Hardware Buying MacBook!plz help!, Macbook

TSletchuanna
post Sep 2 2006, 07:01 PM, updated 20y ago

71 posts

I'm planning to get macbook soon,currently i'm windows user,so i need ur good advise for changing to mac.And i use 3G connection as my internet,is that possible with MACBOOK?I'm working as programmer.is that suitable to me.Whats is MAC bottleneck or limitations?And is there and major issues with MAC hardware and application.Where is best place to buy?planning to get in 0% installament plan..Recently i visit Macity at amcorp mall....I need ur all gurus kind help.Apperciate ur reply
benQue
post Sep 2 2006, 08:33 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

QUOTE(letchuanna @ Sep 2 2006, 07:01 PM)

I'm planning to get macbook soon,currently i'm windows user,so i need ur good advise for changing to mac.And i use 3G connection as my internet,is that possible with MACBOOK?I'm working as programmer.is that suitable to me.Whats is MAC bottleneck or limitations?And is there and major issues with MAC hardware and application.Where is best place to buy?planning to get in 0% installament plan..Recently i visit Macity at amcorp mall....I need ur all gurus kind help.Apperciate ur reply
the only problem ive encountered is..

macbook really does attract lots of attention.. laugh.gif

actually,

if u dun mind the weight, it's heavier than normal laptop.

and the volume is kinda soft.( just see the size of the speaker)

plus the laptop is kinda hot.

yet u didnt mention what programme u wanna run on it..

for 3d games, i dun really recomend macbook as u cannot upgrade the gc.

This post has been edited by benQue: Sep 2 2006, 08:34 PM
SUSMike3300
post Sep 2 2006, 08:51 PM

6,866 posts

Yeah, so far my problem with my Macbook is it runs extremely very hot...

Don't know why like that doh.gif
prasys
post Sep 2 2006, 09:10 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Core Duo I guess ?

3G - Yes its possible via Bluetooth.

n20nine
post Sep 2 2006, 09:39 PM

909 posts

3g with macbook...hmm..not sure. how do you connect to 3g with ur laptop, via pcmia? if yes, then you cannot as the macbook does not have a pcmia slot. if it is possible via bluetooth, then maybe it might work with the mac, i have not tried before, so can't confirm.

if you are a programmer than i am sure you will have to use windows to do programming, but it is not a problem now as Macs run windows natively.

feynman
post Sep 3 2006, 12:02 PM

4,781 posts

you should watch the mac commercials.......very funny.......
SUSMike3300
post Sep 3 2006, 01:13 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Sep 3 2006, 12:02 PM)
you should watch the mac commercials.......very funny.......
Hi I'm a Mac, and I'm a PC... tongue.gif
dsiew
post Sep 3 2006, 10:45 PM

715 posts

just bought a macbook black... not very hot. cos i used to have powebookg4.. that was worst

but what i wanted to know is.. anyway the speakers on the mb is quite soft.. anyway around it ?
pohpiah
post Sep 4 2006, 02:10 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Sep 2 2006, 09:39 PM)

if you are a programmer than i am sure you will have to use windows to do programming, but it is not a problem now as Macs run windows natively.
That's not really accurate ler, Macs work really well for programmer ... of course depend on what kind of work need to be done, if MS/Windows related then ... you are right, otherwise plenty of option on Macs for programmer, Python, Ruby, Java, PHP, Lisp, Perl, etc. Can also do C, C++ as there is a compiler on OS X provided by Xcode (details), definately can do Objective C (OS X is written in ObjC).

Also OS X has terminal (command prompt) access, unix/linus users will feel at home. OS X is popular for programmers developing apps for Sun Solaris too. Basically OS X is extremely programmer friendly, only cannot do Windows stuff, and we all know there is BootCamp and virtualization to run Windows thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

civic98
post Sep 4 2006, 08:51 AM

1,255 posts

Anyone knows where they have stock of Macbook (RM5299) in KL? I dont like waiting for something i bought for 2 weeks.

Thanks!
dsiew
post Sep 4 2006, 04:22 PM

715 posts

try the macbook black... i know midvalley there's some stock
virushiOyo
post Sep 4 2006, 11:00 PM

190 posts

any mac shop there receive citibank credit card?
zaakath
post Sep 4 2006, 11:47 PM

654 posts

I use my Macbook pro using 3g via my mobile phone using bluetooth. It works great and set up is simple if using the Mac OS. Works on my Nokia E61 anyway. With windows with the new Bootcamp may address the bluetooth issue but works fine with the PC Suite of Nokia. Only problem with it is once you configure via Windows seems to have conflict using the Mac OS so u have to do the BT setup again
TSletchuanna
post Sep 5 2006, 10:35 AM

71 posts

Hi..there,

I really happy to see overwhelming response to my topic,now i really can understand the true picture of my needs.basiclly i do lots of Php and java programming.For internet i use 3G to connect via phone(nokia 6680) as modem.Is that all possible in mac?i think have to do lots of assignments to understand more deeper in mac and how it works because still novice level.Hehehe. ....and is this best time to buy mac?Most probably i buy at Macity at amcorp mall ,i saw they are friendly to all my questions and uncertainty.any idea friends?

Zaakath,

is this way 3G works for normal macbook.so u mean we configure the dial-up networking same as windows?
zaakath
post Sep 5 2006, 12:17 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(letchuanna @ Sep 5 2006, 10:35 AM)
Hi..there,

I really happy to see overwhelming response to my topic,now i really can understand the true picture of my needs.basiclly i do lots of Php and java programming.For internet i use 3G to connect via phone(nokia 6680) as modem.Is that all possible in mac?i think have to do lots of assignments to understand more deeper in mac and how it works because still novice level.Hehehe.  ....and is this best time to buy mac?Most probably i buy at Macity at amcorp mall ,i saw they are friendly to all my questions and uncertainty.any idea friends?

Zaakath,

is this way 3G works for normal macbook.so u mean we configure the dial-up networking same as windows?
Via windows just use the PC Suite for Nokia, using your data cable. Download the latest PC suite and if you using Maxis it is auto configured. So yes phone as modem. I use it with my E61 no problem. For Mac OS I use the bt setup. Not sure if you using Maxis or Celcom though, I could give the config for maxis using the MAC OS for bt.

Using 3G as we speak now using bt smile.gif

0.0189sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:44 PM