Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V3, 4th Generation Phablet by Samsung

Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 11:21 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 19 2014, 09:37 AM)
Knox is triggered once you root the phone. This is what you will see in DOWNLOAD mode
Many users are worried about warranty once knox is tripped as it cannot be revert back to default. You can remove root through supersu pro. My personal experience with Note 3, I could claim warranty without any issues. And based on what I had read in Note 3 thread there are too several users who reported claiming warranty even with Knox tripped
It seems the Samsung service center doesn't check on this Knox stuffs ??
Anyway is your choice and be concerned if you are worried about warranty issues. Just don't root if you wish a secure warranty path

[attachmentid=4176596]
They do check uncle but not all . Friend's unit was unlucky , checked and rejected his warranty . Worst part , he went to another service center and after checking his imei , the customer service told him he's not entitle for warranty due to knox tripped and his imei is in SME system .
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 12:41 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(chrisqck @ Oct 19 2014, 12:13 PM)
I'm waiting for price drop. I don't want to spend so much for something that's crippled. I really love the Note series. With the improved stylus functionality from N1 to now N4, I've found my perfect phones. I'm just very disappointed that in order to use my phone the way I want to, I have to risk voiding my warranty. My cousin who is using Sony Xperia doesn't have this issue on his phone and so does someone mentioned in reply to my question earlier in another thread. So I believe this is Samsung issue.

Anyway, let's move on from this topic. Don't want to spoil the celebratory mood.
I'm using Xperia Z3 , who said doesnt have this problem ? The only thing I can think off is your cousin is using a pre-kit kat model , running maybe on JB or older . Even HTC M8 got this problem and andrewtst , u use M8 before right ? Is it me or the stock rom in M8 doesnt come with a file manager
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 12:53 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(chrisqck @ Oct 19 2014, 12:42 PM)
Does Sony Xperia have something similar to Knox ?  Does rooting potentially cause warranty to be voided like rooting S5 or Note 4 ?
Sony is worst if u think knox is bad . Unlocking bootloader automatically delete some DRM keys . Some of the functions are gone for good unless u backup the folder 1st which is hard to do without root .

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 19 2014, 12:45 PM)
M8 finally got its file manager only in its last firmware update
oh ok , was on custom for a while so didnt know that . I remember was trying to check my files in my internal before flashing and couldnt find anything to access it . Had to dl Astro from Play Store .
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 01:01 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 19 2014, 12:49 PM)
I had been declared a Samseng fag in ip6 thread just because I mentioned this Note4 UI is smoother
That forumer ask me to go back to my cave
And here he said he want to buy Note4
Some guys simply unbearable
Just like the viios forumers thinks they own a "God" car , those ppl think they own a "God" phone . Everything else is rubbish

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 19 2014, 12:57 PM)
Last time my Butterfly oso no stock file manager..LOL
Need to use 3rd party apps
And i thought they improved and I overlooked it . At least they do include it in now , finally , like uncle benny says
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 01:04 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(edtai @ Oct 19 2014, 01:01 PM)
Pity of you that stuck in between. If ifag keep emphazesing the smoothness but i feel it is nothing threat to Note 4 now as Note4 is about the same smoothness. They are no more bullets to shoot to Sansung and the coming days Apple will follow what Note product bringing to customer such as big screen 5.5" 2 years ago, multiple windows 1 year ago.

Ifag are still not accepting the fact that Note4 is much better than iphone6 in term or functionality. The fact will be realized by ifag after 2 years after Apple also come out similar multiple windows concept, i-pen and so on which Note series also invented to this Samsung Phoblet few years ago.
Samsung still lose to LG and Apple . Both got a phone that can bends , G Flex and iPhone 6flex whistling.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 01:52 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 19 2014, 01:12 PM)
My personal experience LG makes good products. LG G Pad 8.3 I rate best Android tablet beating Nexus7. LG G Pro2 best 6 inch phablet vs HTC One Max, XZU, Mate6.1
LG Optimus Pro great Note2 beater except it lacks stylus
It's firmware much less bloat ware vs Samsung. Only major disadvantage is not popular with rom cooks.
I agree . CM was a popular fan for LG , almost every mid range to flagship , there will be a CM rom
The bootloader locked and almost-impossible to unlocked kills it . Luckily there are bypass these days like Loki patch and now Bump! for 4.4 . Would take a GPro2 any day compared to Max or even XZU

QUOTE(benleong2008 @ Oct 19 2014, 01:47 PM)
I just bought N4 then I saw Edge and feel its nicer :/
RRP in Japan is USD1k for Edge , Docomo unit . Unless you're willing to root and lose the warranty , dont bother . U think Samsung bloatware is bad , imagine having Samsung Bloatware + Docomos apps which we totally cant use but runs at background
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 02:21 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 19 2014, 01:53 PM)
Edge may only appear at end of year only. I will check it out when had time to touch it.
Month end in Japan . Unlock units a week later
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 02:40 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(eternal_darkness @ Oct 19 2014, 02:31 PM)
Why u butthurt?

