Credit Cards Hong Leong Bank Wise Credit Card V4, 10% Cashback , Up to RM100 per month

kopiPeng
post Oct 26 2014, 11:29 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Oct 22 2014, 08:14 PM)
Its a good idea to get UOB one card as they are more willing to approve first timer. You may try getting wise card again after using UOB for 6 months .
I applied UOB 3 months ago, unfortunately I got rejected...

Last week I tried to apply HL WISE. Then the banker said high chance I will get it.

But after reading what u said I'm getting worry.. sad.gif

Anyway, I'm first timer. Wish me luck sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kopiPeng: Oct 26 2014, 11:29 PM
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 08:49 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 08:47 AM)
If you don't have any cards, this is not the first card to get as it will dilute your cash back.
morning bro,

What do you mean "dilute my cash back"?? I dont understand why.. do you mind to explain more?? hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 09:02 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 08:55 AM)
This stupid card only allow you to choose 2+1(mobile is default) categories, you need to swipe rm50 and above for 10 times a month only can get cash back. GST and AF(95% can't get waived) you need to pay also. You shall not apply for platinum card as AF is very high at rm300 and offer same benefit as gold card.
If this is your first card and you choose groceries and petro, you swipe others does not gives you ANY cash back.
First card I see still the best is MBB's dual card, cash backs on weekend and 5X TP everyday using TP. I just redeem rm630 of vouchers yesterday with all the points(1000pts = rm4) I collected.
MBB's dual card need to pay 2 x rm50 GST now...

I apply for Gold card only.. not platinum... sweat.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 09:08 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 09:05 AM)
Well, is up to you.
If this is your first card, total cash back will be < 8.25% sweat.gif
What is your total spending anyway? rm1000 and lesser?
hm.. why total cash back will be <8.25%?? hmm.gif

My spending pattern per month as below.

RM240-400 petrol
RM120- Maxis Fibre
RM250- Utilities
RM100- Dining
Shopping/Groceries - Not frequent. Once a month?

Do you mind to analyse MBB dual card or HL WISE which is more suitable for me?

This post has been edited by kopiPeng: Oct 27 2014, 09:09 AM
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 10:00 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 27 2014, 09:49 AM)
Cash Rebate is 10%. but since most that comments here say AF not waivable, then you need to consider the fact that, AF is part of your cost. and nett cash rebate percentage should be nett of AF.

Based on your spending pattern, looks like wise card is not very suitable due to the terms and conditions. You need to fulfil 10 transactions of RM50 to get the rebate. You lose out on cash rebate if you swipe on non-rebate category.

looks like Mbb2card works better. Though I’m not sure how one pays maxis bill with amex, but that’s for you to find out. go through the t&c for Mbb2cards. Point to note is... you need to pump petrol during weekends. tongue.gif

or... citibank cash back card?
Fulfil 10 x RM50 transaction I think shouldn't be a problem.

RM240-400 petrol (4-6 transactions)
RM120- Maxis Fibre (Swipe 2 times. RM60+ RM60)
RM250- Utilities (Swipe 4 times.)
RM100- Dining (Twice a month)
Groceries/Shopping (Once a month)

Now let me breakdown the rebate. I going to take this 3 categories (Telecommunication, Petrol, Utilities)

RM300 Petrol - Rebate RM30
RM120 Maxis Fibre - Rebate RM12
RM250 Utilities- RM25
Meaning to say I will get CashBack RM67 / month.

RM67 x 12month = RM804

RM804 - AF - GST = RM804 - RM160 - RM50 = RM594

Total CashBack per year I got is RM594.

Am not sure if its good enough. Any advise would be appreciated. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kopiPeng: Oct 27 2014, 10:01 AM
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 10:27 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 27 2014, 10:22 AM)
must remember utilities only cover electricity and water bills.
Okay. Noted icon_rolleyes.gif

BTW.. where can I pay Electricity and Water bills online??

Let's say my electricity bill is RM240.

