Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

zenix
post Nov 17 2015, 12:33 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 17 2015, 11:34 AM)
hmm. how do I describe, the element of building work called substructure work. imagine u want to build on the slope side, do u think u can just put the entire container like the bottom part of video, definitely cannot right?

so say we put it in the flat ground, how do u be sure that the ground won't settle? to be sure u need to get a professional engineer to certify it is safe. civil engineer (PE) carry liability for lifetime and to be sure it's safe and comply to their professionalism, they will introduce the solid foundation. at least a simple footing require below ground at the 4 corner point of container. container will transfer the load to that footing.
i think u dunno what i mean....

lemme explain again base on the video

zenix
post Nov 17 2015, 01:03 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 17 2015, 12:44 PM)
oic. i thought is the general container that hoist and fix u talking about. ya, in this photo they already have a foundation that can cater the load. so it's just a house made by container sweat.gif

if u like the modular design, well there are even more option beside container. this is what it term as IBS industrialize Building System. Basically IBS reduce the work at actual house location and more work at factory. prefabrication in factory and quick assemble at site.
yeah i think i know what u mean i saw another company doing it called Meka World.
designed in europe, made in china, and delivered worldwide.
because each completed module is basically a 20/40 foot container during shipment.
then installed on-site with bolts and welds only.

zenix
post Nov 20 2015, 09:41 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(lazybump_nonsense @ Nov 19 2015, 12:06 PM)
Hi TS, I am working in a Renovation cum Project Management cum woodwork company. Do you explain anything of invoicing to customer? Coz i am really new to this field in term of accounting, sometime i don't really know what should i write in my invoice and how should i bill them. The invoicing process is a mess.
thumbup.gif better get advise from old hands first.......asking those people selling accounting and invoicing system just makes me go rclxub.gif
zenix
post Jan 4 2016, 09:36 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Dec 29 2015, 10:35 AM)
the bolt and nut probably is attach to the foundation or footing already. like following photo. that way it transfer to the foundation that bury below the ground.

it would be stable?
zenix
post Jan 4 2016, 06:37 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jan 4 2016, 09:44 AM)
sure stable if it is design by civil engineer. they depend on the load and design the footing size.
marine engineer oso ok wat laugh.gif

zenix
post Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

would making a concrete base with electric, water, communications connections for a 40ft container home be expensive?
zenix
post Feb 25 2016, 08:48 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 24 2016, 12:25 PM)
expensive as in PE endorsement, local authority approval and etc.
estimated prices?
zenix
post Feb 26 2016, 11:07 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 25 2016, 09:26 AM)
QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 26 2016, 09:38 AM)
thanks for the info guys.
at first i was considering one which have to plug the utilities in.
now thinking it might be too much trouble having to deal with the local authorities.
so i guess i'll go for the off-grid options to save myself of the headache.
just making sure there is a solid concrete base for the container would be cheaper, right?

this is for use in kampung area, not buying bungalow type land and put it on.

zenix
post Feb 29 2016, 09:19 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 26 2016, 01:14 PM)
If for kampung land then much more easier...for sure it is much more cheaper...try to get ready made from China much more easier.
Depends which state u r in. Some states u can avoid the authority.
u mean ready-made container house from china?

zenix
post Mar 1 2016, 08:51 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(leonard73 @ Feb 29 2016, 02:03 PM)
Yup
looking for self contain and off grid models.

0.0443sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:49 PM