Don't forget the water piplines they are builing 24/7 to pipe in water from the Gold and Sunshine Coasts.
Dammit man, fill up the damn dams already! 4 min showers?
Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
Jun 7 2007, 07:58 AM
2,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Don't forget the water piplines they are builing 24/7 to pipe in water from the Gold and Sunshine Coasts.
Dammit man, fill up the damn dams already! 4 min showers? |
Jun 9 2007, 11:05 AM
Brrrr-isbane all right! Its freezing! My place is an ice block!
Thankgoodness the libaraies are heated! |
Jun 10 2007, 10:20 AM
Jun 11 2007, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jun 10 2007, 11:17 PM) I currently use Optus pre-paid. When I last looked, the local rates were the same for all providers. For international, I think Three is the cheaper one.QUOTE I think I actually might need a heater now. Do you guys switch on all night, or just when you're awake? I just turn it on when I'm awake and trying to concentrate. Usually once I heat up my bed it'll be ok. If it is really cold, an electric blanket will be the better alternative than a full blown heater. electric blankets don't take up more than 700W I think.Other than TPG, Optus and Internode, what other ISP's do you guys recommend? i'm using Telstra. |
Jun 16 2007, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(Tom Welling @ Jun 15 2007, 02:05 PM) hi there...gt some questions here... Honestly, I hear people say that Canberra (thus ANU) is boring and in the middle of nowhere, but the guys who go to UNITEM and MMU(Cyberjaya) don't seem to mind. Keep in mind Canberra, while an artificial ctiy like Putrajaya and Cyberjaya, is more established than the former 2.anyone here studies in ANU? how's the environment there? living cost? izzit as expensive as Sydney, Melbourne?? i'm kinda interested on pursuing Economics there next year...currently taking a lvl...informations i have now seem to be rather limited... hope that someone here can enlight me That said, the good news is that living cost(s) are not going to as high as Melbourne and/or Sydney. However, being more isolated, you pay a premium on things like food, papers etc, which have to brought in from outside. However, I don't think the price gap is that big. On ANU however, I can't help you there. As far as I can see, you'll probably be the first LYN'er there! |
Jun 18 2007, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(bubucaca @ Jun 17 2007, 07:38 PM) Bus fares being reduced? Do such things exist?Here in QLD we are facing a nice hike in bus fares. After the increased it last year. Damnit man, they use natural gas. I don't they are affected THAT much! But yeah, QLD, SA, WA TAS are the few states which give concession fares to intl students. Sometimes this fact alone makes me happy I'm not in VIC. QUOTE nsw also dun hav.sigh. No concession fares for intl students in NSW?! |
Jun 22 2007, 09:33 AM
or just stick to an Optus prepaid.
Anyone doing anything this winter hols in Brisbane? |
Jun 24 2007, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(jae @ Jun 24 2007, 12:36 PM) The maximum number of hours you can work with a student visa here in Australia is 20 hours during session and full time during semester break. Having that said, expect your earnings from part time job to cover about 30-40% of your expenses(not based on my experience, quoted this from someone here, scroll back to look for more details as i believe it has been discussed quite intensively), and not to mention it'd be unhealthy to work the maximum 20 hours allowed during session as that would prolly affect your studies which is not something your sponsors aka parents want to see. That'll probably be me. Yes, never expect your job to cover 30% of your living expences. And if you're going to Melbroune, its not going to be cheap. |
Jun 25 2007, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 23 2007, 11:59 PM) Want to ask anybody here, planning to go to perth this october, what is the cheapest I can fly to Perth now? ex-KL I persume? That is a fair bit. If you can make it down to Sinagpore on the cheap (AirAsia) and have plenty of time, Qantas Super Savers' are quite reasonable. A one way SIN-PER if you book early, with taxes and all, would come up to about RM1050.So far I got Mas direct flight for RM1960 (airport tax and surcharge included) Is this cheap? thanks Oct is usually just before the peak months. you might get lucky. |
Jun 25 2007, 03:39 PM
http://aei.dest.gov.au/AEI/ESOS/NatCodeRevised_pdf.htm
Outlines the difference between and old and the new code. chris_c28 has summarised it excellently. This is a shock to me. Usually any changes in immigration and education laws affecting international students would spread like wildfire in the chinese speaking community. I haven't heard anything about it. Habis lah! One extra reason why I can't fail. |
Jun 27 2007, 09:06 PM
Jul 5 2007, 10:43 AM
Wow. I thought this thread had died.
