sounds like cowboy style reno work
It is....cowboy style !
pisces88
post Oct 14 2015, 11:28 PM

3,966 posts

bedroom flooring

usually hardwood is recommended, why?

is use granite/marble, what are the cons and pros?
ShadowR1
post Oct 15 2015, 12:29 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:28 PM)
bedroom flooring

Nothing is wrong with granite or marble as this two lower the temp of the room well, if you have a thing bout waking up and walking on cold surface ... wood.
pisces88
post Oct 15 2015, 12:40 AM

3,966 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Oct 15 2015, 12:29 AM)
Nothing is wrong with granite or marble as this two lower the temp of the room well, if you have a thing bout waking up and walking on cold surface ... wood.
wood has one bad characteristics, which may be scratched and require polishing down the years.. hard to decide.. or is there a good kind of wood which is very durable to scratches?
ShadowR1
post Oct 15 2015, 12:59 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 15 2015, 12:40 AM)
wood has one bad characteristics, which may be scratched and require polishing down the years.. hard to decide.. or is there a good kind of wood which is very durable to scratches?
Yes there are, synthetic wood, lami, vinyl ect ... wood warp is another rclxub.gif

Having wood flooring does have it's benefit (to me) ... every few year a lil project ... sand and polish, stain, repaint ... those kind of diy.
zenix
post Oct 15 2015, 09:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Oct 13 2015, 05:31 PM)
It is....cowboy style !
take pictures
complain to bandaraya
give the officer rm50

brows.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post Oct 15 2015, 01:20 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 15 2015, 09:08 AM)
take pictures
complain to bandaraya
give the officer rm50

brows.gif
pictures were taken....
The contractors were confronted again... The words " saya kasi complain" was uttered...
Within the next couple of hours the mess was cleaned up !

Yeah that rm50 should do the trick.

zenix
post Oct 16 2015, 10:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Oct 15 2015, 01:20 PM)
pictures were taken....
The contractors were confronted again... The words " saya kasi complain" was uttered...
Within the next couple of hours the mess was cleaned up !
Yeah that rm50 should do the trick.
songlap can't beat them join them
Songlap
post Oct 16 2015, 11:49 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 16 2015, 12:08 PM)
songlap can't beat them join them
sad.gif
jchong
post Oct 16 2015, 09:23 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:28 PM)
bedroom flooring

It all depends on the feel you want. Granite/marble is colder, wood is warmer. Some people also feel wood is gentler on the feet.
wordtalks
post Oct 19 2015, 07:49 AM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

iwubpreve if a construction causes alot of noise and debris(dust), possible to complain?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 19 2015, 07:57 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Oct 19 2015, 07:49 AM)
iwubpreve if a construction causes alot of noise and debris(dust), possible to  complain?
can. complain to respective municipal office. kl to dbkl. pj to mbpj.
wordtalks
post Oct 19 2015, 08:22 AM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 19 2015, 07:57 AM)
can. complain to respective municipal office. kl to dbkl. pj to mbpj.
thank you notworthy.gif
zenix
post Oct 19 2015, 11:18 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

if i buy a piece of land using loan.
can i top-up the loan when i need to get funding to build a house?
ShadowR1
post Oct 19 2015, 03:15 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Impala67 @ Oct 19 2015, 02:52 PM)
can we screw roof tiles together to prevent from moving/shifting during windy situation?
Normally its done with nail. There is a hole on each concrete roof tile for that purpose..
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 19 2015, 05:33 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Impala67 @ Oct 19 2015, 03:18 PM)
mine dont have. only the most corner/edge tiles got.

and am unable to drill holes as ceramic might crack. so any solution?
usually the top pieces will like a L bracket holding the roof batten and press again the bottom pieces. and the last top pieces would be fix by fit a hip roof tiles. it shouldn't moving. if move mean entire roof affected liao

thpace
post Oct 20 2015, 02:13 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Oct 8 2015, 05:42 PM)
I'm a final year Degree QS student, so I'll answer based on what I know and experienced.

