Anyone lived or living in Qatar?
Oct 10 2014, 09:53 AM, updated 12y ago
7,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Might need to go there for long term work ... How is the living cost? Have to discuss salary so must know all these before giving them a figure
Oct 10 2014, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Oct 10 2014, 09:59 AM) first of the first world infrastructure, anything in the modern world you want can get there. 3-4k RM? cost of living, if housing and transport is covered then it's same as any of the major cities for food and entertainment if housing and transport is not, you die, 3-4k for a ROOM is normal, one apartment at least 20k and above per month. of and prepare to be treated like 3rd world becasuse you is asian, the hierachy there is God>White Man >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>everyone else Am trying to nego for free accomodation and transport, but in case they are not putting those up, I'd factor that into my earnings lo.. |
Oct 10 2014, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Oct 10 2014, 10:08 AM) Yes accommodation is the killer there.. RM5k just for a room tau.. so dont get tipu when they wanna offer u RM10k as salary. End up saving nothing when u come back. Oh good luck with the weather. Ah, I see... Definately more than 10k la, even 15k I'd think twice.. QUOTE(rcracer @ Oct 10 2014, 10:09 AM) yup, normally accomodation is hard to get included, because i can tell you if asian memang they will pay less than ang moh for same position. rooms are bad, normally shared with indian or pakistanis, housing agent also treat you like them, they will say this room good bla bla then you will find it dirty smelly got kari stain on wall, you tell the agent this is not acceptable they will jeling you like bogimark who you think you are? my friend also nearly kena rob by housing agent, bring him to go see house then tried to pao kao him, he threatened to call police then they back off but left him there, he walked 2kms in long sleeve shirt, slacks, leather shoes to find a taxi QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 10 2014, 10:17 AM) Relatively decent position la |
Oct 10 2014, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(6216 @ Oct 10 2014, 11:00 AM) Min for apartment that you can live in is QAR8k. 12-15k better. Those are usually 2 rooms with 1 and half bath, fully furnished. I'm trying to wrap my head around the Riyal. We are negotiating on USD terms so have to do conversion Makan, better buy and cook. Go outside, exp. Eg, Coke in Carrefour cost ard QAR.90, you pay QAR3-8 in restaurants. You pandai, can find cheap food, but how often you eat the same food? Weather not too bad la. Less humid. I've been there June to Sept at over 40 degrees, still can walk, kasut je panas. But Oct-Feb/March nice.... |
Oct 10 2014, 11:55 AM
Oct 14 2014, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(s1nn3r @ Oct 12 2014, 09:25 PM) ayam in qatar almost 2 years now Hmm, so must target at least 15k la it seems... alright.. anything else I need to look out for besides living cost? the cheapest accomdation has to be sharing 9k for 3 room apt. so if u share with 2 friends, 1 peopel 3k car is cheap, i am driving mitsu lancer 2.0, bought it for 50k fuel ron98 is qar 1 per litre = rm0.86 per litre summer is hot can reach 50c but u dont need to go outside, most place got air conditioning if u come single, i think minium has to get 15k 3k for acco 2k for car 1k for food & etc another 9k to spend & savve salary varries very much, if you got expat package, usually can get 20k, if u got non-expat paclage, maybe only 5-8k for junior position |
Oct 14 2014, 10:05 AM
Oct 14 2014, 10:50 AM
Oct 14 2014, 01:34 PM
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:20 PM |