The AUD just breached the 2.95 mark, and at the rate this is going, we're going to see 3.0 by the end of this year. The NZD isn't any much better, hovering close to 2.7 to the AUD. On the bright side, it has been good for NZ tourists, who have never seen the AUD and the NZD (1.09) so close to each other. Interest rates are damn high, and everything is going up, in Brisbane at least. Petrol is still stubbornly $1.20/litre. Bus fares gone up. Vege prices in the supermarkets are also a bit high. Rent is also rising. The exchage rate isn't helping either. And aobk84, ignoring your (lack of) English, can you prove any data to back yourself up? Usually it is the middle of the year, the AUD and the NZD drops. This year is an unusal outlier (I hope). This post has been edited by haya: Jul 5 2007, 10:43 AM |
Jul 8 2007, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(andrienne @ Jul 7 2007, 07:52 PM) Wanna ask some advice here...if I were to study Accounting and Finance or Business degree, which Uni in OZ will be better at that two courses? I heard that UniSA, Curtin, UTS and Uni of Melbourne are good...but I do not know which one to choose from and also, I heard that the rent is quite high there..will it be cheaper for me to stay at hostel? In terms of general living costs in these cities, UniSA (Adelaide) will be the cheapest. UTS and Melbourne will the one of the most expensive. Perth is also no longer that cheap now, through still cheaper than the SYD/MEL.Generally, staying in a student hostel is more expensive than living outside. However, I STRONGLY recommend staying in the student hostel for the first 6 months at least. It gives you time to get used to the place, the environment, and the general cost of living. Because when you first arrive, you're not sure if $150/wk for a particular place is cheap or overpriced. As a guide, from my experiences being in Brisbane, staying in the student hostel will set me back around $250/wk, through that includes utilities, 3 meals, a fairly nice room, plenty of places to socialise and not that far from uni. Living outside with friends, I'm paying $130/wk in rent, about $5/wk in utulities, and once you add in groceries etc, $210/wk for just living is possible. What prices are like in other places, I cannot say. If I was accepted into all uni's in the list through, I'd go to Uni Melbourne anyday! |
Jul 8 2007, 11:41 AM
Why not? It's getting harder and harder to get in, with the "Melbourne model" and all. And it is one of the top uni's in Australia.
