7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

chris_c28
post Jun 13 2007, 12:59 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 13 2007, 12:45 PM)
r u in rmit? icon_rolleyes.gif
Obviously not. I'm just highlighting how students can misunderstand their roles as well as those of their academics at university.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jun 13 2007, 01:00 PM
chris_c28
post Jun 18 2007, 08:59 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ Jun 18 2007, 12:42 PM)
i have a question here....like say we go on plan to get the free phone but we did not fulfil the contract for 2 years..mayb due to bad services or wat so ever..........is the phone stil ours or we have to return it??what happen if we dun return it??

lol....jz stating sum possiblities.
If you terminate your contract before it ends, you'll most likely have to pay out the rest of the cost of the phone (sometimes, they have an exit charge). This will be stated in the contract you signed, so there's no "free" escape. A lot of people pay out their contract before it's due because they want to upgrade to a new phone. That's how mobile operators profit....and if you're wondering if you can choose to not pay, then no, you can't.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jun 18 2007, 09:00 PM
chris_c28
post Jun 25 2007, 02:24 PM

882 posts

Has anyone seen the new revised changes to the ESOS Act affecting international students?

http://aei.dest.gov.au/AEI/ESOS/default.htm

Universities across the nation should now be announcing these changes to their students and how it affects them.

Basically, the new policy now makes study visa extension rules stricter than before. Students are required to complete their degrees within the timeframe set in their eCOE and extensions are only granted on exceptional grounds. Afaik, students are encouraged to overload if they think they can't finish their degrees on time (because they may have switched courses or done less than a full load previously).

I've tried asking the international student support group at my uni and they said it won't affect the majority of students and that at this point in time, nobody knows the full effects as the implementation only begins July 1st.

EDIT: I've been informed that students doing the minimal load (like 18 units) every session should be concerned about this change as they can no longer do this under the new regulations.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jun 25 2007, 03:00 PM
chris_c28
post Jul 4 2007, 11:58 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jul 4 2007, 10:46 AM)
AUD VS MYR on the rise  cry.gif
I know. If this rises > 3.5, it's going to be crazy now that USD is just around that figure.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jul 4 2007, 11:58 AM
chris_c28
post Jul 8 2007, 08:21 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ Jul 7 2007, 07:52 PM)
Wanna ask some advice here...if I were to study Accounting and Finance or Business degree, which Uni in OZ will be better at that two courses? I heard that UniSA, Curtin, UTS and Uni of Melbourne are good...but I do not know which one to choose from and also, I heard that the rent is quite high there..will it be cheaper for me to stay at hostel?
You may want to consider UNSW too, as their Accounting and Finance disciplines have been consistently ranked top in Asia-Pacific in the past few years, and they have recently merged with the AGSM, forming the biggest business faculty in Australia. If UniSA, Curtin, UTS and Melbourne are your ONLY viable options, then Melbourne is the best choice as their business faculty is currently the 2nd in Australia, above all other unis. This is all only important if you really care about rankings.

Source: http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=991974

Through my own observations, the best place for a degree in Accounting and Finance in Sydney is UNSW or Sydney University. There is virtually no difference between them as they are pretty good. Macquarie and UTS would be next up the list in Sydney.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jul 8 2007, 08:25 PM
chris_c28
post Jul 11 2007, 01:48 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 11 2007, 11:16 AM)
Thanks,i currently have an agent handling my applications.

As far as i know,University of Adelaide is quite specialised in engineering.They have a wide variety of courses in engineering but less than what UNSW offer.

I dont really mind if the place is boring or not since most likely i'll bring a decent gaming PC there with me.My PC will be one of my main source of entertainment but i rarely turn down if my friends ask me to go out with them.

Im just need more comments about that uni.I have been getting some positive feedback from those who are currently studying there now.So far,i still havent got any negative feedback from that uni.

Btw,im planning to do E&E engineering.
If you're serious about Engineering, you should consider UNSW, Melbourne or Monash as these are the heavyweights in Engineering studies here. Afaik, they lead some of the biggest Engineering research groups in the country and you'll get first hand experience in technical knowledge. I think you were also concerned that the Electrical Engineering programs offered by these unis do not have "Electronics" in the name, but looking at the content, they do have courses such as Embedded Circuit Design, Digital Signals, Electronics and Circuits, etc. in the program. It's just the naming convention that the university prefers to use, but they do not reflect the actual content as far as I'm aware.
Then again, the costs are much higher studying in Sydney or Melbourne and I think the fees are more expensive too, so it all really depends on what you're ready to go for. If you have applied to all of them, then you can actually "cherry-pick" among them.
chris_c28
post Jul 12 2007, 09:59 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jul 12 2007, 08:52 PM)
Actually, im considering whether to further my study to australia or do it in University of NOttingham Malaysia Campus.