It's somethg samseng always do. Come out with millions of models each year that look like each other.
Anyway, willl treat u as a barking dog outside the road. Just ignore and call the exterminators.
True , Samsung is doing it and so is everyone else . Any difference between ip4 and ip4s or ip5 and ip5s ? Right , ip4s got an extra line at the side of the phone . At least i need 2 buy a new case for note 4 , note 3 case cant be use . Iphone ? 1 case can use for 2 generations until a new model comes out . At least 5s got a bit different since got finger print sensor

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Oct 19 2014, 02:43 PM
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 04:15 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 19 2014, 03:33 PM)
No. All my app n added files remain intact
However TS pm me last night saying one user here said his data was wiped??
LOL ... That's me uncle . I cant remember if it wipes or not cuz I remember i downloaded TB before rooting after root , it's gone . I presume it wipes but wasnt sure . Guess the file didnt get downloaded as i didnt check also if it's in my app drawer
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 04:37 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 19 2014, 04:09 PM)
Thanks for highlight this. Then I not root for the moment as my main root is Xposed framework but I need SHealth as well.
There is a workabout for SHealth but I havent tested it since i dont use it

Wanam xposed has an option under security hacks called "secured storage" that fixes S health. Check the box, go into settings/apps/look for S health, clear data and cache and reboot. (dont forget to enable wanam) this will fix s health. No luck on private mode yet though.
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 09:55 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(trendygengis @ Oct 19 2014, 09:24 PM)
Can anyone advise whether maxis taman tun still got stock for note 4 anot? I am only going this coming weekend. Many thanks.
QUOTE(1likegadg3t @ Oct 19 2014, 09:45 PM)
they still lot of note 4? my friend is looking for a note 4 too
Try Plaza Damas Maxis . Went there today to change my sim , heard the boss complaining Note 4 over stocked , not many ppl buying . SenQ upstairs at rrp also got stock , 1 CS trying to hard sell a lady to upgrade her Galaxy Mega
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 10:09 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(vinnilaa @ Oct 19 2014, 09:26 PM)
I think when u open the app and never close it. It is automatically added to the multi window
U havent use Note before I presume

QUOTE(edtai @ Oct 19 2014, 09:59 PM)
I dont understand it. Please can you explain how to do it. What i notice that the multi window tray will not allow 3rd party apps to be added... the 3rd party apps will not be allowed by the system to be changed from full screen to floating window if we pull the screen top right angle to center of the screen. Hopefully you can understand what i mean.
Samsung dont allow 3rd party apps to be added to multi window ..... Chatting apps like Whatsapp , Line are added as default apps for that reason since a lot of ppl use it yet cant add to multi window unless u root your phone and install some apps that allows you to edit your multi windows apps to add in 3rd party apps as well . I doubt they change the policy in Note 4
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 10:22 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 19 2014, 10:20 PM)
I was not referrring to unroot uncle benny.. as i am concern of losing warranty if they look at knox triggering...
Fact , many ppl have manage to claim even with knox trigger . SOME as in a few failed so if you're worry it cant be claim , dont root .
Noobi3
post Oct 19 2014, 11:29 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 19 2014, 10:56 PM)
yeah rooting is mainly for my TB and gonna xposed instead of custom roms...

also rooting to remove bloatwres i dont use... i hope to know who has rooted their n4 aand what is knox status... appreciates...
QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 19 2014, 11:08 PM)
hey i am just double confirming since one guy says he rooted without tripping his knox...  chill....   notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
That only works for Note 3 using Towelroot .... U sure u read the write thread bro ? I posted a pic in V2 , uncle benny posted another pic a few pages back , knox tripped after rooting

QUOTE(edtai @ Oct 19 2014, 11:06 PM)
Update battery status: full charge 100% till now 33% with SOT 4hr 10mins. I feel it is not bad but not really impressive.
Batt still new , Give it a week to run in

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Oct 19 2014, 11:40 PM
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 02:27 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 20 2014, 01:29 AM)
i wanted to get the N4, but still can't decide to get the SD or exynos version, my main concern is LTE Cat 6 and Cat 4
Concern ? There's no word if CAT 6 is coming to msia unless you're in Sg and that's a different story
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 09:36 AM

4,984 posts

CWM Recovery is out but it's in chinese rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Anyone can read ?

http://bbs.gfan.com/android-7664059-1-1.html
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 09:48 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 20 2014, 07:48 AM)
Forgot that this tablet even exist. Samsung naming system really screwed up . Just look at their Tab series - till now I need to Google each spec to check which is which
Tab Pro and Tab S , Note 10.1 and Note 10.1 2104 ....... These are a few that's damm confusing . I rather they name it Note 10.1 and Note 10.1B

QUOTE(ravenlost @ Oct 20 2014, 07:56 AM)
Anyone knows where can I get bumper case? Prefer something tough like otterbox defender.
Otterbox just launched a few days back , no words when will it be available in Asia yet , otterbox Asia still dont have Note 4 cases , only main otterbox rclxub.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 10:23 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Oct 20 2014, 10:22 AM)
No need so emo i know you are having monday blues. Chill.

I am from pj/kl

That not what i mean. Recommended 3rd party seller like satu gagdget, direct D etc. Usually vendor price are slight cheaper than retail.
I posted a retailer from LYN in last thread .... From LYN , COD Cheras area . Have a look
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 10:29 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 20 2014, 10:24 AM)
CWM recovery installed. Just flash the tar file using Odin. Not much of use now except to backup the whole rom

[attachmentid=4178069]
Quite tempted to flash the HK deodex firmware .... lol
Noobi3
post Oct 20 2014, 10:32 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Oct 20 2014, 10:27 AM)
harvey norman

2499 with free gift worth over rm600
U need to add 99 for it , not 2499 only

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top