QUOTE(riku2replica @ Oct 2 2015, 04:08 PM)
Not sure if I'm recommending it right, for its looks and performance and on top of that, there's the m.2 pcie ssd support, it should be fine, but the GPU performance is the let down whereby Dell 7447 have i5 with gtx 850m 4gb ddr3 against Asus with i7 and GTX 950M 2GB DDR3, tough call... but i would lean towards 7447 since the performance gap between gtx 850m and gtx 950m aren't big.
However, I did some look up with addition few hundred ringgit from GL552, you could get G551JM with gtx 860M still around that price but it would be around the same price range as Y50.
Hard disk provided is 5400 rpm usually.

bought this laptop finally, from
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=475679went for a round of dota, some animes , and 2 hours of crysis 3.\
very nice guy, extremely helpful seller. put up with my bull from start to the end haha. props to him
dota 2 ran liquid smooth 60fps constant without a hitch throughout the game. crysis 3 ran averagely at about 40fps with all settings in high, resolution @1600x900 , AA is off with shadows low. Pretty impressive! the 5400rpm hitachi drive that came with the laptop is quite decent, normal R/W are averaged at around 105mb/s over 5 runs, 4k seq / random R/Ws arond 0.9mb/s. thats pretty good for an oem drive

. and the illuminated keyboard is absolutely amazing in the dark. (i dont use the keyboard though, im using my cherry mx :3) ok, enough about system performance and peripherals.
lets talk screen. the screen is well... how do i put it, it's different. probably because it's a matte panel. it looks very.. dull but at the same time, very accurate. brightness is just soso and the viewing angles are pretty good!
software, the laptop comes with some asus utilities, and guess what? no bloatware! windows games / apps / zuma / whatever, they're not there! saved me time from having to remove all those crap

thats pretty much it that i can say after 3 hours of usage. naturally i expect you guys to already know the build quality? the lid part is tacky rattling plastic , while the interior is still acceptable haha. oh and it's a fingerprint magnet too.
but theres one thing that bothers me really badly.............
the speakers are absolutely HORRIBLE.
HOWEVER when you plug in your iem / oecs , prepare to be blown away. the sound quality of the onboard sound processor is almost on par with a full fledged sound card. It's extremely crisp and clear, with zero to very very insignificant distortion (at an extremely high volume where i can go deaf anytime). Heck, i dont even need an amp considering my audio gear is dj grade. Just if you guys are wondering, it's a shure srh440. the cable comes at a rating of 32ohms.

but one question, does this laptop comes with a msata or a m2 slot? are they reverse compatible? thanks!
This post has been edited by duck v3: Oct 3 2015, 01:54 AM