Need advise for tiling quotation.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 12:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Oct 12 2014, 11:17 AM)
here's my comment on tile pricing

2nd contractor.... price seems abit cheap
average RM10.35/sqft for 2x2 and 2x1 tiles......price sounds very good
but you need to check what tiles they supply

in my post in the tiles thread.....i'm using good quality porcelain tiles and homogenous type

average price for good quality tiles and workmanship is between rm20 to rm25 p sqft
that's what i have been comparing and gathered through out the research

concrete top price normally rm150 per foot run....meaning 1ft x 2ft = rm150 excluding tiling
and you have include the 3feet vertical support as part of the calculation too

so assuming your 17 foot run straight without L bend....you may need 3 vertical support....thats roughly 26feet total.....x rm150 = 3900

sink and tap.....budget about rm600 for very basic bowl and tap

2k plus for melamine door and drawers

sound very reasonable...again....please do ask for sample material before deciding
Not to pour ice water to you. But rm20-25 is the slaughter kaw kaw price rclxub.gif
Unless it is done by 100% Chinese and no Indon/Bangla involved at all.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 12:43 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kkoil @ Oct 12 2014, 09:32 AM)
Hi All,

I just got my sub sale double storey house  and need to do some Reno on it mainly is re-tiles job. Need some advise on the pricing.

1st contractor is my colleague Best fren, he said his fren will give a good price to me and here is what he quoted me. All price not include new tiles and skirting.

Car park 374' - rm4488 (no hacking)
Indoor total 1486' -rm17832 (need hacking old tiles or parquet)
Staircase rm3000 (need hacking parquet)

Toilet floor 35'+wall 240' rm3300+rm500 waterproof (not include sink and toilet)

Toilet floor 50'+280' rm3960+rm500 waterproof (not include sink and toilet)

Total rm33580 for labour and material not include tiles. Which means he charge me rm12/sqft no matter need to hack old tiles or not. Skirting will be another rm4/sqft.
2nd contractor I met in fair quoted me below. All include tiles and skirting.

Car park 374' - rm3665.2(2*1 tiles)

Indoor 741' -Rm7261.80 (2*1 tiles) + hacking rm1350
Indoor 745' -Rm 10057.50 (2*2 tiles) + hacking rm 1360
Staircase rm5760 (2*1 tiles, include hacking and dismantle)

Toilet floor 35' rm550 + wall 240' rm2352 + waterproof rm600 + hacking rm500.

Toilet floor 50' rm750 +wall 280' rm2744 + waterproof rm800 + hacking rm700.

Total rm38450.05 includes tiles and skirting. He charges me Rm9.8/sqft for using 2*1 tiles Rm13.5/sqft for 2*2 tiles. Rm1.8+/sqft for hacking. I dunno how he calculate for toilet floor cos it is roughly rm15/sqft. And the staircase cos rm5760 ???. Is this price reasonable?

Anobody has an idea for concrete top price? My 17' concrete top 1st contractor charge me for rm6460 include 2*2 tiles, melamine door and drawer, sink and water tap and hacking of old concrete top.

2nd contractor charge me rm3700 only comes with 2*2 tiles and hacking old concrete top.

Only re-tiles and concrete top ady cost me 40k plus. Still not include doing kitchen cabinet, wiring,  piping griling, auto gate and plaster ceiling. I thought all this can be done within 50k but with these quotation I think not possible >"<

Thx for reading my post and hope can get some help from you all.
Try to use square tiles as far as possible, looks better.
Try to nego on the hacking cost.
No need to get 1st grade tiles, 2nd grade will be cheaper and does not means it is poor quality. Developers are using 3rd-4th grade most of the time.
Difference between 1st to other grade is you can't find spares after few months. Again, if you don't simply hack the tiles, it won't break.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 02:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Oct 12 2014, 01:51 PM)
Yeah....i know there r cheaper ones out there
The tiles i chose is not cheap....plus i go buy on my own after hunting all over klang valley comparing alot of shops

The good sifu who does d tiling work is damn expensive

This guy who is doing d tiling work is a local chinese guy....

So when i combine the both.....around there lor

There r plenty of options out there and easy to say others r expensive...
It really depends on d tile quality and workmanship
Just a rough guidance
U want rm12 per sqft oso got.....
Again....I'm not an expert in this field

Since u said rm20 is slaughter price...
Please share with us wats a good price, wat tiles can b expected, how is d quality and etc.
This means your survey are still not enough. In KL area still got rm7-9 for workmanship.
Tiling work most of the time will be done by local chinese, because any uneven surface, they have to redo.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 02:45 PM

11,554 posts

Well, if you keep on looking on brand only, sure people will slaughter you. Hacking cost is rm0.50-1.
Again, you need to do more survey.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 03:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kkoil @ Oct 12 2014, 02:52 PM)
Rm0.50-1 for hacking is so cheap. Can I have the contractor contact? Thx
He won't cross state.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 03:59 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 12 2014, 03:37 PM)
that supersound guy do usually sound rude too direct. i guess he have to improve his sugarcoating skills.
i'm sure he meant no harm, though sometimes..  sweat.gif
anyway less than RM10 is indeed possible.
these. i bought these for RM8-something-i-can't-remember. >500 pieces for my house.
niro granite, homogeneous 2'x2' tiles. second grade, supposedly for commercial project.

well it's cheap. and it's 2nd grade. thus i leave it outside for testing.
In this cruel world, sometimes we need to be harsh. Else we get cheated for no reason.
Still some like to get cheated as by paying extra = quality doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2014, 09:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 12 2014, 05:18 PM)
this. i was skeptical at first considering it's 2nd grade. heard quite a bit horror stories regarding 2nd grade tiles.
but the supplier is willing to guarantee them. even willing to cut his fingers if they're of bad quality. laugh.gif

so went home with 2 boxes, randomly picked. checked them at home for their cut precision, flatness, and surface imperfection. found none. so committed to buy 500 more.

probably downgraded to sell off remaining stocks. the model is not available anymore in their 2014 catalog.
well worst case (if they're of bad quality) i'll use them to line the outdoor courtyard, house apron and outdoor deck. cost me only RM4k-ish to buy them. if they're really really bad quality i'll just arrange them outside on the soil as a walkway laugh.gif
If you are nice to them, you can get a deal on getting full refund on unused tiles.
2nd grade is basically nothing wrong with them, but going to the wrong shop sure you will get wrong info.

0.0840sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:22 AM