The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V3, Bigger than bigger

teikwing
post Oct 17 2014, 08:30 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

Latest update on the iPhone 6 & 6+ launch:

A friend who went to sent in his 5S for warranty today spoke to a senior Maxis staff who indicated that the 6 will be launched on 7th or 14th Nov. 3rd wave apparently.

Take this with a pinch of salt. One more month max to save up guys!
teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 08:33 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(asanthadenz @ Oct 20 2014, 05:02 AM)
Iphone 6 (16gb)
¥73,224.00  RM2,268.17
Anyone else bought their iPhones from Japan? What are the difference with local sets apart from warranty & camera shutter sound which can't be disabled? Language can be changed right?
teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 08:46 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(asanthadenz @ Oct 20 2014, 08:35 AM)
I came up with that figure because i bought an iphone 6 via the Japan apple store using my Maybank Debit Card and got it delivered to a Japanese address smile.gif
QUOTE(asanthadenz @ Oct 20 2014, 08:37 AM)
You can change the language in IOS to any language within IOS Settings! smile.gif

Yes shutter sound cant disable but i heard of 3rd party camera apps that silence the shutter (not sure)
You can use Malaysia Sim cards no problem as the iphones for sale on the Apple Japan website are Unlocked
Thanks for the reply guys. VAT is at 8% & refundable at airport I assume? Tired of waiting for the local sets arrival.

Have anyone tried their luck sending in a non-local sets for warranty & got their replacement? From what I read, some SG set users managed to replaced theirs locally.
teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 10:12 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(asanthadenz @ Oct 20 2014, 09:02 AM)
I'm interested to know this aswell. Here is details on my invoice:

小計 
¥ 67,800
送料無料 
¥ 0
消費税 
¥ 5,424

注文合計 
¥ 73,224

As you can see i was taxed ¥ 5,424, can i get a refund of that ¥ 5,424 from the Japan airport? I think i read somewhere you can't get tax refunds from the Japan Apple store?
Yes no refund if purchased from online store. Physical store yes.

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Oct 20 2014, 09:14 AM)
iPhone comes from Apple Online Store is international warranty lar, if u all still have doubt please refer to Apple customer service hotline or QCD @ Timesquare, even mac city honor the warranty. Thats all, if u still not believe then gg already.
QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 20 2014, 09:55 AM)
I personally called QCD and asked this : "Do you entertain warranty claim for units purchased from australia official apple store?"

His answer was : the phone has not launched yet in malaysia. But once it launches, yes they do entertain warranty claim for such units, provided we give the receipt. They do give online receipt, so I'm comfortable enough with this.
Thing is Apple's warranty documentation did mentioned that it MAY restrict warranty service for iPhone & iPad yo the country where Apple or its ADs originally sold the device. So, which is right?

teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 01:13 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 20 2014, 10:20 AM)
Keyword being MAY. That's why there's so much inconsistencies. At the very least, a phone call and directly consulting with places that you will end up sending for warranty claim already answering YES, so there is some comfort level there.

You also have to consider apple care+ where there definitely is some warranty coverage there. In any case, the guy working at machines that I spoke with on the matter also finally said they do entertain, but only for official apple store, which definitely means apple must have some warranty coverage for units bought online. Where else can apple facilitate warranty claims since they don't have a real official store here? Of course our apple premium resellers la kan? It's listed on apple's official website. You can use this as a point when dealing for warranty.

I know this has been asked many times, someone might wanna do  an FAQ for this. I'm only entertaining the questions because I'm in a good mood. nod.gif
QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Oct 20 2014, 11:49 AM)
i stopped answering these questions already.. getting bored of it.. there's a search feature but none is using it.. Haiz..
it depends on the service centre.. they happy they accept, they not happy, they don't accept. thats the power of "MAY"
If u managed to get apple care for your iPhone, yes its international warranty. but majority ppl don't purhcase apple care for iPhone. so it's kinda subjective to claim warranty for overseas set.
For those who managed to get a YES from Apple Care support chat, kindly screenshot and post it here. TS can post it front page so everyone can have a reference. Those who got rejected by service centre can use that copy to convince them to allow the claim.
"May" hence it's very vague.

Anyway, felt more comfortable to purchase my JP unit now. Shall join over the dark side of grey units this weekend, hopefully.

TS should put these findings in the first post to avoid any unnecessary comments/confusion anymore in the future.
teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 04:41 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Oct 20 2014, 03:31 PM)
i searched the chatting session with apple online chatting cannot find lah.. emm but sure ly they accept ot as it is worldwide warranty.. love my ip6 JP set much more.. hehe... u bought how much rm2100 meh ip6 16gb
Getting the 128GB for ¥89,800 (about RM2.8k after conversion). Not sure if they have stock at Osaka Apple Store at Shinsaibaishi. Gonna check tonight.

Rumor has it that the same should cost RM3199-3299 once launched in Malaysia.
teikwing
post Oct 20 2014, 11:20 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Oct 20 2014, 10:51 PM)
Bought odoyo cases from switch today
[attachmentid=4179103]
That gonna be yellowish within a year or two. Will be shorter if comes in contact with sweat frequently. Had the same case for my 5. sad.gif

0.0175sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:29 PM