[Review] Dell Inspiron 14 7447

TheDuckster
post Dec 8 2014, 09:30 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(cynical66 @ Nov 25 2014, 06:59 PM)
it deliver the same performance even in caddy case..you will now feel a difference between ssd in caddy case or without it...yes, u will be able to install ssd in caddy case, just like you are able to install windows in a normal portable harddisk that function through an usb cable..but of course those usb cable will be way slower..

no worries about this laptop..i'm writing this replay using this new inspiron 14, which arrive yesterday..lol
QUOTE(kreyl @ Nov 12 2014, 05:44 PM)
This laptop can support 9.5mm caddy case...one of the forumer here already tried it and it fits well.. biggrin.gif
I bought the items for that as well biggrin.gif but want to ask if it's worth it to setup Intel Rapid Storage Technology with Crucial MX100 SSD in caddy case? Feels like I'm wasting the 8GB cache and the SSD space especially if I use the max 64GB for caching yawn.gif

QUOTE(cynical66 @ Nov 14 2014, 04:33 AM)
Just made my purchase last wednesday. And, yes. Actually you could do some little upgrades or extras like adding rams. Just go to online chat with dell staff & they will help you.

For me, i didn't need the 16gb ram cos i'm using this laptop for multimedia purpose, more on movies & music editing. Maybe just some facebook game & old classic games like heroes of might & magic.

But, i did add an option that is not available if you customise it using dell site without assistance. I added an extra recovery discs, which cost me just RM2.00. Well, i do format my laptop myself before use & do a ghost image backup for easier & faster reinstallation next time, should anything happens.

Hope this helps for anyone who like to add some upgrades.
But is the 16GB RAM worth it? Was thinking of future-proofing it when I need the RAM for intensive media editing soon.

QUOTE(genocide_rfq @ Nov 14 2014, 04:51 PM)
Hai,
I would like to buy gaming laptop and quite interest in all suggestion that you provide ,but is it available to play for a long run? cos previously i'm using compact laptop and burn out  sweat.gif , not hardcore gamer but still very likely to play high graphic games.
This is GTX 850M tho, it can only barely support ultra on most recent games. Definitely good for now, but not future-proof, even if u decide to overclock the GPU.

QUOTE(kserby @ Nov 27 2014, 05:54 AM)
does the backlit keyboard can change colour?
No, it can't change color, it's only white

QUOTE(ricvader @ Dec 1 2014, 05:47 PM)
You must be havin a great time using it. Does it gets hot and gives loud fan noise while you let it run graphic intensive tasks?

how is the 1tb 5400rpm hard disk performing so far? fast enough?
I used EVGA precision to check its fan profile, it starts to get noisy when the fan reaches 60%. And tbh, with the 8GB SSD cache, the boot time is comparable to a medium-low-end SSD.

And an extra question: have anyone had issues with this laptop already? I have this laptop with the RM3199 specs in red, and after two months, prolonged gaming (Asphalt 8 for only two hours) can cause the keyboard and touchpad to lag or not register input at all!
TheDuckster
post Dec 14 2014, 02:01 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Dec 10 2014, 07:38 PM)
Dell haz taken out ips from this model that people inform me. Is it true? No more ips?
from what I see here, the IPS model is back again. Dell's been changing the specs a lot, there was a time when the RM3.2k model disappeared with IPS and SSHD. Seems like some weird thing going on.

QUOTE(joeyjoey22 @ Dec 11 2014, 09:53 PM)
hi guys can you give some picture of your cpu, gpu, hardrive temperature  with this laptop when idle and when gaming time? and i have a question in this laptop hardrive its seems too hot even though no application is running for my new inspiron 14 7447 is this normal or same issue to all user of this unit? guys pls post you comment  thanks alot  =) icon_question.gif
Call their Tech Support: they will teach you how to do a system checkup. during that system checkup, you will notice the temperatures, and they can come up with a solution. Generally nothing must go above 80 Celsius as a common rule. They have been helpful with me when I had keyboard issues.

TheDuckster
post Dec 17 2014, 08:01 PM

429 posts

*ignore*

This post has been edited by TheDuckster: Dec 17 2014, 08:03 PM
TheDuckster
post Dec 22 2014, 10:06 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Dec 18 2014, 01:55 AM)
So anyone can confirm that this laptop having keyboard lag issues? As well as the caddy case SSD with cable will decrease yhe performance by how much?
caddy case SSD don't require a cable, it's supposed to replace ur optical drive bay.

