Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

zenix
post Aug 19 2015, 06:03 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 17 2014, 01:30 PM)
hey guys, u may ask me anything about construction industry and i'll try my best to answer all ur question.

Construction Industry is so complex and actually affect various party namely,

House buyer / Purchaser
Developer
Consultant (Architect, Engineer and etc)
Main Contractor
Subcontractor / Vendor / Supplier
Local Authority (DBKL, BOMBA, SYABAS, TNB, TELEKOM, POS, JKKP, IWK and etc.)

u can also ask me about construction law. I know a lot abt that too biggrin.gif
i buy bungalow lot can build 88 story "house" to rent out? brows.gif
zenix
post Aug 21 2015, 02:17 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

nobody reply yet sad.gif
zenix
post Aug 21 2015, 03:19 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Aug 21 2015, 02:52 PM)
can. but u need large amount of money beside u need to get approval from local authority to build such high floor. anyway investment company do this. Like great eastern insurance, 1 of the investment is they build a condo and not selling but renting out and generate income.
thanks for the info.
was wondering why my kg there those old haunted bungalow suddenly bought up then someone build a low rise condo.
zenix
post Aug 21 2015, 04:41 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

iwubpreve

i was wondering....

if the plot of land is quite small for a bungalow i was thinking of maxing it out without a car porch area.....

1. basement car park - expensive to do?
2. can make a ramp and park it on the roof?
zenix
post Aug 22 2015, 09:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Aug 21 2015, 04:53 PM)
yeah. expensive because lot sophisticated work incurred.

yes. can build the ramp to roof if u got money biggrin.gif anyway subject to approval. bungalow lot should be fine. u can even build a elevator to bring ur car to rooftop biggrin.gif
because the non-bumi lots are some kind of trapezoid shape.
many haven't built yet but the one i saw built went for 3 storeys.
zenix
post Aug 24 2015, 11:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Aug 23 2015, 04:41 PM)
How bad is the songlap when it comes to government or JKR contracts?

I heard its pretty bad.
read abit on the TRX land u have an idea of how they operate sweat.gif
zenix
post Aug 25 2015, 10:23 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Aug 24 2015, 11:06 PM)
think those duplex type already good enough. 7m. like this condo called one kl. 2 story but half of it is void. lower level is living. upper is bedroom corridor.

i like that look drool.gif
zenix
post Aug 25 2015, 01:17 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 25 2015, 12:18 PM)
Well ... something have to give when you desire one thing ...
7m is good enuf n i like the design of your pic, at time im a bit annoy by the echo n when time to change a bulb  rclxub.gif  ... got to get use to it i guess.
the picture doesn't have bulb at the highest most ceiling
looks like it is for natural light design and the lower celing next to the wall for artificial lighting
zenix
post Aug 25 2015, 02:06 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 25 2015, 01:26 PM)
Oh, sorry for the miss communication, what I mean is the echo of high ceiling room and those that have ceiling mounted down light.
oh laugh.gif
zenix
post Sep 2 2015, 08:35 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 1 2015, 06:03 PM)
It will depend on the zoning of your area and also the allowable plot ratio. Go see the Jabatan Perancang Bandar of your local council.
i was joking laugh.gif

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Sep 1 2015, 06:20 PM)
oic. thanks for enlighten me. I'm not always right smile.gif
human's are too focus on "pure" actually hybrids/composites are the best laugh.gif
zenix
post Oct 13 2015, 04:45 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

sounds like cowboy style reno work
zenix
post Oct 15 2015, 09:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Oct 13 2015, 05:31 PM)
It is....cowboy style !
take pictures
complain to bandaraya
give the officer rm50

brows.gif
zenix
post Oct 16 2015, 10:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Oct 15 2015, 01:20 PM)
pictures were taken....
The contractors were confronted again... The words " saya kasi complain" was uttered...
Within the next couple of hours the mess was cleaned up !
Yeah that rm50 should do the trick.
songlap can't beat them join them
zenix
post Oct 19 2015, 11:18 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

if i buy a piece of land using loan.
can i top-up the loan when i need to get funding to build a house?
zenix
post Nov 5 2015, 12:23 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

TS any comments on container houses?
zenix
post Nov 6 2015, 01:26 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM)
my pinion container house won't be a trend. i still prefer a house attached to land without moving here & there. imagine there are so many connection to be done when u move and settle down. connection to electric, water supply, the waste pit (real shit kind of stuff) etc it's like a headache rclxub.gif
how about something like this?
it looks good.
i really like the sustainable ideas built into the house.

zenix
post Nov 6 2015, 02:05 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 6 2015, 01:40 PM)
well until u stay then only u will feel the cons and perhaps u will hate it so much.
look nice but could be not practical. like every time u need to sleep have to fold down and up sweat.gif imagine 1 day u back home so tired still have to do preparation b4 sleep sweat.gif
that the owner's own interior design choice.
with the same layout 2x3 of 40ft containers i want.

GF: Living room & Car Garage
1F: Dinning room & kitchen
2F: Two bedrooms with ensuite showers
RF: Roof garden OR solar & rainwater collectors
zenix
post Nov 6 2015, 07:17 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 6 2015, 02:23 PM)
ic. would it be too narrow for the width?
by the way the sustainable u mean is green? or can last long?
two 40ft containers side by side should be enough room.
three 40ft containers high would give 3 levels, 4 if including roof.

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 6 2015, 02:34 PM)
provided u comply to the authority requirement then can la. but if the Bomba want the access above this container size can do, then cannot get lo
what u mean? just add staircase to the roof can liao mah.

zenix
post Nov 11 2015, 05:48 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 7 2015, 08:11 PM)
bomba not see this requirement 1. like the walkway is how wide and etc. anyway, ur intention is to save money? if the cost is equivalent to build a landed properties, u will consider do it?
i think it is more of a lifestyle thing than a cost saving thing.
the one in the video which i like seems wouldn't be cheap.
but i know generally there are people buildig cheap houses using containers but those are ground level and not so complicated, right?
zenix
post Nov 17 2015, 09:30 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 16 2015, 10:15 AM)
bear in mind container itself is just a build without foundation sweat.gif

so in order to complete this "container house", u must first complete the substructure work, a platform whereby the container can sit firmly.

just like normal house, before we start the building above ground level, have to ensure the foundation is sufficient for the house. but of course there are many different of foundation can be achieve. some perhaps movable. definitely a lot of work to be done. to makesure that this container is safe, u need to have a professional engineer to endorse it is safe. only when got all these PE endorsement, local authority only will consider giving clearance if u want thing to be done legally.

overall it won't be really cost saving if u want this to be done correctly. even it might save the cost, it will still bother u as so much of thing to be maintain.
from the video i shared it looks as if the bottom floor which is the foundation is also an indoor garage hmm.gif

0.0582sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:17 PM