Muslim Group

notoriousfiq
post Sep 3 2016, 12:21 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Sep 2 2016, 10:41 PM)
better to read from different sources also, maybe from neutral non bias perspective
The same thing can be said to majority of Muslims. Have we read/listen to sources that are neutral and non bias? Or does "non bias" means whatever that sounds good to our ears?
notoriousfiq
post Sep 4 2016, 03:03 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Sep 3 2016, 07:48 PM)
Errmm, why should we then?
As for us, we do have god word in book which is quran. Then we also have hadith which is prophet pbuh saying.
Thats all are the dalil naqli.
Why should we be non-bias? So you want people to be non-bias, but it's okay for you to be bias? Is that fair to you? Is that adil?

If you just stay in your tempurung, with your familiar teachings with your same old interpretation of quran and hadith, and you never step back and listen to arguments and other sources, that means you are doing TAQLEED, bro. You are blindly following. You are not thinking. You are not truly believing. You don't rruly believe, means you actually don't have imaan. What you have is taqleed, not iman.

Not to mention pot calling kettle black, when you want others to read various sources, but you yourself refuse to do so.
notoriousfiq
post Sep 5 2016, 04:06 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Sep 5 2016, 01:34 AM)
Which people we are referring in the first place right now? Is it muslim, or others non muslim?
And then, of course its not i want/demand/instruct to do so, to each of their own preference to do until which extend to search for the truth. Tepuk dada tny selera, or tny iman.

Regarding the taqlid, so whats wrong with taqlid then?

This is what we call FAITH. And as mentioned before, we do have dalil naqli, as well as dalil aqli. Please understand those before saying others not thinking.

And no need to be that extreme to label others have no iman.
Both muslims and non-muslims should be fair, and non-bias. Both should learn from both all sides of sources, not just the one that pleases them. What kind of "fair muslim" tells others to be non-bias, but he himself is bias af?

Taqleed is blindly following. Without questioning. Without thinking. Do you see that as nothing wrong? Would you consider that as truly believing?

Simply following blindly, taqlid, is not faith. A true faith, a true belief, is when you have consider that it's possible that your belief is wrong, you step back, you question your belief, you read other teachings, and as you study further, your stand on your belief (which ever it lands on) strengthen, then that's faith, that's iman. Blindly following is not faith. Especially when you only learn from one same source (i.e. the same old same old Malaysian ustaz teachings, for Malaysians) and never listen and consider other teachings inside and outside of the religion.
notoriousfiq
post Oct 18 2016, 07:51 AM

513 posts

A lot of people cannot accept words from internet. They will ridicule information from internet.

We often hear, "setakat google baik tak payah".. or "apa sumber kau? wikipedia?" .. and the most common among laymen malays "kalau nak faham kena berguru, bukan baca sendiri kat internet".

That is why we see people in this thread who are unwilling to take some relevant conversations here seriously. Always belittling it, by saying "forumers are not capable", etc. There were even times when debates/discussion were suppressed by belittling them or posts being deleted.

It is both because they cannot argue back the idea that is different from theirs, and also because they were taught since young to only listen ustaz in masjid with janggut and serban, and dont question or argue the traditional teachings from masjids. Which basically is a teaching to close their minds.

No idea is above scrutiny.

If you don't like being questioned, then speak only for yourself. Every idea should be questioned, including Islam. If you are incapable of answering the question, then STFU, not cowardly saying "don't question us".

However, know that if you ask a run-of-the-mill or broken record question that has been talked about gazillion times, people may not answer, or get bored with it.

This post has been edited by notoriousfiq: Oct 18 2016, 09:19 AM
notoriousfiq
post Oct 18 2016, 12:25 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Oct 18 2016, 11:26 AM)
becareful on threading along the lines between Muslim Liberalist & Muslim Talibanist.

Just a thought.
please elaborate.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
notoriousfiq
post Oct 18 2016, 01:27 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Oct 18 2016, 01:02 PM)
People who really stick to ustaz/ulamak too much without thinking the logic behind the reasonings, die die cannot deviate from the teaching = Muslim Talibans

People who uses too much logic and taking shortcuts to their logical whim, as long as not really crossing the boundaries of Al Quran & sunnah = Muslim Liberals

Best if we stick to wasatiyah / moderation, but not too much though.

Sekadar pandangan.  icon_rolleyes.gif
And what is wrong with being a liberal Muslim? Do you consider that as wrong? Sound so. I do know masjid keep implanting the image that liberals are bad people.

If it doesn't cross Quran/Sunnah, what is wrong with "too much logic"?
notoriousfiq
post Oct 18 2016, 03:08 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(EarendurFefalas @ Oct 18 2016, 02:34 PM)
liberal ni some time okay eg: perempuan boleh mengundi & pergi sekolah & berkerja, but sometime terlau open eg: LGBT
bila part ceramah ustaz pung pang liberal = lgbt = leberal is bad biggrin.gif
If that is the case, then, not "sometimes" but "most of the times" liberal is okay.. Because we do agree on freedom on a lot of things to ourselves, human rights.
If someone is against LGBT, then be against LGBT, not liberals.

