so sad the shop is so busy make me havent got time to do any test...

This post has been edited by evum seu: Feb 27 2015, 07:36 PM
evum seu
post Feb 27 2015, 07:35 PM

208 posts

what need to do with new laptop? do a backup image? check keyboard? check touchpad? check temp? do stress test? any suggested program to do the task above?

evum seu
post Feb 28 2015, 08:30 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Loqque @ Feb 27 2015, 10:28 PM)
The alluminium design really feel premium, right  brows.gif

Compare to others with plastic rubberize texture
Ya,the outlook of this machine really attractive, even the heat sink is red colour one. But hard to maintain the aluminum outlook lo, can't use cleaner to clean it, will fade the aluminum colour. I try and now my machine was two colour.

Edit: the most impress me is the backbag , a quality one,so comfortable

This post has been edited by evum seu: Feb 28 2015, 08:33 AM
evum seu
post Mar 1 2015, 06:40 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(holloway @ Feb 28 2015, 10:42 PM)
well contacts have been cleaned and the battery is still detected, power jack i think won't be a problem? coz i still can boot the laptop normally, most likely the battery

and i still haven't reset my damn bios =.=" pff.. was too damn busy hunting lion dance biggrin.gif
hi smile.gif we have a guide for that on our main page, atleast it will give you some ideas

here it is:-

Thanks to horns for this Guide

1. Checking CPU/GPU temperature is essential, but it’s better to test it on games (have fun) instead of doing synthetic test (gpu/cpu benchmark). Take your own sweet time (within the 7 days grace period) and if something went amiss get one-to-one exchange from where you bought it.

2. Check all the common hardware parts that is being used normally (i.e. screens for dead pixel, speakers, keyboard keys, touch pad, rog button, card reads, keyboard backlit, fn keys, usb ports, hdmi/vga/mini display port, wifi and lan, headphone jack, dvd/blu-ray rom etc.) Do check the system info/hwinfo to see whether the specs are exactly as what you are paying for. Other than that run ram test (memtest86+); run it overnight and check results when you wake up in the morning

3. Bios, if there’s nothing wrong with it leave it running stock (there’s no need for an upgrade)

4. Update drivers as updates are usually meant for good things (most of the times) especially Graphic driver as it will support latest games.

5. Getting SSD? Perform clean install is recommended as it has lower chances of heading towards sleepless nights trying to fix. For win8 run disk optimization to trim drives, perform restart, turn of display and leave it til morning this is for system-wide SSD optimization (only after clean
yeah i think i need to get a new batt too, mine is dead. what problem do you have with yours?
thank for info. play dota 2 in fhd and every effect open to the max the gpu temp strike to 75 c is it normal?
and my unit palm rest area quite hot... but in hwinfo both gpu and cpu temp only about 50 c,is it normal?( only doing for normal surfing also strike so high temp)
evum seu
post Mar 1 2015, 11:36 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(holloway @ Mar 1 2015, 10:26 PM)
75C seems good.. as long as its not above 90C, i don't know the arrangement of cpu/gpu and other things in the new G-series. But as for my old G55 it never have heating problem smile.gif
ah did it show how many % last full charge? if i do my calculations ur battery health is at 35% so its worn at 65%
but i now maximum hit 83 c le ... zzz

evum seu
post Mar 2 2015, 11:13 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(holloway @ Mar 2 2015, 08:40 AM)
your ambient temperature(room) also plays part. Which g-series u using?
g551jm, ya the room temperature are quite high too, think need a small fan to dissipate heat if want to play more heavy game

evum seu
post Mar 2 2015, 11:16 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(silverchain @ Mar 2 2015, 06:51 PM)
any tips on taking care of g551jm? any do's and dont's? just got it for 2days, hopefully it can last for atleast 5years+ huhu
haha, same as me, i think dun use any cleaner to clean this machine surface, it will fade its brightness...(after i use, direct see the difference)

evum seu
post Mar 4 2015, 06:03 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Mar 4 2015, 03:17 PM)
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif price so ..... need get TOTO 6D to buy it

This post has been edited by evum seu: Mar 4 2015, 06:04 PM
evum seu
post Mar 13 2015, 12:31 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ Mar 12 2015, 04:53 PM)
Just to know, any Asus ROG gaming laptop user here have their laptop without windows licence key label?
now window 8 dun have any key shown in the chasis, the key was in the bios...
evum seu
post Mar 16 2015, 02:26 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(uxsevr @ Mar 15 2015, 09:36 PM)
Hi. I am new here.
Can someone help me.
I am using asus g551jm. I dont know why my font in my laptop be like this.
As you can see the right sign symbol in ccleaner interface.
i am g551jm user too, i didnt meet this problem, later try install ccleaner and let you know the result(also same as mine, 12 GB Ram)
evum seu
post Mar 18 2015, 07:52 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 17 2015, 03:08 AM)
wow asus got lot update
i am interest on asus GL552 but it only got 1 fan vending = =
the g501 got 2 fan vending nice but ...gtx 960m for 4k display = =
havent get your unit? still searching?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top