QUOTE(joeyjoey22 @ Dec 20 2014, 11:49 PM)
hey bro is your dell inspiron backlight keyboard? im so confuse if mine is backlight  or not, because when i receive this laptop the backlight keyboard is not functioning and  no logo of backlight in the F10 key  so maybe mine is not backlight?
backlight keyboard. if the F10 key doesn't have the backlight logo, i'm afraid to say urs is not the backlight model. But since ALL 14" 7000 series model have backlight, r u sure u r not confusing the 15" 7000 series with this?

QUOTE(Gluperdo @ Dec 21 2014, 12:31 AM)
Hi,guys...
Just tried installing a second HDD using the 9.5 mm laptop caddy,but it didn't work. BIOS recognizes the HDD,but once i boot up the OS,i can't see it in My Computer or under the Disk Manager.
Can somebody confirm a successful installation of the 2nd HDD using a laptop caddy? If yes,i would appreciate the steps on how to do it.
BIOS said it's AHCI, RAID or Legacy mode? and the hard drive isn't plug and play: they require a format (+ the company SSD software, if any) before use. check the box or the provided manual for the SSD or HDD
TheDuckster
post Dec 27 2014, 11:11 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Dec 24 2014, 11:10 AM)
I think they should make an update on the indicator light
where :
on sleep it blinks
fully charged longer blinks
so on and so forth
since there is only one indicator LED
agreed. gets annoying sometimes

QUOTE(daruma @ Dec 24 2014, 09:05 PM)
hi guys, is it easy to swap out the hdd for ssd?
swapping it is easy. setting it up as boot drive is the hard part.

QUOTE(Racerx @ Dec 25 2014, 12:20 AM)
Hi, can any owner of this laptop check the exact IPS screen model for this laptop?

Device Manager>Monitors>[right click, select properties]>Events

It should be the string right after "Device DISPLAY/"
they are smart: there is nothing on events whatsoever. must be a move by dell so that rivals can't figure out what is their monitor.

QUOTE(joeyjoey22 @ Dec 26 2014, 08:26 AM)
LOL  mine is 14"  dell inspiron core i7 - 4710hq maybe this model is not backlight, when i check the quick guide  it mention back light keyboard is optional.  doh.gif  and im so disappointed because  the free case bag is not a backpack, mine is sling type bag  sad.gif
That's funny. All Malaysian models comes with backlight. Quick guide will definitely say optional coz it's an international quick guide, hence some countries may not have it. Now, checking the exact model, i'm unsure.
TheDuckster
post Jan 5 2015, 08:36 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 3 2015, 10:47 PM)
I also planning to buy this model too...dun know why Dell dun let ppl custom add/upgrade the spec already...so need to contact the live chat customer service to ask for the upgrade?
they won't do it anymore apparently. but from what i know, it's still under warranty if u change the HDD or RAM. (unless u end up causing problems after the change) Specialty of Dell warranty.

QUOTE(PiggyD @ Jan 4 2015, 10:02 AM)
This modal no more in the Dell web site.
still here la
TheDuckster
post Jan 21 2015, 08:45 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Jan 13 2015, 03:30 PM)
Thanks for the thread!!

Any idea if this latest Lenovo Y40 is better than this Dell 7447?

http://www.lowyat.net/2015/01/new-lenovo-y...e-i7-processor/
specs of Lenovo seems like it has a lower graphics card compared to the Dell (but DDR5 memory bro) and lower power CPU
But this will of course translate into lower battery usage. (look at Lenovo processor: xxxxU VS xxxxM) Only problem with me is the monitor which is non-IPS, which will turn into a bit of hassle when i show friends how to do certain work.

but put that out of the equation, the functional design (side vents unlike bottom Dell vents) of the Lenovo and good choice of processor puts Lenovo a bit ahead.
TheDuckster
post Feb 2 2015, 06:57 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(0163119779 @ Jan 23 2015, 12:08 AM)
hrmm...does changing the harddisk will void warranty? plan to buy 1 but want to change my own ssd....can be done?
nope, it doesn't void the warranty as listed under Dell: u can swap the HDD back if it does anyways.

QUOTE(0163119779 @ Jan 24 2015, 12:25 AM)
can i know which shop got show this 7447 ips full hd version? Had been went to lowyat but non of the shop show this unit...I only able found a 7447 but without the full hd ips screen
check the PC fairs. they always sell the highest spec one, which is the IPS one.

QUOTE(justlbq @ Jan 24 2015, 12:33 AM)
Hi, wanna ask if any owner having light leaking out from the bottom of the screen when it's totally in black color? The moment i start up this laptop, when it shows Dell logo, i can see clearly there are at least 2 white light leaking from the bottom. It happens only in black screen. Is this normal?
i have not seen this yet. what model and specs is it?

0.0262sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:07 AM