MacBook Random Shutdown Syndrome (RSS), Are Local MacBooks Affected???

TS76radius
post Sep 5 2006, 11:16 PM, updated 20y ago

232 posts

Feel wanna sell off my Mac Mini & Powerbook and buy a MacBook.

Not sure whether the MacBook users in Malaysia experience the same as reported by Apple users abroad a so-called MacBook Random Shutdown Syndrome (RSS)- http://www.macbookrandomshutdown.com/users...om-shutdown.php & http://maba.wordpress.com/2006/09/01/macbo...last-hopefully/

If so I rather upgrade my current iMac 20" to iMac 23 inch as rumored http://www.engadget.com/2006/09/01/23-inch...begin-swirling/ & http://appleinsider.com/article.php?id=2011. Any comment from local MacBook users. Thanks

This post has been edited by 76radius: Sep 5 2006, 11:20 PM
benQue
post Sep 6 2006, 12:00 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

i heard it only affect macbook produced in week 29 & below..

Afaik, most of week 30 & above is okay.
lokgotz
post Sep 6 2006, 01:29 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

mine is week 23........dun see problems so far.....

OT..how much are u selling ur mini?? please PM me....thanks.....
NekoRacing
post Sep 6 2006, 07:36 AM

325 posts

Just to share
http://crunchgear.com/2006/09/05/macbook-s...tdown-solution/
hairol83
post Sep 6 2006, 08:58 AM

344 posts

mine is week 25!
no problem at all.. sweat.gif
vandetta
post Sep 7 2006, 01:34 PM

658 posts

My girl's MB faced the problem 2 or 3 times. But now no anymore. I wonder should we send it to Applecentre?
artyca
post Sep 7 2006, 08:00 PM

53 posts

No such things happening on my macbook smile.gif
supafreak
post Sep 8 2006, 03:29 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Sep 7 2006, 01:34 PM)
My girl's MB faced the problem 2 or 3 times. But now no anymore. I wonder should we send it to Applecentre?
Van... i think u shud... mine's wk24... might as well get it sorted out once and for all... u dont hv to leave the machine at the shop anyways...

Juz sent it to VR Tech... the part will come after 5 working days... they'll replace the logic board and the heatsink... they'll call me once it arrives... pretty good ppl thr...

However, if u use a notebook cooler, it'll occur less... mine kena more often when it's not hooked on the notebook cooler...
vandetta
post Sep 8 2006, 04:48 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Sep 8 2006, 03:29 PM)
Van... i think u shud... mine's wk24... might as well get it sorted out once and for all... u dont hv to leave the machine at the shop anyways...

Juz sent it to VR Tech... the part will come after 5 working days... they'll replace the logic board and the heatsink... they'll call me once it arrives... pretty good ppl thr...

However, if u use a notebook cooler, it'll occur less... mine kena more often when it's not hooked on the notebook cooler...
Ha even though use it with notebook cooler also will shutdown la..

About the VR Tech, mean that I just go and report it to them and after the part arrived they'll call me? That is really realy good! I think I'm going to go there by this weekdays. Thanks bro.

BTW, where is VR Tech? tongue.gif
supafreak
post Sep 8 2006, 05:05 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Sep 8 2006, 04:48 PM)
Ha even though use it with notebook cooler also will shutdown la..

About the VR Tech, mean that I just go and report it to them and after the part arrived they'll call me? That is really realy good! I think I'm going to go there by this weekdays. Thanks bro.

BTW, where is VR Tech?  tongue.gif
ya lor... even with cooler oso konk wan... but less... heheh...

i took the machine to them yesterday cause i hv a creaking hinge... then ask them to check on the shutdown thing... i had to leave overnight wit them cause they r short of hands this week... otherwise, i cud hv waited and they will check immediately wan...

Give them a call first b4 u go... 21632020... VR Tech is at Megan Phileo 2... u know the Public Bank opposite KLCC?... u basically turn into the junction... Public bank will be on ur left... go straight on... the place is next to Ambank building... u wudnt miss it... it's in front of a big water fountain type thingie...
TS76radius
post Sep 8 2006, 09:26 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Sep 7 2006, 02:34 PM)
Yeah you should : http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304308

vandetta
post Sep 10 2006, 03:00 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Sep 8 2006, 05:05 PM)
ya lor... even with cooler oso konk wan... but less... heheh...

i took the machine to them yesterday cause i hv a creaking hinge... then ask them to check on the shutdown thing... i had to leave overnight wit them cause they r short of hands this week... otherwise, i cud hv waited and they will check immediately wan...

Give them a call first b4 u go... 21632020... VR Tech is at Megan Phileo 2... u know the Public Bank opposite KLCC?... u basically turn into the junction... Public bank will be on ur left... go straight on... the place is next to Ambank building... u wudnt miss it... it's in front of a big water fountain type thingie...
Never been to that place, but I think it's not hard to find it, thanks man biggrin.gif
kksleo
post Sep 25 2006, 11:55 PM

45 posts

Hi everyone, I got the same problem after two month usage. So, I am going to send to VR Tech soon. Just drop by to confirm, do i no need to stay overnite there? Coz i need my system for working purposes. And, do they warranty my system if I upgraded 3 party ram to 2GB ady? Or should I replace back the original RAM? Thx for helping
benQue
post Sep 26 2006, 12:11 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

rams shouldnt be a problem i think
vandetta
post Sep 26 2006, 01:00 AM

658 posts

Just bring it there, to report and show it to them then you can bring it back home. Bring it back to them after the replacement arrive and then you need to left it with them for at least a day for testing purpose. Gudluck.
yixings
post Sep 26 2006, 03:11 PM

202 posts

I've got no RSS problem.
But my Google Earth and default Chess game shutdown quite often. Anyone has similiar encounter?
cuoreboy
post Sep 29 2006, 12:07 AM

81 posts

VR Tech is in Jalan Yap Kwan Seng (not *** Nia Seng hehehe)
civic98
post Oct 1 2006, 12:39 PM

1,255 posts

Hi there, any confirmation on what is the cause of the RSS other than heat issue?

If this is the case, I'm just worried I'm not experiencing it because I'm at Genting, dont really get any heat issues. Afraid the problem would surface later or worse still after warranty period (11 mths to go).

It would be nice to have an official released cause to identify which is affected and not (like production week)...

This post has been edited by civic98: Oct 1 2006, 12:44 PM
vandetta
post Oct 2 2006, 12:45 AM

658 posts

Other than heat issue, I think it's the logic board problem. Because I need to reset my MB everytime I want to turn it on or else it won't turn on. go and read the article in the URL posted by 76radius, Apple already identified it.

Another URL from me: Click Here and Here

This post has been edited by vandetta: Oct 2 2006, 01:02 AM
civic98
post Oct 2 2006, 12:39 PM

1,255 posts

The problem is I'm always at cool places, if that is why I'm not experiencing he problem, it doesnt mean I dont have the problem. Just want to be sure I dont have the problem. Makes me feel uneasy not knowing.

0.0229sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:19 PM