Anyone used drain clog remover before?

TSAcher13
post Oct 15 2014, 11:27 PM, updated 7y ago

182 posts

Guys, need help a bit. anyone got use the drainage clog remover liquid thing before?

My shower clogged, probably hair but I pam use plunger so many time still no fix, cucuk using wire also no luck and water don't want to drain at all.

does this thing work on full clog or just for drainage that runs slow?
dkk
post Oct 15 2014, 11:53 PM

11,400 posts

If I am not mistaken, it is for kitchen fat. That stuff is never going to melt hair! smile.gif

BTW, what is it that's clogged? Kitchen sink? Bathroom floor-drain hole?
TSAcher13
post Oct 16 2014, 12:22 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Oct 15 2014, 11:53 PM)
If I am not mistaken, it is for kitchen fat. That stuff is never going to melt hair! smile.gif

Bathroom floor-drain hole, First floor bathroom.
I crawled into the ceiling to take a look at the pipeline but there's nothing I can remove for cleaning.

Then, due to the way the hole is made, the wire can't go deep.

Gone to hardware store this afternoon but I didn't buy any of those drain clog remover stuff because the guy that recommend me the stuff there doesn't sound like he ever use it before.
SUSAllnGap
post Oct 16 2014, 04:17 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

Use some high concentration acid. Sure settle but is dangerous
abec
post Oct 16 2014, 09:55 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Oct 16 2014, 04:17 AM)
Use some high concentration acid. Sure settle but is dangerous
where to get that acid. i face this problem too sad.gif
de1929
post Oct 16 2014, 10:01 AM

1,920 posts

you should go to ace hardware, and buy drain opener.

Ace hardware sells many of them. The best one is "i forgot the name"... but i recalled from all the collection, it has plastic bag sealed wrapped the sealed bottle... all drain opener are liqued, stored in sealed bottle. this one lagi best, it has plastic sealed wrapped outside sealed bottle... the bottle is white, the brand written in red / black printing. and it has word "professional grade"... sure will not miss lah..

these things sure real posion so make sure you know what you are doing, protect ur hand, don't let it sprink to ur skin and... it smells acid badly so make sure ventilation is there
ahloong888
post Oct 16 2014, 10:13 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Acher13 @ Oct 16 2014, 01:22 AM)
Bathroom floor-drain hole, First floor bathroom.
I crawled into the ceiling to take a look at the pipeline but there's nothing I can remove for cleaning.

Then, due to the way the hole is made, the wire can't go deep.

Gone to hardware store this afternoon but I didn't buy any of those drain clog remover stuff because the guy that recommend me the stuff there doesn't sound like he ever use it before.
"the guy that recommend me the stuff there doesn't sound like he ever use it before."

Better double confirm before buying. I bought 1 from hardware shop, the guy say can be use on PVC pipe. I used and the PVC pipe all melt.
nax_xa
post Oct 16 2014, 10:26 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Oct 15 2014, 11:53 PM)

i saw in ACE hardware, there's chemical to melt hair in the drain.. try search there
K2002
post Oct 16 2014, 10:32 AM

61 posts

hmmm. i buy at pasar before. street vendor selling very long device looking like a hand. plastic type. can press button let it go long like a pipe then press another button the 3 fingers like will pick up things in tight sink holes then u have to pull the whole thing out.
TSAcher13
post Oct 16 2014, 10:48 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 16 2014, 10:01 AM)
you should go to ace hardware, and buy drain opener.

Ace hardware sells many of them. The best one is "i forgot the name"... but i recalled from all the collection, it has plastic bag sealed wrapped the sealed bottle... all drain opener are liqued, stored in sealed bottle. this one lagi best, it has plastic sealed wrapped outside sealed bottle... the bottle is white, the brand written in red / black printing. and it has word "professional grade"... sure will not miss lah..
How much will cost ah? The one I saw here is just in normal chemical plastic bottle, white color but I forgot the brand.

QUOTE(ahloong888 @ Oct 16 2014, 10:13 AM)
"the guy that recommend me the stuff there doesn't sound like he ever use it before."

Better double confirm before buying. I bought 1 from hardware shop, the guy say can be use on PVC pipe. I used and the PVC pipe all melt.
Yeah this, that's why I didn't buy it that time.
the house using the white pvc but I can't see the label what type it is.

WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 16 2014, 10:50 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

use clorox
smallbug
post Oct 16 2014, 11:23 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Oct 16 2014, 10:32 AM)
hmmm. i buy at pasar before. street vendor selling very long device looking like a hand. plastic type. can press button let it go long like a pipe then press another button the 3 fingers like will pick up things in tight sink holes then u have to pull the whole thing out.
Drain snake/auger. How much did it cost?
K2002
post Oct 16 2014, 11:31 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Oct 16 2014, 11:23 AM)
Drain snake/auger. How much did it cost?
RM35 . cheap plastic kind. i think some china brand.
de1929
post Oct 16 2014, 12:26 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ahloong888 @ Oct 16 2014, 10:13 AM)
.... I used and the PVC pipe all melt.
PVC melted because you leave it longer than 1 hour without any water. actually i think 15 minutes already overloaded...

have you notice when you pour the acid there is a smoke and smell ? that's when the acid eat up everything inside the pvc... then after the smoke and smell gone, wait for 15 minutes - 1 hour (depends on how big the pvc is) and then you flush it with water.... flush it with plenty of water. i mean reallllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy plenty of water. This is to disolve acidic texture inside pvc...

ycs
post Oct 16 2014, 04:30 PM

4,232 posts

the clog remover can help, can use for hair whatever stuck

just pour about 1/4 first
zeese
post Oct 17 2014, 10:00 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

You should try using the clog remover liquid first, before trying using a strong acid?
It cost around rm25 at hardware shop.. you pour the whole bottle (yes, it's a one time use) and leave it overnight.. if i'm not mistaken, you need to leave it overnight. It will melts any organic material... hair is organic.. so, it should work on hair too..

but if you think it may not work, probably just hire a plumber to check it out.. plumber probably knows more trick than we do..

This post has been edited by zeese: Oct 17 2014, 10:00 AM
shin_daria
post Oct 17 2014, 02:03 PM

24 posts

used the wire thing without much help. then used traditional way of hot water and sodium bicarbonate-cheaper and somewhat works.
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Oct 17 2014, 04:49 PM

682 posts

Bought acid from a hardware store for my case. It works but do be careful when handling. Plus the fumes are poisonous.
psyduck89
post Oct 17 2014, 04:56 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

for using acid, please becareful for not melted ur pipe..
lel..
else ur house will raining when u bath at 1st floor...
desmond2020
post Oct 17 2014, 09:44 PM

907 posts

where do you live first? If live in apartment or condo cannot simply use clog remover.
de1929
post Oct 17 2014, 10:36 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Acher13 @ Oct 16 2014, 10:48 AM)
How much will cost ah? The one I saw here is just in normal chemical plastic bottle, white color but I forgot the brand.

The name is Rooto. You can google image the keyword below:
rooto professional drain opener
koolbrader
post Oct 18 2014, 12:46 AM

53 posts

Hahahha. Choking the chicken in the shower can result in drain clogging. Hair usually got shower drain trap. U should just keep pouring boiling water down the drain. if u want a better solution u could try this.

Add 3 cups of baking soda + 2 cups of mayonnaise. stir till everything is mixed. then remove the shower drain trap n put the mixture in the drain pipe and leave 4 10 minutes. Then wash down with hot water. Confirm gone.
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2014, 01:18 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Acher13 @ Oct 15 2014, 11:27 PM)
Guys, need help a bit. anyone got use the drainage clog remover liquid thing before?

My shower clogged, probably hair but I pam use plunger so many time still no fix, cucuk using wire also no luck and water don't want to drain at all.

Most clog removers are usually acid-based. If you suspect they are hair clogs, then it is advised to use the Alkaline Clog Remover.

The method suggested by koolbrader is alkali-based, but I'm sure the alkalinity of the solution. sweat.gif
VanishS
post Oct 18 2014, 06:46 AM

234 posts

Oh yeah and never use them on metal pipes right ?
de1929
post Oct 18 2014, 10:40 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 18 2014, 01:18 AM)
Most clog removers are usually acid-based. If you suspect they are hair clogs, then it is advised to use the Alkaline Clog Remover.

The method suggested by koolbrader is alkali-based, but I'm sure the alkalinity of the solution. sweat.gif
Hey... i recalled alkaline based clog remover.... try mix with acid based clog remover if still stubborn... sure feel like "nasi goreng meletup" thumbup.gif
SUSkernan.rio
post Oct 19 2014, 08:13 AM

QUOTE(VanishS @ Oct 18 2014, 06:46 AM)
Oh yeah and never use them on metal pipes right ?
And toilet bowls.
TSAcher13
post Mar 27 2016, 07:54 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(maruah yang tercalar. @ Mar 27 2016, 07:09 PM)
I cannot find Rooto at ACE. Got any other rexommendation?
Daiso also has, but smh.. not sure if strong enough.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 28 2016, 03:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Yes, it works, trust me. I am using Mr Muscle and some other dunno what brand powder i got from DIY. Just follow the usage instructions.
alien9
post Mar 28 2016, 03:17 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

I have a clog that I managed to fix. A clog at a 4 inch pipe. Few bottle of unbrand clogger (black color acid) and a bottle of Ace Hardware Brand Acid.