If i would choose australia, I would have to wait for months but if i choose UNiM, i can start in sept 07.

I scare i will waste alot of time to wait until feb 08...
Depends whether you want to study locally or overseas. The experience will be pretty different.

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jul 12 2007, 08:52 PM)
Any universities in aus has good reputation with good internship training in engineering esspecially e&e besides uni in sydney or south wales?

One more thing is can i remain at Australia upon my graduation to find job in Australia?
Most universities have some sort of industry links/partnerships to enable their students to find positions to satisfy their compulsory 60 day industrial training (IT) requirement to graduate as an Engineer accredited by the IEA. International students may complete these in their home country.
There are co-op scholarships sponsored by major firms which ties a degree with work experience, i.e. students get paid while studying and undertaking part time work, but these are usually offered to permanent residents and citizens.
The best university in this regard (internships) that I'm aware of is UTS (University of Technology Sydney). Their Engineering programs include a compulsory 12 months paid internships with companies which they have contracted with, so you're pretty much guaranteed a job in one of their partner firms. I'm not aware of any other unis which offer such a deal, so others may want to chip in their thoughts.

EDIT: Removed my incorrect interpretation of the visa changes to avoid further confusion. Please check RBR's comments or http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...ation/index.htm

To answer your question, yes, you can remain in Australia upon graduation to find a job here.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jul 13 2007, 10:16 AM
chris_c28
post Aug 3 2007, 09:50 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jul 31 2007, 09:39 PM)
Hmm =/ but too bad UNSW doesnt has E&E engineering ... =/ too bad for me @@
Actually that's not quite true. UNSW's Electrical Engineering program does not have Electronics in its name because Electronics is a specialisation within Electrical Engineering, so in your 3rd and 4th year, you'll get to select electives which allow you to specialise in a specific area of your expertise. Those wishing to do Electronics will get to choose subjects relevant to this field. The first 2 years are common for all students.
chris_c28
post Aug 7 2007, 06:32 PM

882 posts

It's not feasible to do a conversion for everyday purchases like food and groceries because these are necessities. Before you come to Australia, you would already have known the expected living costs and would have taken into account an average inflation of 4% and an exchange rate which fluctuates between 2.7 to 3.0, so I think there should be funds set aside just to accomodate that.
chris_c28
post Aug 9 2007, 11:14 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(nerd nation @ Aug 8 2007, 11:43 PM)
I'm in Adelaide. Rental depends on the location. In the city it could cost you from $130 to $190 per week, excluding bills. In the suburbs, about $80 to $120 depending on how far away from city. A lunch averages about $5 to $8. Dinner would cost more. Best is to do your own cooking if you wanna save. Overall living cost in Adelaide is lower compared to bigger cities like Melbourne, Sydney, or Brisbane.
That is not much different from average Sydney/Melbourne prices, except rental in the faraway suburbs. However, for the same amount of rent, you might have gotten a larger property.
The other problem is cooking. What I have found is that if you are in an intensive degree (like Engineering/Med/Law?) and fulfilling work commitments, you'll be too tired to cook by the end of the day, unless of course you can do your readings while cooking/washing.
chris_c28
post Aug 10 2007, 10:27 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 10 2007, 03:03 PM)
every family has its own problem, its a long story to say. but i start wondering whether coming here is a wise decision... lol

anyway, wat course r u doing? wat year?
Yay, UNSW. Let's meet up!
chris_c28
post Aug 17 2007, 08:14 AM

882 posts

Some interesting links on Australian higher education:

http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/more-t...6857512039.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/highereducation/

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Aug 17 2007, 08:16 AM
chris_c28
post Aug 19 2007, 12:54 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Aug 19 2007, 12:27 AM)
Why average pay at Australia is around Aussie 17/hr ??
while Malaysians only get around average 5/6 per hour ??

I'm talking about part time jobs though smile.gif
I'm not sure what you're getting at, but if you are comparing between wages in Australia and those in Malaysia, here's the reason:
Higher standards of living. You pay $8 for a bowl of noodles here, but RM3 at home.
Petrol, consumer goods and generally everything costs more than they do in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Aug 19 2007, 12:54 AM
chris_c28
post Aug 19 2007, 11:52 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Aug 19 2007, 11:00 PM)
HIHI everybody out there...I really need help here...Any1 know about University of Sydney or from this uni?I got an offer from there to study pharmacy...I may accept it...  icon_question.gif
What do you want to know about USyd? It's a good (and old) uni and it's within Sydney CBD, close to Newtown, Redfern and Broadway. I believe there are a few here from USyd, but they don't seem to visit often.
Anyway, here's the university webpage if you haven't already visited it.
http://www.usyd.edu.au/

