7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Artificial grass

TSmaya9090
post Oct 9 2014, 07:29 PM, updated 12y ago

94 posts

Anyone that can share their experience over artificial grass?
I'm worried that water might cause wear n tear and the burning heat in our country too.

I surveyed their price wasn't cheap, around 10 persqft. For that, I could install floor tiles over my side land of 5ft width.
idoblu
post Oct 9 2014, 09:53 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

you are right, better to just put tiles.
anything under our Sun will melt eventually
bengang13
post Oct 9 2014, 10:34 PM

624 posts

Yup rm10 cheapest. My main concern is the smell when water trap under it
McFD2R
post Oct 10 2014, 10:14 AM

1,074 posts

We're living in a concrete jungle. If we want less maintenance, artificial grass gives can give you a sense of lush surroundings, albeit a false sense.

I have it done on my 20th floor balcony and my study room. The feel may not be 100% like grass, but good enough and it helps to give it a soft look/feel. Beautiful I must say ..

No concern with smell at the balcony as someone was worried about. It doesn't have a flat bottom. Mine has small rubber studs at the bottom in close gaps so that water will flow down and towards the floor trap. Of course there will be moisture and such but the sun will dry it out enough ...
TSmaya9090
post Oct 10 2014, 10:29 AM

94 posts

McFD2R, how long have u installed them? Noticed any wear n tear yet? and how much was the cost?

Some say it's a DIY job...just buy some glue for the base to stick well to the concrete ground. How was yours done?

I was just cautioned that creepy crawlies love to hide underneath due to the moisture after rain or morning dampness. blink.gif

This post has been edited by maya9090: Oct 11 2014, 12:22 AM
orangipoh
post Dec 15 2014, 11:00 PM

The artificial grass is actually quite hardy. The shop next to mine has it installed on the kerb for the past year and there is no fading or wear and tear. Looks lush and green all year round and no water logging. They added some pebbles and stone paving as well.
dp82
post Dec 16 2014, 10:17 AM

862 posts

I bought mine at Sg Buloh there. Lot 34 /36, cant remember exactly which lot & price.

Been using for 6months, so far so good.
conan86
post Dec 16 2014, 12:59 PM

396 posts

nice topic ... im planning on doing it for my condo balcony as well due to the building is nearly 15 years n contractors used some cheap ass tiles that stain n dirty faster then i can clean them .. so i plan buy some artificial grass cover it plus it gives a fresh look towards the house as my balcony view is awesome haha
where to get RM10 psf ?? i was quited quite exp
McFD2R
post Dec 16 2014, 04:25 PM

1,074 posts

Mine was done for RM17-18 I think ... After searching, this was to me, the closest to a grass lookalike ..

http://www.inspiregrass.my/?utm_source=Goo...mpaign=HomePage
Eterna
post Jan 9 2015, 12:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Dec 16 2014, 04:25 PM)
Mine was done for RM17-18 I think ... After searching, this was to me, the closest to a grass lookalike ..

http://www.inspiregrass.my/?utm_source=Goo...mpaign=HomePage
Came here to ask about Inspire Grass and found your post. Are you using this on your balcony? I plan to do the same on mine. Any complains so far? I plan to go there this weekend. Any tips before I do?

Thanks!
McFD2R
post Jan 9 2015, 01:45 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Eterna @ Jan 9 2015, 12:26 PM)
Came here to ask about Inspire Grass and found your post. Are you using this on your balcony? I plan to do the same  on mine. Any complains so far? I plan to go there this weekend. Any tips before I do?

Thanks!
So far, it has been problem free. Personally, I'd suggest doing a yearly clean up to prevent dust built up underneath, which may then prevent water from flowing to the floor trap efficiently. Just roll it up, wash down with a pail of water, mop and wait till dry before unrolling it again. That's what I plan to do.

It's a nice feel when on a cool day, sitting in the balcony with your feet stepping on grass smile.gif even though artificial. I like Inspire because the grass has a very inconsistent look in terms of color, which gives it a more natural look.
lyt25_1234
post Jan 9 2015, 03:09 PM

1,152 posts

Been using it on outdoor yard which exposed to direct sunlight for two years now.
So far still looking good!
Eterna
post Jan 9 2015, 03:22 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Jan 9 2015, 01:45 PM)
So far, it has been problem free. Personally, I'd suggest doing a yearly clean up to prevent dust built up underneath, which may then prevent water from flowing to the floor trap efficiently. Just roll it up, wash down with a pail of water, mop and wait till dry before unrolling it again. That's what I plan to do.

It's a nice feel when on a cool day, sitting in the balcony with your feet stepping on grass  smile.gif  even though artificial. I like Inspire because the grass has a very inconsistent look in terms of color, which gives it a more natural look.
That's a good tip. Thanks! BTW, this is totally DIY-able right? Just come with our measurements I suppose?
McFD2R
post Jan 9 2015, 03:39 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Eterna @ Jan 9 2015, 03:22 PM)
That's a good tip. Thanks! BTW, this is totally DIY-able right? Just come with our measurements I suppose?
Yes, you can DIY yourself. If I'm not mistaken, maximum width is 6 feet, if wider, they will have a sticky tape to join the other piece.
lyt25_1234
post Jan 9 2015, 04:07 PM

1,152 posts

sticky tape to join? I think your type is different than mine...
Lester1987
post Jan 9 2015, 04:17 PM

2,017 posts

My Balcony is 16ft x 3 ft. So if calculate 20 per sqft, it will cost RM1k? but now they have tiles on it, Just put is above the tiles like a carpet? it wont move around?
renodiy
post Jan 9 2015, 06:28 PM

245 posts

can share some photos of the artificial grass u guys installed?

is it ok to pun directly on sand?
nxtpg
post Jan 12 2015, 09:34 AM

601 posts

Ecograss sold at fair. Rm350 for 1 x 4 meters. 20mm pile thickness
enriquelee
post Jan 12 2015, 09:41 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Is the artificial grass come with warranty?
nxtpg
post Jan 12 2015, 09:44 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 12 2015, 09:41 AM)
Is the artificial grass come with warranty?
Precuts like this no warranty. Non precut comes with 6 or 10 yrs warranty. But its really cheap

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:37 PM