Future Planning, Further study or Work
TSskyer
Sep 4 2006, 12:08 AM, updated 20y ago
BACKGROUND: I am working as a normal contract staff. When my contract ends next year, I have two options. Option 1: I have a chance for me to further study in overseas with scholarships. (I haven't got the chance to study overseas before, and may be I can save up the stipends and convert to RM, I still can earn something). Option 2: I will get promoted if I renew contract and my salary increases 80%. (but I will be forever staying at the same old place where I grow up).
If you were in this situation, what is your plan?
LeoAsleep
Sep 4 2006, 12:19 AM
I opt for option 1. Broaden your horizon while you have the chance. And then decide if this is a country for you. Option 2 is pretty short sighted, 80% increment for JUST another year of contract?
simonyee
Sep 4 2006, 12:25 AM
more pressure with work
or study easy
boris
Sep 4 2006, 12:35 AM
1st u must ask urself r u willing to study again since u're already working... then decide which suits u most
SUSflamer
Sep 4 2006, 12:36 AM
For option 1: Do you think your scholarship can cover other cost such as accomodation and food? Is it only a tuition fee scholarship? If it is then it is going to be quite stressful to work and study at the same time. How is your family finances? Are they able to subsidize some additional cost should it be incurred on your side? But are u going on scholarship to get a masters or degree?
Option 2: 80% increase? That seems pretty high. I would look at current family financial situation first and make an honest assestment. While most parents will say that all is fine, it would help if you do your own investigation and see if it is really fine.
For me it all boils down to money. If you have enough savings and ur family can tahan a bit then go for (1). If not go for (2).
TSskyer
Sep 4 2006, 01:03 AM
The scholarship will cover the scholarship and monthly stipends of about RM3000 (converted to RM). It's actually a PhD.
And yeah, the increment of new contract will be 80%! I wonder that are any business organization will give such high increment upon contract renewal.
TSskyer
Sep 4 2006, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(LeoAsleep @ Sep 4 2006, 12:19 AM) I opt for option 1. Broaden your horizon while you have the chance. And then decide if this is a country for you. Option 2 is pretty short sighted, 80% increment for JUST another year of contract? This is what I like to pursue also...but I worried I can apply back such a good job or not
alextan99
Sep 4 2006, 01:08 AM
I don't about you but when I started working I don't fell like going back to study. Last time I got the offer to get the MCSE and CCNA free in Penang but give it up coz when you are studying you are on a thight budget not like when you are making money. So it sup to you, especially when you get to study overseas. After you finish just contact your old boss and get the job with higher salary
say_it
Sep 4 2006, 09:28 AM
For me, I will grab Option 2. Because study any time also can go, but job doesn't mean after your PhD can garantee you can get the same offer. Choose option 2, even the contract only have 1 year but the price can prove that I worth that much or increase your self value, it can help in your future.
Jazzy
Sep 4 2006, 09:59 AM

Option 1. No second thoughts.
As you'd already work there for a year now, you could more or less forsee how far you can grow with that company. Salary wise well 80% increase is just too good to be true for most of us. Again, this is just a mind game for you to stay while you may throw away a good opportunity like Option 1.
As for Option 1, your sky is your limit. Abundance of experience to unearth.
Deep down it's up to you. What are you looking for? Long term (Career) or short term objective (80% salary increment).
Good luck.
PrinceHamsap
Sep 4 2006, 11:00 AM
i taking option 1 option 2 mite be very good coz 80% is alot, but it just a number that u mite able to earn in the future ...
option 1 gives u experience and excitement that many ppl want it so much ...
but it boils down again, any commitment are u holding now? can u let it go?
dreamer101
Sep 4 2006, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(skyer @ Sep 4 2006, 12:08 AM) BACKGROUND:I am working as a normal contract staff. When my contract ends next year, I have two options. Option 1: I have a chance for me to further study in overseas with scholarships. ( I haven't got the chance to study overseas before, and may be I can save up the stipends and convert to RM, I still can earn something). Option 2: I will get promoted if I renew contract and my salary increases 80%. (but I will be forever staying at the same old place where I grow up). If you were in this situation, what is your plan? Skyer, Cannot answer your question until you clarify one thing. With option (2), will you be making above 5K per month?? Dreamer
rexis
Sep 4 2006, 11:12 AM
It seem like option 1 is better then option 2
Because option 2 is only limited to your current company, maybe by holding higher post you can boast about yourself in your resume next time but...
option 1 will get immediate universal reconization, give you more room to grow, and better future prospect.
F1meteor
Sep 4 2006, 01:35 PM
do u have any financial burden? wife? car loan? house loan? parents need you to look after? if u're independant from those, i would suggest you to choose option 1
uglytwinkle
Sep 4 2006, 05:49 PM

yeah..f1meteor is right... as long as you can fill your mind and brains with knowledges...then,continue study...
TSskyer
Sep 4 2006, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 4 2006, 11:03 AM) Skyer, Cannot answer your question until you clarify one thing. With option (2), will you be making above 5K per month?? Dreamer Nope, just about 4k ...
TSskyer
Sep 4 2006, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(F1meteor @ Sep 4 2006, 01:35 PM) do u have any financial burden? wife? car loan? house loan? parents need you to look after? if u're independant from those, i would suggest you to choose option 1Currently no any burden... thanks for your valuable opinion...
dreamer101
Sep 4 2006, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(skyer @ Sep 4 2006, 08:07 PM) Choose option (1). Dreamer
goliath
Sep 4 2006, 11:01 PM
Since you have the thought of further studies, go for Option 1.
However, plan it wisely before making the final decision.
AiRBooM
Sep 4 2006, 11:15 PM
Choose option 1 , further study in oversea u get to experience and see more things that u normally can't see and do in Malaysia , plus u have scholarships to support your education fees .
Maybe one day who knows you decided to work at oversea and have a better chances earn more money than now.
This post has been edited by AiRBooM: Sep 4 2006, 11:21 PM