Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

SUSArmata
post Jan 20 2016, 11:16 AM

315 posts

TS, currently my balcony is empty without any fencing...i plan to cement the balcony floor, then put up a simple glass fence around it..

how much this should costs usually? size around 2.5 cars side by side width...

and will this case water to seep into cement underneath? Coz below is plaster ceiling...
SUSArmata
post Jan 20 2016, 12:44 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jan 20 2016, 12:40 PM)
balcony no fencing? so dangerous 1?
got 1 small fencing..but want to extend..

like this example..current one is only this, i wanna extend out to cover whole balcony :

SUSArmata
post Jan 20 2016, 12:50 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jan 20 2016, 12:47 PM)
ic. bro u need to get PE to submit application to local authority. plus the roof slab outside balcony cannot cater sufficient load because original not design for balcony. need to reconstruct according to new design from the professional engineer. 10k to 20k I think total cost
Ahh..need to masok plan la right? okok..got it...

thanks mang..will chck with my ID once i have sufficient money.. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
SUSArmata
post Jan 22 2016, 09:09 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jan 21 2016, 05:59 PM)
U will save more money if ur roof slab (grey slab) is already design to carry loads for daily use since u wanna extend your glass fence. Just need Professional Engineer (PE also known as IR) to approve it and submit.

If it is just aesthetic architectural slab that does not have any structural capacity to carry normal loads, then u have to spend more on breaking the slab down and rebuilding it.

If u have a load carrying column underneath that roof slab and the roof slab cantilever isnt so long, then it is better. May not need to build another column. By looking at ur slab, it looks like it extend out alot from the tile slab.

LOL
looks like not cheap if wanna rebuild...will put into consideration liao...until my money printer starts working again.. sad.gif

But thanks for the nice loads of info.. notworthy.gif

0.0483sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:59 AM