[Review] Dell Inspiron 14 7447

TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 04:23 PM, updated 11y ago

29 posts

Dell has just announced the Inspiron 14 7000 Series, which is a new high performance 14″ laptop that was specially designed and developed for youths. Youths might not have that much disposable income, but their parents who care for them might have more than enough money to send in their direction.
this laptop comes with the processor Intel Core i7-4710HQ, graphics of Nvidia Geforce GTX 850M and 8GB of RAM. It also has the display screen size 14-inch Full-HD IPS on Windows 8.1 operating system genuine.

I've been received this laptop and used it almost 2 weeks until now. So, I would share my review about what I've found on this laptop.

But first, forgive me if there's anything lack of information in my review...this is my first time writing a review about laptop..

Appearance
for me, the design looks simple but still good and attractive.. although it's more bulky than the previous Inspiron 14 7437.
It's weight is 2.23 kg as stated on Dell's website.

As from side view, there's media card reader and power-status light (front), two USB 3.0, one USB 2.0, HDMI port, headset port, Optical drive,
network port and security-cable port.

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

for surface and keyboard panel, it uses plastic material and also something feels like soft-rubber material (i guess it is fingerprint magnet?).
oil smudge and fingerprint could stick on it. somehow, you can just clean it with any glass cleaning cloth with applied of isopropyl alcohol.

user posted imageuser posted image

the colour display was good. screen brightness also good, quite bright for me..

This post has been edited by kreyl: Oct 10 2014, 09:48 PM
TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 04:23 PM

29 posts

-sound produce seems good and loud too, since it has MaxxAudio® Pro built-in. design of speakers also not bad, with red dot design.
but it seems quite easy to trap dust on it. need to use brush to remove the dust anyway..

-it has backlit keyboard. the keyboard is seems just okay to type. somehow, someone with hardcore-harsh typer must be careful to use it.
you must not harshly-typed on it.

-This is how the backside looks like. unfortunately, this laptop does NOT have either m.2 sata slot or mSATA slot for SSD though..

Battery
-for normal usage (browsing, play music and video, ms office), it can stands around 4hr 30 min to 5 hr

-the battery is actually removable..somehow, specs on Dell website says the battery is integrated..
i don't know why, but whatever. it's better to be removable anyway..

Performance

This post has been edited by kreyl: Oct 10 2014, 09:46 PM
TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 04:24 PM

29 posts

- this laptop also has 1TB 5400rpm hard disk with 8Gb sshd cache.For me, speed still like a normal HDD.
boot time sometimes quick, sometimes not so quick

Graphics benchmark: 3DMark (Fire Strike, Cloud Gate, Ice Storm)

Maxon Cinebench R15

-sadly, the graphic is not GDDR5, but GDDR3 instead..and yes, there's only small difference in performance between GDDR3 vs GDDR5, but still, GDDR5 runs better than GDDR3 though..most of latest laptop/graphic uses GDDR5, so there's a little downside of this laptop..

Temperature
-when stressed with Furmark, both chips produce for 67-68'C for GPU and 78'C for CPU.
-when idle, CPU core are around 50'C and GPU around 40'C (tested in my room temperature, around 27-29'C)

-This is the highest temperature recorded when I play Crysis 3

This post has been edited by kreyl: Oct 10 2014, 09:44 PM
TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 04:25 PM

29 posts

Game Test: Crysis 3
[1366x768] setting

for 1920x1080 (1080p) setting, you can see my post below
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry70808406

Conclusion:

The downsides of this laptop that I found is:
-keyboard not suitable for hardcore/harsh typer
-no mSATA/m.2 sata slot for SSD
-HDD 5400rpm quite slow for me
-Graphic chips only GDDR3, not GDDR5
-Laptop gets maximum 78'C, which is quite hot

for overall, I really satisfied with this laptop..one of the good laptop price with one of best CPU, paired with good graphics.
of course, there's always a better laptop to choose for your needs and your budget..my opinion could be different from yours..

