how to install doorbell?, picture of door bell and wiring provided
deejay_krish
Oct 5 2014, 06:39 PM
Aisey, every doorbell comes with installation diagram leh. Just follow the diagram. The usual will be : 2 cables for incoming 240v supply. 2 cables running to the switch and from the bell to connect and activate the bell. So u push the switch, shorting both cables activates the bell and ting tong loh  Kaotim. This post has been edited by deejay_krish: Oct 5 2014, 06:40 PM
deejay_krish
Oct 5 2014, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(Erza Scarlet @ Oct 5 2014, 02:49 PM) Red wire to E1 and E2. 2 Blue goes into 1 terminal marked AC 230V. 2 Black goes into ANOTHER terminal marked AC 230V. Green goes to metal parts of your doorbell unit, or screw it into the designated earth terminal screw if there is any. U dont really have to bother bout the green as its a bell device, not electronic device that requires earthing. So he can cut off the green and roll it aside.
deejay_krish
Oct 6 2014, 07:38 PM
E1 and E2 is the red cables which is the switch of the bell. Power supply 240v is the blue and black. If thats how they wired your house lah. Neither way, best to get a multimeter to check which is the voltage. Dont assume, u might blow up the unit and black out. U dont have to turn off ur entire house supply but if u have no meter to test, then thats the only option. Buy a multimeter and keep, it will be useful in many ways for u in future
deejay_krish
Oct 7 2014, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 7 2014, 08:57 AM) ohh. use test pen check whether got light mean got voltage right? still if know got voltage u still need to switch off main switch? since we can't contact v copper wire? by the way, blue and black can be in either terminal? Yes blue and black can be in either terminal. Same goes to red. Test pen can only test for live wire, neutral u cant test. Thats why u need a meter.
deejay_krish
Oct 7 2014, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 7 2014, 07:01 PM) so what is next course of action? infrasonic Erza Scarlet deejay_krishExactly why i wondered why your live and neutral diff color. Usually live and neutral is red and black. So hook the blue to the switch, red and black to the incoming power. Boom. Done.
deejay_krish
Oct 7 2014, 07:20 PM
If ure too worried, test the black and red to a light bulb. See if it works. If it works, then thats the correct power cables loh