[Review] Dell Inspiron 14 7447

jiachunn
post Oct 10 2015, 09:06 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(belthaz @ Oct 10 2015, 08:05 PM)
Hi, i would like to know other user nvidia driver version for this laptop? I have installed windows 10 on my i5 version of 7447, after i installed the driver which i obtained from dell website, Blue screen keep popping up.
Maybe not compatible yet. Better stick with window 8.1 first. I have the same problem as you do. I downgraded back to 8.1 and everything works perfectly.
belthaz
post Oct 10 2015, 11:56 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(jiachunn @ Oct 10 2015, 09:06 PM)
Maybe not compatible yet. Better stick with window 8.1 first. I have the same problem as you do. I downgraded back to 8.1 and everything works perfectly.
i see, can i know what version of nvidia driver did you use? Did you get it from dell website?
The funny thing is, i can use the laptop with no issue when i disable the gtx 820m card or uninstall the driver for that card.

ASSKICKERr
post Oct 13 2015, 02:01 AM

74 posts

[quote=tigerporc,Oct 6 2015, 11:57 PM]
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14-7447-...?oc=w510328myw8
The current Dell Inspiron 14 7447 specs as sold online is very different now...
CPU is now i5-4210H from i7, 4GB RAM from 8GB, FullHD Display (1920x1080) as mentioned is downgraded to 1366x788

Maybe the dealers would have the previous configurations still in stock...
I think thatsthe cheaper version.. with dos i5 and 4gb ram mmaybe without backlit keyboard..hhaha I hope it has backlit keyboard
DK82
post Oct 13 2015, 06:25 PM

Stealth Lurker
597 posts

QUOTE(jiachunn @ Oct 10 2015, 09:06 PM)
Fuuhhhhh. Luckily I didn't upgrade to Win10 yet.
jiachunn
post Oct 13 2015, 07:48 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(belthaz @ Oct 10 2015, 11:56 PM)
i see, can i know what version of nvidia driver did you use? Did you get it from dell website?
The funny thing is, i can use the laptop with no issue when i disable the gtx 820m card or uninstall the driver for that card.
The installer i got it from the guy who sold the laptop to me. Oh How do you disable it?
I cant even log in into the windows 10 after i installed that driver and force me to wipe all my data.
jiachunn
post Oct 13 2015, 07:50 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(DK82 @ Oct 13 2015, 06:25 PM)
Fuuhhhhh. Luckily I didn't upgrade to Win10 yet.
Lucky you mate. But now my lappy works perfectly under windows 8.1. Just doesn't encourage you to upgrade to windows 10 yet. I even have problem to adjust brightness after i upgrade to w10. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by jiachunn: Oct 13 2015, 07:51 PM
belthaz
post Oct 14 2015, 08:10 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(jiachunn @ Oct 13 2015, 07:48 PM)
The installer i got it from the guy who sold the laptop to me. Oh How do you disable it?
I cant even log in into the windows 10 after i installed that driver and force me to wipe all my data.
Oh you can't even log in ur windows. Ouch! force wipe all you data, it must've hurt if you didnt have any backup .

My case a lil different. I can still log into windows but random bluescreen will popup, then it'll restart all over again. I let it keep restarting for awhile(more then 15 minutes) until it stable for abit, then i enter device manager and disable the gtx 840 gpu.
Now everything works fine except the gpu and new found issue, webcam not detected. Makes me regret upgrading to windows 10.

If you dun mind, can you check the version of your nvidia driver in "Add or remove program", Nvidia driver 3xx.xx <-------------------
amarz82
post Oct 14 2015, 09:25 AM

Mine was already upgraded to Windows 10 several months back. So far so good. No problem at all. Sometime it does reset by it self because the default Windows 10 setting will perform auto update and restart the laptop when it is not being used. Just need to disable that setting in Update and Security > Windows Update > Advanced Setting > Select Notify.

Another advice before performing the upgrade, make sure your important software is still being supported by the Windows 10. It was really bad for me when after the upgrade, turns out my Bitdefender Free is not supporting Windows 10. But there were no notification about it at all, or perhaps it did but it's gone when it automatically restart during the upgrade process. So my laptop was really naked without an antivirus for almost a month.
tigerporc
post Oct 14 2015, 11:48 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(ASSKICKERr @ Oct 13 2015, 02:01 AM)
I think thatsthe cheaper version.. with dos i5 and 4gb ram mmaybe without backlit keyboard..hhaha I hope it has backlit keyboard
It does have the standard white backlight keyboard.
What I said still stands, there is no other configuration available for purchase now via Dell Malaysia online shop; they kept the initial launch price the same at RM3199 but specs reduced.
You would realise that Dell nowadays is very different (compared to lets say 5 years or more ago), their notebook possible configuration/customization on the online shop is very limited.
That's why I suggested to contact the local dealers...