1. Think of QS as the construction cost manager & advisor, we measure, calculate, manage and prepare paperwork on a project. Depending on which firms you working at, if it's consultant firm, you're required to handle the project costing and budgeting for the client from pre-tender to post-contract (end of a project) and finally prepare a final account for the whole project. If you work in contracting firms, it might be the same job scope, and measuring the exact quantity is critical for contractors as every cent counts and all they care is the profit margin.

2.  Usually, yes, unless you can hire few QS-assistant under you.  laugh.gif Don't worry though, technological advances would help in the future.  icon_rolleyes.gif

3. From hearsay, and the reason I'd studied QS is because of the high demand for QS in the construction industry right now. But mind that the output of local QS graduates from universities and colleges are large in numbers too currently, which might inturn saturate the industry soon. However, I don't think you'll need to worry about getting unemployed as long you don't look at the income figures. Just my 2cent.

If what I wrote reflects inaccuracy or error, please do correct me.  laugh.gif
1) you have to see what type of contract first. If dosmetic which lump all services under one big contract (no nsc) then i only need to prepare technical schedule and bq and give to qs to compile. If nsc contract, the engineer need to prepare the full contract and qs just administrate the main con contract. More often, mark my word lazy qs just ask us engineer to do everything and pass it to them. The most they do is from my exp is check spelling mistake, page number and just read through for any contract term n condition like defext liability period or non compliance etc etc

2) consultating qs is the qs that monitor the projext overall cost. Only M&E engineer can evaluate the progress and claim for their m&e items. Industry norm qs normally for architectural and structural works.

3) word of advise.. when come in industry. First thing not to do is bad mouth the engineer. Because we also can play you out. One way is to give low cost estimate and you have to ownself call supplier to verify. U can blame us to the client but we can always answer back that you are hired to do cost control while we engineer for technical knowledge.

kennethkee93
post Oct 20 2015, 10:07 AM

Wooooo!
1,522 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 20 2015, 02:13 AM)
1) you have to see what type of contract first. If dosmetic which lump all services under one big contract (no nsc) then i only need to prepare technical schedule and bq and give to qs to compile. If nsc contract, the engineer need to prepare the full contract and qs just administrate the main con contract. More often, mark my word lazy qs just ask us engineer to do everything and pass it to them. The most they do is from my exp is check spelling mistake, page number and just read through for any contract term n condition like defext liability period or non compliance etc etc

2) consultating qs is the qs that monitor the projext overall cost. Only M&E engineer can evaluate the progress and claim for their m&e items. Industry norm qs normally for architectural and structural works.

3) word of advise.. when come in industry. First thing not to do is bad mouth the engineer. Because we also can play you out. One way is to give low cost estimate and you have to ownself call supplier to verify. U can blame us to the client but we can always answer back that you are hired to do cost control while we engineer for technical knowledge.
I'd not been exposed to the industry very much yet since I'm on my studies and with just 1 year of experience in Contractor firms during internship. What you stated do make sense of course, but QS badmouth the Ar. rather than Ir. based on what I'd experience in the past. laugh.gif Btw, keeping the professionalism and competency is the important thing to do. icon_rolleyes.gif
thpace
post Oct 20 2015, 10:38 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Oct 20 2015, 10:07 AM)
I'd not been exposed to the industry very much yet since I'm on my studies and with just 1 year of experience in Contractor firms during internship. What you stated do make sense of course, but QS badmouth the Ar. rather than Ir. based on what I'd experience in the past.  laugh.gif Btw, keeping the professionalism and competency is the important thing to do.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Sorry bro.. it does not work that way more often.

Ar because qs easier to evealuate. For example aluminium grill. Simple

If mechanical.. unless u have technical knowledge like air cond system. Qs very hard to evaluate. That why m&e is own qs and submit the claim to them for processing

Hollow21
post Oct 20 2015, 01:35 PM

661 posts

Most QS, Ar, all tai chi masters....all try not to do work and pass on to others...

79 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:27 AM