Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

hercules899
post Dec 31 2006, 12:48 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(nFiniteFX @ Dec 28 2006, 11:42 PM)
1.) I don't think getting visa is that hard just that when you go for medical checkups that applies to the visa application, make sure to tell your doc to give you "healthy" status. Last time, my stupid doc put down a note "overweight" on the medical checkout slip and it causes my visa application delayed. So, do take note of that. Other than that, it should be fine. btw, which college are you studying/graduated from atm?

2.) Finding jobs in Australia isn't that hard because Australia need work force for professional field. I don't know much about pharmacist but all I know Australia has a lot of demand for engineering field work force. One good example, my class, guess how many people are doing for final years, a total of 20ish peeps compared to a large hall full of Commerce students. So, figure out. But anyway, shouldn't be a problem getting a job for as long as you have PR status in hand, makes things a lot easier. Oh btw, just incase if you didn't know, if you are getting PR, you need to sit for English test such as Cambridge ESOL so on as its a part of requirement for applying PR.
Wow, I have been worrying about this for weeks. However, I am underweight.
Is this a problem? Will this cause any difficulties when applying for visa?
What do you mean by "tell your doctor to give you healthy status"?
hercules899
post Dec 31 2006, 04:22 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Dec 31 2006, 04:16 PM)
means ask him close 1 eye .. give duit kopi 10 bux .. ask him juz write 'SEMUA OK'
You are asking me to bribe?

I dont want to risk my scholarship.By the way, I heard that the doctors are pretty strict on medical check-up. Scarry.
hercules899
post Jan 1 2007, 12:24 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Dec 31 2006, 04:41 PM)
You will have to have a medical check-up by one of the doctors in DIMIA's list. They are picked by the high comm. so it is not advisable to get away from things 'the Malaysian style'. Australia is a VERY strict country and you won't want to be in trouble. BTW, being underweight or overweight is not a serious problem! I'm 169cm, 16 years old and 47kg(underweight) and my visa was accepted.
I am 19 year-old, 174cm, 49kg rclxub.gif rclxub.gif .

Hope I can get through this. sweat.gif

hercules899
post Jan 19 2007, 05:01 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 19 2007, 04:42 PM)
need help here...for temporary accomodation...should i stay into my basser college straight away or stay in malaysian hall for a couple of days first...goin to unsw...
no need temporary accomodation, just ask for permission to stay at your hostel earlier.
hercules899
post Jan 25 2007, 07:38 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(knuxed @ Jan 25 2007, 11:05 AM)
oookkk,looks like they taking their own sweet time or i am really fcked up.Time to panic,they just say the medical requirement is finalised but have not updated the passport section.Odd as I already sent them in the beginning of the week
It has already been 2 weeks since I did medical check up..................................... hmm.gif
hercules899
post Jan 25 2007, 10:39 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(MildBluese @ Jan 25 2007, 08:06 PM)
Same over here. It has already been 8 days.

Are you below 18? They say if we're below 18, it might take longer. That or the immigration people have decided to go for another holiday. >.>
I am 19 year-old, now the server is down. I did it manually, should have opted the e-panel option rclxub.gif
hercules899
post Jan 25 2007, 10:41 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(xng @ Jan 25 2007, 09:26 PM)
Unusually long, it took me only 2-3 days after medical checkup to get my visa.

Maybe your doctor haven't sent yet.
He said he sent, I hope he did.
hercules899
post May 8 2007, 02:30 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Shinisme @ May 5 2007, 10:03 PM)
anyone could tell me how much is da fees for engineering courses in UWA and Curtin?
plannin to do mechanical engineerin  cool2.gif
went thru da website but couldnt exactly get da exact amount
Roughly 16000 to 22000 dollars per year, dont forget the 10% increment for each year .
hercules899
post Oct 15 2007, 08:03 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(razorkid @ Oct 12 2007, 02:59 PM)
agreed
working here in australia is so nice
i was working in McD for around $14 and hour, but if u are >21 years it'll be higher
1 week i get around $100-200 but now i stopped coz no time  wink.gif
i wanna try working as a barista $20+ an hour  nod.gif
Hey, I just wanna ask, How did u guys manage to secure the job? I mean, how did u guys apply for it? Did u guys go to one shop and another to search ? As far as I am concerned, there are only a few shops post their advertisements on the door...............................
hercules899
post Nov 12 2007, 09:54 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Nov 12 2007, 07:53 AM)
limeuu, I think you underestimated the HR people in Malaysia. They do very often know which universities are more prestigious. However, they might and might not be biased in selecting candidates for interview from different universities. From my experience, it is easier to get an interview if you come from a famous university and the interview itself might be easier too. I have friends studying in different universities across Australia and share my view on this subject matter.

Added on November 12, 2007, 8:02 am

SonnyCool, I did not see any Australian electronic and electrical engineering course ranking around the internet. So, can you tell me where did you secure the above information? So far, I remember my engineering friends telling me that UNSW had the best reputation for engineering thereby having the highest TER score requirement. Anyway, I still believe the group of eight is a safer bet if you were to look for reputable universities within Australia.
I am afraid not, The highest TER requirement from Australia for engineering degress is University of Sydney. UNSW has the lowest TER requirement among the G8 universities because it has the largest students intake .
hercules899
post Nov 12 2007, 07:29 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Nov 12 2007, 10:11 AM)
Well, a quick comparison for 2008 intake. UNSW: http://www.international.unsw.edu.au/futur...ntry_guide.html . University of Melbourne: http://www.futurestudents.unimelb.edu.au/a.../augscores.html. I didnt bother to check the TER requirement for Uni of Sydney. But your claim that UNSW has the lowest TER requirement for engineering among G8 is false.
The TER requirement from University of Melbourne provided by you for local students only. brows.gif When I applied ( year 2006), For INTERNATIONAL students,The minimum TER for Each Uni roughly as shown below:

University of Mel 85 (will be considered) 91 guaranteed

University of Sydney 92

University of Queensland 89

UNSW 85

UNSW was the lowest among these 4 universities.

0.0509sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:03 PM