chris_c28
post Aug 20 2007, 07:31 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Patrick12 @ Aug 20 2007, 01:20 PM)
NIce to know u Chris and thanks a lot for ur reply as there r only a few sources of info that i am able to get from...Are u from USyd?May i know how life over there compare to here?I found that it is near to a market and China town...What do u think about Sydney University Village?Is there any person in charge to take me to the Uni when i arrive at the airport and guide me over there?Thanks a lot Chris...
No, I'm not from Usyd (from UNSW, cross-town rival wink.gif ).
Anyway, you should search around the site, there is an International students page that tells you all about what you're inquiring (airport, accomodation, etc.):
http://www.usyd.edu.au/stuserv/issu/

USyd has a big campus, which is spread across the city, with the Newtown campus being the main one. One nice thing is that it is easily accessible by train and bus. I have no experience with Sydney University Village. It looks like a typical student accomodation service much like Unilodge.

Life in Sydney....that's a tough question to me (self-confessed geek). I find Sydney very multicultural, much like any other city in Australia I guess. It is a big city, but beyond the CBD, most suburbs look the same. The North Shores are really nice as it is more modern than the older East and West suburbs. The Eastern suburbs are where most of the beautiful beaches are. The central shopping/entertainment area in central CBD (Pitt St) will undergo a major redevelopment beginning next month. Northern CBD is basically a financial district where all the big multinationals are. USyd is close to Chinatown, but still not a walking distance.

Basically, you would want to live in the Eastern suburbs (including CBD), as public transport and most other things are much more accessible.

Chinatown in Sydney isn't really big nor grand like those in the US, mainly because you can get Asian stuff anywhere in Sydney. Thus, the appeal has somewhat diminished.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Aug 20 2007, 07:32 PM
chris_c28
post Sep 6 2007, 09:44 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Sep 6 2007, 08:56 PM)
I notice asian really does have the notoriety to underpay, overwork employees.

Especially those from Hong Kong. Inevitable. I'm working whole load, getting paid little..thats just sad
Then refuse to, work elsewhere. They are exploiting students because they know students tend to be submissive, especially international students. We're Malaysians, show them that we have self-dignity.

Added on September 6, 2007, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 6 2007, 09:39 PM)
yeah, my first choice is still monash first cos it offers 5 yrs medicine. but if no choice then i'll go for melb u, but on the bright side, if i dont wanna waste too much money on medic if i'm in melb u i can oways take something else after the biomedicine degree. =)
UNSW Med offers Undergraduate Medicine too, albeit it's 6 years. It's in Sydney, though, but studying/living in Melbourne doesn't make it any cheaper, so it's another alternative for you.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Sep 6 2007, 09:48 PM
chris_c28
post Sep 7 2007, 10:32 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 7 2007, 09:50 PM)
oh, sydney is a nice place, bit hot in summer, loads of bush fire and stuff. but nice scenes, prob is the cost of living is high and the fees for uni is quite exp rite? >.< but, i'll apply to different uni after my foundation.
No, as I mentioned, if you can afford Melbourne, you can afford Sydney.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Sep 7 2007, 10:32 PM
chris_c28
post Sep 9 2007, 01:35 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Sep 9 2007, 12:52 PM)
LOL yeah, whats salary for an actual fresh grad ? As an engineer ?
http://www.apesma.asn.au/surveys/engineers...ary_for_web.pdf

Engineers are in high demand here currently, due to an industry-wide supply shortage. The average in Sydney is around $48k-$60k for fresh grads afaik, mainly in IT and Telecommunications. The highest paid engineers are those in mining due to the resources boom in WA.
chris_c28
post Sep 17 2007, 10:14 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(Shugan @ Sep 17 2007, 09:56 AM)
Anyone studying in UNSW? I heard the medical course over there is good and the cost is quite reasonable.. Any idea?
Read the post above you ^^.

I'm also at UNSW, albeit not Medicine.
chris_c28
post Sep 17 2007, 08:46 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Shugan @ Sep 17 2007, 10:42 AM)
How's the life over there? What course are you taking?
I'm doing Software Engineering/Commerce with a major in Finance.
Life's ok here, but very hectic. During session, we're pretty much busy all the time because there is a lot of readings and assignments to do. SENG assignments are a killer as they take up a lot of time. As we work on a lot of research projects (yes, even for undergraduates), the stuff is pretty challenging in itself.
Sydney's a beautiful place and I'd say it's not expensive if you're comparing it with Melbourne. However, you might get less Malaysians here than you do in Melbourne.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:08 PM