Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V3 - Banks Offer List

cybpsych
post Sep 23 2014, 09:39 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

just wondering, anyone BT from HLB Wise -> MBB?

do you use softcopy statement downloaded from HLB Connect (CSV format, without header) or scan hardcopy statement (received 1 week later)?
cybpsych
post Sep 23 2014, 09:56 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 23 2014, 09:50 AM)
HLB Connect has a eStatement (non-PDF) browser based which you can print to PDF... I use this each time with AEON BT.
It has all the relevant info required.
so, you're viewing the "My Statement" and print it as PDF using browser (e.g. Google Chrome)?
cybpsych
post Sep 23 2014, 10:07 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 23 2014, 10:05 AM)
That's right...
thanks ronnie, got that wink.gif
cybpsych
post Sep 26 2014, 06:51 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(seiwei @ Sep 26 2014, 06:35 AM)
Hmm there is some wrong info on hlb bt :

hlb's rate is 6.99% pa reducing rate, tenure either half year/1 year. there is no any other charges.

and not sure if u guys know about this
during birthday month if u apply, u can get bt at 4.99% pa on a life time tenure, no any other charges/tnc too  biggrin.gif
why would you want to "donate" more to bank wherease selected banks/cards are offering 0% BT?
cybpsych
post Sep 26 2014, 06:58 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(seiwei @ Sep 26 2014, 06:54 AM)
not everyone have those card, even myself. so just sharing out the info i know loh brother
agree on the cards as not everyone have 'em. heck, i cant even qualify for maybank's BT cuz my HLB cc statement ~RM400 nia sweat.gif

cybpsych
post Sep 26 2014, 07:26 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 26 2014, 07:14 AM)
u have to combine with other cc to make it rm1k and above
a bit problematic for me biggrin.gif i only carry Maybank2Cards and HLB Wise.

now preplanning my Wise spending on next month's statement to hit 1k, then BT to MBB. sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Sep 28 2014, 08:18 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 28 2014, 12:11 AM)
the 3% upfront fee show as "one time charge" in your statement, and it will be waived after few days. other than that, no other fee involved. so you can freely try it any time. smile.gif
Those who BT to MBB, is the 3% upfront fee = 3% waived amount?

Remember saw few gotten waiver not equal amount than charged.
cybpsych
post Sep 28 2014, 12:04 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Sep 28 2014, 08:20 AM)
Mine waived completely.
QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 28 2014, 08:42 AM)
yes, that's the amount to be waived completely.

not equal amount may due to the users bt from more than 1 cc/bank, in which perhaps mbb takes longer time to process.

for those who bt from 1 cc no problem receive complete waiver.
for those who bt from more than 1 cc/bank, some receive complete while some partial, so it may be due to slower process from mbb to certain banks.
thanks for the clarifications, guys nod.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 11 2014, 06:56 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

BT from HLB to MBB, super awesome thumbup.gif

08-Oct - Submitted application form (via email) + statement from HLB Connect (screenshot in PDF, thanks to ronnie for this tips! notworthy.gif )
09-Oct - ONE TIME CHARGE
10-Oct - WAIVER OF 3% UP FRONT FEE-1010
10-Oct - Fund received at HLB. Description: {MBB card number} MAYBANK AFC COLLECTION PAYMENT.

No instalment posted at M2U, yet. I guess it'll be posted next month cuz my MBB2Cards bill cycle just passed. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 14 2014, 08:39 AM
cybpsych
post Oct 24 2014, 05:37 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

received physical mail few days after successful BT. 1st timer here.

kinda good experience since it took few days from submit until fund received.
cybpsych
post Nov 7 2014, 07:23 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Nov 6 2014, 12:04 PM)
Not sure if attaching online outstanding cc balance sufficient for mbb bt application or not.
that's what i did. screenshot the online statement view and submit BT application to MBB.