Can I separate 4 times (4 x RM60) to make payment?? hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 10:32 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 27 2014, 10:31 AM)
yes, can and via uob payonline.
Is there any hidden/extra charges if i pay via UOB payonline? hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 10:36 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 27 2014, 10:33 AM)
no, it's free!  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 27 2014, 10:33 AM)
No
Awesome!! Cant believe there is free lunch on this world laugh.gif

Arggh... hopefully my HL WISE application will get approved.. *finger crossed*

Any tips / ways to increase my CC application success rate?

I asked the banker, whether put some Fixed Deposit will helps. She said NO.. hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 10:54 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 27 2014, 10:44 AM)
whatever "extra" income you have, can attach the prove to strengthen your income part. all the best.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm doing online trading.. how to prove my "extra" income?? hmm.gif

Print my current account statement for them?? Please advise notworthy.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 27 2014, 10:50 AM)
put more supporting documents, if you can.

for me, i submitted LHDN eFiling (Summary page), EA Form, EPF statement (machine-printed only), 3 months payslips. Settled everything in 1 week. Gotten the card the following week.

good luck!
Thanks for your tips bro! icon_rolleyes.gif

But I haven't have any eFiling yet...
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 01:18 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Oct 27 2014, 10:56 AM)
yes, casa statement is a prove too. but need to get ctc copy from a branch to prove its validity.
Okay bro. I will try to use this if they dont approve. Thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 27 2014, 11:37 AM)
Another way is to apply for it using the "pledge FD method". Basically it means you can't withdraw the FD as long as your credit card is active. Anyway, you don't have to do that yet. Make it your last resort  smile.gif
Yeap. If not choice then I will need to use this method. sad.gif

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 12:12 PM)
For your case, you have to choose petrol and utilities, so total cash back will be about rm65(if not mistaken Maxis fiber is rm0 cash back). Total monthly spending is rm1000(assuming your grocery spending rm130). 1 year is rm12000
rm65*12=rm780, after AF and GST, your cash back are only rm570 or every month rm47.5. So your cash back only 4.75% doh.gif

As for MBB's dual card calculation, most of your spending can be swipe using AMEX, so every month should able to hit rm50 max cash back(must swipe on weekends only).
Again, total spending rm12000, with 5X TP you are getting 60000pts a year and you can use 50000pts to change cash vouchers(AeonBig can get rm210), you said before GST of rm100? Ok, rm210 cash voucher use rm100 to pay GST, you still have rm110. rm110+rm600(weekend cash back), every month about rm59. In actual, you are getting 5.9% of cash back, with balance of 10000pts of TP that valid for 3 years, so on third year you are getting another rm210.
And M2U interface are very easy to use, 1 account you can do most of the transactions. With WISE you need to register another account.

Which is the better first card for you? Guess my explanation will says MBB.
Thanks for your detailed breakdown and analysis bro! Kudos to you! rclxms.gif

But one thing I dont like about MBB 2 cards is only can use on weekend for cashback... sad.gif

And I'm pumping BHP petrol. And if not mistaken most BHP dont accept amex card? I'm not sure thou. Can someone clarified on this?

kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 01:20 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Oct 27 2014, 01:17 PM)
Maxis Home Fibre is under mobile category if pay via http://pay.maxis.com.my
Thanks for your input bro!

If use this method, can I separate 2 times (RM60 + RM58) to pay a RM118 maxis fibre bill??

This post has been edited by kopiPeng: Oct 27 2014, 01:20 PM
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 01:38 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 01:29 PM)
Not just BHP, most of the petrol station(especially smaller scale) will reject AMEX, this issue already came out before on newspaper. Visa/master are charging 2-3% while AMEX charging freaking 4.5-5% from merchant. The outcome still unknown(but heard that Visa/Master willing to charge 1% only).
Yup, that's the setback on AMEX, before I get MBB, I'm using OCBC.
Another card you may consider is HSBC's, also on weekends only doh.gif
Guess you need to have a strategy to get the most from the cash back. Like my WISE I'm using it to buy Milo and sell back to coffee shops thumbup.gif
If not mistaken so far I know Shell accepting AMEX card. But I dont pump shell. because bad FC for me laugh.gif

My main purpose of getting a CC is to pump petrol and rebate on petrol. Therefore I would choose to go for WISE. because still lots of place dont accept AMEX and only weekend have CashBack which is quite frustrated for me. sad.gif

Anyway, thanks for your sharing and analysis. I'm really appreciate.

