Guitar Wall Mount

TSjuicyliana
post Oct 15 2014, 03:35 PM, updated 12y ago

when u think juicy, think liana
746 posts

I was thinking to hang my guitars on the wall. I'm concern about the humidity level in Malaysia that will cause the padding on the mount to break.

Will the mount be more lasting if I get those branded ones like Hercules? Or should i settle for guitar racks?

I don't mind drilling holes on the wall to mount the guitars but I wouldn't want to keep drilling new holes and patch up the old holes whenever i got to change new mounts. It will spoil the look of the wall.
Zot
post Oct 15 2014, 03:38 PM

7,938 posts

The idea of hanging the guitar on the wall already spoil the wall look. Why bother the holes?

With high humidity, the guitar will collect dust and stick on its surface. Why need to hand like in the shop? wink.gif
TSjuicyliana
post Oct 15 2014, 03:45 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 15 2014, 03:38 PM)
The idea of hanging the guitar on the wall already spoil the wall look. Why bother the holes?

With high humidity, the guitar will collect dust and stick on its surface. Why need to hand like in the shop?  wink.gif
Actually i wanted to hang the guitar to highlight the feature wall

example:
kucinghijau
post Oct 15 2014, 04:10 PM

384 posts

how about like this?

i think u might be interested with THIS TOPIC nod.gif
TSjuicyliana
post Oct 16 2014, 09:08 AM

746 posts

QUOTE(kucinghijau @ Oct 15 2014, 04:10 PM)
how about like this?

i think u might be interested with THIS TOPIC  nod.gif
I don't think those can hang acoustics guitar, right? it can only hang electrics.
ashportal
post Oct 16 2014, 12:36 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ Oct 16 2014, 09:08 AM)
I don't think those can hang acoustics guitar, right? it can only hang electrics.

Checkout their FB, woodies guitar hanger malaysia, got one pic with thick acoustic, looks like they have and adapter for acoustic

But not sure can hang slanted for the case of acoustic hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ashportal: Oct 16 2014, 12:36 PM
ciwi1166
post Oct 17 2014, 07:33 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

is it ok to expose guitar to air like that? hmm.gif i tot in the long run humidity will damage it..

+3kk!
post Oct 17 2014, 10:01 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Oct 17 2014, 07:33 AM)
is it ok to expose guitar to air like that?  hmm.gif  i tot in the long run humidity will damage it..
then again most guitars in malaysia are placed on a guitar stand in the open with almost questionable environmental conditions.

Everdying
post Oct 17 2014, 10:11 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

unless the guitars are in woh fatt, most guitar shops got aircon which usually means lower humidity...

+3kk!
post Oct 17 2014, 10:20 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2014, 10:11 AM)
unless the guitars are in woh fatt, most guitar shops got aircon which usually means lower humidity...
i dont think enough tho

even then, most of us combat humidity by throwing a few silicone packs into a hard case. not like that is any effective too laugh.gif
ciwi1166
post Oct 17 2014, 10:55 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 17 2014, 10:01 AM)
then again most guitars in malaysia are placed on a guitar stand in the open with almost questionable environmental conditions.
i mean at home. smile.gif

in the shop is exception since it's been temperature controlled.
Everdying
post Oct 17 2014, 11:03 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 17 2014, 10:20 AM)
i dont think enough tho

even then, most of us combat humidity by throwing a few silicone packs into a hard case. not like that is any effective too laugh.gif
thats why u buy good guitars with seasoned wood...not some chibai model tongue.gif
plus thats also why i dont really own acoustics, too much hassle.
none of my electrics have had warped necks etc before.
+3kk!
post Oct 17 2014, 11:08 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Oct 17 2014, 10:55 AM)
i mean at home.  smile.gif

in the shop is exception since it's been temperature controlled.
you'd be surprised, i tried to control my guitar humidity, its very hard, in hard case oso like 60-70. also most shops have wide open spaces with people walking in and out, and their aircon is not on 24/7, so at night humidity will go up.

most shops are actually very very bad at taking care of their guitars, that time i wanted to buy a martin, went to GC, the guy said eh wait the action a bit high. not thinking twice he adjusted the truss rod. my heart was skipping a beat at each turn. he was owh, dont worry its ok, its ok.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2014, 11:03 AM)
thats why u buy good guitars with seasoned wood...not some chibai model tongue.gif
plus thats also why i dont really own acoustics, too much hassle.
none of my electrics have had warped necks etc before.
eletrics are ok la, tho ive noted some stories of *cough* fenders *cough* getting a bit under the weather due to the humidity

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Oct 17 2014, 11:11 AM
empire
post Oct 18 2014, 12:15 PM

2,549 posts

You dont want your guitars to be exposed to humidity by hanging them on a wall for long term. Your hardware will get rusty....entire guitar coated with thick dust and makes your strings rust.
ILoveMyGuitarss
post Oct 20 2014, 07:58 AM

363 posts

To solved the humidity problem, get urself a nice and suitable size dehumidifier.

For the first round it may take a few days to dry your guitar back to its factory condition. After that, running 8 hours once a week will keep your acoustic in good shape.

0.0163sec    1.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:46 PM