QUOTE(amarz82 @ Oct 14 2015, 09:25 AM)
Mine was already upgraded to Windows 10 several months back. So far so good. No problem at all. Sometime it does reset by it self because the default Windows 10 setting will perform auto update and restart the laptop when it is not being used. Just need to disable that setting in Update and Security > Windows Update > Advanced Setting > Select Notify.

Another advice before performing the upgrade, make sure your important software is still being supported by the Windows 10. It was really bad for me when after the upgrade, turns out my Bitdefender Free is not supporting Windows 10. But there were no notification about it at all, or perhaps it did but it's gone when it automatically restart during the upgrade process. So my laptop was really naked without an antivirus for almost a month.
It wasn't that serious biggrin.gif
Windows 10 has Windows Defender automatically configured and enabled after the upgrade (unless you intentionally disabled it after upgrade?)
http://www.howtogeek.com/220232/how-to-use...-on-windows-10/

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Oct 14 2015, 11:53 AM
jiachunn
post Oct 14 2015, 07:20 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(belthaz @ Oct 14 2015, 08:10 AM)
Oh you can't even log in ur windows. Ouch! force wipe all you data, it must've hurt if you didnt have any backup .

My case a lil different. I can still log into windows but random bluescreen will popup, then it'll restart all over again. I let it keep restarting for awhile(more then 15 minutes) until it stable for abit, then i enter device manager and disable the gtx 840 gpu.
Now everything works fine except the gpu and new found issue, webcam not detected. Makes me regret upgrading to windows 10.

If you dun mind, can you check the version of your nvidia driver in "Add or remove program", Nvidia driver 3xx.xx <-------------------
Unfortunately I dont have any backup.. doh.gif Everything happen too sudden.
Sure. Mine is v358.30. Btw my driver is gtx 850M, not 820M.
Netherzapdos
post Oct 17 2015, 02:32 PM

Hey, i'm looking forward for this laptop and i have been doing so much research on it. Me and my dad found one, it is the i5 verison

Specs:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4200H 2.8GHz-3.4Ghz
GPU: GTX 850M 4GB DDR3
RAM: 4GB DDR3 (i can go up to 8GB)

Can this laptop run the latest games for at least medium settings to high? I've seen a few videos on youtube regarding on the same specs and they seem to handle the games smoothly (Battlefront, GTA V, Shadow of Mordor, Witcher 3 etc.)

Will it also heat up very much when playing games? Or just moderate heat?

My aim here is to play games so yeah, thanks if you're going to answer! ^.^
skr1107
post Oct 20 2015, 04:47 PM

51 posts

nice review bro, does the touchpad support multi touch?...
belthaz
post Oct 20 2015, 10:10 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(skr1107 @ Oct 20 2015, 04:47 PM)
nice review bro,  does the touchpad support multi touch?...
Yes with two finger scrolling and zooming...
ASSKICKERr
post Oct 23 2015, 05:44 AM

74 posts

Did the i5 version come woth the backlit keyboard?

riku2replica
post Oct 23 2015, 12:09 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(ASSKICKERr @ Oct 23 2015, 05:44 AM)
it stated "English Backlight keyboard" on dell MY site.
What is the first thing that come across your mind? sweat.gif
belthaz
post Oct 23 2015, 05:50 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(ASSKICKERr @ Oct 23 2015, 05:44 AM)
Yes, it comes with backlit keyboard.
xplod360
post Oct 27 2015, 10:08 AM

Dota 2 this laptop ho liao thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by xplod360: Oct 27 2015, 10:09 AM
belthaz
post Oct 27 2015, 11:43 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(xplod360 @ Oct 27 2015, 10:08 AM)
Dota 2 this laptop ho liao  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Cool... Bro, im just wondering... What windows version are you using? And what nvidia graphic driver are you using?
xplod360
post Oct 27 2015, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(belthaz @ Oct 27 2015, 11:43 AM)
Cool... Bro, im just wondering... What windows version are you using? And what nvidia graphic driver are you using?
Windows 8.1. All spec as stated above for inspiron 7447 except my model is Core i7. nivdia 333.11

Better downgrade bro to win 8.

We don't know yet any win 10 issues since it is new.

Even some gaming website still not supporting win 8 moreover win 10. No confirmation on Dota 2 on win 10, anyone?

Gameranger confirmed not supporting win 8 even my win 8 can play red alert 2 without any problem.

This post has been edited by xplod360: Oct 27 2015, 06:29 PM
belthaz
post Oct 27 2015, 10:14 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(xplod360 @ Oct 27 2015, 01:33 PM)
Windows 8.1. All spec as stated above for inspiron 7447 except my model is Core i7. nivdia 333.11

Better downgrade bro to win 8.

We don't know yet any win 10 issues since it is new.

Even some gaming website still not supporting win 8 moreover win 10. No confirmation on Dota 2  on win 10, anyone?

Gameranger confirmed not supporting win 8 even my win 8 can play red alert 2 without any problem.
I manage to play dota 2 on dell 7447 but i have to disable the nvidia gtx 850m ... Can only play it on low graphic settings with intel gpu.

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0459sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:26 AM