Jul 9 2007, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(brianf @ Jul 8 2007, 11:55 AM) melb uni is THE place dude... i hear it's going to recognize those chinese independent schools' certification? Almost all Australian universities reconise UEC for university entrance, not just Melbourne. It is only IPTA's that do not reconise UEC.anyway melb's expensive it's true... adelaide and perth would be lighter on the wallet. i visited my aunty while she was in uwa, perth... that place is damn quiet la... but i expect it's conducie to studying? hahaha |
Jul 13 2007, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jul 12 2007, 09:59 PM) Depends whether you want to study locally or overseas. The experience will be pretty different. Speaking as a Queensland University of Technology(QUT) student, we also have a very strong industrial training(IT) program. In fact, thank's to the mining boom, a lot of Engineering (usually Civil and Mining) students are roped in to do work before they've graduated. Even if you are a international student. As IT (no pun intended) is a course requirement, you usually are allowed to work way beyond the 20hr/wk limit.Most universities have some sort of industry links/partnerships to enable their students to find positions to satisfy their compulsory 60 day industrial training (IT) requirement to graduate as an Engineer accredited by the IEA. International students may complete these in their home country. There are co-op scholarships sponsored by major firms which ties a degree with work experience, i.e. students get paid while studying and undertaking part time work, but these are usually offered to permanent residents and citizens. The best university in this regard (internships) that I'm aware of is UTS (University of Technology Sydney). Their Engineering programs include a compulsory 12 months paid internships with companies which they have contracted with, so you're pretty much guaranteed a job in one of their partner firms. I'm not aware of any other unis which offer such a deal, so others may want to chip in their thoughts. The pay is good apperently, but it is tiring, not to mention being out there in the outback. How the internships (of QUT) compare to other uni's through, I cannot say. |
Jul 20 2007, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(AspireAcer @ Jul 19 2007, 10:36 PM) Missing an "e" there.QUOTE About IELTS, For me, i think acutally is base on ur luck see who is the one that handle your application. I just apply for computing & IT in Perth(ECU). and the pre-req is ILETS, or SPM 1119 3b above, BUT... BUT i did't have any ILETS Cert and my SPM 1119 get "C"(not sure what number already)... but i still approve to take the course and without and ILETS cert and SPM 3(b) ... but my friends that taking some course with me, he need to get the ILETs CERT to get in the course ... SO i really got no idea what is going on. Oh ya.. i help my sister to submit the application form to the same person that approve my application, she got the same ! without ILETS or SPM 1119 3(b) ... This worries me a lot. ECU= Edith Cowan University? QUOTE base on ur luck see who is the one that handle your application Ignoring the atrocious English, there is no such thing as "on your luck" for Australian universities. They are a hell lot more transparent than local Malaysian U's (IMO, including some IPTS'es also). You either make the cut, or you don't. Through with ECU, I'm not surprised they took you in with a "C" for your 1119. Even if they turn you down, at least they tell you why. What is the IELTS score needed to get into Computing (Computer Science? Information Technology?) in ECU? A "C" for 1119 would be about an IELTS score of 5.5 IMO. |
Jul 21 2007, 08:16 AM
Jul 23 2007, 06:58 AM
QUOTE(ivango88 @ Jul 23 2007, 12:49 AM) Hey friends, Well, personally Melbourne is a hell lot more organized than PJ. But I digress.I'm looking forward to study in RMIT, Melbourne for design course. From what I know, Melbourne is a city like PJ. Which is well organized. Second thing is, work part-time there and eat there is definitely cheaper than having it in KL. The part-time there pay you with min AUD10 for a hour. So imagine you can work for 20 hours a week. 20*10=AUD200. I believe that's a good deal for us. At least we can bare on our living expenses. Just to share, too many replies above. Can't catch up, hope you guys don't mind I jump in to share some. QUOTE At least we can bare on our living expenses. I'm having trouble understanding this sentence, but I think I get what you're trying to say. Working part-time here is an option, but IMO I don't think you can live on $200/wk in Melbourne. Eating out is not as cheap as M'sia. A simple meal will be AT LEAST $7. So yes, you do earn more, but you pay more eating out. Food here (Australia) is generally cheap. and even Asian food is quite readily available in the mainstream supermarkets. Remember: your work must never interfere with your results. |
Jul 23 2007, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(ivango88 @ Jul 23 2007, 05:43 PM) Ya, I can understand that. But what about cooking yourself there? How is the price for, let's say 2 meal? Let's see...what I had for dinnner:Just wanted to know, so I can have that in mind. Pasta (durum wheat): 60cents for 500g, lasts me about 3 days Meat (Diced pork): about $12/kg, I buy about 700g (just under $10), lasts me a week Vege: Bok Choi, 1 bundle, 3 meals, $1.70 Water: almost free Apple: $4/kg, lasts me about 2 weeks Yeah. I think I'm about $3 a meal, once you add in energy to cook it and all. Not as good as what you'd get outside, but it keeps me alive. |
| Change to: | 0.0512sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:25 PM |