Modding Datsun 120y, Modding for Drifting

TSJaanmaster
post Oct 18 2014, 06:31 PM, updated 12y ago

I have a Nissan Datsun 120y (B310 square light)

Im planning to modify it to use for drifting.

Need advice on:
1. Type of engine-(does the mounting needs to be changed)
2. Type of gearbox
3. Suspensioons
4. Break

Im new to drifting, so if you guys have any advice for a newbie drifter please fell free to comment.

All comment are welcome, both positive and negative. cool2.gif
TSJaanmaster
post Oct 18 2014, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(nm7 @ Oct 18 2014, 07:28 PM)
SR20DET, i only know that the firewall is not touched, how the engine is fitted or which cross member they use is a ???

Seen one or 2 examples before... I think massive loads of money has to be dumped into it and don't think about endorsing it, jus pull handbrake, do a spin turn and run as hard as you can when you the coppers

Sr20 would be the best choice i think because it is the newest of available list of engines that can go in and have more potential... Maybe even cheaper (i dunno the market for 15 half cut or engine lantai)

Not to mention the car is a potential mobile death trap if u can't control it
For SR20 what other modification do i have to accompany it?
gb, suspensions, chassis(strengthening?)

or do you have any link where i can get this information?
or contact of any mechanics who are willing to do this upgrade?
TSJaanmaster
post Oct 19 2014, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(nm7 @ Oct 19 2014, 02:00 AM)
those are a given... as for the formula to those mix and match items... best to ask an actual owner for further experiences...

you can try zth and see if anyone can help you.. or any of the old school car drift or touge guys...

how much are you prepared to dump into the project first because as far as i know.. this sort of chop and hack mods have a lot of it's own gremlins and unless you really have the backing and time to start the project, don't even contemplate on doing it... it's not really one of those plug and play cases because in this  you are trying to fit a heart from a different era into a relic..

you might be better off grabbing something like an A31 with a transplanted RB25 or something like that... else, you find someone who has a car readily transplanted with little to no known problems..  you'll have to deal with a lot of wiring problems, maybe certain things not working as planned, test running, on the engine front... the rest of the stuff like the footwork and braking systems might be able to migrate over from other nissan models assuming someone has done it before prior to you.. just need to copy the template...

the fact that you ask the question here in LYN is already looking to be a very bad start to your quest from my point of view...
I've got to agree with you on starting at lyn, but for me starting somewhere is always better than not doin at all.

My current budget for upgrading is at 20k, but im willing to spend more if i can get more details, as where can i do this modification, exact proven spect that others have done. If u guys know of any other blogs or contact it will be good.
Now im on the research period, to find out and to do the proper moddin.

bout this car, i have no intension of buying a diff car, this car has been with me since i was born, so i want to restore and upgrade it. Rather than assuming someone has done prior to me, i would like to know for sure someone has done prior to me. if u have contacts would be great.

TSJaanmaster
post Oct 19 2014, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Oct 19 2014, 08:57 AM)
jangan pening2 lah.just buy car with drift spec like KE70 (4AGE) 5k,a31(sr20) 15k.
Bro, my passion is not only driftting...it is also restoring my dad's car. It has been with me since i was born smile.gif
So i dont mind spending some time and money
TSJaanmaster
post Oct 19 2014, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 19 2014, 11:55 AM)
A kind advice here. If the car was your dads and you have nostalgic value for it, then just restore it with slight body mods, rebuilt the current engine with webber carb, redo the interior and add nice wheels. You can give it for your next generation.

For drift car, its going to be trashed. So saying its your dads car given to you and you wanna keep it does not make sense. I do not know how many drift cars you have seen, but all of them WILL and i seriously mean WILL get banged here and there. When you drift cars, you cannot be careful. No such thing as being careful when you drift. Also that Datsun platform would not have many parts for it anymore. And having leaf spring at the rear is going to be a real headache to set up the suspension and lowering it and maintaining. Not to mention finding the axle with LSD for it.

Sure u can get SR20DET stuff quite easily. But remember what was said about accidents? Try looking for the metal bumper or lights if they are broken. Once u crash it, the car will forever leave you. All that dads car sentiment will dissapear leaving regret.
Comment noted, i guess i better off buy a car for drifting and restore this datsun. Makes more sense tongue.gif

0.1407sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:06 PM