For the acid to work, need to make sure that there is no water inside the pipes.
zombie24
post Mar 28 2016, 10:39 PM

805 posts

Last time when I was a kid my dad use to use a product called drainex or drainx....good for hair..
kelvin8810
post Mar 30 2016, 08:13 AM

136 posts

SYABAS plumber taught me to boil hot water and add a big full bag of salt and vinegar which is optional. this can remove clogged pipe which works like magic.
pastacarbonara
post Mar 30 2016, 11:43 AM

37 posts

If you're using those commercially available drain unclogger, it may damage your bathroom tiles if used incorrectly because they are highly acidic. I bought one from Ace hardware once and I terribly regretted it as it slightly damaged my bathroom tiles.

Instead, I'd recommend that you boil a kettle of water with some laundry detergent. Make sure it's boiling hot and then slowly pour it down to the bathroom floor trap. You may need to repeat 2 to 3 times and it is highly effective.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by pastacarbonara: Mar 30 2016, 11:49 AM
kelvin8810
post Mar 31 2016, 08:52 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(maruah yang tercalar. @ Mar 30 2016, 11:49 AM)
put hot water first into the hole or put salt first ?
mix salt into boiling water and pour into the clogged pipe
jchong
post Mar 31 2016, 12:04 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pastacarbonara @ Mar 30 2016, 11:43 AM)
Instead, I'd recommend that you boil a kettle of water with some laundry detergent. Make sure it's boiling hot and then slowly pour it down to the bathroom floor trap. You may need to repeat 2 to 3 times and it is highly effective.

Most houses use PVC pipes. Are you sure PVC pipe can withstand boiling water temperature?
geelim77
post Mar 31 2016, 06:15 PM

181 posts

kena clogged kitchen sink last time, use hot boiling water n pour it down the sink hole and it was clear later….hot water work for my sink, but i never try it on bath room water trap hole before.
Dollores
post Mar 31 2016, 08:34 PM

20 posts

I used it before, it worked for my kitchen...
Just pour some on the drain, make sure remove the cover, and then wait for 10mins and then pour some normal water...
Your Friendly Neighbour
post Apr 1 2016, 11:43 AM

Had this problem months ago, i pour down some acid, use that 'pump tandas', but not normal pump, like a pump on steroid, big one, cost like RM30, then use something like spring, cucuk dalam lubang, then you need to spin it. Problem solved after that
persona93
post Apr 2 2016, 10:51 PM

1,180 posts

fuuu just imagine the amount of hair stuck weiii
olives1989
post Feb 10 2019, 06:20 PM

Best method that worked for me for a fully clogged bathroom sink (because of hair and clay face masks) which I couldn't clear our for weeks using baking soda, vinegar, drain snake etc...

1. Get a small but long pipe cleaner with bristles or even a metal wire and try to remove as much hair as possible.
2. Sprinkle Power Max Clog Remover from cosway and let it sit for 2 minutes. You'll be able to hear a hissing sound when the powder reaches the bottom of the sink.
3. Pour 1 cup boiling hot water to let the powder reach all the corners of the sink drain. Let it sit for another 3 minutes
4. Pour 5 cups boiling hot water mixed with 1 big scoop of detergent and a few spoons of coarse salt.

Repeat steps 2-4 about 2 or 3 times depending on the severity of the clog.

For both my bathroom sink and kitchen sink which were badly clogged, I did the above twice and managed to clear the clog.
Twins10
post Feb 11 2019, 11:45 AM

919 posts

Pour Clorox 1 bottle n wait overnight. Don't dilute.
tahfeikei
post Feb 11 2019, 08:44 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

i tried cheapo liquid type from hardware shop, kenot work

then the best is the imported gel type from ACE hardware
bobkiit
post Feb 11 2019, 08:56 PM

50 posts

Try this one
akib_mullen
post Feb 11 2019, 09:02 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 31 2016, 12:04 PM)
Most houses use PVC pipes. Are you sure PVC pipe can withstand boiling water temperature?
I think if it is toilet pipe, it will be white coloured. This one if not mistaken can.
Grey one, not really
TSAcher13
post Feb 12 2019, 12:06 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Feb 11 2019, 08:44 PM)
i tried cheapo liquid type from hardware shop, kenot work

then the best is the imported gel type from ACE hardware
thanks for the replies you guys but did you guys check the on post date? sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(bobkiit @ Feb 11 2019, 08:56 PM)
Try this one
thanks for the replies you guys but did you guys check the on post date? sweat.gif sweat.gif
Buffalo Soldier
post Feb 12 2019, 12:14 AM

444 posts

which method/material did you end up using to clear the blockage?
TSAcher13
post Feb 12 2019, 08:36 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Feb 12 2019, 12:14 AM)
which method/material did you end up using to clear the blockage?
It was a full clog, called plumber for it and they use some long rod thing to cucuk the hole. kinda 2-3 meter long and they dig baby wipes out.
I use the same bottle as just above post show, the plumr it works at first but as hair and oil was not the culprit the blockage is back again within minutes.

0.0290sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:41 AM