what to do with land, palm oil vs rubber vs cattle vs fish

cks2k2
post Sep 6 2006, 07:47 AM

1,966 posts

My uncle has his own land planting rubber, palm oil and durian and is the only person running it and according to him:

Rubber has very good price now - young kampung ppl are running back to kampung to tap rubber; for a few hours of work they make couple of hundred. Problem is it's easy to steal the latex so you need to jaga.

Palm oil - price is OK but you need to plant a lot to make profit. Less work than rubber according to him.

Durian - profit margin is getting worse. Now he only keeps some trees for own consumption and sell when there's too much.

Another friend's family used to rear poultry but couldn't compete with the large poultry farms and quit. For poultry and cattle you need economies of scale.
cks2k2
post Sep 6 2006, 11:11 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Sep 6 2006, 09:43 AM)
A few acres is waaaay too little for any cash crop planting, oil palm and rubber estate recommended to have at least 50 acres for good economical scale and must have good road access.
My uncle is surviving on 10+ acres of land with palm oil.

For example oil palm, you need roads to allow big 10 tons lorries to enter to pick up your fresh fruit branch(FFB), which is very heavy and bulky stuff. And then you need an oil mill to take your FFB too, remember that FFB cannot store long, usually they are processed within the same day or they will get rotten. And IF you really can find oil mill you need to consider many factors too, how far is the oil mill? Is the oil mill willing to take your fruit? etc etc etc.
You dont need 10 ton lorries, as Dreamer said people will come in with small lorries to pick up the fruits to the mill.

Or you might want to considered raising some cattle? Or even goat? Gov is encouraging people to raise cattle and goat to reduce import of foreign meat. You might be able to get help from gov(like provide the goat for you), you just need to build a barn for goats to rest and then if you have a suitable size, they breed quite
My uncle tried goat-rearing with some goats from govt few years back but didnt work out well.
(He is a 100% career farmer and has tried almost everything!)

0.0185sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:01 AM