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Nov 6 2014, 10:28 PM)
hey guys
so i need to wait for the actual monthly statement to apply for bt?

if cant approve in 20 days den  i need to pay full payment first?
if you mean u want to submit BT without any kind of statement (e.g. open-amount), few forumers reported success without using statements.

cc payment due is independent to BT application.

in case BT failed or took longer than 20/21 days, you still need to settle any outstanding with your current cc.

if BT fund transferred after your cc payment, then you have excess fund in cc account. you can try to request to transfer the money to CASA.

cybpsych
post Nov 16 2014, 09:09 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 16 2014, 08:39 PM)
Can you share the method to e-mail BT to MBB? I didn't see any option of e-mailing them. Thanks.
1) post #1 has the details
2) search this topic
cybpsych
post Nov 28 2014, 12:19 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Nov 28 2014, 11:49 AM)
May I know where to see for Maybank BT Transfer in M2U? I see money has been credited to my OCBC card but I dont see anything in M2U Credit Card section. Thanks
U won't see it until upcoming bill date/statement.
cybpsych
post Nov 29 2014, 09:10 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(playboy88 @ Nov 29 2014, 08:18 AM)
hi all, just want to know lah...if we do the balance transfer via maybank to the amex cc, do i get any extra benefit like point or cash rebate?
no and no
cybpsych
post Dec 8 2014, 08:20 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cyang @ Dec 8 2014, 10:23 AM)
Oopss.. sorry.. I thought MBB statement is the same for everyone. 28 of every month.
adele123 is right. based on statement date.
lol not the same. since mbb customer base is huge, spreading it across multiple dates are logical and less load when generating bills/statements.

take a pick here to suit your need: 3 6 8 12 14 18 21 24 26 28 EOM (end-of-month)
cybpsych
post Dec 15 2014, 08:35 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Dec 15 2014, 08:20 PM)

I have some questions regarding how balance transfer works.

Let say I BT  RM3000 from bank A to  bank  B credit card with 6 months 0%.

Does that mean I can enjoy the 0% without paying any amount or I have to at least pay the min amount to be able to enjoy the 6months 0 % like usual credit card ?
And what will happen if I pay all the amount before 6 months?

Hope anyone can help me to clarify these.

0% = no interest imposed by Bank B. Basically, Bank B pays on your behalf (clear your debt) to Bank A.
6 months BT = now, you owe Bank B RM3k, and this 3k is spread across 6 months of instalments (RM500 per month).

That means you need to pay RM500 on top of existing cc expenditure. By the time the cc statement generated, standard cc payment T&Cs applies.

If you intend to pay min amount, that means Bank B "own" you for taking up BT. reason is that banks are making money from financial charges charged to your cc because you pay min amount. be very discipline when doing BT.

you can pay all outstanding BT amount, but be careful that some banks impose penalty for early settlement. Call Bank B on how to clear the outstanding BT and other charges/penalty for doing so.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Dec 15 2014, 08:40 PM
cybpsych
post Dec 15 2014, 09:21 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Dec 15 2014, 09:12 PM)
Thanks for the clarification .I am just curious if ok to just pay the minimum every month but at the end of the BT period I pay the remain amount all in one shot and will this incur any interest on the credit card or not let say my credit card only have BT amount.
once BT amount converted to cc amount, it's just normal outstanding. keep paying min amount, you keep paying the finance charges to the outstanding still. keep rolling to next months, the finance charges will get more significant because it's based on your overall oustandings that you've been rolling over every month; and calculated from the posting date on daily basis.

i hope i get this right biggrin.gif sometimes it's confusing to understand laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Dec 15 2014, 09:30 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Dec 15 2014, 09:25 PM)
I can get that but what I mean is we can enjoy 0% for 6 months right? How they calculate this part ? If normal cc  outstanding then I understand is just like what you said but for  BT how the caculate this 0% , i pay minimum every month do i enjoy then 0% and i pay one shot all in the last month of the BT then will me be charged of extra interest?
that 0% is calculated upfront when you perform BT. think of it as processing fee or "transfer" cost.

to lure new victim customer, they willing to reduce the interest rate to 0%. banks make money from other charges if you lapse your payment or sustaining min payment. the more you get sloppy in repayment, the bank will gain.
cybpsych
post Dec 26 2014, 07:07 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 26 2014, 07:01 PM)
so maybank 12mths balance transfer is actually 0% interest free?!
cool
promo till 8 March 2015

good to take this advantage considering mbb seldom do 0% BT

more info http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
cybpsych
post Dec 31 2014, 05:48 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Dec 30 2014, 09:50 PM)
Any BT goin on RHB? I don't see any BT promo goin on..  hmm.gif
only this: