Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

phat_newbie
post Jul 6 2007, 08:36 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Jul 5 2007, 09:20 PM)
HIHI....Do u know about Curtin University of Technology at Perth??What u think about this UNI??.I got offered to study pharmacy at there.But i am stii considering whether to study at Aus or study at local.I heard from many saying that study at Aus have lot of lot of lot of great experience.Can share some with me?
I graduated from Curtin University of Tech, but with a Bach. degree in Engineering majoring in Electronics and Communications. First of all, the campus is superb. Very very big with a lot of greenery and the facilities are great. As for food, plenty of places to eat on-campus and the city is about a 20 minutes ride by bus. The engineering lecturers there are quite helpful, but they really prefer the students to be independent. And don't worry about the students there. 75% of my class last time consisted of Malaysian, Singaporean, and Indonesian chinese. Makes you feel quite at home. You don't even have to worry about getting a car there (although it's cheap) because the public transportation there is super efficient and they have concession rates for students (pay only half price).

I had a lot of friends there doing their pharmaceutical course in Curtin. If you plan to pursue a pharmaceutial course at Curtin, I only have 1 advice for you. You have to study extremely hard. It is quite a tough course. A few of my friends dropped out during 2nd year coz they could not take the pressure. We always complained amongst ourselves about the difficulty level of the syllabus for the pharmaceutial course and engineering course. However, it was all worth while once you finish your course because you know that the quality of education that you got. Put your 100% effort during the semester and enjoy 100% during the breaks.

The commerce courses there are really relaxing though. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by phat_newbie: Jul 6 2007, 08:38 AM
phat_newbie
post Jul 6 2007, 11:20 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(veronicawmh @ Jul 6 2007, 09:11 AM)
Hi~ When I was in Perth, I stayed just 5 mins from Curtin. Most of my friends that i met outside school were studying in Curtin uni. I also got friends who did Pharmacy courses there. Yes i agree that they always complain about how hard the course is. The degree course is also a long process, i think it's 4 or 5 years. You do have to put in a lot of effort into studying it. It is also interesting to know that around 70% of the uni population are asians! biggrin.gif It's funny isn't it~

Life in Perth, for most ppl who go there to study uni, they complain that Perth's life is super boring. Even I did. But once u get to know more ppl, its pretty alrite. Words to Malaysians, don't always go shopping by converting all those Aus dollars to Ringgit. Cos if so, u will not buy anything at all. The prices there r much higher, especially food if u dine at restaurants. I suggest that u stock up on groceries especially pasta, then cook at home. It's much cheaper that way. Go shop for groceries around 4.30pm, that's when all the fresh foods' prices r reduced. If u wana find some cheap places to eat, i got a few places to recommend. But i think u better msg me personally as i duno if i can mention those names here  blush.gif n oso cheap places to shop! some clothing prices r even cheaper than Msia tongue.gif

Public transport is super efficient~ i'm actually back in Msia now but i wish to go back there already!!! biggrin.gif many good points there, i just didn't appreciate them when i was there. so, i mite go back there soon thumbup.gif
Were you staying in Vic Park?? Coz I had like tonnes of friends who were staying there. Walking distance to the main bus stop in Curtin. The hostels there are pretty good too, especially Vickery coz they had tennis courts there and I play there quite often. I stayed in Murdoch, right opposite of Murdoch Uni. The corner house facing the underpass bridge. So, my bus ride from my house to Curtin was nearly 45 minutes.

Totally agree with you when the first impression on Perth was a boring no life place. But I find the place quite ok once I got used to it. Went travelling quite often to Swan Valley for wine tasting in the vineyards and their dining there is absolutely superb. Travelling down south to Albany was fun as well. Initially, I was doing the AUD$ to MYR conversion everytime I went out. But after 2 months, didn't bother doing the calculations anymore? The chicken rice in karawara Coles is cheap. AUD$4 for a bountiful plate of chicken rice at the time when I was still there (which was nearly 4 years ago). And there is this japanese outlet called Mr. Samurai or something like that. Their fried chicken rice sets were fabulous and cheap. Man I miss that place.

Just talking about the environment is making me miss the place already. cry.gif
phat_newbie
post Jul 6 2007, 12:42 PM

265 posts

phat_newbie
post Jul 9 2007, 04:27 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jul 6 2007, 08:10 PM)
hi there, i want to know wat uni are recommended for E&E engineering in Australia?

how many intakes do they have? i heard that you need to take an english exam( IELTS ) in order to study in Australia.
For E&E engineering in Australia, I guess the most popular uni I have heard during my time of study for this course would be Melbourne Uni and Sydney's University of Technology. The other unis are OK, but these 2 are more reputable I guess. I could be wrong though, better consult IDP and see.

If your 1119 for SPM is 3(b) and above, I think you don't have to take IELTS. I took IELTS last time because my college told me that it's a pre-requisite. But when I arrived in Aus, I was told that I don't need to take IELTS because my SPM's 1119 results was 3(b).
phat_newbie
post Jul 11 2007, 09:26 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 10 2007, 07:19 PM)
I thought you need IELTS to apply Aus uni?The uni's prospectus didnt say they accept 1119.
Probably the requirements have changed. But I'm pretty sure when I went over to Curtin Uni in 2001, I was told by the Uni that IELTS is not needed if your 1119 is of 3(b) and above. They ignored my IELTS cert and took my 1119 cert instead.

0.0494sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:26 PM