Collectibles Variable scale: HIGH-end Action Figure Club, V14, HT|Medi|EB|3A|etc|ModularPartsOnBaseBody

WingNut
post Jan 20 2016, 01:44 AM

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 15 2016, 03:33 PM)

beastx... any local retailer started taking orders for this? the happy meal looks awesome rclxs0.gif
WingNut
post Feb 4 2016, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(unsangkarable @ Feb 4 2016, 12:02 AM)
Hi everyone, I am thinking of raising up my detolf to a certain height so that the bottom display can be seen. I heard of people using Besta, Kallax and Lack from IKEA to raise them up. Anyone can advise me which of these is the best 'raiser' to raise the detolf? I understand detolf can be quite heavy and just want an assurance that it is good enough to hold the weight of the detolfs. Thank you smile.gif
well technically none of them are recommended as base cabinets for the simple reason that by their construction, they are not meant to support that much weight... unless you're talking about the besta tv bench series. but hey, this is malaysia... and malaysia boleh! thumbup.gif

i guess it all depends on your preference and budget. the lack and kallax are pretty much the same... imho it's just a rebranding. personally, i prefer the besta series as the finish kinda complements the detolf base. anyway, here are some basic info that may be useful:

detolf base for reference (43w x 37d)
besta rm100 (60w x 40d x 38h) max load: 20kg
kallax rm199 (147w x 39d x 42h) max load: 13kg/shelf - horizontal config load not stated
lack rm99 (55w x 55d x 45h) max load: 25kg

do note that the kallax is the least preferred option as the shelves are not load bearing in horizontal position, and that the primary support is at both ends of the product only.

generally, it is not recommended that you raise up the detolf because of stability issues, unless you can secure its base to the base cabinet AND the adjacent wall. the particleboard cannot withstand the force of a detolf falling over and would simply rip apart. just my two sen.

WingNut
post Feb 5 2016, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(unsangkarable @ Feb 4 2016, 08:40 PM)
Thats quite informative and thank you for taking the time to explain smile.gif appreciate it alot. Maybe i will consider something else to raise it up. I dont need to raise it too much, just enough to be able to make use of the bottom display. Lack seems to be a better choice by looking at the max load factor but agree with you that detolfs are not meant to be raised up smile.gif
yes, a platform would be much better than a bench/base cabinet...
WingNut
post Mar 10 2016, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(aikin07 @ Mar 10 2016, 12:58 PM)
why so quiet..leh...

those IM fan who want to buy a Mark 26 Gamma, can buy now at Toy Panic
coz there's a (financial) storm coming. you and your friends better batten down the hatches...
WingNut
post Mar 10 2016, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(ylchew77 @ Mar 10 2016, 02:45 PM)
really? I didn't see the financial storm coming. At least not for lego collector/scalper. They just sapu wat ever on shelf.
then they scalp you lor... icon_rolleyes.gif
WingNut
post Mar 18 2016, 06:30 PM

aiyo yo... i kena more plastic poison already sweat.gif

WingNut
post May 7 2016, 03:28 AM

wasn't there some discolouration issue with regard to the mark 3 pelvic armour? hmm.gif

yeah... the mark 3 is classic, but i think the consensus is that the mark 43 is the best built im suit by ht todate, no? better articulation, magnetic attachments bla bla bla...
WingNut
post Jun 29 2016, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Jun 29 2016, 01:26 PM)
where can i buy 1/12 storm toys bruce lee ?
http://www.toypanic.com/toy.aspx?p=16623
WingNut
post Apr 27 2017, 09:59 AM

hmm... macam no. the face sculp (looks a lot like rey from tfa), the jointed wrists (no gloves?)...
WingNut
post Aug 29 2017, 02:38 PM

pulp fiction? hmm.gif
WingNut
post Oct 24 2017, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(strikermac @ Oct 18 2017, 08:07 AM)
Species - Sil
(1/6 Scale, 13.7-inch tall)
Brand: ThreeZero

i'd rather have a figure of natasha henstridge brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

WingNut
post Nov 23 2017, 03:33 PM

that looks nothing like audrey hepburn doh.gif
WingNut
post Nov 23 2017, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(strikermac @ Nov 23 2017, 04:11 PM)
Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back
Darth Vader
Brand: Hot Toys, 1/6th scale

okay... this one looks very much like darth vader thumbsup.gif
WingNut
post Nov 14 2018, 11:02 AM

r.i.p. stan the man. excelsior!
WingNut
post Nov 21 2018, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Nov 20 2018, 07:30 PM)
decided to quit from HT many years ago. to me personally the prices are unacceptable. not forgetting the PU materials cracking after some time
this. no matter how well you care for your hot toys, unless you keep them in a controlled environment, they're not gonna last. at my end, i only have ht iron man (not pu?) and 3a halo series. i've turned my sights on more durable items since... swiss army knives thumbsup.gif
WingNut
post Nov 23 2018, 08:36 AM

yes, pricing is perhaps the no. 1 issue. but that said, it's not peculiar to hot toys as the price increase has affected almost, if not all, hobbies, no thanks to the weakened ringgit against the us dollar. this is exacerbated by the higher cost of living for us here in malaysia that we do not have as much "spare change" to indulge in our hobby, so to speak. but that's just stating the obvious. an alternative would be to either wait for bargains or buy off the secondary market (if the price drops, that is).

i would agree, hot toys are priced pretty steeply... but to be fair, i don't think any other high end action figure comes close to the amount of detailing and accuracy you find in hot toys. then again, it all depends on the point at which the price meets the level of acceptable details/accuracy. there are toys and there are collectibles... but at which point one becomes another is debatable.
WingNut
post May 10 2019, 09:16 AM

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ May 9 2019, 08:00 PM)
im no expert here but i do have ht figures. I think it has to do with HOT and humid weather? faux leather will deteriorate overtime even in the box with silica gel. the base body with "rubbery plastic (torso)" will degrade too .. so much faster than a phicen base body.

some shops suggest keeping in ac room... i was like wtf.. and rub baby oil on faux leather...  really?

looking ar cw scarlet.. leathery jacket and pants.. doest look good for investment... unless buying to enjoy it yourself
i haven't had any hot toys long enough to tell what degrading it is susceptible to but from past experience with other (cheaper) stuff, these are my experiences/observations:

rubbery torso: will harden in time (plasticiser degradation?) and develop cracks
faux leather: upper layer will start to flake
plastic parts: will become brittle (plasticiser also?).

and personally, i think that models that are boxed/displayed are the worse especially when the joints/parts are not flexed over time. hence, statues and busts makes for better long term 'investments'... but gone are the days where stuff lasts for ages. that said, interestingly lots of my stuff from the 80s have withstood the test of time.
WingNut
post Nov 21 2019, 09:53 AM

off topic, i know... but bear with me:

WingNut
post Nov 21 2019, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(strikermac @ Nov 21 2019, 10:53 AM)
Didn't get it, what all the pics mean?  confused.gif  hmm.gif

*Edit:
Is that "Do Re Mi" ?  doh.gif
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

now back to topic sweat.gif
WingNut
post Jun 9 2020, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 23 2020, 05:19 AM)
this looks GOOD! drool.gif