I know.. Ceramah keep saying liberal is bad, syiah is bad, itu ini bad, without intellectual reasons. That is why I see a lot of malays in facebook comment gila2 maki liberals, then when I ask them what is liberalism, they can't answer shit. Masjid need to stop teaching hate to us Muslims, and teach love and understanding instead.
notoriousfiq
post Oct 18 2016, 10:04 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Oct 18 2016, 05:57 PM)
I do think what most of us Malaysian muslims understand as Liberal Muslim are the people who interprets Al-Quran and As-Sunnah only by themselves.
Those who are usually referred as liberal often outspoken on things like, "Menutup aurat bukannya wajib", "Cara-cara solat tidak dijelaskan dalam Al-Quran", "Tidak salah untuk kahwin antara bersamaan jantina", etc.
If people have disagreements with orthodox teachings, and there are other interpretations that they deem more rational or acceptable, that is their choice. Just like the orthodox traditionalist muslims who have their own interpretation of the Quran or hadith. If one side can interpret the Quran, why can't the other? What makes one group holier than the other? None of us have prophets with us, so none of us can claim that only we are the absolute truth. As long as that opinion do not hurt other people (such as radical muslims interpretations), then we can discuss like an adult, intellectually.

And just because some opinions sounds so different from the teaching that we have inherited since nenek moyang, unquestioned, we shouldn't be silencing them with "jangan persoal", or simply brushing them as "sesat", or deleting people's comments.

If we believe our opinion is more plausible, and we can counter-argue, then counter-argue. Otherwise, leave it be, let other people deal with it.

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Oct 18 2016, 05:57 PM)
It is correct that you should ask question in Islam, so that you will learn. But questioning Islam won't help you to learn, because the point of that conversation is to justify your own action after you've trespassed / before trespassing the boundaries that is placed by Allah and His Messenger.
Asking question will help us learn. Absolutely. Just like in any other subject. Just like in school. We ask question, we get answer, we are more educated. That is common sense.
notoriousfiq
post Oct 19 2016, 09:47 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Oct 19 2016, 03:17 AM)
So, whats the question that guy wanna ask, after few times go through the thread rules?

Agreed that its not good to simply label peoples, just take or follow the good thing, and not the bad thing. Its the deed that we like (or dont), not the people themselves. But we can remind others about that.

As muslim, suppose we have alquran and sunnah as our  guidance until qiamat. Then we got iftima, fatwa, etc which are discussed among ulama, where ulama is pewaris nabi.

Some said, belajar tanpa guru, umpama belajar dengan syaitan. Thats why if we just read religious book, need to refer to someone knowledgable for explanation and clarification, as to prevent from making own assumption and interpretation.
Ya, he's gone ady. I welcome question, but I did some digging, and he seem like another anti-theist, and atheist evangelist/activist.. So I still want to hear his question, but I'll be wary of his questions (if he'll ever ask) in case its not sincere.

Ulama themselves have different opinions in many things. And Muhammad (saw) did not appoint successor(s) when he died. (Some say he appointed Ali, but that's another story). And no ulama have divine authority, like how pope is in Christianity. An ulama is a normal human like all of us. So when ulama give different opinions, and there is no pope in Islam, how do we make do of that?

To refer to someone knowledgeable in the subject is very good, to refer to scholars. But very important is, don't just refer to one scholar, refer to several, and those with differing answers. Weigh in the answers and pick the answer we deem most acceptable.

Allah give us brain to be used, not to be put aside and just taqleed to one teaching. Islam encourages us to THINK, to be intellectual, to be smart, not just listen.

Many muslims only regard naqli, and completely throw away aqli. With their "kau siapa nak lawan ulama". Or "don't interpret it by your own". When the fact is no one is "lawan ulama" nor "interpret by their own". Always so angry and emotional, and not really giving intellectual and constructive counter-arguments.
notoriousfiq
post Oct 19 2016, 09:55 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Oct 19 2016, 09:12 AM)
Ulama or tok guru is human too, they are fallible and everyone is bias more or less, or at least they started out bias because of their upbringing.

The more you learn of differing opinions or interpretations or facts or evidence, the less bias you will become.

In this world there are many ulamas or learned Islam scholars who have spent like 30 years or more learning Arabic, the Quran and Hadith and the commentaries by renowned Islam scholars like Ibn Kathir or al-Tabari, but yet they differ in their interpretations, teachings and sometimes give opinions that appear contradictory.

This suggests strongly that fundamentally even if you were to follow one teacher, or one school, your view inherited from the teacher or the community, may not be the only interpretation of Islam. It may not even be true. The best judge of this is yourself and your ability to reason after you gain some knowledge ...
Agree 100%.

Many of us since young were taught to highly look up to ulama. Cannot question them, etc. Some has even idolise ulama, like Christians regard pope. That's why we see emotional, angry people when ulama is being questioned.

To listen to different teachings is very very important. And we need to be neutral, not bias, when listening to these teachings.

And people need to know, we don't "interpret Quran & hadith" by our own one self. A school of thought consist of many learned people. So the typical response of "bahasa arab pun tak tahu" is really irrelevant.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.1253sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:57 AM