I would go for MBB 2 Cards as an alternative if I dont get approval from HLB. blush.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 02:08 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Oct 27 2014, 01:49 PM)
The wise card, as the given name, is for the group of ppl who can micro manage the usage and fully utilise the benefit. Me myself is taking the exactly 8.75% CB (x3 cards) without fail for more than a year. With the rich information given in this thread, it's should be sufficient for you to maximize the benefit as well. Wonder why there is still so much complaint biggrin.gif
True bro, Must learn from sifu2 here liao icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 27 2014, 02:00 PM)
Yup, you know your spending the best.
Indeed AMEX are sort of "balia" card in malaysia.
For me I got no issue on using AMEX since I have both MBB and WISE, combine both of them are still the best way to get the most out of my spending. WISE for groceries, petrol while AMEX for others.
Yup. WISE + MBB is a great combo! Will definitely use this 2 as my primary card if I have more spending power/commitment icon_rolleyes.gif

kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 04:24 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Oct 27 2014, 02:18 PM)
HLB Wise 8.25% (Annual fee + GST) MBB2Amex 6.58% (GST) PBB Visa Signature 5.98% (GST) Aeon Watami 3.4% (No annual fee, GST waivable)

Those are basic effective cash value rebate (including reward points), have not taking into account those ongoing promotion.

Good luck digging from banks biggrin.gif
btw.. i just saw this Clause in the application form.

Monthly Statement I need to pay RM5 per request??

That means if they mail the statement to my home I need to pay RM5/month?!! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kopiPeng: Oct 27 2014, 04:24 PM
kopiPeng
post Oct 27 2014, 04:31 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Oct 27 2014, 04:29 PM)
I suppose that's mean additional monthly statement.
Owh... okay.. Glad to know that. Sorry i'm paranoid sweat.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 31 2014, 11:35 AM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 31 2014, 04:11 AM)
last time i apply at hlb gardens midvalley (outside midvalley), the officer told me:

swipe 1 time within 45 days of card activated then hlb will credit back rm50 on 3rd statement, plus free 1st year annual fee.
must pay gst in 1st statement. annual fee immediately waived.

update:
i apply on sunday, since this branch open on saturday and sunday till 6pm. very convenience thumbup.gif
Bro, U apply at HLB gardens immediately get your card?? or need to wait how long??

I applied last Tuesday at HLB Branch, until today no news yet. sad.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 31 2014, 01:27 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 31 2014, 11:36 AM)
14-21 days of waiting period sweat.gif
ah.. okay. 2-3 weeks.. guess I need to give some patience blush.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 31 2014, 01:46 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 31 2014, 01:37 PM)
Once you get it, you need to swipe 10X rm50 within 2 days. Else you don't do any transactions and only do on December sweat.gif
why 2 days?? hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 31 2014, 01:51 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 31 2014, 01:48 PM)
Because the postage date tends to take longer when nearing to cut off date doh.gif
Happen to me on the first 6 months when I got the card. Almost every month I sure will complaint on something. So my personal cut off date each month is 22nd.
delay on postage date means they dont deliver the statement on time?? hmm.gif

Why I cant swipe every last week of the month?? hmm.gif
kopiPeng
post Oct 31 2014, 01:53 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 31 2014, 01:52 PM)
Nope, to make sure you can't enjoy maximum cash back doh.gif
bro.. please elaborate more.. i cant understand.. notworthy.gif

0.0361sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:20 AM