Movies GHOST IN A SHELL: The Movie, Dreamworks & Scarlett Johansson!

Dominic Toretto
post Feb 15 2017, 03:31 PM

70 posts

The first anime movie has Tachikoma or not?
Dominic Toretto
post Mar 30 2017, 05:11 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Mar 30 2017, 04:57 PM)
After the opening 5 minutes....the whole movie went downhill. They couldn't pull of the more philosophical nature of the original. Majority of the casts acted like dead fish with no emotion and a little too hard to connect with. Tonally they are going after the more slow burning artsy Mamoru Oshii style but for commercial viability IMO they ought to do the SAC version instead. The action sequences also nothing to write home about.

It's an inferior interpretation of the iconic anime. Skip it or wait until Uncle Jack sailing the sea with it.
Emm...

Dominic Toretto
post Mar 31 2017, 09:35 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 31 2017, 12:36 AM)
Ghost in the Shell (2017)

This... is maddening.

This is very difficult to write.

Difficult because it got so many things right and at the same time so many things wrong....

What they got right

The production of this movie is OFF THE CHARTS (with a budget of 110 Million dollars)

There are two previous movie that gave me this "wow" factor, namely

1) Star Wars (1976) (Now known as New Hope) (George Lucas coined the term Used Technology)
2) Blade Runner (1982) (when it first released)

Now this movie used the concept of Used Technology to the next level! Bravo!!

The surprising representation of the character Aramaki (by Takeshi Kitano a veteran Japanese actor) wowed me. Kuddos!!!

What they did not

I will be crucified for stating this, Scarlett Johansson. I am very sure alot of you went to this to see her. I just thought she was so... awkward here. I don't think she was quite sure what she was doing and it shows.

I never read the original comics. My introduction to this material was thru the animation Ghost in the Shell (1995). So many of the action sequences in the animation ran rings around this live action movie. It is like DAY and NIGHT!!! Meaning there is NO COMPARISON....

And another signature of the animation is the soundtrack. From the first frame, the very unique soundtrack grabs you and never lets go until the last frame...

If I use cognac to describe the animations soundtrack, the soundtrack of this is.... drain water???

They did use the original soundtrack at the end of this movie, and again very diluted and too little too late...

So, this movie, is a disappointment...

Just my opinion

My Two Sens
But I thought Motoko Kusanagi's character was describe very emotionless, no expression and dull even in any version of the anime? Except for the lesbian sex part in the comic lah. brows.gif

I will give my review later on soonest possible. But my suggestion for GITS fans is you just go watch it. Its because there are many scenes they used as a homage to the original 1995 anime. As for the people who haven't watch it, its up to you guys whether waiting for jack sparrow to give u free or watch it in cinema where you can treat it as a copy of Blade Runner movie.

0.0113sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:59 PM