Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V3 - Banks Offer List

anwa
post Dec 12 2015, 12:48 PM

791 posts

Hi guys. New to this Balance Transfer thingy in Malaysia. After reading thru this forum, applied to Aeon by sending in the form via email and included latest credit card statement from Maybank (previously rejected because I did not attach statement).

Emailed on 8 Dec, received call on 11 Dec to verify details and amount. Was told should be settled in 5 working days. So far logging into Aeon online can see in card summary BT amount deducted. But money have not turn up in Maybank.
anwa
post Dec 23 2015, 10:58 PM

791 posts

Thought I'll just give done data point for Aeon BT. Doing it the first time after getting the Aeon Gold recently.

8/12 email in BT form and credit card statement
10/12 received phone call say approved
11/12 saw monthly repayment amount in aeon online
16/12 cheque sent out by aeon using nationwide express
18/12 maybank received cheque
23/12 amount reflected....Just in time for 26/12 due date (with 4 days public hols / weekend)..whew.
anwa
post Dec 29 2015, 02:08 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(Johore @ Dec 29 2015, 11:22 AM)
is this BT to AEON? what email address that u used to sent those BT form?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
This is balance transfer from aeon to maybank, ie the 6 months 0% BT from aeon.
anwa
post Jan 7 2016, 08:51 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(kachuakia @ Jan 7 2016, 06:42 PM)
that means I can't expect to know the delivery tracking number as well? damn
The CS will give you the tracking number to check yourself. And will say it's couriered out, we can't do anything more, check your other bank.
anwa
post Jan 8 2016, 11:46 AM

791 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 7 2016, 10:53 PM)
I always do before 2-3 weeks using my outstanding amount
I agree with you. Better do early. Like mine, took more than 2 weeks that I got the BT on the day of my due date itself (long weekend coming up). Was on the way to the bank ready to pay off the amount, but luckily check M2U before getting out of the car. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
anwa
post Jan 14 2016, 11:30 AM

791 posts

Would like to ask about Aeon BT. I recently got it and soon the first month statement is due.
Do I just pay the minimum payment or do I have to pay the full monthly installment in order to avoid any interest charges?

Previously when I took a BT from a bank overseas, I just need to pay minimum payment, no interest on the remaining sum until the 0% period is over.

For Aeon BT T&C:
5.For each balance transfer under the Programme, the monthly installment is calculated as the total sum of the amount
transferred plus interest on the amount so transferred divided by the number of months in the installment period. Interest rate
is fixed at 0% p.a. for 6 months installment periods. The monthly installment shall form part of the Cardmember’s specified
minimum payment as defined in the AEON Credit Card Agreement.
6. Cardmember has to make a minimum payment of 5% of the monthly installment due to the balance transfer account(s). In
the event the Cardmember pays an amount less than the monthly installment amount due or fails to pay the minimum
monthly installment amount of 5% of the monthly installment due on the payment due date as specified in the statement for
payment or if the payment is not received by the AEON Credit in full or before payment due date as specified in the aforesaid
statement, then the prevailing finance charge (Tiered Interest Rate Structure) shall be levied on the outstanding balance of
the monthly installment amount from the due date until the date of full settlement.

A bit confusing. It first says that the BT amount will be divided into equal 6 months installments. And this monthly installment shall form part of the minimum payment. The it goes on to say the minimum payment is 5%. So which is it? A. Monthly installment plus 5% or B. just the 5%.

This post has been edited by anwa: Jan 14 2016, 11:35 AM
anwa
post Jan 14 2016, 07:59 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(wan7075 @ Jan 14 2016, 01:53 PM)
may I know which oversea bank offer pay minimum with 0% interest?
and when is the 0% period will end?

thanks thumbup.gif
This was when I was in Australia. Got BT from a few banks, citibank, hsbc, anz. All just need to pay the minimum. But some of these banks, when have BT, you don't get interest free period anymore. Any charges to the card will attract interest immediately. Also need to keep track when the 6 or 12 months 0% is due otherwise you forget to pay the remaining balance of the BT then kena kaw kaw high interest.
anwa
post Mar 16 2016, 07:27 AM

791 posts

Got ambank BT after a long delay, which mean excess of funds in my maybank visa card (have already paid the statement balance last month). Called up CSR just now to transfer $5k to amex to clear the balance there, and the remaining access of $20k to savings account. No questions asked, said will be completed in 3-5 working days.
anwa
post Mar 16 2016, 11:43 AM

791 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Mar 16 2016, 08:27 AM)
You did BT to Ambank 35k with 0% and no charged? No statement required? Card feature or promo?
Saw in Ambank website on 0% BT promo end this month. Not enought time to apply. Hope they extend.
RM30k. As per the 0% promo TnC, that's the maximum amount. No charge. No statement required. I'm still trying to spend RM1300 for the RM388 cashback and RM1500 for the current lucky draw promotion.
anwa
post Mar 16 2016, 01:07 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Mar 16 2016, 12:12 PM)
Is there a lucky draw promotion? Which one?
Sorry my mistake, its spend and get rewarded. First come first serve I think.

0.0457sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:49 PM