Videography (WTA) camcorder for outdoor use, not another one....

TScarpathia
post Oct 9 2014, 01:56 PM, updated 12y ago

2,619 posts

Hello all videography sifus
yes, this is another thread asking for advice

I am planning to do some outdoor video capture but am worried about sound (will i be able to capture my subject's voice) and lighting.
For example, if im to do an interview in a crowded shopping mall, do i need to invest in an external mic ? lighthing is also one of my main concern.
What type of gears and video cam would you recommend for a newbie to invest in ? seeing that this is a personal investment and not business, i dont have $$$$ to invest in PROFESSIONAL Solutions cry.gif

thanks in advance to all sifus
Rice_Owl84
post Oct 12 2014, 01:58 PM

603 posts

Camcorders are not really popular anymore. The good camcorders that perform really well are also very expensive to the point that people just recommend DSLR/Super Zoom cameras instead. You can see all those youtube sensation stars behind the scenes usually also use Canon DSLRs.

A Sony RX10 seems like a good starter gear for video. It has pretty much everything you need on that body itself. Its got a good lens with good range. Good ISO performance for low light - If its not good enough you need to invest in portable LED lights. Then you can buy a shotgun mic by rode and head phones. Both can be plugged into the RX10 to monitor the audio.

Of course if you state you budget then people can recommend you better.

This post has been edited by Rice_Owl84: Oct 12 2014, 01:59 PM
TScarpathia
post Oct 12 2014, 05:48 PM

2,619 posts

-budget less than 3k
- portable led light will it be too distracting to the subject when im interviewing them ?
- shotgun mic and boom mic is the same thing right ?

thanks for the advice, let me see if i can afford the sony rx 10

0.0158sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:52 AM