Thanks for the views...any comments are welcome biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kreyl: Oct 10 2014, 09:52 PM
TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 04:39 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(shredder @ Oct 10 2014, 04:29 PM)
how about the price?
wow, so fast..I'm still editing this page sweat.gif
btw, retail price is RM 3199
TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 07:29 PM

29 posts

Crysis 3 1080p settings

TSkreyl
post Oct 10 2014, 08:27 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(din_kaixa @ Oct 10 2014, 08:17 PM)
Does it come with only  black color?  I think got red also, right?
Yup..it comes with black and red colour smile.gif

TSkreyl
post Oct 11 2014, 12:39 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(shredder @ Oct 11 2014, 09:06 AM)
Price seems to high coz other brands can offer gtx860m with similar price..
QUOTE(gbchye @ Oct 11 2014, 11:32 AM)
Which laptop brand got gtx860m around this price range?
Acer V15 Nitro VN7-591G-73A2k and Asus ROG G551JM...
both retail price at RM3399
seems a good deal too! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kreyl: Oct 11 2014, 12:42 PM
TSkreyl
post Nov 3 2014, 09:57 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(cynical66 @ Nov 3 2014, 08:21 PM)
Bro, about how much is the weight with battery removed? I'm currently using Asus N45SF...interested to change to this model cos i always prefer 14"...dun wan carry giant size laptop (laptop is laptop, shouldn't be giant like desktop)...If the weight is around my current asus, i would love to get it.

Hard to find a 14" laptop with such a spec these days, with dvd-writer summore & not touch screen..

Battery, i dun care cos i dun use battery (ok, maybe once a year)...

thanks for reply.
well, not sure about that...didn't test to weight this laptop yet..
but this laptop's weight with battery is 2.23kg as stated on Dell's website..
without battery, should be less than that.. hmm.gif

EDIT: I found on Dell's reference guide, show that battery's max weight is 0.38 kg..
so, this laptop's weight should be ~1.85kg without battery.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kreyl: Nov 3 2014, 10:41 PM
TSkreyl
post Nov 3 2014, 10:07 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Baohulu55 @ Nov 3 2014, 07:15 PM)
May I know whether the battery of this laptop good or not?
As u mentioned above, 5hours with surfing browser?
yes, around 4.30 to 5 hours with continuous surfing..
for heavy usage (games or software editing like AutoCAD ), didn't try it yet cause I always use power adapter instead..
I'm not kind of using battery too much..that's why removable battery option is best for me.. smile.gif
TSkreyl
post Nov 3 2014, 10:33 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(maidanuldefier @ Nov 3 2014, 08:11 AM)
I have the 4g version of this Laptop. Do you think i can add 4 more gb or is the 4g version limited this way?
I can't find anything on the internet about it and i'm not going to open it if i'm not sure.
This review was spot on.
Yes it is.

EDIT: i've emailed dell and they told me this laptop has 2 RAM slots and only one SATA(n).
it should be upgradable..this laptop has max support up to 16Gb..
so, adding 4Gb more should be no problem.. smile.gif

but, you should check either your laptop have 2x2Gb ram or 1x4Gb ram slotted inside..
you can check using this software..HWiNFO
look at "memory modules" section..

TSkreyl
post Nov 12 2014, 05:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Nov 5 2014, 08:50 PM)
Hi Kreyl... can you comment on the ips screen please? Viewung angle and color shift with angle.

Then how is the internet connection? Now many laptop got this problem. Acer V Nitro got people comment its wifi really big problem.

Hi. sorry for late reply..
1) for IPS screen, to me it looks great..colour display was good and it's quite bright too..
right now I can't take any picture as my phone got problem... sad.gif

2) So far no big problem for wifi..been using with my home streamyx and mobile hotspot..
the only thing is wifi suddenly disconnected..but it's RARELY happen..so far, wifi works well for me..
TSkreyl
post Nov 12 2014, 05:44 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(joosin1988 @ Nov 7 2014, 04:26 PM)
One question. Can the optical drive be remove and install caddy case with SSD?

Cheers~
QUOTE(cynical66 @ Nov 10 2014, 08:11 PM)
frankly, all laptop also can support hdd caddy, as long as the caddy design can fit...i think this laptop comes with standard dvd writer size..so, i think most probably no problem..
This laptop can support 9.5mm caddy case...one of the forumer here already tried it and it fits well.. biggrin.gif
TSkreyl
post Nov 12 2014, 05:48 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(aloy88 @ Nov 11 2014, 09:01 AM)
can this unit place FIFA 15 with medium spec at least ?
I think it should do well with medium settings...FIFA don't need very high requirement for it to play..GTX 850M should be enough.. smile.gif
TSkreyl
post Nov 12 2014, 05:52 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(jovene11 @ Nov 12 2014, 01:01 PM)
battery life goes by cycles...the more discharge and charge means your batt will flat sonner
Agree with that...and, I'm not kind of using battery too much..more on power adapter..
I really glad that this laptop's battery is removable.. biggrin.gif
TSkreyl
post Nov 30 2014, 12:55 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Thunder_Bolt @ Nov 22 2014, 02:08 AM)
How many years of warranty you selected when purchasing this laptop?

I'm considering whether to get the DellProSupport with Next Business Day on site support for 3 years or 4 years...difference of RM352...
I'd choose 2 years warranty only..If you have enough extra money, recommended to get 3 or 4 years.. smile.gif
TSkreyl
post Nov 30 2014, 01:34 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(joeyjoey22 @ Nov 27 2014, 11:08 PM)
hi kreyl i just receive my new dell inspiron 14 7447 core i7 yesterday same model to yours , and i have a big problem which is my backlight keyboard is not working =( when i check quickset  and i see keyboardbacklight application  and i click it, they say unable to detect backlight keyboard! pls help or post any suggestion sad.gif . thank you
could be your backlight not functioning...You can call Dell technical support regarding this issue
sorry to hear that.. sad.gif
TSkreyl
post Dec 28 2014, 12:47 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Dec 8 2014, 09:30 AM)
I bought the items for that as well biggrin.gif but want to ask if it's worth it to setup Intel Rapid Storage Technology with Crucial MX100 SSD in caddy case? Feels like I'm wasting the 8GB cache and the SSD space especially if I use the max 64GB for caching yawn.gif
you don't really need it cause SSD alone is good enough..somehow, doing it might make your system more quicker..
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/arc...%28intel+rst%29

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Dec 8 2014, 09:30 AM)
And an extra question: have anyone had issues with this laptop already? I have this laptop with the RM3199 specs in red, and after two months, prolonged gaming (Asphalt 8 for only two hours) can cause the keyboard and touchpad to lag or not register input at all!
Mine so far has been played Crysis 3 for hours (2-3 hours straight) and my keyboard didn't encounter that problem yet.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kreyl: Dec 28 2014, 12:50 AM
TSkreyl
post Feb 14 2015, 08:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(endy93 @ Feb 5 2015, 07:33 PM)
hey i just bought this and it's awesome.... until...

do you get screen flicker? its work fine for 2 weeks..  until now its often flickers.. i tried to ignore but its annoying.. do you get problem like me?
Didn't face that problem so far...better to call Dell technical support for this issue..sorry to hear that.. sad.gif
TSkreyl
post Feb 14 2015, 08:40 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(balat @ Feb 11 2015, 03:37 PM)
All right lads, I am buying this lappy.

There's really one thing bothering me now.

Any wifi issues with this? (Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160)

Too common now, Dell and wifi issues berpisah tiada, Intel wifi card it is.

Hope to see reply on this by honest enthusiast and owners, not traders.

mine, wifi works well without any problem so far.. smile.gif

0.0278sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:17 AM