Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

TSiwubpreve
post Feb 22 2016, 10:10 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 22 2016, 09:14 AM)
If my lantai bocor, orang bawah rumah ceiling got some watery stain, should i redo the proofing,retiling or any other cost savvy method to repair the leak?
u need bro. after dlp right? but not necessary need redo waterproofing and tiling. discuss v owner below, do the pressure grouting on the leaking spot will do from owner ceiling.
magnesium
post Feb 22 2016, 04:06 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(-SMK- @ Feb 20 2016, 12:58 PM)
my first floor house floor parquet is coming off. i have built in furniture in my rooms

what i can do to solve this? is there any solution other than change the whole floor parquet?
You can buy no nail gum and stick back the parquet.

Usually brown colour.
magnesium
post Feb 22 2016, 04:09 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 22 2016, 09:32 AM)
Why me biggrin.gif
Source of leaking is water from your bathroom so you need to bear it.

Redo the waterproofing is 95% confirm the leak wont come back.

If pump grouting is cheaper and easy but always leak comeback.
faizal87
post Feb 22 2016, 07:24 PM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 22 2016, 09:14 AM)
If my lantai bocor, orang bawah rumah ceiling got some watery stain, should i redo the proofing,retiling or any other cost savvy method to repair the leak?
redo? means u already applied before ? claim warranty if got
Julianc
post Feb 23 2016, 10:52 AM

134 posts

what IT solutions does construction industry need?
what is the painpoints related to IT?
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 23 2016, 12:45 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Julianc @ Feb 23 2016, 10:52 AM)
what IT solutions does construction industry need?
what is the painpoints related to IT?
yes. a lot. heard of bim?
zenix
post Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

would making a concrete base with electric, water, communications connections for a 40ft container home be expensive?
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 24 2016, 12:25 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM)
would making a concrete base with electric, water, communications connections for a 40ft container home be expensive?
expensive as in PE endorsement, local authority approval and etc.
zenix
post Feb 25 2016, 08:48 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 24 2016, 12:25 PM)
expensive as in PE endorsement, local authority approval and etc.
estimated prices?
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 25 2016, 09:26 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 25 2016, 08:48 AM)
estimated prices?
because this is not common thing. it will be more expensive. no idea on price though. when come to new thing like this container in Malaysia, those who starting first would be the 1 testing the market. until they stable and getting common, it wouldn't be cheap
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:38 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM)
it just like lying an ordinary floor slab, but advices thickness should be the range of 5" to 6" with reinforcement bar of Y12. If you cast on a hard ground are very much cheaper compare with a soft ground. Do factor in if you Santa do multiple stores.

Do a simple calculation of 40ft x 10'= 400 ft.sq. let say it's rm 12 per sq feet, that's mean cost about 4800.

Installation of pipeline and electrical cost not much unless you need to install a toilet.
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:44 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 18 2016, 06:36 PM)
Which type of flooring is most resistant to scratches/wear? Wanna change my house floor from linoleum type to something more resistant.
You can try rubber like laminated flooring. Do get a good quality one as the thickness and pressed texture will wear off if you get a cheap one. It is water resistant, stain proof, sound proof and most important cost and easy maintain.
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:54 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(dps404 @ Feb 19 2016, 05:46 PM)
any idea why my screeding + hardener works  crack like no tomorrow after a month or so?

normally how do you guys rectify this problem?
Normally this happened due to poor mixture (cements, sand and water) and bad preparation on sub-base.
Too much cement, less water, it cracks
Too much water, less cement, also cracks or peel of when knock it with a finger.
Too much sand, it become sandy.

Sub base must be clean from dust or sand only can do screening, but most contractors and developers won't care much on this.

To rectify it, sell the property or hack and rescue ending again
zenix
post Feb 26 2016, 11:07 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 25 2016, 09:26 AM)
QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 26 2016, 09:38 AM)
thanks for the info guys.
at first i was considering one which have to plug the utilities in.
now thinking it might be too much trouble having to deal with the local authorities.
so i guess i'll go for the off-grid options to save myself of the headache.
just making sure there is a solid concrete base for the container would be cheaper, right?

this is for use in kampung area, not buying bungalow type land and put it on.

leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 01:14 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 26 2016, 11:07 AM)
thanks for the info guys.
at first i was considering one which have to plug the utilities in.
now thinking it might be too much trouble having to deal with the local authorities.
so i guess i'll go for the off-grid options to save myself of the headache.
just making sure there is a solid concrete base for the container would be cheaper, right?

this is for use in kampung area, not buying bungalow type land and put it on.
If for kampung land then much more easier...for sure it is much more cheaper...try to get ready made from China much more easier.
Depends which state u r in. Some states u can avoid the authority.
zenix
post Feb 29 2016, 09:19 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 26 2016, 01:14 PM)
If for kampung land then much more easier...for sure it is much more cheaper...try to get ready made from China much more easier.
Depends which state u r in. Some states u can avoid the authority.
u mean ready-made container house from china?

kecik_mieow
post Feb 29 2016, 01:37 PM

13 posts

Hi TS, are you familiar with the law regarding asbestos in Malaysia.? Is it true that older houses were build from asbestos materials? As we know asbestos is highly carsinogenic and will lead to lung cancer sooner or later in most people who were exposed to its dust.

Would love to know more about the practise and the law relating to it. smile.gif
leonard73
post Feb 29 2016, 01:58 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(kecik_mieow @ Feb 29 2016, 01:37 PM)
Hi TS, are you familiar with the law regarding asbestos in Malaysia.? Is it true that older houses were build from asbestos materials? As we know asbestos is highly carsinogenic and will lead to lung cancer sooner or later in most people who were exposed to its dust.

Would love to know more about the practise and the law relating to it. smile.gif
Based on my knowledge, asbestos being banned in selling n use in Malaysia long time ago. Any houses which used that materials, I would suggest to change.

leonard73
post Feb 29 2016, 02:03 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 29 2016, 09:19 AM)
u mean ready-made container house from china?

Yup

kecik_mieow
post Mar 1 2016, 01:17 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 29 2016, 01:58 PM)
Based on my knowledge, asbestos being banned in selling n use in Malaysia long time ago. Any houses which used that materials, I would suggest to change.
But I think not everyone staying in older houses (those that were built before the ban) aware of this. So I guess, there are still plenty of old houses with asbestos materials.

79 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:28 PM